petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums

Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums

Accurate and easy to read temperature measurement for fresh or saltwater aquariumsVertical strip thermometer adheres to outside of aquarium glassMeasures in Fahrenheit and Celsius
Average Customer Rating:
2.375 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
6 out of 16(38%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Review 1 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent and works for me

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
criticalmedic
from Chicago, IL
This is just what it looks like, I set this up and it lets me know if the tank is keeping temperature or not. Works for my needs
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
OrcaTrainer
from SeaWorld, Orlando
Don't waste your money on this thermometer like I did. An hour after I applied the thermometer to the tank, I didn't see any changes. After several days, and then several weeks, there was still no temperature showing on the thermometer. Finally, after about a month, the temperature changed, but it wasn't accurate. I suppose it was because of the heating and cooling of the tank glass. Anyways, this thermometer is somewhat hard to read. I finally gave up on it and purchased a thermometer for the inside of the tank. It works much better than the thermometer strip. So, like I said before, don't waste your money like I did. I don't recommend this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont bother

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
forever13
A waste of money, and time. It is very cheap, but what you pay for is what you get. Every time I would attempt to read it, there would be about 4 marks that seemed to be colored. Never was able to read it even after using it for a number of weeks. I finally ended up throwing it away...spend a few more dollars and purchase a better product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TOO BROAD A NUMERICAL DIFFERENCE

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
SUPERCHIEF
from SYOSSET, N.Y.
Most such outside thermometers have a one or two degree seperation of color designations.This one has 3 degrees, which is not good enough for delicate tropical fish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It would make a distinct bookmark

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
HillbillyHomer
from mo
Don't waste your time or money.
It would make a distinct bookmark and that about it!
You will need a flashlight to reed it and then it was 20F off!
Get a small digital inside / outside thermometer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

themometer

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
penner
from okcy ok
buy a higher end.. had to take it back.This themoters are not the most accurate anyway. This one displyed no color variation at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hard to read, but somewhat accurate.

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
808bettas
it was hard to read at first because there was 3 different colors. then the color stood out more after a few days. it works fine. but thing is, you can't move it. i took it off to put in a new thermometer and the adhesive is hard to take off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PETCO Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
bettalover21543
from new jersey
The thermometer is very hard to read. I have to use a flashlight in order to read the temperature even when the room is very bright. Although it is hard to read, it seems accurate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Petco brand thermometer

PostedMay 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eljam
from Brooklyn, NY
No Good. Doesn't really change color to indicate temperature change. It will change color if you place your finger on it, which indicates the chemical strip is not sensitive enough to detect fluctuations of less than 3-5 degrees F. Also have ATI brand thermometers which are much easier to read and can detect changes of 1-2 degrees F.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good price and quality

PostedJune 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
ClownfishPlaty123
Got this thermometer for both my freshwater and Marine aquariums, and they've both been going for years, untill I tried to move the one on the freshwater tank. oops! Don't do that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMarch 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
petfan
from TN
Works o.k. for me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will never buy one

PostedSeptember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruthy13118
I cant stand these things. You never know what temp. its really reading, your room temp. or the temp. in your tank. And they are so confusing for me to read. Mine show three different colors at the same time, so Im never really sure where the temp. is truly at. The ones that go in the tank are easily hidden. I am always distracted by these stuck on the side. Not to mention you only have one chance to stick it on, and its easy to get it slanted.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good and Inexpensive

PostedSeptember 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
CactusBarb
from Tucson, AZ
I bought this for by friend's betta to see if the bowl temperature was OK.
The readout it a bit dark, but readable in room light. There could be some confusion if the bowl temperature is between numbers. Do not expect high accuracy and I doubt if it is really needed.
Be sure that the back sticky side of the thermometer is firmly pressed against the (cleaned) glass, otherwise you will be reading the room temperature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

You can do better

PostedMay 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
SDevs
from Pgh.,Pa.
I have a few of these strips on my smaller Betta tanks,and I'm going to be honest and say that half the time I can't see it to read it,and when I can see it,the actual temps read higher than what the water really is.
Petco has so many other reasonable priced thermometers that I'd really prefer the others over this one.I like the more accurate readings myself.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
harpopha
Not as accurate as a thermometer that actually contacts water in the tank. However, product is easy to apply, and great for quick, general monitoring of tank temperature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Outside Thermometer for Fresh & Marine Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I think it works

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
RTremor
from Honolulu, Hawaii
I don't know if it is taking the reading the temp from inside the aquarium or from the room. I tried putting a light near it and the temp went up so, I think it is taking the room temp and not the aquarium temp.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.