petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System

Citronella Spray Collar is the simple-to-operate bark deterrent that won't hurt your dogWhen your dog barks, a burst of all-natural citronella spray is emitted, which dogs find bothersome to their highly developed olfactory sense of smell
Average Customer Rating:
3.798 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
22
89 out of 124(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked for awhile

PostedDecember 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Houston
we used to live in an apartment and any noise in the hallway or from neighbors would make my dog bark. when i first got it, it worked great. after awhile, the refills got a bit expensive. and when the battery ran out, i had a hard time finding the correct battery size for replacement. by the time i replaced the battery a week later. my dog wasnt afraid of it anymore. he would then bark until the citronella ran out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+41points
73of 105voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Minnesota
The Spray Bark Control worked IMMEDIATELY for 7 month old Cocker Spaniel, a breed known for liking to bark. She was in a phase of barking constantly and thought she was the neighborhood guard dog. The collar goes on and the barking stops! I don't have it on her all the time, but if she barks, I put the collar on, and VOILA! I don't even know if I'll need the extra refills I bought!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from oklahoma city
I love this product! My mom and I both got one and problem solved no more barking dogs. I think it works better than static collar
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for all dogs

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Haven, CT
I had great hopes for this humane method of reducing barking. The problem is that the spray shoots straight out in front of the snout, and so does not work for a dog with a flat face, like a Pekingese.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Altoona, PA
I give this product a thumbs up. I no longer have a barking dog. He no longer barks all the time. The first time he had the collar on he only barked a couple of times until he got sprayed. I love my new unbarking dog. World of difference.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Product

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
Had 2 and they both didn't work after 2 weeks. Poor Quality! Don't waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from York, Pa
Great product but don't get it wet. My terrier would never respond to a shock collar as they are just too fearless but this smell is another matter and worked instantly to make him cut his barking short. I made the mistake of getting him wet with the hose as he loves to fight with it. I am hoping it wil dry out and work again but if not, I will purchase another and be more careful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MIS-fires

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Silver Springs, FL
Really traumatizing to a 10lb. Jack Russell! This product MIS-fired on him multiple times. One time he was cuddling into bed and all of the sudden it sprayed him FOR NO REASON. We tried it on two separate days in different situations to try to problem solve. No success! TERRIBLE and mean to do that to a dog. He won't learn from it because he doesn't get it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Servicce

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from indiana
The PettSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System was defective. Petco made it very easy to return it to our local store where it was replaced with a new one.
The training system really works. It has totally stopped our dog's barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Meh...not for a real barker

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Luis Obispo, CA
This product worked well at first, likely because my Weimaraner was unfamiliar with the spray and smell. But once she got used to it, she learned that the canister would run out relatively quickly, so she would just bark through it until it was all gone, and was then free to bark as much as she wanted.
So the canister doesn't hold enough to stop a true barker and the battery life is WAY short. At $9.99 a battery, it's not worth it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It works!

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
Our puppy barks constantly at EVERYTHING, even us when we come in. You put this on the dog and send it out and they stop barking. It's made such a difference in the stress level when we let the dog out in the yard. I've already recommended it to my children for their dog that barks so much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark Control

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CARLSBAD
It really works..the first time the collar sprayed him..he ran..he wasn't sure what happened..it definitely works..and most of all the color doesn't bother him whens it is on
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for my stubborn terrier

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Crofton, MD
I had really high hopes for this bark collar-- especially given the overwhelmingly positive reviews. We've been using the collar for several weeks now and it has absolutely no effect on our dog-- a rat terrier. She continues to bark at people walking by the house, dogs walking by the house, children riding bikes past the house... it's pretty out of hand and we're embarrassed. I know it's working because the citronella spray is evident as she's barking repeatedly. I guess my dog just enjoys that scent. So if you have as especially stubborn dog, be advised this may not be the miracle cure you're hoping for. It's turned out to be a fairly expensive disappointment for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Bark Contol

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I was pleasantly suprised. This works great! Follow the directions and your dog should see progress quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had great luck with this product!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Keene,NH
Our dog was a rescue and came with more than just a few issues and one of them was barking. Our vet recommended using a citronella collar to help decrease this problem and it certainly has. He is rather large lab/shepard whose bark was loud and frightening. It did not take him long at all to learn that there are just times that you don't bark. The spray did not harm him at all, it was just an odor that he did not find pleasant. We are now a quieter, happier household!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working Perfectly

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Suffolk, VA
This has made a huge difference with my dog's behavior, mainly while out in the fenced yard unattended. She now doesn't lose it with people walking down the sidewalk and I'm sure the neighbors are grateful that she's not freaking whenever they come or go from their house. In under a week, she's learning when the collar is on there is the risk of a spray. Also extremely glad we started with the citronella spray instead of a shock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
This didn't work for my bassett hound. He has separation anxiety and he continued to dish out sad howls/barks when I was away
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
It only took my Husky about 5 minutes to figure out if she turned her head and let out a long howl the collar would spray continuously and deplete its supply of citronella spray, then once empty she was right back to her howling-except worse because she was mad that she had been sprayed. The refill spray is also quite expensive. All in all, I found this product to actually made the noise issue worse, not better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 56 bucks I ever spent

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
Does what it says, works immediately!! I only wish they would make one with a remote for correction of other behaviors!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Collar works but is too sensitive to sound.

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
"Collar helped with dog's barking within the first day. On the other hand, just him yawning triggers the citronella to spray and scares him! I would suggest trying this before getting a shock collar. I just wish it had a better 'bark detector' or a handheld control so that he only gets sprayed when he's barking!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>