petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

Wireless Dog Fence! No underground wire required. Easy, portable way to set your pet's boundariesElectric dog fence covers an adjustable circular area up to ½ acre (180 feet in diameter)Upon exiting the area, your pet receives a harmless but effective correctionPetSafe Wireless Fence sets up in minutes without stakes, poles or wiresModel PIF-300
Average Customer Rating:
4.314 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(223 Reviews) 223
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 223 reviews
5 stars
161
4 stars
21
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
22
192 out of 223(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
114 Questions | 171 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Review 21 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Setup - Good alternative to wired fence

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
This is a good product as an alternative to burying a wire in your yard. I have a yard with steep hills and trees and Georgia clay is not easy to dig into. Highly recommend the setup be done with 2 people, it was much easier.
Currently training our 5 month old puppy with the boundaries and it is going well.
Only minor complaint is that the collar is quite heavy on the neck for a small or medium dog. so getting a good fit on her is a bit awkward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless dog fence

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New jersey
We have been using the wireless dog fence on our dog for a year. Its amazing. works great. I will never have a dog outside my fenceless yard ever again with out the wireless fence. i wonder if i can carry it on the plane when I travel with my dog????
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I lived in a place where tethering your dog can be just as dangerous as having them run free. I was living out in the woods and was having a problem where my dog was running too far off, reaching the highway; however, I couldn't tether him as we lived in bear country and if we ever encountered one I wanted him to be able to escape (a feature of this product is important for that). I also wanted him to be able to roam free around our yard. This product was perfect for what I needed it for!
The training methods provided in the instruction manual were a great help! Within the first day my dog learned to heed the warning this product provided when getting too close the edge of the range I selected for him. Within a few weeks he had completely stopped trying to get past it. If he accidentally got too close he would just turn around like it was nothing.
Another great feature is it's customization. I could adjust it so when we moved back in town I could make the roaming distance smaller to match my smaller yard. I could select from six different shock settings to find the one that worked for my dog. In the winter when his coat was longer I had it up slightly higher so he could feel it and down again in the spring when his coat thinned.
My favorite feature; however, is that it stops shocking your dog after he has made it past the barrier (which mine had once or twice). I believe this is an extremely important feature as the shock works as a training tool and not a punishing device. It also allows my dog to escape unharmed if need be.
This product is not a replacement for good training nor will it punish your animal for running off. It is a training tool and when used properly, it works perfect!
I only wish the collars were more durable (mine broke after a year) but the cost for replacement is acceptable. It also is difficult if your wireless signal meets with another as the two join and the dog can escape. I just made mine slightly smaller and the problem was solved. I would say if you stay true to your animal and teach them where the boundaries are this is the perfect tool for off leash containment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this system...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from US
I had recently been looking into getting this system or one similar but was hesitant because of the price! I have 2 miniature schnauzers, Max & Penny, and Max loves to roam... We live out in the woods but still close to the road so I am afraid they will one day get ran over, get stolen or something else happen to em while they are out in these woods... I purchased this system along with a second collar and was so disappointed in the price of just the 2nd collar alone ($149.) But I had to have it so I got it... It was fairly simple once reading the steps a few times each... Took a while to step off the entire perimeter(set to full 180) but it done a good job... I first put Max on his collar & took him on his leash & he was ready to go roaming... He didn't even notice the beeps, he just kept running, till he got a lil bzzz... (lowest setting done him great, not too much not too less it was just right) I took him 1 round around the house with his leash & he figured out when that beeped to run as fast as he cld in the opposite direction! lol He done so good, I took his leash off to see what he wld do... He walked right with me and if I walked past the perimeter to where he heard his beeps he ran back and sat down! I took off running down our long drive way to see if he wld follow me as he usually does to ck the mail and he wldn't even start down the drive way lol when he saw me coming back to where he was suppose to stop he ran to me and we went inside and got a treat!!! He done fantastic and after about 20 mins he figured the system out! It was well worth the money, wished the extra stuff wasn't so expensive but the other good thing is you can adjust the perimeter settings so when we go camping he will know about the system already and will be able to roam around our area and not run off!!! So I'm happy!! Next is to get Penny use to it! I tried the bzz out on my hand bc if I'm gonna be putting it on my baby's necks, I wanna know what they're gonna be feeling... To me I think the lowest setting will do just fine for smaller dogs as these unless they are just stubborn lol then maybe turn it up a notch! Other than that, great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for small dogs but not for large

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
I've had this product for a couple months. My 35 pound dog will not even go near the boundary, he doesn't even need the collar, without it on he will still not near it. BUT, I have a 80 pound Catahoula Leopard Dog that is about 9 months old so he is very active and strong willed. I have turned the collar up to the maximum strength and he will run past it like it's nothing. At first he didn't, but he figured out that it stops after 30 secs. I've even put both collars on him and it still doesn't stop him. I don't think this product is useful for large, active dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Fence System

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Springtown, Texas
just bought this unit yesterday. it only took about 20 minutes to set up with the flags and collar. took my 2 year old bloodhound that is as strong as an ox and he only experienced one correction and that was it. I put the collar on a level 4 correction we have gone without a leash and unsupervised first thing this morning. you can tell that he is loving the freedom yet he still has an avid respect for his new boundaries. this is a great product and has made a believer out of me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Wireless Electronic fence

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia, WA
One of my dogs chewed slats out of my 6 foot cedar fence on 3 occasions, dug under the chain link portion, JUMPED on the woodpile to get into neighbor's yard.. Tried EVERYTHING, even ideas from Animal control, Sherriff's dept. Also.. used chicken wire on fence, anchored into trench w/cement! ONLY the fence has contained him! Neighbors threatened me, etc.. Well worth the HIGH PRICE, but do have to change batteries FREQUENTLY.. I LOVE my dogs, feel so important to keep them safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
I've only had this system for a few weeks, but I'm very pleased with it thus far. My dogs are staying in the yard and seem to enjoying being off their leashes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waco, Tx
I live in the country and I have two fur babies. They are 50lb lab/boxer mixes. I ordered this product because they continued to run to the street and run to the property line to chase other animals. No matter what bribes I gave them, how long they were outside, or what was going on, it seemed like they were looking to get hurt. I did some research on other websites and this one and I found that this Petsafe Wireless Fence system had the best overall reviews and results. Once I got it, we went through the training process with my babies and they just didn't seem to get it with the flags and the level 1 & 2. But once we found the level that caught their attention, I haven't had to worry since. Every time their collar begins to beep, they move back inside the safe zone, no matter what is on the other side. It is such a relief to know that my fur babies are safe outside now, and can't get away and get hurt. I would 100% recommend this product to ANY pet owner that is having issues with keeping their pet in their desired area/boundary
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston,Texas
This product worked like a charm on my Siberian Husky. He was notorious around the local vets....running away about once a month...one time his brother left with him and I didn't get him back for about a year and a 1/2....after I was finally reunited with my husky....I decided to try the Petsafe shock collar on his brother...who instigated the running away....I followed the directions and set up the Petsafe system....now my husky doesent even want to get near the street...it worked great and is very effective for dogs that like to run away. I highly recommend this product, I also recommend using it with a UPS back up battery so you don't lose power, and recommend taking it off so they can sleep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
We just hooked this up on Saturday but it appears to be working well. We had an in ground system from this same manufacturer that we installed ourselves but the line kept breaking and the system just didn't seem to hold up to the New England weather. My only worry with this system was adjusting it to fit our yard. If your house is close to your neighbor's even on one side because it forms a circle then your pet will be able to cross the lawn border. Depending on how close you are to the road it could also reach there so adjust carefully. It does seem to do the job and there has not been any interruptions so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

petsafe wireless fence

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from central oregon
My husband and I decided to get this system and give it a try. We had looked into company that would install and train both dogs on an in-ground wired fence. The cost was upwards of 2000 dollars. We thought for the price difference we would just give this system a try first and save the money for other things.
Well, we followed the instructions to a "T" and both dogs (65lb yellow lab and 6.5 lb poodle) are both trained. It did not take 3 weeks to train. We did it over the long labor day weekend. The yellow lab was already accustomed to the corrective system from a collar we used when out for walks and hikes. The lab learned over a period of 2 days. Out toy poodle is just a yr old now and never had a corrective system before. I know the instructions say for 8lbs and over but we set hers on the lowest (2) setting for correction and she learned very quickly to retreat to the safe zone when the beep comes on. She does not cry if it shocks her. We kept our training times short ( about 10 minutes) and kept it fun just like the instructions said to do. It has only been 4 days but so far so good. I still keep a close eye on both dogs and will not leave them out all day unsupervised anyway. We have the system set for the 180 foot diameter and the console transmitter set on high. I have found that the collar will beep at odd times like when they come in the family room and TV is on or when They get into the moving car in the driveway with the collar on. I suspect it is electrical interference.
We bought the system when it was on sale online and the shipping was fast and on time....I guess we will see how it goes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE DON'T BUY

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bluemont, VA
I have bought two of these and BOTH have broken after the year warranty. I REFUSED to purchase another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
14of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
I was very hesitant to puchase. My main concerns were that the signal wouldnt pick up and that my 5yr old Shih-tzu would not be easly trained. Proir to this wireless system, if the door opened and she saw a possible way to run, she did, as hard as she could go. We recently moved and are now on a main hwy so I knew if she got out, the result would be devistating. So I figured even if this system didnt work, I had to atleast try it! WOW I am amazed. The set up was very easy, just follow the instructions. I had no problem. Lily( dog) was very easy to train. We done leash training for more than the recommended days, but only because I was afraid to just let her go. But after about 7 days I let the leash go. She will not go near the boundaries. The past three days I just open the door and let her go. Its such a relief to know that if one of the kids accidently let her out that she will no longer make a run for it. I still watch her very close and dont leave her unattended due to a review I read said their dog was doing great but then after a couple weeks, got outside the boundaries and never came back. I am extremely impressed with the system! If it continues to work like it has so far, its worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best, safest, easy dog product

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Hampshire
She new what the beep, beep, beep the 1st day, the next couple days going past the sound she truly learned not to go past the flags or else. Never had to take it up from (2). Would recommend this product for piece of mind, knowing the safe boundaries=safe dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the doctor ordered

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Heber City, UT
Was under the impression that containment required a wire burial until I read about this system. The 180 foot containment diameter was ideal for our 1 1/4 acre lot thats 220' x 220' square. We have a walk out basement home whose placement on the lot was ideal for the required inside installation of the transmitter. Mounted transmitter on inside back wall about 5 feet above floor level. Have a 13 year old St. Bernard who had an inclination to disappear more in her youth, but still had a tendency to sneak off when unobserved before the wireless fence. Inherited our daughters lab / weimariner mix that's incredibly intelligent but obstinate, head strong and hyper. Our home is rurally located and surrounded by distractions that would make us extremely unpopular neighbors should our dogs escape regularly. Collars were easy to set from 2 - 6 and install on dogs. Set the lab / weimariner mix to the highest setting (6) and one incident not only served to contain him, but has even improved his behavior when in the house. The St. Bernard, who has a thicker and hairier neck, but is older, becoming a little hard of hearing and may not hear the audible tone given when approaching the boundary, took a little more adjustment. We started her at the lowest setting of 2, noticed an impact at 4, but still insufficient deterrent for containment. We adjusted her ultimately to 6 before she emphatically conceded to the prompting. Two dogs and two reformed escapees. Each had their come to Jesus experience at the 6 level setting. we may adjust them back a bit now that they've become convincingly familiar with the safe zone. Now, instead of having to leash and attend the dogs at all hours of the night to do their duties, we turn on the transmitter and open the door. We've recaptured our lives from our furry friends. SWEET !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Wireless Fence

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from green bay wi
I just recently purchased this item and had to return it because my dog would not leave our deck being afraid of getting shocked. When we were in the house the collar was off our dog and it went off only being 10 feet away from the transmitter. I could not put this on my dog knowing that it could go off when she was in the "safe zone" Returned it to Petco and looking at other options for our dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe wireless containment

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hillsville va
This system is amazing. I have 2 boxers and they have already learned the boundaries in 3 days time. A cat walked across the property this morning just outside of the boundary flags. My youngest boxer gave chase along the perimeter but didn't cross the boundary. Both dogs blew through the boundary on day one and this unpleasant experience is set in memory. I read several reviews about the fence not working on a sloped yard but I have approximately a 15 foot drop front to back and I placed the transmitter on a shelf in our walkout basement. It is 7 feet off the floor and the coverage is great for a 160 ft diameter circle. I had to lower the boundary because I only have about 85 feet to the road from the back of my house. I highly recommend this system for the safety of you pet. It took me less than an hour to set the system up including the boundary flags
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

just purchased

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from calif.
i am still training my dog, but i'm a little disappointed with the way the coverage applies to my yard. i'm at the end of cul de sac so i am not able to border around the perimitter, but it cuts into half my yard ;-(. I am only going to use when i leave town a few days a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT investment!

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
Okay, my wife and I have a 9 month old boxer and, if you have ever had a boxer, you know they are pretty hyper so I was a little hesitant about spending almost $300 on something that might not work. I am AMAZED!!!! Our boxer only had the "static" correction get him one time and that was it! After that, he didn't want to get off of the driveway to play, use the bathroom, or anything else for that matter. We took him trick or treating around our neighborhood and I had to pick him up and carry him past the flags (and he was shaking at the thought of the static correction hitting him again). We have had it less than 2 weeks and he goes outside without the collar and won't come within 5 ft of the flags. Even if his toys get thrown outside of the "safe" zone, kids are walking by our house, cats/dogs happen to be passing by, whatever the case, he stays in our yard! Would highly recommend this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
31of 44voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>