petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy

Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy

They grunt, they squeak, they rattlePlush Puppies Jumbo Dog Toys do it all, and drive your big dog crazy in the processThey're the giant soft plush toys with an attitude that your big dog will love for exercise and entertainmentMachine washable
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 out of 40(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Review 1 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Toy Ever

PostedJuly 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Central Florida
A few months ago I threw away all the parts and pieces that used to be dog toys and bought my 2 dogs all new toys. (Boy did the pet store love me that day.) I got them everything: balls and squeakers and plush and rubber and rope. You name it, and I probably bought at least one that day. I came across this giant (what I call) "Spider-Turtle" and knew immediately it had to come home with me.
My older dog, Nadda, is not super interested in squeaky toys anymore but he does play occassionally and he likes to play tug with the puppy. My 50lb pit bull puppy, Lucy, plays with everything all day so that the living room floor is covered with dog toys.
She LOVES this toy. When she goes to the toy box it is the first thing she picks without fail. She loves all the noises and there are tons of places to grab it to tug. She loves to just carry it around and sit and chew on it.
For me, the funniest thing is that the Spider-Turtle's legs are at least twice as long as hers, so she invariably ends up stepping on them as she walks and tripping herself up. I think she does it at least every 3rd or 4th step, not that it makes any difference to her.
It lasted a good 3 or 4 months before we started to lose the squeakers in the tips and probably 5 or 6 before it was de-stuffed. We still play with it, as the legs are still attached and its all in one piece.
As the owner of Pit Bulls and Rottweilers I am well aware of the short life span of fabric toys and can honestly tell you this one lasted way longer than I expected. As others have said I am going to have one in reserve at all times. This is a great toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Libby's Favorite

PostedJanuary 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
This is by far the favorite toy of my 7 month old terrier mix. Even when the spider was as big as her, Libby loved to play with it. She loves to drag it around with her and make all the noises. Every other leg has a squeaker as does the head. When shaken, it makes deep grunt/rattle noises. Although her original spider has been retired, they hold up very well considering the constant attention they get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spider dog toy is an excellent choice if your dog likes big toys.

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Newport Beach Ca
I watch my daughter's Great Dane puppy and he loves to play with the spider toy. He likes it because it is BIG and the spider legs flop all over when he shakes it. Real fun for him! He eventually pulled stuffing out but still loves to play with it. I took squeaker out and put toys inside and he loves to pull them out. Such a big hit I ordered him 2 more spiders!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Used to be awesome, but seems like they changed the materials they use...

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I have been buying this spider toy for probably 5 years. It used to last my 75 pound black lab mix at least 6 months. I've always thought it was a bit pricey but it was so well made that I kept re-buying it for her every time it finally lost it's squeakers and stuffing...
Last week I received 2 of these that I bought online when Petco had them at 50% off... I couldn't pass up getting 2 for the price of 1! These new ones look slightly different in color and seem to be made of a lower quality fabric. Within the first half hour it was as if the fur on the spider's head had just disintegrated, there were little holes everywhere like you get in the really cheap toys... The first one also tore along the neck seam within that first half hour too. I took it away and gave her the second spider toy... same thing happened, a whole bunch of holes in the head. I still have an old one that I bought way earlier this year that is perfectly in tact (minus the squeakers being worn out - there are no rips or anything). I wish the manufacturer would go back to using the materials they used to... I just can't justify continuing to spend $22 on a toy that doesn't even last my dog an hour... no matter how much she loves it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of our puppy's favorites

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
Bought this toy for our new lab puppy and he LOVES it. It doubles as a pillow in his crate when he feels like cuddling with something and has stood up quite well to frequent washing. Only negative was that it got a hole in the neck (head started to tear off the body) on the second day we had it - and without biting or destruction by the dog. The seam just appeared defective. I sewed it back on and it's been good ever since. Just bought a second one as backup for when he finally destroys the first!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For a German Shepherd/ Husky

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
from El Centro, CA
I have a female German Shepherd/ Husky mix
A friend of mine gave me the idea to bring my dog with me to Petco so she can pick out her own toys.
This is not the kind of toy that I would have bought for her had she not pulled it off the shelf. She loves it! She plays with it all day and cuddles it at night.
The middle part grunts and 4/8 of the tentacles have squeakers (though my dog has already popped 2 of them). The description claims there is a rattle but the one I bought does not have one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the dog occupied!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from virginia
Our dog absolutely loves Spunky! A bit pricey, but well worth it. Keeps her occupied for hours. She enjoys chewing off the legs one by one, then will suckle on the head for long periods. Her favorite toy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not recommended

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Denton, TX
I do not recommend this product to anyone. This is the most expensive toy I have ever purchased and my dog destroyed it literally the day of. I have a beagle/pug mix, she was about 4 months old when I got this toy. Out of all the toys I have bought her, this was the only one destroyed within an HOUR. It usually takes her a few weeks or even months to break open. I even sewed the spider back together. The material was so terrible that she was able to destroy it in many other places as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like the Energizer Bunny of dog toys

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
from St. Charles, IL
I purchased this toy, lovingly named "Ugg the Bug" by my family, for our boxer puppy 9 YEARS ago. Now, Boxers are not gentle on plush toys, we anticipated it to die a quick death. Today, some of the feet squeakers still squeak and it has only had to have 2 legs amputated. We are on our second boxer who loves it as much as the first one did....
I cannot recommend this toy enough.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

His FAVORITE toy

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from north port FL
I have a 4 year old Golden. Like all dogs, anything with sqeakers dont last long in our house. On his 2nd birthday we took him into petco and let him "choose" a toy. He immediately found this "turtle/octopus" toy and carried it to the register. Hes had it ever since. He brings it to bed with him, brings it onto the couch with him, shows every guest that comes over that toy. He has tons of toys but this is his favorite by far. We are now in the market to get another one as after 2 years a hole has finally appeared and slowly the stuffing is coming out. But to make him a happy pup a new one is in store! Very entertaining to watch him swing it around, play tug of war, and use it as a pillow when he thinks noone is looking. Weve shown this toy to his sisters owners and they went and bought them the same one and are having the exact same experience! LOVE THIS!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Greenie" is the absolute favorite toy.

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Naples, FL
P.D. our 25 pound, almost 4 years old, terrier mix, has had several "Spunky the Spider" toys. He knows them as "Greenie" and LOVES them. I alway buy 4 or 5 because I'm afraid they could be discontinued and he'd miss them. Don't missunderstand, he has dozens of toys but this is without a doubt his favorite. I never before realized that a dog would enjoy a plush toy. When I brought the first one home to P.D. he was a puppy and much smaller than the toy but for him it was love at first sight. We always make sure we have a "Greenie" in the car and would never travel without it. They are a very durable toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charlie's favorite toy!

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Sarasota, Fl
This toy is rugged and interesting. Charlie delights in
dragging this toy with him everywhere. It makes a funny sound and also has squeaky things in the legs. I think
he can't understand why we all don't find this beast the most extraordinary item in the world. He certainly does.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this has been his favorite for years.

PostedMarch 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from LOUISVILLE, KY
Our dog got this toy as a puppy and we are finally replacing it after 6 years. He still plays with it, but it has lost the stuffing. He is REALLY hard on his toys, but this one has survived. He carries it around even though it is bigger than him. After all this time, the squeekers in the legs still work. Great toy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ollie's favorite toy

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from breckenridge, co
We bought this toy for our pit-lab mix. He actually picked it out when we took him to pet-co. We figured that it would be ripped to shreds that afternoon. Not even close. He has loved his "spider frog" for over 5 months now. The only reason it is chewed up now is because another dog came over and ripped some legs off. Otherwise, it is his best friend. Honestly, no other toy he has had has lasted this long, nor has he been more attached to anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Toy!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
My 9 month boxer mix loves his big spider toy. He is a pretty agressive chewer and has chewed one little hole in the spider but I sewed it back together and he still loves it. It is one of his favorite toys now!! Even if he does eventually tear it up...I will definitely get another one to keep on hand...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Toy

PostedSeptember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
I saw this lovely toy here on the website and read the reviews about how fantastic this item is. I went down to my local Petco and picked one up. My 3 month old boxer puppy LOVES this toy she carries it everywhere even though it's larger than she is.
I'd suggest anyone with a little ball of energy to pick this up because it's sure to keep them entertained for hours. So far the only problem is that the squeakers in the arms weren't able to withstand needle sharp puppy teeth, but she still enjoys chewing the squeakers even when they don't squeak. (Head still squeaks, body still grunts and rattles just 3 out of 4 arm squeakers lost their squeak.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Obsession

PostedSeptember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
This toy is the best thing I have ever bought my little boston terrier Oscar; he just can't live without it! He is a super strong chewer but has never destroyed this guy. He will sit with it all day and carry it around with him! We have been through several of them only because they get dirty with him carry it around and licking it all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun but NOT for Tuggers

PostedAugust 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
My weimy loved this wild toy the first second he saw it! He loved all the strange sounds he could get from it, and wanted to carry it around the house, and shake the heck out of it... however, when he tried to get my labrador to join in the fun, they had the stuffing pulled out of the head in under a minute! Also, the squeakers at the ends of the legs didn't last more than 48 hours. I have since moved this flattened, unstuffed toy into the car as a floppy fun thing they can chew on quick road trips.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my dog loves these

PostedMay 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
I buy them whenever I see them. literally next to the tennis ball....his favorite toy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plush Puppies Jumbo Character Series Spunky the Spider Dog Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Great Dane approves!!

PostedApril 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
His favorite toy! Also, the longest lasting! This thing has gone through it all... it even withheld tug o' war with his best buddy who is a Bernese Mtn Dog. All the squeakers still work with the exception of 1 at the end of a leg. Considering getting another because he loves it so much! Great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>