petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System

Citronella Spray Collar is the simple-to-operate bark deterrent that won't hurt your dogWhen your dog barks, a burst of all-natural citronella spray is emitted, which dogs find bothersome to their highly developed olfactory sense of smell
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
19
83 out of 114(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worked for awhile

PostedDecember 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
GReddy's Mom
from Houston
we used to live in an apartment and any noise in the hallway or from neighbors would make my dog bark. when i first got it, it worked great. after awhile, the refills got a bit expensive. and when the battery ran out, i had a hard time finding the correct battery size for replacement. by the time i replaced the battery a week later. my dog wasnt afraid of it anymore. he would then bark until the citronella ran out.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+33points
64of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark Control

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Skeeterdog
from CARLSBAD
It really works..the first time the collar sprayed him..he ran..he wasn't sure what happened..it definitely works..and most of all the color doesn't bother him whens it is on
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for my stubborn terrier

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChloeLolo
from Crofton, MD
I had really high hopes for this bark collar-- especially given the overwhelmingly positive reviews. We've been using the collar for several weeks now and it has absolutely no effect on our dog-- a rat terrier. She continues to bark at people walking by the house, dogs walking by the house, children riding bikes past the house... it's pretty out of hand and we're embarrassed. I know it's working because the citronella spray is evident as she's barking repeatedly. I guess my dog just enjoys that scent. So if you have as especially stubborn dog, be advised this may not be the miracle cure you're hoping for. It's turned out to be a fairly expensive disappointment for us.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Bark Contol

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Parismama
from New Jersey
I was pleasantly suprised. This works great! Follow the directions and your dog should see progress quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We had great luck with this product!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
FinnegansFamily3
from Keene,NH
Our dog was a rescue and came with more than just a few issues and one of them was barking. Our vet recommended using a citronella collar to help decrease this problem and it certainly has. He is rather large lab/shepard whose bark was loud and frightening. It did not take him long at all to learn that there are just times that you don't bark. The spray did not harm him at all, it was just an odor that he did not find pleasant. We are now a quieter, happier household!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Working Perfectly

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
VHogan
from Suffolk, VA
This has made a huge difference with my dog's behavior, mainly while out in the fenced yard unattended. She now doesn't lose it with people walking down the sidewalk and I'm sure the neighbors are grateful that she's not freaking whenever they come or go from their house. In under a week, she's learning when the collar is on there is the risk of a spray. Also extremely glad we started with the citronella spray instead of a shock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Basset29
from Houston, TX
This didn't work for my bassett hound. He has separation anxiety and he continued to dish out sad howls/barks when I was away
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
nrstone2003
It only took my Husky about 5 minutes to figure out if she turned her head and let out a long howl the collar would spray continuously and deplete its supply of citronella spray, then once empty she was right back to her howling-except worse because she was mad that she had been sprayed. The refill spray is also quite expensive. All in all, I found this product to actually made the noise issue worse, not better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 56 bucks I ever spent

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
907grown
from Alaska
Does what it says, works immediately!! I only wish they would make one with a remote for correction of other behaviors!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Collar works but is too sensitive to sound.

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
"Collar helped with dog's barking within the first day. On the other hand, just him yawning triggers the citronella to spray and scares him! I would suggest trying this before getting a shock collar. I just wish it had a better 'bark detector' or a handheld control so that he only gets sprayed when he's barking!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works to good

PostedApril 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
NauzieMommy
from westland, mi
well i got this because i did not want to shock or "static" as some collars say, one of my dogs.. i have 2 nauzies, 1 is very good, the other barks when the wind blows! lol.. so i got this collar and yes it is very effective! she will now stop if she sees me go for it. the only issue i have with it is it is very sensitive! the slightest noise will set it off even if my girl hasnt made a sound. i felt bad about this so i have since turned the collar over so it sprays down towards her feet and just the tsssst noise alone shuts her up. so i would watch yours to see if its spraying to much and then turn it over, because a nonstop spray in their face isnt fair especially if they are not barking. the tssst is what it sounds like when it sprays :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A product that really works

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
multipet
from Virginia
Stopped barking by 75% in the first day and 99.9% within a week
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Words Great on Labradoodle

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
gracielynn
from seattle
First time, she didn't bark again for 2 weeks. Still works after 2 years. She knows when it's on her. Barks when not wearing. Recommended by her breeder. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great on Collies with long hair

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
randywiz81
from Dallas, OR
I have a couple rough coat Collies that look just like Lassie. The shock collar I had didn't work because of all the hair. The sensor prong could not pickup through the coat. This spray collar has a microphone and works great. One of my Collies accidently stepped on the other and caused her to yap and it immediatly went off. I could tell it bothered her. This is a much more humane way to train than de-barking these beautiful dogs. Would be nice if there was a battery light but that's a minor detail. Now I can go to work without fear of my neighbor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You only need one

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
JennVA
from Virginia
I bought this collar for our first dog when she wouldn't be quiet in her kennel. It worked so well that I could get her be quiet by just imitating the noise myself. When we adopted a second dog seven years later, we used this collar on him. When one dog wears the collar, the other gets very quiet too. It works like a charm. They're afraid to set it off by just being near it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
BentleysM0M
from PA
I am very pleased with this bark control collar! After seeing all the positive reviews I had to try it out and hope it would work with my dog. After ordering it, I mentioned to my mother that I bought one to try and she told me she had bought one for her dog before and it didn't work. He would bark and turn his head so he wouldn't get sprayed. So I thought for sure it would not work for my dog either, but much to my surprise, IT WORKS! I thought after the first couple days it just startled him and he would get used to it or turn his head, but he HAS learned that if he barks with the collar on, he will get sprayed. I think he hates the sound of the spray more than the spray itself, but either way it is working. The downside is, now he hates going outside. He will run out and do his business and run straight back to the door and sit and stare at at the door and sometimes whine until we let him in. But, at least he does not bark at the neighbors anymore and he still does his business outside!
I would recommend trying this collar, even if you think it might not work for your dog. You might be pleasantly surprised!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Premier Spray Bark Control

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
papsmom
from Longwood, Fl
I was totally skeptical of this product as my one Pap male barked at anything and everything. It took only 3 times for him to bark and get sprayed to realize that he can't bark with it on. Now I don't even have to put it on him when he goes outside. If he does start barking, just showing him the collar stops him. He is l8 lbs. and has no trouble wearing it. Absolutely a life saver for me and for my neighbors.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
nbcrock
from Arkansas
I have 2 very "yappy" yorkies ages 7 years and everyone complained about their noisy natures. I too became annoyed with their always barking at any noise, when my husband walked in the room they would bark continuously - I didn't want to shock them because they are so little, I so I gave it a shot and bought these about 3 weeks ago and the noise level has gone from 100 - 10 so I AM SO HAPPY with them. The box is a little large for my 5 pound dog but hasn't seemed to bother him.
My husband said after the first week "why didn't you buy these 5 years ago?" I wish I had.
The scent is like an insect spray, not awful but you can tell when it goes off. DON'T PUT IT OFF - BUY TODAY - I ordered on a Tuesday night and got them on Friday!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petsafe has it for cheaper

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
ToyPoodle
from Miami, FL
There's no reason to buy a shock collar with spray collars on the market. The spray collar surprises my dog instead of hurting her and it stops her barking immediately. Petsafe sells a spray collar for $35. Totally cruelty free!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Gentle Spray Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works on Large Dogs!

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
1Shepherd2LabsYepCrazy
from Alamogordo, NM
This product worked great on our year old shepherd. She loves to sit and just bark for the joy of it. I wished I bought this product months ago. I tried an electric collar first. After the first day with an electric collar, my shepherd qjuickly figured out that she could bark and wait and then bark again. Today I put on this product and within 30 minutes the barking stopped. She hasn't barked all day. I can't put into words how amazing this is. This product is easy to set up and use. I purchased at Petco but could have saved $ purchasing from Petco online. If you have a smart dog that just loves to bark, I recommend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>