petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

Wireless Dog Fence! No underground wire required. Easy, portable way to set your pet's boundariesElectric dog fence covers an adjustable circular area up to ½ acre (180 feet in diameter)Upon exiting the area, your pet receives a harmless but effective correctionPortable wireless system sets up in 1-2 hoursFits dogs 8 lbs. and up and neck sizes 6-28 inModel PIF-300
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(233 Reviews) 233
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 233 reviews
5 stars
167
4 stars
25
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
22
202 out of 233(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
125 Questions | 184 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Review 21 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Astoria, OR
We live on over an acre of land and wanted our puppy to have free movement around most of our yard, which has no fences. This product gives us the peace of mind we need to know our puppy is safe and will not roam out of our area. Easy to set up and it comes with all the instruction you'll need to get started. We've never owned a dog before and were able to train the dog to notice the flags. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster va
This product was so easy to install and use. Just plug it in and check with your collar to find where your area reaches, then mark it with your provided flags. If the area is too large then you can adjust how large your diameter is for your selected area. Train your dog and let them run free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but not for us

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This system is really nice and of great quality. It was easy for us to set up. That being said, because it creates more of a dome around your yard, it was difficult for us to find a spot in our house for the transmitter that allowed us to give the dog the amount of outdoor space we wanted. When we got it the distance from the back and front that we wanted, there was too much space on the sides. It allowed him to go into our neighbors yard. This is a great unit if you have a lot of acres. We are in a subdivision with smaller lots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from alabama
This was everything it said it was. My dog was always running around the neighborhood. She would either break her chain or pull it out of the ground.. we put the collar on her and she only left the area once. Now she doesnt get within 2feet of the perimeter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don'r assume your pet is too small for this great product!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Prospect CT
I purchased the Pet safe wireless fence after debating over doing so for years, I only wish I did so when I first heard about it! I have a barely 8 pound Yorkie "bolter". She is 7 years old and I have had to chase her more times than I care to think about. Because she is so small I was sure that this product would be too harsh for her...I was so wrong! It took my girl exactly 30 minutes to figure this system out. She couldn't be happier and neither could I. The squirrels are not as happy!! It was so easy to install, I would, and have recommended this product to everyone that will listen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a fan

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Not a fan of the wireless fence, the range was awkward to say the least, poor dog hit a few hot spots, that should have been in the realm, could not get it adjusted to my yard. returned item and looking at fences where I control area to stay in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it, Until....

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte NC
I have a Golden Retriever/Lab who is very clever getting out of our yard. No matter how many times we secured it for him not to escape, he always found a way. Finally I got fed up chasing after him every other day (being a stay at home mom with 3 kids is hard as it is now adding a dog search was just too much). So my husband and I researched for the best pet training system that matched our needs. This product was perfect. We bought it, set it up. Amazingly within a couple of hours our dog was trained and we felt safe letting him out without any concerns. Well its been 6 months of having this product and im ready to call it quits. The collar goes off for no reason. Even when my dog is laying next to my bed 3 ft away! Poor baby is so terrified he jumps on my bed and is shaking in fear. My husband has tried adjusting it multiple times, its still acting up. I wouldn't recommend this product for long term use. For a training short-term use, yes it works. For a long-term, no. You'll only end up with a traumatized dog :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and effective

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
After reading dozens of good reviews on several different sites, I decided to give this system a try. We had looked at the Invisible Fence system, but it was very expensive and invasive to install. The only drawback to this system is adjusting the boundaries to a circular region. We have a new rescue puppy who is a Houdini with fences and very chase-motivated. We are using this system as an addition to our stone/iron fence, and just in case he rushes through our garage or front door. I thought I might have to use a higher control value to help him learn, but he is on Level 2 and has learned quickly that he does NOT want to cross the boundary. It was simple to set up and has been very effective and well worth the peace of mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Upstate, NY
We followed the training directions and within 1 week, our 75 lb. boxer/lab mix was aware of her boundaries. She got zapped once in each direction and once when confronted with a distraction. We purchased the 90' range and it is more than adequate. Easy to install. Plug it in and go. Very satisfied!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product was great when it worked

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairbanks, AK
I bought this system, worked great dog understood the beeping meant back up she didn't test it much. Then one day noticed my dog was across the street, well past her boundary zone. I replaced the collar battery, re-synced the system, tried everything in the troubleshooting book. But for some reason lost my front yard boundary all together. We called Pet Safe and they are shipping me a new transmitter so hopefully i just got a bad transmitter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
20of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Setup - Good alternative to wired fence

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
This is a good product as an alternative to burying a wire in your yard. I have a yard with steep hills and trees and Georgia clay is not easy to dig into. Highly recommend the setup be done with 2 people, it was much easier.
Currently training our 5 month old puppy with the boundaries and it is going well.
Only minor complaint is that the collar is quite heavy on the neck for a small or medium dog. so getting a good fit on her is a bit awkward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless dog fence

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New jersey
We have been using the wireless dog fence on our dog for a year. Its amazing. works great. I will never have a dog outside my fenceless yard ever again with out the wireless fence. i wonder if i can carry it on the plane when I travel with my dog????
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I lived in a place where tethering your dog can be just as dangerous as having them run free. I was living out in the woods and was having a problem where my dog was running too far off, reaching the highway; however, I couldn't tether him as we lived in bear country and if we ever encountered one I wanted him to be able to escape (a feature of this product is important for that). I also wanted him to be able to roam free around our yard. This product was perfect for what I needed it for!
The training methods provided in the instruction manual were a great help! Within the first day my dog learned to heed the warning this product provided when getting too close the edge of the range I selected for him. Within a few weeks he had completely stopped trying to get past it. If he accidentally got too close he would just turn around like it was nothing.
Another great feature is it's customization. I could adjust it so when we moved back in town I could make the roaming distance smaller to match my smaller yard. I could select from six different shock settings to find the one that worked for my dog. In the winter when his coat was longer I had it up slightly higher so he could feel it and down again in the spring when his coat thinned.
My favorite feature; however, is that it stops shocking your dog after he has made it past the barrier (which mine had once or twice). I believe this is an extremely important feature as the shock works as a training tool and not a punishing device. It also allows my dog to escape unharmed if need be.
This product is not a replacement for good training nor will it punish your animal for running off. It is a training tool and when used properly, it works perfect!
I only wish the collars were more durable (mine broke after a year) but the cost for replacement is acceptable. It also is difficult if your wireless signal meets with another as the two join and the dog can escape. I just made mine slightly smaller and the problem was solved. I would say if you stay true to your animal and teach them where the boundaries are this is the perfect tool for off leash containment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this system...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from US
I had recently been looking into getting this system or one similar but was hesitant because of the price! I have 2 miniature schnauzers, Max & Penny, and Max loves to roam... We live out in the woods but still close to the road so I am afraid they will one day get ran over, get stolen or something else happen to em while they are out in these woods... I purchased this system along with a second collar and was so disappointed in the price of just the 2nd collar alone ($149.) But I had to have it so I got it... It was fairly simple once reading the steps a few times each... Took a while to step off the entire perimeter(set to full 180) but it done a good job... I first put Max on his collar & took him on his leash & he was ready to go roaming... He didn't even notice the beeps, he just kept running, till he got a lil bzzz... (lowest setting done him great, not too much not too less it was just right) I took him 1 round around the house with his leash & he figured out when that beeped to run as fast as he cld in the opposite direction! lol He done so good, I took his leash off to see what he wld do... He walked right with me and if I walked past the perimeter to where he heard his beeps he ran back and sat down! I took off running down our long drive way to see if he wld follow me as he usually does to ck the mail and he wldn't even start down the drive way lol when he saw me coming back to where he was suppose to stop he ran to me and we went inside and got a treat!!! He done fantastic and after about 20 mins he figured the system out! It was well worth the money, wished the extra stuff wasn't so expensive but the other good thing is you can adjust the perimeter settings so when we go camping he will know about the system already and will be able to roam around our area and not run off!!! So I'm happy!! Next is to get Penny use to it! I tried the bzz out on my hand bc if I'm gonna be putting it on my baby's necks, I wanna know what they're gonna be feeling... To me I think the lowest setting will do just fine for smaller dogs as these unless they are just stubborn lol then maybe turn it up a notch! Other than that, great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for small dogs but not for large

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
I've had this product for a couple months. My 35 pound dog will not even go near the boundary, he doesn't even need the collar, without it on he will still not near it. BUT, I have a 80 pound Catahoula Leopard Dog that is about 9 months old so he is very active and strong willed. I have turned the collar up to the maximum strength and he will run past it like it's nothing. At first he didn't, but he figured out that it stops after 30 secs. I've even put both collars on him and it still doesn't stop him. I don't think this product is useful for large, active dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Fence System

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Springtown, Texas
just bought this unit yesterday. it only took about 20 minutes to set up with the flags and collar. took my 2 year old bloodhound that is as strong as an ox and he only experienced one correction and that was it. I put the collar on a level 4 correction we have gone without a leash and unsupervised first thing this morning. you can tell that he is loving the freedom yet he still has an avid respect for his new boundaries. this is a great product and has made a believer out of me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Wireless Electronic fence

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia, WA
One of my dogs chewed slats out of my 6 foot cedar fence on 3 occasions, dug under the chain link portion, JUMPED on the woodpile to get into neighbor's yard.. Tried EVERYTHING, even ideas from Animal control, Sherriff's dept. Also.. used chicken wire on fence, anchored into trench w/cement! ONLY the fence has contained him! Neighbors threatened me, etc.. Well worth the HIGH PRICE, but do have to change batteries FREQUENTLY.. I LOVE my dogs, feel so important to keep them safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
I've only had this system for a few weeks, but I'm very pleased with it thus far. My dogs are staying in the yard and seem to enjoying being off their leashes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Waco, Tx
I live in the country and I have two fur babies. They are 50lb lab/boxer mixes. I ordered this product because they continued to run to the street and run to the property line to chase other animals. No matter what bribes I gave them, how long they were outside, or what was going on, it seemed like they were looking to get hurt. I did some research on other websites and this one and I found that this Petsafe Wireless Fence system had the best overall reviews and results. Once I got it, we went through the training process with my babies and they just didn't seem to get it with the flags and the level 1 & 2. But once we found the level that caught their attention, I haven't had to worry since. Every time their collar begins to beep, they move back inside the safe zone, no matter what is on the other side. It is such a relief to know that my fur babies are safe outside now, and can't get away and get hurt. I would 100% recommend this product to ANY pet owner that is having issues with keeping their pet in their desired area/boundary
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Houston,Texas
This product worked like a charm on my Siberian Husky. He was notorious around the local vets....running away about once a month...one time his brother left with him and I didn't get him back for about a year and a 1/2....after I was finally reunited with my husky....I decided to try the Petsafe shock collar on his brother...who instigated the running away....I followed the directions and set up the Petsafe system....now my husky doesent even want to get near the street...it worked great and is very effective for dogs that like to run away. I highly recommend this product, I also recommend using it with a UPS back up battery so you don't lose power, and recommend taking it off so they can sleep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>