petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent

Discourages dogs from relieving themselves on lawns, flower beds, driveways, or sidewalksDiscourages cats from defecating in flower gardens and elsewhereEasy-to-use granules treat up to 1,600 sq. ft. per carton
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
7 out of 12(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Review 1 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save Your Money

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MarvinD
from Paris, TX
I purchased Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent from my local Petco after it came recommended to me by a store associate who experienced favorable results when she used it around her own home. Feeling pretty confident, I preceded to scoop/clean the dirt along the foundation of my home, which is most often confused my neighbor's numerous cats as a giant litter box. I then applied the repllent in heavy doses to this area, using the entire container. The product gave off a strong citrus odor and was clearly visible where I had applied it. But it wasn't 24 hours later before I found a new fresh smelly pile of cat mess in the same location. To top it off, the cat had used some the repellent as ground cover for its dropping. The repellent did come in an easy to open/use container but this doesn't even begin to rectify the $15 loss I took for buying a useless product. Recommend saving your money and calling your local animal control for other solutions. Most communities have nuissance laws and can issues warnings/citations to owners of the animals. At little or no addition charge, live traps also can be checked out for capturing and transporting the animal to a new location.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You've Got to Be Kidding

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
harrisburg
from Harrisburg
I'd give it zero paws if I could. A complete waste of money.
As a way of background--I'm a professional dog behavior consultant so I try out a lot of products.
I bought it because flood waters deposited all kinds of soil in our yard and the dogs (4 of them) were all way too interested in it and were eating the soil (or whatever was in it)--something none of them had EVER done before. That needed to stop since I have no idea if it represents a danger.
I bought a container of Repel II yesterday and sprinkled the prescribed amount over a roughly 4 ft by 4 ft area. The first time the encountered it they backed off. Great--I thought. An hour later on their next trip out , three of the four went straight to the area and started to dig until they got past the repellent and into the soil.
Today I tried going for more muscle. I sprinkled the entire container over the 4X4 area. They walk in it. They stand in. And they dig through it to get to the soil.
The only one repelled by it is me--it stinks. I can smell it from a good ten feet away.
Tomorrow I put hardware cloth over it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keep the dogs out

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovey60
from St. Croix V.I.
the product was neat and easy to use and somewhat effective
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste!

PostedMarch 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
ErikaM
from Katy,TX
I bought this to keep a cat out of my flower bed. It didn't work at all. The cat still goes in and digs holes everywhere. Waste of money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Choice

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grizzly93
from Bend, Oregon
I have a neighbor with many cats. I love them, but don't want to clean up after them. I purchased this repellent and am very pleased. They do not return to the same area and it seems to last for quite a while.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super great stuff

PostedApril 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
popcornz
from Ca.
I had a problem with my neighbors 3 dogs peeing and pooping on my lawn. My husband and I don't have animals so this was even more annoying!! I went to petco and bought the Repel right away. I used it all over the perimeter of my lawn. It worked great ! I no longer had any problems with the dogs next door being on my lawn. This saved me from being angry daily with my neighbor and her annoying dogs. The only problem is that I have to keep spending money on something that shouldn't be my problem, but its worth it. My lawn also thanks me! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedFebruary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
MasterGardener
I was really excited about this product, as it is supposed to be safe and effective. However, I do not think that it repels cats very well from anything. I have two cats and they actually play in this stuff in the flower beds. It does not keep them out of flower pots either. No wonder my friends were always annoyed with me when I recommended they buy it. Save your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

PostedDecember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
MoeDeLaun
from Olympic Peninsula, Washington State
I've had a neighborhood cat leaving piles in my carport for months and months. As near as I'd been able to guess, its owner put it out very early in the morning (4:30 - 6:00 AM) to 'do its thing.' It's dark at this hour, and I could write paragraphs about the things I've done to try to prevent it from doing this.
I put down one application of Repel, and the problem was solved (almost unbelievably) immediately. After about the 3rd or 4th day, I followed up with another very light dusting (just to make sure), and 3 or 4 days later I did the same thing again.
I'm 10 - 12 days out now, and the cat hasn't paid one visit to my carport. Previously, it was leaving piles pretty much every day; now, there isn't even any cat tracks in the dirt.
The most likely credit should go to the primary ingredient, d-Limonene, which is merely the oil extracted from citrus rind - a perfectly Natural component, but cats don't like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedMarch 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gardener
from Longmont, CO
I've only discovered one cat dropping in my loose-dirt garden areas since I put this product down about a month ago. That's a big difference from previously this winter. I've even had a couple of light snows of an inch or so but the REPEL II granules have held up. The neighborhood cats still come around and walk thru or sit in treated dirt areas, but they don't seem to want to defecate. Fine with me!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works!

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
overinhawaii
I have a few stray cats in the neighborhood that come around marking outside my house. I have indoor kitties & assuming the outside ones know so they mark the outside. This drove my kitties nuts! Even after mine being fixed, this caused my kitties to urinate on the doors & screens inside! I trailed this product right next to the outside of the house, all around (it's cemented all around). Especially right next to our screened in patio. It works!! It actually kept them away from the house and my kitties stopped too!! Looks a little messy/untidy but a Great product!! Even after rain got to it, just as long as there was a trace of it the product kept working. It has a fairly pleasant citrus scent (scent is strong so don't sniff too close!).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedJanuary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Koronin
This product works to keep dogs from defecating in your yard. We unfortunately have a neighbor dog that the owners let run loose and it defecates in our and other neighbor's yards. Since starting to use this product my yard is usually defecate free. That is as long as I use the product as instructed and make sure I put more out after a rain and at least once per week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Repel II Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No bueno, Do not buy!

PostedSeptember 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rescuer911
I bought this stuff thinking it would prevent my many cats from using our neighbor's yard as a cat box. The product smells like it should work, as I could not even stand the smell, but my cats didn't even notice. After the first day of a heavy treatment, of almost the entire box, they had not pooped there. The next day I had to clean up over a dozen droppings off their lawn. This product was useless for me, even at higher concentrations.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.