petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide

Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide

Train your dog to use a litter pan!Secondnature Dog Litter's absorbent paper pellets with odor control designed especially for use in housetraining your dog to use a litter pan Includes a free second nature Training Guide in the bag Made of recycled materials
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
35 out of 42(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Review 1 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product works well with small dogs

PostedMay 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
My wife and I have been using second nature for over 10 years for our chihuahuas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog Litter

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Pleasant Prairie,Wi
Purina secondnature dog litter has one of the best size pellets. This makes a difference in what gets absorbed, and tracked through the house. Smaller pellets get caught in the paws. The other brands break down into a powder and cause a mess at times. Purina also has added a sent blocker which does help. Start your pups as young as possible and you won't have to get dressed to take the dog out in the winter. We have a Maltese, which would have gotten lost in the deep snow! Go away ..no problem the dog has it's own bathroom!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love my dogs using litterbox!

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia PA
I have 8 dogs all of whom are litterbox trained. Purina secondnature is the only product that keeps the odor to a minimum. It's especially nice not having to go outside in the freezing temperatures both for the dogs and myself!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purina Dog Litter

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, Michigan
I love this stuff. My dogs were very easy to train to use this. It comes in handy when I have to be away for longer periods of time. It is safe, clean, and effective. I would recommend this to anyone who has a dog that has to stay in for extended amounts of time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great dog litter

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Tampa fl
We have been using for over 12 years. Both of the dogs love using it. Makes it so much easier than taking them outside - especially on rainy days.
5 of 5. Would not highlight 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissapointing

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
I have a Yorkie puppy who was using potty pads, but he would also shred them. I read about the litter and thought it would work. 1. He kept eating the litter. This made me very worried as he only weighs 3 lbs. it says it is safe, but I'm not taking any chances. 2. He would go potty next to the litter, so it became a huge step backwards in his housebreaking. I followed the recommended transition without any progress. Returned to the store, and went back to pads. He is using the pads again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product and price

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Seattle area
Purina second nature Dog Litter. Ive been using this system for years. It was easy to get my dog to use the litter box (he is a Havanese ~11 lbs). The petco price was more than fair and they delivered for a nominal price. Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Eldersburg, MD
My Shih Tzu loves this dog litter. He learned very quickly to use it and now prefers it. It convenient for me and my dog. It also does an excellent job at eliminating odors. I never smell anything and neither have any of the visitors that come over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the potty box

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from KY
Our little yorkie-poo would not go outdoors, but using a litter box worked like a dream. This litter is in big enough pieces that it does not stick to the dog's feet, and it doesn't scatter everywhere like cat litter does. It is a bit pricey, but it does what we need it to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff is INCREDIBLE!!!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
Have a 12 year old beagle that has used it since she was 3 months old! All about containment when they are pups. Keep them in a smaller space(my den) so she was never too far from the pan. Within a week she was 95%! Amazing! She will still #1 in the box, but prefers to #2 outside. But, she will do both in the box in an emergency situation!. Living in a high rise and working makes me feel better about leaving her for a longer period.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

purina dog litter

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York City
the product is good been using it for ten years. BUT the litter pan that I have been using which is from Secondnature is not available anymore. Cannot find an equal pan, so what do I do? Will Purina be eliminating the litter next?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Messy Clean-up

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh,PA
I never trained my 4 small dogs to use the litter.
I just placed it in their room & they started using it.
No more mopping or usig chemicals to disinfect the floor every time I come home from work.
Easy clean-up!!! Just use a scoop to remove soiled litter, or just dispose of everything in the tray & start fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Purina secondnature Dog Litter

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Stow, OH
I have used this litter to train two of my puppies. I put a newspaper the puppies had used on top of the litter. They immediately used the litter box. After a few times I removed the paper. With a minimum amount of cleaning out the used litter with a small scoop, you have a nice clean smelling box. This is the BEST litter. I have used other brands and I could smell the difference (not good). The litter frees you up from going outside in the bad weather and at night. Small dogs tend to need to go more often so this helps in that area as well. If you have a small dog, this is the way to go - it's EXCELLENT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Westminster, MD
We recently got an English Bulldog pup that was litter trained so I bought this product to use at home. Petco had the best price that I could find. It works great and there is no odor at all. It is a little difficult to scoop and sort through what is still good and what is used but that is minor. My only issue is the cost and this is a Purina issue not Petco. There are other similar products available elsewhere for a lot less cost. I would love to give more information on that but Petco doesn't allow it. Also, as far as the training guide...I didn't find it to be helpful at all. The tips from our breeder were much more helpful. All in all I love having a pup that is litter trained. We still have a few "accidents" from time to time but overall the litter box is a great thing for potty training especially if the pups start using it when they are very young.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Wonderfully

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago suburb
This product has excellent odor contol and is very
Absorbent. I would definitely recommend to anyone
with a small inside dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedApril 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
This product has been a lifesaver. The smell is great and it absorbs the odor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good stuff

PostedApril 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia
My pup was "potty box" trained with in 2 days of coming home. This is so great when you have to work late or the weather is miserable. Just a bit expensive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Approve and Recommend.

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Sugar Land, TX
Kills odors, NEVER smelled anything when my baby uses his litter inside the home. I have a Pomeranian Baby Boy who uses the toilet every 2 to 3 hours. I approve and recommend this product. I have been using this product for 1 year and since my baby was 3 months of age, I think this is also a good training aid. **NOTE: KEEP A CLOSE WATCH TO PREVENT CONSUMPTION.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

dog litter

PostedJune 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Savannah, Ga
We have 8wk old puppies who have been in a kennel until now. Our female seems to like it, the male thinks it's food. It has only been 2 days so am hopeful for good results later on
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Purina secondnature Dog Litter and Training Guide
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy!

PostedJuly 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Westland, MI
My husband and I have a small breed (Yorkie-Poo). Even once he's full grown he'll only be able to hold it for 5-6 hours; we're gone 10 hours out of the day at times. We brought the litter pan home and waited until it seemed like our puppy had to use the bathroom (he walks in circles and snifs). We put him in the pan and he went! The 2nd time he had to go he went on his own!!! We praised him like crazy of course and now he uses it all the time. The pellets do a pretty good job of masking the odor too, I was suprised. I would recommend this for anyone with a small breed dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>