petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew

American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew

Mammoth beef knuckle is cleaned and lightly smoked to bring out the flavorNatural dog bone is big enough for large dogsDog bones help keep your dog's teeth cleanEncourages healthy chewing
Average Customer Rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Review 1 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Knuckle Bone

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Temecula, CA
The knuckle bone last a long time and my dog loves it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knuckle Bones

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from RESTON, VA
Bones seem to be safe.
I don't give Raw-Hides or anything that's not safe.
Very entertaining for my 2 Bull Dogs-
I monitor closely -
Usually give for an hour at a time.
Take away as soon as bones start to chip off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer Avatar
from charlotte,nc
my dog love it! great for chewing and last weeks!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent bone

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from West Hollywood, CA
The bone is huge! My dog loves it so much, we have to take it away after an hour of chewing or it'll upset his stomach. Will get another once he finishes this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Whew!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
Dogs seem to be enjoying them, but the smell (as soon as you open the package) is enough to make you lose your cookies. Believe me, you won't want the dogs chewing on these anywhere near where you are located in the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super outdoor treat

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix, AZ
I'm glad I opened the package on the driveway so I could peel of the fatty crust before handing the bone off to my Pit Bull/Boxer. The meaty part is great, but he doesn't need that much grease. He was so in love with it for a couple of hours that he didn't even stop to bark at the school kids walking by, and he kept at it until it was dark outside and his jaw was exhausted. Never thought I'd see that happen. Then I traded for a bit of chicken jerky and put the remaining bone in a storage bowl in the refrigerator, since he obviously wanted it saved. These don't look like they'd split or splinter, but I have yet to see whether he'll chew one down and swallow a big chunk. So far, so good, but if you wanted it in the house, the chew spot should be covered by something washable. Really makes a mess. Dogs like that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Girls Favorite Christmas Present

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Camden, TN
Our two coonhounds never fight over anything. They sometimes stand and eat out of the same bowl. We purchased two of these knuckle bones. They had their first argument over one of them a few days later. Sure sign they were super important to them. Don't worry. They licked and made up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Knuckle Bone Dog Chew

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
At first I thought that the price for this Large Knuckle Bone was too HIGH !!! After all it is just a Bone ... O.K. Here is the thing. I bought a new Male Boxer Pup to replace my Female Boxer that I had the privilege to spend 13 years of my life with with.(God Bless Her Soul). Now this Male Boxer Pup tries to CHEW UP EVERYTHING I own ... I know that because my New Pup is only 6 months old that he is Teething which means He Needs To Chew. Believe Me I Have Tried To Buy Toys That Would Stop Him From Chewing Everything, but to no avail. l Finally I Bought These Knuckle Bones and now instead of chewing on the sides off my Hot Tub he lays around and chews on THE BONES and when he gets restless he actually plays with THE BONES. These Bones have been a Blessing for me. I Bought 4 of them several months ago and I still have 1 left to give to him when the last one runs out. Dog's Love REAL BONES to chew on and these are worth the money if you can't afford having everything else chewed up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bone for busy chewers!

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from MA
My dog (70 lb lab) needs to be chewing something at all times. He destroys chew toys in minutes and he loses interest in most raw-hides. This is the only thing that keeps him busy and that he will chew to completion. It also makes me very happy that they do not smell or stain the carpet. Will definitely be stocking up on these!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No match for a 1 yr old lab

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from austin, tx
My 1 yr old lab/border collie mix is a VERY heavy chewer (doesn't chew on anything but toys/chews we give him) and we have tried just about everything in a search for a chew that he doesn't destroy in a few days. He enjoyed the taste of this bone more than anything else we have given him (he cried for it and chewed it for an hour straight before I took it away), but he still managed to chew it until it was down to a 2-inch nub by day 4. Not bad for the price, but didn't last as long I had hoped considering the reviews I read and its large size. The search continues...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Henry liked it.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
Henry really liked this bone. I wish they were cheaper; we buy him one once a week. It keeps him very busy and it's funny to watch him carry it all over the house. I feel like these are safer than raw hides. He did however, finish it in like 2 days. Other kunckle bones we have purchased (from other stores) lasted over a week.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much cheaper than $400 for the vet to clean his teeth!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
The vet reccomened we have our dog's teeth cleaned. Which, for him, would be almost $400. I asked the vet if there are any other alternatives we could try first. In the past I had used dental chew stick treats, but he is on a diet now so I didn't want to add extra calories he didn't need. He recommended giving him beef knuckle bones. There isn't so much meet on there that its going to impact his diet, yet all the groves and as much chewing as he has to do to get it really helps his teeth. I saw a huge improvement after he had one of these bones for just a day or two. Now I give him one about once a month. At his last vet visit, the vet no longer wants me to have his teeth cleaned, they are in really really good shape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saved my house from the 4 pawed wrecking crew

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
My English Mastiff puppies destroyed my walls by chewing on and eventually THROUGH them. These bones are the only thing that satisfied them enough so that I could leave them out of the crate unsupervised for any period of time. They are all grown now and still enjoy them now and then. But I am grateful for this product during that Mastiff adolescent chewing phase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
My pup really digs these and so do I as she keeps occupied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for bored dogs!

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
My dog is medium sized, doesn't play tug of war or chase his tail. he's energetic and 8 years old. He LOVES this knuckle bone, and refuses to chew rawhides, flavored bones or regular femur bones. There's plenty of chewing action, stuff that he can tear off to eat and when the bone falls into 3-4 pieces, I just pick up all but one, feed them to him one at a time! This bone lasts my dog about 1 month, and he chews on it for 1-2 hours straight EVERY night! He cries when his bones is all cleaned off..Roc
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best dog bone

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
My dogs tend to mostly nap during the day. The day I gave them their Meaty Knuckle Bone, they took their bones over to a corner away from each other, and they gnawed on the bone with great gusto the entire day. They can go through a regular bone or rawhide in a matter of hours. They are still carrying these bones around and gnawing on them - and it has been a couple of weeks! This is the best bone I have every gotten for them (followed by the Red Barn Peanut Butter Knuckle bone as a second - they love those too, and those were my first favorite - but they don't have the same over-the-top enthusiasm for those).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
I have two Bernese Mountain Dogs and they absolutely LOVE these knuckle Bones. It keeps them busy and they are never far from them. It lasts much longer and they enjoy it much more than other products. I read other reviews and decided to purchase them. I am so pleased i did. If you have a large breed dog you can't go wrong with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sallyandmarleesmom

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Meridian, Ms
My Labs Sally and Marlee love these. They are still working on them but they keep going back to them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bone

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Glendale, AZ
My neo mastiffs are power chewers and these actually last for quite awhile. Both my dogs love these and will chew on them for several weeks. That makes these very economical. If you have a powerful chewer, this is the one for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for American Prime Cuts Knuckle Bone Dog Chew
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dog's favorite!

PostedJuly 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
We have two pitbulls who are "power chewers" making it very difficult to find chew toys that will last for very long. The knuckle bones last for 2-3 days (most chew toys last minutes to hours) and keep them very happy. They are so excited when they get them and chew on them day and night until they're gone. They digest them easily and they haven't had any G.I. problems at all. So far, the bones haven't left any stains on the carpet like some other chews do. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>