petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Undergravel Filters

Petco Undergravel Filters

Keep your aquarium water crystal clear with an undergravel filter systemConvenient, trouble-free maintenanceJumbo 1" adjustable lift tubesIncludes free filter cartridges
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
24 out of 27(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Undergravel Filters
Review 1 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Cloudy Yellow Goldfish Water

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Francisco, CA
Specs:
29 gallon, 2 everyday joe goldfish, one whisper filter:first a 20 then a 30, sand.
Yellow cloudy water within a day of cleaning and never ever clearing. I've put up with this for near a year. Water changes didn't work, adding Safe Start didn't help with the cloudiness. I probably didn't even need to get the new Whisper 30.
Que this completely affordable piece of plastic, ditch the sand for gravel, and voila! It's been a week and we still have crystal clear water. The top filter runs as well. Goldfish are unbelievably poopy fish. I, like many, had no idea what I was getting in to and have tried accommodating them with upgrades as they've grown. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product, works as specified

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Show Low, AZ
I rate the product Excellent and fast delivery. Cost was less than I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no replacement cartridge

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Greenwood DE
I purchased the under gravel filter system for the 10 gallon tank. Works great. Now I find out Petco no longer carries the replacement filters. But, they still sell the under gravel system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No replacement filters

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Redmond Or
I have these in a 15 and 55 gallon tank. The 55 runs power heads but the 15 uses the replaceable charcoal cartridges shown in the picture. Petco does not carry these in store or online. I e-mailed them and they gave me contact information for the manufacturer, but no answer as to why they would sell a filter but not replacement parts you need at least once a month. It just doesn't make sense. I gave it one paw because the product is good, I would have gave it five if I could get the parts to make it usable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Okay Product

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I bought this a couple months ago and it works fine my only issue is my tubes need replaced cause they became green and I could not was them out as they do not separate. And still I can not just buy the tubes. I have to buy the whole kit just for the tubes its ridiculous.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Available

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
This undergravel filter does not have the punch outs that the others have. The opening for the riser maintains the filtering by having the riser twist in to lock. This insures that no debris will get sucked up. This is real important if you have a power head.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Westwood ca
Great product cheap and well mede helps reduce maintanance
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from LIZELLA,GA
I have used undergravel fillters for years & I feel your's are the best!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice product for the money , good deal

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from westchester, il
the size filters offered did not fit my size tank, but after a few cuts fits perfect and works great, good value
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MD
Currently both my 10 gallon and 40 gallon have these. The 10 gallon uses an air pump and the 40 powerheads. They work great at keep both tanks biologically stable and healthy for the fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

goor features

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from bellefonte, pa
It is easy to cut if need to .. I had a 20gal and they only had a 29gal.. So I was am to make this one for me. Easy to put together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for the price

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Comes with everything needed to setup. Comatible w powerheads. tubes more than long enough
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great IF You Understand How It Works!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Chesapeake Bay
Undergravel filters function as bio-filters.
You need a good air pump or better yet, powerheads for an undgravel filter to work.
I have never seen an undergravel filter sold that included either an air pump or powerheads. Larger tanks usually require a canister or power filter to supplement the UG.
TIP: If you use an undergravel filter with a fine substrate or sand, cover it first with a thin layer of coarse gravel, then a sheet of medium mesh fiberglas window screen (sterilized in saline & rinsed first). Then top with your substrate. This method does require powerheads to work efficiently.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
33of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't Work! BEWARE!

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
I honestly don't understand all the good reviews for this, I bought it and it doesn't come with any tubing or a pump. On top of that it has no motor! Every good filter has to have a motor, This just uses airstones. It is the weakest filter and worst "filter" I have ever purchased! DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-98points
12of 122voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Simple to install.

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Edmonds, WA
This undergravel filter is easy to put together and install. It exactly fits a 10-gal tank, and can also go in a 20-gal if you don't mind some margins.
I wanted to use it with a powerhead. The instructions don't explain how to do this, but I eventually figured it out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
I have this set up in my 29 gallon tank and so far it is working nicely. I didn't realize that the two columns on the side are bubblers. Had I known that I would not have purchased bubble bars for aeration, but that isn't a problem with the product. The set up was easy and seems to be worth the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased Yesterday

PostedApril 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fogelsville, PA
Yesterday i purchased this and hooked it up to two aqua clear 20 powerheads. I also bought many other things because i just redid my whole tank. This worked very well and came with many extras that i used in other places of the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what it's supposed to be

PostedDecember 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
These are old school, simple, inexpensive, easy to set up. They work and they last. I've got one in my 20L, and I think the one in my 29 is the same, it's ten years old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquatic Gardens Undergravel Filters

PostedDecember 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Titusville, FL
I have had this product for 2 days now, it may be a little loud but it does it's job. I have a question if someone can tell me, is the filter part supposed to be above or slightly below the water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Undergravel Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
I purchased the underground filters for my 30 gal tank--the product is working well, fits in the tank perfectly and was very easy to install. I would recommend this product--good value for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>