petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System

Gentle burst of spray stops barkingWhen your dog barks, a burst of all-natural citronella spray is emitted, which dogs find bothersome to their highly developed olfactory sense of smell25-30 sprays per refillFor dogs of any size
Average Customer Rating:
3.785 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
13
1 star
22
92 out of 130(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked for awhile

PostedDecember 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Houston
we used to live in an apartment and any noise in the hallway or from neighbors would make my dog bark. when i first got it, it worked great. after awhile, the refills got a bit expensive. and when the battery ran out, i had a hard time finding the correct battery size for replacement. by the time i replaced the battery a week later. my dog wasnt afraid of it anymore. he would then bark until the citronella ran out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+48points
80of 112voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

okay

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, Tx
My senior dog barks a lot and has anxiety and have recently moved into an apt. Im having to find away to control her barking when leaving. Thought this product would work but not so much for me. It could be due to her age and will have to use a medical way to take care of her anxiety. I didnt want to use a shock cover due to her age. It would be to life threatening for her. I do recommend it for younger breeds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for me!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, ne
I had such high hopes for this gentle spray bark control. However, after trying two of these collars (thought the first was defective) as well as my discussions with representatives at PetSafe, we decided this one was too sensitive a unit for my 14 lb. Havanese. The collar worked great when she barked but; unfortunately, it would go off occasionally if she just barely made a whining sound. So, I am now going to try the gentle elite collar for small dogs and; hopefully, that will solve the problem as they suggested because the microphone isn't supposed to be as sensitive. Both PetSafe and Petco have been great to work with!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works right from the start

PostedApril 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bryant, AR
This worked immediately with my dog. she learned from the first spray not to bark. Has gotten quite in the house. awesome
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worked pretty well in the beginning

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I was initially happy with the product, but by the time I was onto my second battery (less than 2 months), my dog no longer seems to care. I am now refilling the citronella every day, and that stuff is pretty expensive! Upgrading to a shock collar, not pleased that I spent $140 (collar, replacement battery, citronella refill) for less than 2 months of moderate bark control
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rocklin,CA
I like how this collar fits. I also like how it actually started working the first time she barked. We did have a shock collar for her for when she barked and it burned her in two places on the neck so we had to take it off. I am thankful that this product is safe for her to use. This type of collar was actually recommended by a lady who trains dogs for a living. My dog does not bark very much now but I sure wished it would go off when she would growl, or even pretend to be barking. I think that is also annoying. I really like this product overall. I give it a 5 star rating
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark Collar that works

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Myers, FL
We bought this collar for our deaf dog. He has a habit of chasing shadows and barking at them uncontrollably. Being deaf it is almost impossible to get his attention when he is doing this. We have only used the collar a few times and he has gone almost a week without barking. He is still chasing shadows, especially at night, but he is doing it quietly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
The Spray Bark Control worked IMMEDIATELY for 7 month old Cocker Spaniel, a breed known for liking to bark. She was in a phase of barking constantly and thought she was the neighborhood guard dog. The collar goes on and the barking stops! I don't have it on her all the time, but if she barks, I put the collar on, and VOILA! I don't even know if I'll need the extra refills I bought!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oklahoma city
I love this product! My mom and I both got one and problem solved no more barking dogs. I think it works better than static collar
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for all dogs

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
I had great hopes for this humane method of reducing barking. The problem is that the spray shoots straight out in front of the snout, and so does not work for a dog with a flat face, like a Pekingese.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Altoona, PA
I give this product a thumbs up. I no longer have a barking dog. He no longer barks all the time. The first time he had the collar on he only barked a couple of times until he got sprayed. I love my new unbarking dog. World of difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Product

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
Had 2 and they both didn't work after 2 weeks. Poor Quality! Don't waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from York, Pa
Great product but don't get it wet. My terrier would never respond to a shock collar as they are just too fearless but this smell is another matter and worked instantly to make him cut his barking short. I made the mistake of getting him wet with the hose as he loves to fight with it. I am hoping it wil dry out and work again but if not, I will purchase another and be more careful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MIS-fires

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silver Springs, FL
Really traumatizing to a 10lb. Jack Russell! This product MIS-fired on him multiple times. One time he was cuddling into bed and all of the sudden it sprayed him FOR NO REASON. We tried it on two separate days in different situations to try to problem solve. No success! TERRIBLE and mean to do that to a dog. He won't learn from it because he doesn't get it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Servicce

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from indiana
The PettSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System was defective. Petco made it very easy to return it to our local store where it was replaced with a new one.
The training system really works. It has totally stopped our dog's barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Meh...not for a real barker

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Luis Obispo, CA
This product worked well at first, likely because my Weimaraner was unfamiliar with the spray and smell. But once she got used to it, she learned that the canister would run out relatively quickly, so she would just bark through it until it was all gone, and was then free to bark as much as she wanted.
So the canister doesn't hold enough to stop a true barker and the battery life is WAY short. At $9.99 a battery, it's not worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Our puppy barks constantly at EVERYTHING, even us when we come in. You put this on the dog and send it out and they stop barking. It's made such a difference in the stress level when we let the dog out in the yard. I've already recommended it to my children for their dog that barks so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark Control

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CARLSBAD
It really works..the first time the collar sprayed him..he ran..he wasn't sure what happened..it definitely works..and most of all the color doesn't bother him whens it is on
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for my stubborn terrier

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Crofton, MD
I had really high hopes for this bark collar-- especially given the overwhelmingly positive reviews. We've been using the collar for several weeks now and it has absolutely no effect on our dog-- a rat terrier. She continues to bark at people walking by the house, dogs walking by the house, children riding bikes past the house... it's pretty out of hand and we're embarrassed. I know it's working because the citronella spray is evident as she's barking repeatedly. I guess my dog just enjoys that scent. So if you have as especially stubborn dog, be advised this may not be the miracle cure you're hoping for. It's turned out to be a fairly expensive disappointment for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Bark Contol

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I was pleasantly suprised. This works great! Follow the directions and your dog should see progress quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>