petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter

Petco Scoopable Cat Litter

Controls odor better with dehydrating natural mineral crystalsAbsorbs moisture faster for lower consumption of cat litter and powerful odor controlClumps tighter for easy clean-upScoops easily for quicker removal99% dust free for low tracking
Average Customer Rating:
3.329 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
21
41 out of 70(59%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Review 1 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I was very happy with PETCO brand litter, until they made some kind of change to it. I totally agree with the comment Momof2kittys left. The litter is a wet mess. I will not be buying your brand anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

New & Improved Litter

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Sugar Land, Texas
I have been purchasing the PETCO Scoopable litter refills for several years with no problems until recently. The last time I went to refill my litter the sign said "new and improved". I don't know what you did to the product, but it failed to clump at all. The whole box was a wet mess. I had to discard the litter, box and all and start over as the urine smell was awful.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

extremely dusty

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin TX
This product does a decent job of clumping, although sometimes the balls fall apart while gently scooping. My real dislike of this product is that it is extremely dusty. Disregarding the continuous cleaning one must do of the area surrounding the litter box, it can't be good for the kitties to inhale all of that dust while scratching in the box.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Litter Delivery

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from N. Hollywood, CA
Since I ride the bus, being able to have the litter delivered, is priceless! No more lugging home the jugs, yippee. And best of all, the kitties like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Performance, Good Value

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Sorry to hear that some customers are having trouble with this litter; but I am very satisfied. Yes, it does resemble sand but does the job just fine. i do not have trouble with the clumps falling apart--just make sure the urine is completely covered with litter before attempting to remove it. As far as odor control, no litter will completely disguise the smell of urine and feces--even a toilet would stink if it wasn't flushed :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not an odor eliminator when alone

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
This is basically sand. It's not going to eliminate odors alone. There are two options--scooping very regularly, and ZEOLITE!
Zeolite is the best thing since sliced bread and it doesn't eliminate the savings factor. First, go to the fish department. Get the 18 oz jar of "Zeolite crystals". They are little blue rocks. For some reason the 18 oz jar is cheaper per oz than the 36 oz jar, at least in my area. Use about half the jar (9 oz) for each 15-30 lbs of litter. Your litter will last about a month for two cats. Just replace the litter as it gets scooped out, but leave whatever old litter is in the box that's not saturated.
This is amazing! You have got to try it! The zeolite absorbs the ammonia which is what causes litter box odors and completely eliminates the smell.
I performed a little experiment with this to see how well it would work. For an entire month, I scooped the litter box into the trash next to the box and left it in the same room instead of taking it outside. I could not smell a thing. I find this litter easy to work with because it clumps tightly. The zeolite manages to stay in the litter pan rather than clumping with the litter for the most part, and I pour a little more zeolite into it after about two weeks, making this cost just a few bucks more per month compared with just litter.
Check it out. It's totally worth it. My search for the perfect litter is over.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value & performance for the price

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester NY
I recently took in 3 foster cats when their owner died, and they came with a large container of a competitive brand available at supermarkets and grocery stores.
Two of the cats were seniors with significant loss of kidney function, and as a result, they produced a lot more urine on a day-to-day basis, than a healthy cat would.
The litter the cats came with (a brand available at Petco and supermarkets) did not "catch" the cat urine quickly enough, so that the urine would dribble to the bottom of the litter box. I had to scrape the urine-soaked litter off of the bottom of the litter box, which was disgusting!
In comparison, the Petco scoopable litter quickly absorbed the urine as it came out of the cats, so that the urine formed clumps that "floated" on top of the litter and were easy to scoop out of the litter box. It was also less expensive than the other brand.
I have owned cats for 40 years, and there is no litter on this planet that can effectively block the smell of cat feces. Diet has a much stronger influence on how strong cat feces smells. And I cannot abide scented litter that tries (and fails) to mask smells...which just makes feces smell like pine or perfume.
Since I feed my cats a raw-diet, their feces hardly smell at all. So the unscented Petco brand litter is perfect for us, as well as a great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

WORST PRODUCT EVER!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Olalla, WA
My rating for this product would be in the negatives if I could set it as that. I recently got 2 kittens. My boyfriend and I of course headed straight to petco. After about 20 minutes of trying to decide on a cat litter, we figured petco refillable litter was the best way to go. After all, the price was great, it supposedly eliminated odors, extra hard clumps, AND it was refillable. Well, Almost everything advertised on the packaging is a lie. The clumps fall part, and there is no odor protection what so ever. we can tell when either of the kittens are using the little box. I stinks up our entire bedroom. Words can not explain how disappointed and angry I am with this product. I will NEVER purchase this again, and I will gladly tell everyone I know who has cats that it is a horrible product. I love petco, but I HATE this cat littler.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Litter - very very dusty

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from pittsburgh
It is incredibly dusty. I will never buy it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cat Litter!!

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Burnet, TX
I have had cats for over 30 years and this is by far the best cat litter on the market. I dispise having any odor from my cat box, especially the perfume coverups that most litters use that just make it worse. We have 3 cats that use one box and when cleaned daily there is NO odor at all with this litter. It is so nice not to smell the litter box at all and it is in a room right next to our kitchen. I have been using this litter for several years and will never switch to another one. We live about an hour away from the closest Petco and have 3 containers that we refill when going to town just to make sure we don't run out. Being able to refill the containers ourselves at a discounted price is a plus too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Love Petco, but not Petco Litter

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Flushing, NY
I have 4 cats, and, due to the small size of my apartment, only one litter box. I've been using Arm & Hammer and Fresh Step, whichever is on sale, after trying lots of other litters. I decided to try the store brand, because I'd rather save a little money on litter so I can spend more on treats. I guess my girls will be getting a little less on the treats.
I fill the box generously, and it's a big box. I scoop a minimum of 3 times daily, with extra cleaning as needed. I never had issues with odor, excess dust, or tracking with my regular brands, but I can;t say the same for Petco brand. First of all, even though I use a large cup to fill the box, dust flew everywhere; I could even taste it. I had to wipe down everything near the litter box.
Second, I had litter box odors for the first time since I was sick and unable to get out of bed to scoop for a day and a half. I thought perhaps one of the girls was sick and using the box more often. I checked and saw no more than the usual amount of kitty deposits, but the odor was very strong. Living in such a small apartment makes this a very serious issue!
Third, I had footprints all over the place. I've never seen so much litter tracked through my home! In addition, I had problems with the cat's feet! I had to wash clumps from between their toes, something I have never even seen before. That was pretty disgusting.
I am going back to the regular brands. They may cost more, but I get much better results.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Cat Litter!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from las vegas, nv
This litter is not dusty like others. When you scoop or pour..it does not emit a vapor of cloudy dust like others. It clumps well and does not have the chemical scent that others have. I got so sick from other dusty litters, but this rocks! Best buy for the buck!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL litter!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
~NO ODOR, even with 2 cats & only scooping once daily.
~Clumps hard, quickly - making urine balls easy to find & maneuver out of the box.
If you find a "fresh" ball that isn't quite dry - "coat" it with more litter until it looks dry - that way it won't crumble apart while removing it.
~To prevent the urine clumps from adhering to the sides of the pan:
use a giant litter pan (which I had to have for my Maine Coon). My first litter pan was a 50 quart, clear plastic, $8 storage container.
~To prevent urine clumps from adhering to the bottom of the pan:
use a minimum litter depth of 4 inches (which I had to start when the little digger kitten arrived & taught me to use more). I used permanent marker on the outside of my clear, giant pan as my minimum level.
~To prevent a dust cloud when starting with fresh litter, or adding more after cleaning:
scoop it into the pan (rather than pouring).
~To minimize undesirable odors:
use a covered litter pan. (I purchased another 50 quart, clear plastic, $8 storage container - cut an 8-inch by 8-inch opening in the short end, flipped it on top of the litter container and secured them together.)
~To reduce tracking:
place the covered pan in a corner,
face the opening of the pan toward the back wall,
pull the pan about 8 inches from the side wall (to make a hallway for the cat(s) to use for entry/exit)
AND 8 inches from the back wall as well
place an object (sinkbase?/vanity?/heavy trashcan?) near the wall to block the cats & redirect them to use the "hallway",
use a litter mat at the opening AND along the "hallway" to trap any tracked litter from getting "loose".
~The only problem that I have not found a resolution for, is the weight of 4 inches (or more) of this litter in a giant pan. Otherwise, it fulfills ALL my needs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We like PetCo litter brand ALOT!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Carol Stream, IL
We have been using it for about a year now, VERY HAPPY with it..We use the unscente, it clumps very well, deodorizes, and very little dust. We scoop daily. There is a scented version, but, if you do your research, will read that cats really do not like scented litter, it's perfume for OUR noses..
We like the non toxic choice of unscented and also the recycling idea of refilling the bin or jug vs throwing them in the landfill..
We save money and with five cats in our home, we use alot of litter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We like it

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Columbia, MD
If my cat does not like a litter product -- and there are many she doesn't like -- then I don't like it either. I'm the one who has to deal with the consequences. She likes the sandy texture of the unscented, scoopable PetCo brand litter, and I find it fairly easy to keep the box clean. No matter what brand you use, you're going to have to deal with some dust and possible odor. There are some good room air filters to reduce those problems, and a sprinkling of baking soda helps. My cat and I save money on the PetCo litter and instead splurge on quality food, which is well worth the price. One particular litter product made from old newsprint proclaims that it is the brand veterinarians prefer. Let the veterinarians use it then, because I have yet to hear of a cat who is willing to use it. My finicky cat will stick with PetCo brand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Washington
I went through the whole entire big jug in 1 week! Nellie my 3 month old kitten, peed and it stuck as I big chunk and smelled like urine. The odor control was horrible! It smelled and was bad quality. I would not buy it anymore. Also Nellie started peeing in my shows so she wouldn't use it anymore. So I switched
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Half the performance for twice the price

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
I had been using a store-brand scoopable litter for a number of years but decided to try this product because I happened to be at Petco and had a great coupon. To say the lest, I regret that decision. This litter has about half the absorbing power of my regular litter and only controls odors for about the first 3 days. My three cats went through 60 pounds of it in under a month and were unhappy with their litter boxes for much of that time. I definitely will not purchase again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

tracks like crazy!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NY NY
Im fine with the product for the affordability and LOVE the eco friendly refill -in store, but after using a couple of weeks realized it wasn't my housekeeping skills but the LITTER. It tracks like crazy!! Every use left trails everywhere. I'm going back to my Fresh Step. Please let me know if you fix the problem Petco, because I would love to go back to that refillable container and bulk price!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Incredibly dusty and doesn't clump well

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Newton, MA
Petco's own litter is incredibly dusty and doesn't clump well. Each time I clean the litter box, dust flies up, and there isn't much clumping. The clumps fall apart and it just makes the litter that much dirtier. I like that it's unscented, and the price can't be beat, but I'll be switching back to Fresh Step.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Scoopable Cat Litter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really like this litter

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have had no trouble with this litter. I love that it actually has no smell of its own, unlike several others I tried which had a strong smell despite no indication on the package that they were scented. Also, this litter either keeps down the cat odor or else I just have a non-smelly cat, because I have not had any problems with that "bathroom" odor. Clumps hold up well enough, and dust isn't a big issue - I use the litter-lifter raking scoop. I like being able to refill the bottles; saves me money and reduces waste. I will say I did not have a cat and therefore never tried this litter before the formula apparently changed, so I can't compare them. But this litter works really well for me and my cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>