petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew

American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew

Mammoth beef knuckle is cleaned and lightly smoked to bring out the flavorNatural dog bone is big enough for large dogsDog bones help keep your dog's teeth cleanEncourages healthy chewing
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Review 1 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bone for busy chewers!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
DogMom5
from MA
My dog (70 lb lab) needs to be chewing something at all times. He destroys chew toys in minutes and he loses interest in most raw-hides. This is the only thing that keeps him busy and that he will chew to completion. It also makes me very happy that they do not smell or stain the carpet. Will definitely be stocking up on these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No match for a 1 yr old lab

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
spatx
from austin, tx
My 1 yr old lab/border collie mix is a VERY heavy chewer (doesn't chew on anything but toys/chews we give him) and we have tried just about everything in a search for a chew that he doesn't destroy in a few days. He enjoyed the taste of this bone more than anything else we have given him (he cried for it and chewed it for an hour straight before I took it away), but he still managed to chew it until it was down to a 2-inch nub by day 4. Not bad for the price, but didn't last as long I had hoped considering the reviews I read and its large size. The search continues...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Henry liked it.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
HenrysMomAndDad
from Kansas
Henry really liked this bone. I wish they were cheaper; we buy him one once a week. It keeps him very busy and it's funny to watch him carry it all over the house. I feel like these are safer than raw hides. He did however, finish it in like 2 days. Other kunckle bones we have purchased (from other stores) lasted over a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much cheaper than $400 for the vet to clean his teeth!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
1dog2catsinID
The vet reccomened we have our dog's teeth cleaned. Which, for him, would be almost $400. I asked the vet if there are any other alternatives we could try first. In the past I had used dental chew stick treats, but he is on a diet now so I didn't want to add extra calories he didn't need. He recommended giving him beef knuckle bones. There isn't so much meet on there that its going to impact his diet, yet all the groves and as much chewing as he has to do to get it really helps his teeth. I saw a huge improvement after he had one of these bones for just a day or two. Now I give him one about once a month. At his last vet visit, the vet no longer wants me to have his teeth cleaned, they are in really really good shape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my house from the 4 pawed wrecking crew

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
2GiantDogs
from Houston, TX
My English Mastiff puppies destroyed my walls by chewing on and eventually THROUGH them. These bones are the only thing that satisfied them enough so that I could leave them out of the crate unsupervised for any period of time. They are all grown now and still enjoy them now and then. But I am grateful for this product during that Mastiff adolescent chewing phase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
RomeoStp
My pup really digs these and so do I as she keeps occupied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for bored dogs!

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
MaxsAlli
from Rochester, NY
My dog is medium sized, doesn't play tug of war or chase his tail. he's energetic and 8 years old. He LOVES this knuckle bone, and refuses to chew rawhides, flavored bones or regular femur bones. There's plenty of chewing action, stuff that he can tear off to eat and when the bone falls into 3-4 pieces, I just pick up all but one, feed them to him one at a time! This bone lasts my dog about 1 month, and he chews on it for 1-2 hours straight EVERY night! He cries when his bones is all cleaned off..Roc
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best dog bone

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
KT999
My dogs tend to mostly nap during the day. The day I gave them their Meaty Knuckle Bone, they took their bones over to a corner away from each other, and they gnawed on the bone with great gusto the entire day. They can go through a regular bone or rawhide in a matter of hours. They are still carrying these bones around and gnawing on them - and it has been a couple of weeks! This is the best bone I have every gotten for them (followed by the Red Barn Peanut Butter Knuckle bone as a second - they love those too, and those were my first favorite - but they don't have the same over-the-top enthusiasm for those).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wint
from New Hampshire
I have two Bernese Mountain Dogs and they absolutely LOVE these knuckle Bones. It keeps them busy and they are never far from them. It lasts much longer and they enjoy it much more than other products. I read other reviews and decided to purchase them. I am so pleased i did. If you have a large breed dog you can't go wrong with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sallyandmarleesmom

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
SallyandMarleesmom
from Meridian, Ms
My Labs Sally and Marlee love these. They are still working on them but they keep going back to them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bone

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
neolover
from Glendale, AZ
My neo mastiffs are power chewers and these actually last for quite awhile. Both my dogs love these and will chew on them for several weeks. That makes these very economical. If you have a powerful chewer, this is the one for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog's favorite!

PostedJuly 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cougar
We have two pitbulls who are "power chewers" making it very difficult to find chew toys that will last for very long. The knuckle bones last for 2-3 days (most chew toys last minutes to hours) and keep them very happy. They are so excited when they get them and chew on them day and night until they're gone. They digest them easily and they haven't had any G.I. problems at all. So far, the bones haven't left any stains on the carpet like some other chews do. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dogs loved it!

PostedMarch 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
RockyNAdriannesMom
I have two boxer pups, almost 6 mos. and they love these meaty knuckle bones. It helps them with their chewing! And they are large so they cant just swallow them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

long lasting

PostedMarch 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
k9rescuelady
The dogs love these and it takes a long time to finish them. Some of my very large rescued dogs can snap through the hollow natural bones, so these are perfect for them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dogs love these

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ret2rom
All three of my dogs love these meaty bones! They keep them busy for a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Furniture Saver

PostedFebruary 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vincent
I bought this knuckle bones for my Great Dane when I started allowing him to stay out of his kennel all day. This bones kept him busy while I was out. I use to have chunks missing from my furniture when I first tried about a month ago. I have went two weeks with good behavior.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a special treat for big, bored terriers

PostedJanuary 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
airedalemom
from missouri
My 85 lb. airedale devours most treats and bones quickly but this one is a challenge for him and is great for when he has been inside due to the weather, etc. or just being his usual fiesty self and is driving me nuts. Other big bones he splinters up too easlly. Big dogs are tough to satisfy, especially energetic ones, and mine is almost 6 years old, this product works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Redbard Meaty Knuckle Bone

PostedFebruary 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
bestnana913
from Harford Mills, NY
I have a 120lb. Rotweiller and if you know anything about these types of dogs, they love to chew. When Achilles was a couple months old and starting his amazing journey of "growing up" we bought him one of these bones and OH MY GOODNESS, he loved them and we buy them for him all the time now. This really cut down to nothing the chewing factor of our dog---I really believe this so if you want something to try for your Rotweiller puppy I definetly would suggest this and start at a young age like we did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog LOVES these!

PostedApril 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
JoKirby
from Prescott, AZ
We have a cattle dog that used to love to dig - we started buying the knuckle bones and the mammoth bones and the digging stopped! Keeps the dog entertained for over a month. Would highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TO SHARE? I THINK NOT

PostedDecember 6, 2005
Customer Avatar
MS. (& MR.) PICKY'S MOM
from GALLATIN,TN
MY DOG LOVES THIS BONE. I PURCHASED THIS BONE FOR HIM A FEW WEEKS BACK AND HE IS STILL CHEWING ON IT! WHEN IT COMES TO SHARING HIS BELOVED TREAT THOUGH, HE LETS YOU KNOW RATHER QUICKLY THAT HE WOULD RATHER NOT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.