petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide

Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide

Train your dog to use a litter pan!Secondnature Dog Litter's absorbent paper pellets with odor control designed especially for use in housetraining your dog to use a litter pan Includes a free second nature Training Guide in the bag Made of recycled materials
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
30 out of 37(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Review 1 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissapointing

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
ljtdh
from Ohio
I have a Yorkie puppy who was using potty pads, but he would also shred them. I read about the litter and thought it would work. 1. He kept eating the litter. This made me very worried as he only weighs 3 lbs. it says it is safe, but I'm not taking any chances. 2. He would go potty next to the litter, so it became a huge step backwards in his housebreaking. I followed the recommended transition without any progress. Returned to the store, and went back to pads. He is using the pads again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and price

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer111
from Seattle area
Purina second nature Dog Litter. Ive been using this system for years. It was easy to get my dog to use the litter box (he is a Havanese ~11 lbs). The petco price was more than fair and they delivered for a nominal price. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ech0blue
from Eldersburg, MD
My Shih Tzu loves this dog litter. He learned very quickly to use it and now prefers it. It convenient for me and my dog. It also does an excellent job at eliminating odors. I never smell anything and neither have any of the visitors that come over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the potty box

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
IvysGrammie
from KY
Our little yorkie-poo would not go outdoors, but using a litter box worked like a dream. This litter is in big enough pieces that it does not stick to the dog's feet, and it doesn't scatter everywhere like cat litter does. It is a bit pricey, but it does what we need it to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is INCREDIBLE!!!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chiguy010
from Chicago
Have a 12 year old beagle that has used it since she was 3 months old! All about containment when they are pups. Keep them in a smaller space(my den) so she was never too far from the pan. Within a week she was 95%! Amazing! She will still #1 in the box, but prefers to #2 outside. But, she will do both in the box in an emergency situation!. Living in a high rise and working makes me feel better about leaving her for a longer period.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

purina dog litter

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
RoseJ
from New York City
the product is good been using it for ten years. BUT the litter pan that I have been using which is from Secondnature is not available anymore. Cannot find an equal pan, so what do I do? Will Purina be eliminating the litter next?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Messy Clean-up

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
TikiEmitCloeCoco
from Pittsburgh,PA
I never trained my 4 small dogs to use the litter.
I just placed it in their room & they started using it.
No more mopping or usig chemicals to disinfect the floor every time I come home from work.
Easy clean-up!!! Just use a scoop to remove soiled litter, or just dispose of everything in the tray & start fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Purina secondnature Dog Litter

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladywindward
from Stow, OH
I have used this litter to train two of my puppies. I put a newspaper the puppies had used on top of the litter. They immediately used the litter box. After a few times I removed the paper. With a minimum amount of cleaning out the used litter with a small scoop, you have a nice clean smelling box. This is the BEST litter. I have used other brands and I could smell the difference (not good). The litter frees you up from going outside in the bad weather and at night. Small dogs tend to need to go more often so this helps in that area as well. If you have a small dog, this is the way to go - it's EXCELLENT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
ToddAndDozer
from Westminster, MD
We recently got an English Bulldog pup that was litter trained so I bought this product to use at home. Petco had the best price that I could find. It works great and there is no odor at all. It is a little difficult to scoop and sort through what is still good and what is used but that is minor. My only issue is the cost and this is a Purina issue not Petco. There are other similar products available elsewhere for a lot less cost. I would love to give more information on that but Petco doesn't allow it. Also, as far as the training guide...I didn't find it to be helpful at all. The tips from our breeder were much more helpful. All in all I love having a pup that is litter trained. We still have a few "accidents" from time to time but overall the litter box is a great thing for potty training especially if the pups start using it when they are very young.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonderfully

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
MyDoggiesBFF
from Chicago suburb
This product has excellent odor contol and is very
Absorbent. I would definitely recommend to anyone
with a small inside dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luceplayer
from Los Angeles, CA
This product has been a lifesaver. The smell is great and it absorbs the odor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

PostedApril 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grif
from Philadelphia
My pup was "potty box" trained with in 2 days of coming home. This is so great when you have to work late or the weather is miserable. Just a bit expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Approve and Recommend.

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
MCVogue
from Sugar Land, TX
Kills odors, NEVER smelled anything when my baby uses his litter inside the home. I have a Pomeranian Baby Boy who uses the toilet every 2 to 3 hours. I approve and recommend this product. I have been using this product for 1 year and since my baby was 3 months of age, I think this is also a good training aid. **NOTE: KEEP A CLOSE WATCH TO PREVENT CONSUMPTION.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dog litter

PostedJune 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
puppymama1
from Savannah, Ga
We have 8wk old puppies who have been in a kennel until now. Our female seems to like it, the male thinks it's food. It has only been 2 days so am hopeful for good results later on
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy!

PostedJuly 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Honeyrider1977
from Westland, MI
My husband and I have a small breed (Yorkie-Poo). Even once he's full grown he'll only be able to hold it for 5-6 hours; we're gone 10 hours out of the day at times. We brought the litter pan home and waited until it seemed like our puppy had to use the bathroom (he walks in circles and snifs). We put him in the pan and he went! The 2nd time he had to go he went on his own!!! We praised him like crazy of course and now he uses it all the time. The pellets do a pretty good job of masking the odor too, I was suprised. I would recommend this for anyone with a small breed dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Easy

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
zoesalpha
We trained our shih-tzu to use this product from the very start (she was about 4 months old) - it was easy. We crate trained her the usual way, only instead of taking her outside about an hour after she ate, we took her to the litter pan. She caught on quick, and we've been using it for the past 5 years, along with the doggie litter pan by the same brand (the sides are lower for dogs who have shorter legs than cats).
It is amazing. The #1 absorbs into the rolled newspaper pellets and disappears, and we just lift out the #2 with toilet paper and flush them. We change it about once a week and there's no bad odor. We all use the same bathroom - the dog uses her litter pan, and we use our "litter pan" (-the one that flushes).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 yrs and Still Good

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
LUNARDOLL1
We've used this product since our two Shitz's were puppies. Living in the Northeast sometimes cold weather didn't permit outdoor walks. Now living in the Southeast sometimes Hot weather doesn't permit walks..Thanks goodness for Second Nature. The only problem is as with most things..the price keeps going up..and Up..and UP !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
LexieLou
If you don't have the extra time to spend with your dog or puppy then this product is not for you. However, if you spend the extra time it takes to train your dog or puppy then this is the BEST product ever. My puppy was very scared at first but I stayed by her side every time to encouraging her to "go potty". The pellets are a little weird and probably feel funny under her feet but she is trained now and I LOVE IT! I stopped giving her treats when she went potty outside and started giving her treats when she went inside. One day I heard her in the litter box and thought she was playing or eating it (they love to eat this stuff) but to my surprise she was going number 2. I didn't train her to go number 2 in it but now she knows where she can go potty when in the house. Spend the extra time and you'll love it. It does take about a week or two but they'll get it. BTW...There's a $2.00 off coupon in the litter for the litter box. So, open the litter while in the store to get your coupon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJuly 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
lucylou
I am a new pet owner of a 3 month old chihuahua. I have been able to litter box train her and quite quickly. I have a large home so I have 2 litter boxes, one on each end. I began giving her a treat each time she would go and it worked. She will also go outside but it is so nice not having to worry about letting the dog out all the time. I would recommend this product to any new small dog owner!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I didn't like this stuff

PostedMay 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
TristansMom
I got a recommendation for this product from a dog lover who has a web page about litter-training your dog. I only tried it once, but I won't try it again. I poured an entire 12-pound bag into my home-made dog litter pan (24"wide X 27"long), which filled it with about an inch of litter. My little dog (less than 10 pounds) had a hard time walking on it; his feet would slide as the pellets moved under his weight. It looked like it would hurt to walk on, but he didn't say. Also, this stuff breaks down into a lot of dust and, I don't know what to call it, stuff. It did absorb, though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>