petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs

Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs

Immediate relief from itching and scratchingSoothes and heals irritated skinTea tree oil, chamomile, aloe vera and other natural ingredientsAlcohol free, no sting formula
Average Customer Rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
39
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
44 out of 48(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Review 1 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

18 year old doxie-helped during last weeks

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
gingerluv
I am a Mom of 2 babies-1 mini-doxie mix-GINGER-18 years old, and 1 Chi-HEIDI-8 yrs old. Heidi was adopted when we lost our LUCKY beagle 8 yrs ago, who was GINGER's best friend. GINGER was soooo depressed, as I was, and HEIDI was a godsend! I am disable, living with my 79 yr old MOM, and am on limited income, but my babies are first! I got the Vet Itch Spray because both doggies were itching, no fleas, just itching, and since Ginger has had many problems with MIRACULOUS recoveries, I needed to make them as comfortable as possible, with no toxic effects. I found this spray after much research.
This Itch spray is safe, smells great, and helped my beautiful baby GINGER be more comfortable during what I did not know at the time would be her last weeks with us. She would itch at spots on her little body, but her feet couldn't reach them. So, I would spray her where I thought she was itching, and she could rest. I lost my GINGER on 1/22/08, and I feel so lost without her! Heidi and I are both so terribly depressed, but we are trying to go on. With the help of PETCO products, their wonderful staff and great products, I recommend any pet lover to shop either at the store or online. I adopted Ginger from a shelter when she was only 4 years old, and was so blessed to have her in my life! Please adopt a homeless pet, and they will give you the love of a lifetime!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

made my dog act unusual

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frankiesowner
My great dane gets horrible hot spots during summer. It gives him scales and makes his fur fall out. I usually give him a bath every week with an oatmeal shampoo and also try to give him a fish oil pill everyday. The vet also told me if it gets really bad to give him some banadryl for relief. I used to use the pet co brand hot spot conditioner for after his shampoo but one day they were out of the product so I decided to try this product. To begin the spray bottle was broken it wouldn't spray so I transfered the product into a working spray bottle and would use it as directed. Within minutes of my dog being sprayed he would start pacing the house and dripping drool. He does not normally drool at all. I would not let him lick himself so I do not know why it made him drool but he was very uncomfortable, I almost feel like he reacted worse to product then he did without it. I will not recommend this product to friends and I will not be buying it again. It also smells really bad and makes the entire house smell like the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful priceless spray

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Masyanya
from Pittsburgh, PA
My dog had awful problems with his paws, and he still does but this spray helps like no other. And when I use it my dog gets relief in a matter of a couple of minutes. My dog liked his paws until they were raw and the veterinarian would prescribe antibiotics. This spray doesn't cause any pain to my dog - like burning or stinging but it literally provides him with an immediate relief. I love that it contains only the natural ingredients and when you look at the ingredient list there isn't anything toxic or dangerous if he licks it and with problems like these it's hard to tell your dog not to lick his/her paws. It defiantly is for external use only but what I like about it also is that I don't have to worry about the ingredients that he absorbs from it. It can also be used several times a day - but thanksfully i didn't have the need to use it that frequently. I honestly recommend this wonderful product to dog owners who's dogs have skin problems like these and I hope that Petco continues to carry this product in the future.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VETS BEST HOT SPOT SPRAY

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
GJC57
from BERGEN COUNTY, N.J.
THIS IS THE VERY BEST HOT SPOT AND ITCH RELIEF SPRAY ON THE MARKET!!! MY WESTIE HAS VERY BAD ALLERGIES AND WHEN THE SEASON STARTS FOR TREE POLLEN SHE HAS A TERRIBLE TIME. SHE ITCHES, BITES HER PAWS UNTIL THEY BLEED, ITCHES HER SIDES AND TAKES ALL HER HAIR OFF. WE HAD HER TESTED AND SHE IS ALLERGIC TO EVERY SINGLE TREE OUT THERE. SHE HAS SPECIAL SERUM MADE AND IS GIVEN BY INJECTION EVERY 5 DAYS FOR FOUR WEEKS THEN EVERY WEEK UNTIL THE POLLEN COUNT GOES DOWN A LITTLE, THEN SHE GOES FOR A SHOT EVERY TWO WEEKS. EVEN WITH THE SHOTS CERTAIN PARTS OF HER ITCH, HER EYES GET WATERY AND HER NOSE IS STUFFED UP. I HAVE TRIED MANY HOT SPOT SPRAYS BUT THEY ALL CONTAIN ALCHOHOL AND SHE RUNS AWAY AND DOES NOT WANT IT ON HER BUT WITH VETS BEST HOT SPOT SPRAY WHICH CONTAINS TEA TREE OIL AND ALOE VERA SHE LIKES THE SPRAY AND ONCE IT IS SPRAYED ON SHE STOPS ITCHING THOSE SPOTS. I CAN'T TELL YOU WHAT A RELIEF IT IS TO SEE HER GET THE RELIEF SHE NEEDS - IT IS REALLY THE BEST!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Majjas
I bought this product today, after trying many differnt ways to stop my misserable dog from chewing on himself. He has seasonal based allergies that Benedryl usually takes care of. The last few weeks he has been gnawing, biting, licking and scratching with everything he has. The poor dog looked like he had chewed a hole through his tail. Within the first application on this spray it all stopped. COMPLETELY!!! He has never had hot spots before and now im sure he will never suffer from them again. It even seems to be aiding the healing process already. I even used it on my own hand after squeezing lemons( i have very dry skin so lemon juice felt like razor blade cuts), as soon as i sprayed just a little bit the itching and burning stopped. I have faith in this product and i will recomend it to any pet owner.Even though it was a bit pricier than i expected, I will definately be making another purchase when this bottle runs out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMay 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
AnkhRockerV
from Van Nuys, CA
This product works so well, I've been tempted to try it on my scalp when it gets itchy! My little boy dog has very itchy feet and ears, and sometimes gets a rash on his chest, with little bumps, from being in the grass. For a while, he was chewing the fur off his toes until it was raw, and he scratched a sore on his ear! I tried different dietary supplements and rubbed different oils on his itchy spots (which only helped his sneezing) before discovering this spray. Within an hour he stopped itching!
I also work in animal rescue, and used this spray on a dog with a severe allergy. I had bathed him and his skin was so incredibly red and hot underneath his fur that even in cold water he couldn't cool down! I sprayed him really well with this spray once a few days ago, and about 50% of his rash has gone away. I definitely plan on continuing to use this on him, as well as any other itchy dogs I meet from here on out!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so worth it!!

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chancey82509
from CT
my pup is a wheaten and he has very bad allergies! itchy paws mostly but also ears ive tried so many things shampoos sprays, finally resorted to benadryl at night to help him sleep to relieve him from the itchiness... i read the ever so helpful reviews on here and bought this stuff willing to try anything and it really works so well!! my dog i dunno if he doesnt like the smell or what but he will be working on his paw in the middle of the night and wake me up or during the day scratching a lot and when i put this on he will be able to relax or play pay attention to other thing sit sgreat!! i see him go to his paw smell it and turn away! i love it and the best part is, its all natural ingredients and NO alcohol! love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

PostedAugust 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
halode
I have been using this product on my dogs for over 5 years. I found something else about this product. It works fast, soothes & begins healing immediately. Something else you probably don't know..it works on us too. I have a problem with occaional rashes that pop up when I am stressed. The Veternarian's Best Hot Spot Spray works right away and soothes the itch and within minutes, gone. I use it all the time on myself, my husband and my dogs. Great stuff, can't say enough about it. I am ordering a whole bunch because I am finding it harder to find in the stores. Yea for VB's Hot Spot Spray. ALL NATURAL TOO! Won't hurt me or my pookies. Yeah! :>):>)
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stopped the constant scratching

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
ChipsMom
from Baltimore, MD
My Maltese mix started scratching non-stop in early July. I went from looking for fleas, to buying a hydrating shampoo to changing flea medication. The new flea medication just made the scratching worse. I have the Vet's Best Allergy Itch Relief shampoo which seemed to calm the scratching temporarily. After speaking to my college friend in veterinary school, we concluded that he may have allergies to grass pollen, as his itching began in July. After I sprayed him ONCE in each itchy spot with this spray, he has not scratched again in a week. I must say I am pretty impressed with this product and have been recommending it to my friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Excellent!!!

PostedApril 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BrodysMama
from Florida
I could not get over how fast and efficient this spray is! My poor baby (Lhasa Apso and Yorkie mix) suffers from allergies; mainly pollen and I was instructed to give him Benadryl during the allergy season. While the Benadryl helped, I did not like how sleepy he was all of the time. I tried other sprays and home remedies, but not one single product has worked as well as this. I applied to his skin and within 15 minutes most of the itching ceased. He was able to sleep in peace and I was, too. If your dog has any type of allergies that effect their skin, I highly recommend this product as a safe and fast alternative to medicines.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skin Allergies

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hardhatkatt
from Kansas City
So, I'v been pulling my hair out over what to do with my Shi Tzu's incessant biting and scratching. Its so bad that he has scab's on his back. So, I researched the web for a non-pharmaceutical treatment, not many reviews for other products out there except for "dinovite", which I haven't tried yet, and Vet's best hot spot relief. Many positive reviews for this stuff so I bought it and literally soaked my dog it the area of his irritation....amazing results! Its not a cure but dramatic difference for sure. I can tell when its wearing off I just reapply, less liberally, and he's back to being calm. Highly recommend this stuff
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The reviews are true!

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
cworks
from Seffner,FL
My dog has suffered from bad skin allergies for awhile, we had him on steroids and antibiotics on the vets recommendation but i knew from previous experience with another dog the steroids would have negative long term effects so i searched for something else and came across this product and after reading the reviews decided to try it..IT WORKS! Almost immediately after spraying him he stopped scratching and let out what i would call a sigh of relief and was able to sleep better then he had in a long time. He now looks forward to it when he starts itching. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!!!

PostedJune 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jules815
I bought this for my Chocolate Lab TODAY and felt compelled to come back to the website to write a review. I purchased this product on my lunch hour this afternoon, about 5 hours ago, and sprayed it on my dog's back when I got it home. The results are amazing! The poor thing had dry patches and welts all over his back from rolling around in the grass (they were so bad that you could see the lumps from across the room) and after ONE application, they have reduced dramatically in size and he has stopped biting at them. This is a great product and I would HIGHLY recommend it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY Something that works!!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lovemydobies
from Queen Creek, AZ
My dobie has been plagued by SEVERE itching, scratching, licking, chewing, biting, hot spots, sores, odor, etc for about 4 years. I have tried EVERYTHING from a Raw Diet to countless dog foods to countless supplements & sprays to hundreds of dollars on Vet bills...
This Hot Spot Spray is the BEST, BEST, BEST! Finally he has some relief. And it smells so good - he is odor-free. I've combined this with the Vet's Best Allergy Tabs and the combo is working MIRACLES. After only 3 weeks on both of these products, he is about 75% better! FANTASTIC!! LOVE IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommahen1
from Nassau, NY
This product really seems to be doing a great job. The "armpit area" (only one side) was a hot spot, and the area was red, raw, and the fur was gone. We had just been to the vet, and within a short time this condition flared up. Dealt with this condition once before with steroids, and was about to make an appointment when your catalog arrived. Liked the idea of all natural, and thought I would give it a try. Very pleased so far with the results. No more scratching, and the skin is greatly improved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

products has exellent ingridiences

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Luvherbs
from Fort Myers FL
One of the best formulas on the market dogs stopped scratching and I am not using any flea medication anymore . because it is a natural ingredients I also using myself on all skin irritation could not get rid of this for a year and now two weeks and my neck and other spots are clear of redness and itching which I could not get with doctor' prescribed medications tree oil chamomile and aloe excellent combination Highly recommend soothing fragrance too. Getting two more bottles for me my husband.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product Works Best!

PostedJune 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
PABound
Our dog started licking her hind leg when we moved to a new environment. The vet said it was allergies and to give her Benadryl. We tried everything...we fought with this for almost a year when a friend suggested we look for a product online. We tried this one and it is fantastic. Lua will come to me when her leg starts to bother her and "requests" the spray. 3 weeks later, the sore is almost healed and hair has started to grow back on her leg. She is very happy and so are we!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vet's Best Hot Spot Spray

PostedMay 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
FaithandHope
from Tampa, FL
I have a cairn terrier/maltese mix- this was the 1st year she's been biting and scratching. We use frontline plus but it seems to have stopped working for her. She developed a few hot spots from this and used the spray. It works instantly!! It didn't sting her, even though some spots were raw, she seemed happy to be sprayed and it lasted about a day for each spray. The smell is nice, and the product is mostly tea tree oil, but it's not greasy in any way. Great Product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really & Truly Works!

PostedNovember 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Megi
I have a bichon who's prone to hot spots. This spray, applied a couple times a day when the problem first appears nips it in the bud. It does not appear to cause the dog any discomfort when applied and the licking ceases immediately (thank heaven -- that has got to be one of the most disgusting sounds a creature can make!). I also believe it helps heal and dry up the sore spot far faster than it would ever heal on its own. I swear by it -- and so does Snowy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vet's Best Hot Spot Itch Relief Spray for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful, your dog will love you more

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
barbsden
from FL
This spray is a wonderful find. I have tried so many things to help my dogs' allergy/itches from vinegar mixtures, and vitamins, to allergy pills. This spray is just what I needed. It is an immediate relief to my dogs. I love that it is natural so I don't have to worry about anything harmful in it for them from licking it or other side effects. It smells nice as it dries too. It says it can be used up to 4 times per day but I have not had to use that often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>