petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens

Kills & repels fleas and ticksKills & prevents flea eggs for up to 7 monthsSafety release snap reduces risk of neck injury to your catClean fresh scent
Average Customer Rating:
1.75 / 5
1.8
 / 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
2 out of 8(25%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Review 1 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
arem
dont buy it does not work
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

flea collar

PostedJanuary 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
blynne93
We use this on our cat and we have never had fleas and our cat goes outside several times a day and we have not had problems yet. She acts fine with it and hasn't gotten sick from it. We have had her for 5 years now and this is all we have used. I didn't give it a 5 because it can come undone sometimes, and when you first put it on it has an oder to it, but the smell usually wears off in a few hours
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product is only as good as your overall cleaning!

PostedAugust 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
RAponte
from Brooklyn, NY
I got this for my two year old cat. I live in the basement of my sisters house and I have carpeting. My cat doens't go outside, and I don't have pets coming in but every summer, we have a flea situation. After doing lots of research online, I learned there are LOTS of steps to take to get rid of fleas, so if you're just going to use the collar and think your flea problem is gone, think again. The collar works, but you have to kill the fleas, larvas and eggs on and around your pet meaning using carpet powders a few times, spray everything with special sprays, treating your yard and outdoor areas where your pet may spend time, constantly cleaning up pet hair around your home (fleas love that), etc. So, just washing your pet and popping on a collar won't work; using the collar as only part of your overall flea-killing treatment works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasting money with this one

PostedNovember 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
danna51284
from Chicago, IL
I have 2 cats. One is 2 months and the other is 3 months. Now I bathed both of them in the Hartz Foaming Shampoo and that did not work because the 3 month old kept getting fleas (in a days period every time I washed her). So i bought her a Hartz flea collar because she was old enough to wear it and she still has fleas that i am picking off everyday. I don't know why it is not working but the shampoo isn't working either and I am using 2 products from the same company.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedJune 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
catlover59
Don't waste your money buying this product it DOES NOT WORK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would not buy

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
keith
from New York
I heard stories of cats and dogs getting very sick from wearing flea collars, I would not reccomend using one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zero Satisfaction

PostedSeptember 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
casey899
from Lititz, PA
We bought our 3 cats these collars hoping the high price would ensure results. Buyer beware! We didn't have a large flea problem to begin with but the population seems to have GROWN since we put these collars on the cats 4 days ago. Too bad there wasn't an option for ZERO paws for the rating! The cats are scratching like crazy and the flea comb is still picking up live fleas each day. Looks like they'll be be taking the dreaded flea bath this weekend.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hartz Ultra Guard Plus Flea & Tick Collar for Cats & Kittens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money!

PostedAugust 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
blackjh1989
from Leonardtown, MD
We are having serious issues with fleas. I bathed all three of our cats with flea and tick shampoo, then put this collar on all of them. Less than a week later, they were infested again. I used this collar and the Hartz flee drops. The fleas still kept coming back. The only thing that worked was the shampoo, but even that didn't seem to work completely (about 80%)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.