petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy

Entertain your dog with the ball that lights up on impact, then whistles, chirps, rings, and much moreFlashing ball makes eight different wacky sounds when it's whacked on a hard surfaceGreat for day or night play
Average Customer Rating:
3.892 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
27 out of 37(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Review 1 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome ball

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
bizzard
I have bought these balls for about 3 years. Have 2 dogs, 2 & 3 years old and this ball is their favorite. Keeps my dogs entertained. They love to bounce it on their own, as they figured out it makes noises when they do. It's so cute!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

a great ball for dogs who are neurotics

PostedApril 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
ashleec
from FL
My dog is CRAZY about balls and will actually take a ball over food! This ball entertains her for hours and hours and hours! It is like a big bouncy ball that she can chew (although I stay around her because small pieces can break off). The ball also floats well too. My dog likes to drop it in the pool, and then goes after it. I know other readers have said that the lights and sounds don't work, but that is not the case with me. Even after dropping into the pool on a regular basis, and over a year later, the ball still worked! It recently died because my dog chewed it to pieces! Definitly worth the second purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Dog Toy Purchase Ever

PostedJanuary 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shotzy
This ball is the best toy out there for the active dog who is a chewer. I have an Australian Sheperd who is a chewer. This ball is the best chew toy on the market. It interests my dog enough to continue playing/chewing on it & it has lasted longer than any of the other chew toys on the market. I have tried them all for my chewing dog. Most do not keep my dogs attention & most crumble or are destroyed by the second time my dog chews on them. The one down fall of this ball is water submersion. My dog has placed it in his water dish & left it submerged which has damaged the lights & noise because there is a small hole in the ball that leads to the light & sound maker. Fortunately by the time this has happened to his ball, my dog is so attracted to it that he does not stop playing with it if the water manages to stop the light & sound show.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zap Ball is Great

PostedJuly 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
shibamomma
from Sparks NV
My Shiba Inu puppies have had a blast with this ball and it has lasted through the first puppy and a whole year now the second pupppy has fun playing ball with her big sister.....the lights and sounds seem to really capture their attention for long periods of time....it has some teeth marks in it but all in all is still in good shape...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flash 'N Sound Not So Much

PostedApril 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Eskiemama
from Missouri
Jake immediately took to this ball as soon as it came out of the box. Unfortunately, the flashes and sounds only lasted for about an hour. Now we have just another red ball to add to the collection. It was fun for a short while...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT FUN!

PostedApril 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
dogmomof6
from Plano, TX
My Westie LOVES these balls. However, because the rubber is so soft (so they bounce good), she chews them up within a couple of days. But she has so much fun chasing them and with their crazy noises, I let her have a new one frequently. Very entertaining for both Millie and me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love at first sound

PostedMarch 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
myliljoey430
from New Jersey
He loves his balls but i think he likes this one bacause it is so darn annoying but he loves it so its ok. He figuered out how to drop it himself to make the sounds....arg. but it keeps him busy and happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

decent

PostedMarch 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
DobeNBoxers
The ball was great and fun for my dogs , the sound went out after about an hour of hard playing but was probably from us playing too hard with it. The ball itself sure isn't made for chewing. I have a 13 yr old Doberman , 1 yr old Boxer , and 12 week old Boxer. The 1 yr old boxer was the main to get it and just playing with it in his mouth after the 1st afternoon there were a few small pieces missing and then by the 3rd day it was no good. This is great for puppies and smaller dogs just make sure not to let them keep it in there mouth for more than fetch and return. My 4 yr old son loved it and wants a new old for himself tho.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Ball

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gomez
My mini wire dachshund loves, loves. loves balls. But only a few special kinds. Great big ones for outside and this red one that lights up. He will pass up just about anything in the house for the red ball
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for chewing

PostedFebruary 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
5644564
from MI
My 7 month, 45lb lab loved it for the first few days until the lights stopped working, and she started gnawing pieces off it and it had to be taken away. I was teaching her to drop it down the stairs and retrieve it so she could play on her own.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best purchase for a dog that destroys everything!

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Haysie22
Both my dogs love to play with their toys- however they will last for only a day! They destroy everything- i havent found something that can last a few days for them to play with. This ball is great! We have had it for months and it is still in one piece. THey love it- they love to squeak it while running around the house. This is a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Zap Ball

PostedJanuary 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tom1
from Clayton, N.J.
I have purchased over 29 of theses balls-- my dogs simply love them, some of the Zap balls last a long time and others fall apart almost immediately, so i no longer purchase them online because of shipping return cost and trouble. I train Shepherds and i cannot let them play for more than a few minutes or the Zap balls come apart. great toy if You have the time to watch and guard this ball.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

easily chewed

PostedDecember 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
ownsAchewer
my cockapoo LOVEs the lights and sounds but has destroyed five of these balls its very easily chewed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Even a Jack Russell Terrorist Will Love It

PostedNovember 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
SingzJazz
Our JRT goes nuts for this ball. She plays with it alone for hours, dropping it down the stairs or just slamming it on the floor to make it go off. Finally our dachshund couldn't stand watching her have so much fun, so she stole it. That DID NOT go over well. So we bought a second one. But the JRT has to have them both. She will sit in front of her sister's dog bed and bark until she gets them both. Pretty hilarious. It does make me nervous that it's made in China, I'm hoping that there's no lead in it, as the dogs really do love to chew on it between play sessions. That's the only reason I'm giving it a 4 for quality. The package says it's not a chew toy, but good luck restricting the chewing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedAugust 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
matilda
Our dog liked the ball very well and it occupied him for a long time, the only problem was it only lasted one day and the battery went dead and you can't put a new battery in this ball.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Investment!

PostedJuly 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
beachlover
My poodle loves this ball. At first she was frightened of the noise and the lighting effects but after a few throws, she got used to it and now loves to chase it around. When there is no one to play with her, she throws it down the stairs herself and then goes after it. She does this over and over again to entertain herself!
It takes a few hours to clear away the plastic odor from the packaging but after that, she takes off with it. The ball is soft enough to get some chewing exercise but durable enough not to be ruined for a long time.
As mostly an indoor dog, this ball gives her plenty of exercise.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this toy, however.......

PostedJune 15, 2007
Customer Avatar
morbie
I have bought 2 of these so far. My dog loves them. The first one worked great for about 2 weeks. So i bought a new one and this one does not work to well. It is hard to get the ball to make noise and it does not change noises much. I think i just got a bad one this time. My dog still loves it, even though he cant set the noise off every time he tries. Also keep in mind this is not a chew toy, but it has been a very durable toy for my dog with the massive teeth!! I think the first one quit working cause I let him chew on it and it got full of spit!! I sugest using this as a toy that you play with your dog. You will both have so much fun!! As long as you get a good one!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zap

PostedMay 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
icequeen
what an excellent ball for an aussie. she picks is up and drops it on the floor just to hear it. she drops it from the top of the stairs to see the light. but i have to get a new one because the last time she dropped it, it landed in her water bowl.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best toy for my american bulldog

PostedMay 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
hootie
this is the best thing that i have found, that amuses my american bulldog. he plays with it consistantly. couldn't have enough of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spot Zap Ball Flash 'N Sound Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My jacks love this ball

PostedJanuary 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
suavestylinjacks
from Riverview, Fl.
We have so much fun with the adults playing with this ball. The lights and sound really attract their attention. They want to play all the time. Its really neat at night with the red lights flashing. One of their favorite toys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>