petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

Wireless Dog Fence! No underground wire required. Easy, portable way to set your pet's boundariesElectric dog fence covers an adjustable circular area up to ½ acre (180 feet in diameter)Upon exiting the area, your pet receives a harmless but effective correctionPetSafe Wireless Fence sets up in minutes without stakes, poles or wiresModel PIF-300
Average Customer Rating:
4.303 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(211 Reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 211 reviews
5 stars
152
4 stars
19
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
21
181 out of 211(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
103 Questions | 158 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Review 21 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE DON'T BUY

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JamieL1020
from Bluemont, VA
I have bought two of these and BOTH have broken after the year warranty. I REFUSED to purchase another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
13of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I was very hesitant to puchase. My main concerns were that the signal wouldnt pick up and that my 5yr old Shih-tzu would not be easly trained. Proir to this wireless system, if the door opened and she saw a possible way to run, she did, as hard as she could go. We recently moved and are now on a main hwy so I knew if she got out, the result would be devistating. So I figured even if this system didnt work, I had to atleast try it! WOW I am amazed. The set up was very easy, just follow the instructions. I had no problem. Lily( dog) was very easy to train. We done leash training for more than the recommended days, but only because I was afraid to just let her go. But after about 7 days I let the leash go. She will not go near the boundaries. The past three days I just open the door and let her go. Its such a relief to know that if one of the kids accidently let her out that she will no longer make a run for it. I still watch her very close and dont leave her unattended due to a review I read said their dog was doing great but then after a couple weeks, got outside the boundaries and never came back. I am extremely impressed with the system! If it continues to work like it has so far, its worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the best, safest, easy dog product

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abbeymo
from New Hampshire
She new what the beep, beep, beep the 1st day, the next couple days going past the sound she truly learned not to go past the flags or else. Never had to take it up from (2). Would recommend this product for piece of mind, knowing the safe boundaries=safe dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what the doctor ordered

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
sonofab123
from Heber City, UT
Was under the impression that containment required a wire burial until I read about this system. The 180 foot containment diameter was ideal for our 1 1/4 acre lot thats 220' x 220' square. We have a walk out basement home whose placement on the lot was ideal for the required inside installation of the transmitter. Mounted transmitter on inside back wall about 5 feet above floor level. Have a 13 year old St. Bernard who had an inclination to disappear more in her youth, but still had a tendency to sneak off when unobserved before the wireless fence. Inherited our daughters lab / weimariner mix that's incredibly intelligent but obstinate, head strong and hyper. Our home is rurally located and surrounded by distractions that would make us extremely unpopular neighbors should our dogs escape regularly. Collars were easy to set from 2 - 6 and install on dogs. Set the lab / weimariner mix to the highest setting (6) and one incident not only served to contain him, but has even improved his behavior when in the house. The St. Bernard, who has a thicker and hairier neck, but is older, becoming a little hard of hearing and may not hear the audible tone given when approaching the boundary, took a little more adjustment. We started her at the lowest setting of 2, noticed an impact at 4, but still insufficient deterrent for containment. We adjusted her ultimately to 6 before she emphatically conceded to the prompting. Two dogs and two reformed escapees. Each had their come to Jesus experience at the 6 level setting. we may adjust them back a bit now that they've become convincingly familiar with the safe zone. Now, instead of having to leash and attend the dogs at all hours of the night to do their duties, we turn on the transmitter and open the door. We've recaptured our lives from our furry friends. SWEET !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Wireless Fence

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
hannah08
from green bay wi
I just recently purchased this item and had to return it because my dog would not leave our deck being afraid of getting shocked. When we were in the house the collar was off our dog and it went off only being 10 feet away from the transmitter. I could not put this on my dog knowing that it could go off when she was in the "safe zone" Returned it to Petco and looking at other options for our dog.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe wireless containment

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
jimbo2
from Hillsville va
This system is amazing. I have 2 boxers and they have already learned the boundaries in 3 days time. A cat walked across the property this morning just outside of the boundary flags. My youngest boxer gave chase along the perimeter but didn't cross the boundary. Both dogs blew through the boundary on day one and this unpleasant experience is set in memory. I read several reviews about the fence not working on a sloped yard but I have approximately a 15 foot drop front to back and I placed the transmitter on a shelf in our walkout basement. It is 7 feet off the floor and the coverage is great for a 160 ft diameter circle. I had to lower the boundary because I only have about 85 feet to the road from the back of my house. I highly recommend this system for the safety of you pet. It took me less than an hour to set the system up including the boundary flags
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

just purchased

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
terrysal
from calif.
i am still training my dog, but i'm a little disappointed with the way the coverage applies to my yard. i'm at the end of cul de sac so i am not able to border around the perimitter, but it cuts into half my yard ;-(. I am only going to use when i leave town a few days a month.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT investment!

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
RN13
from Oklahoma
Okay, my wife and I have a 9 month old boxer and, if you have ever had a boxer, you know they are pretty hyper so I was a little hesitant about spending almost $300 on something that might not work. I am AMAZED!!!! Our boxer only had the "static" correction get him one time and that was it! After that, he didn't want to get off of the driveway to play, use the bathroom, or anything else for that matter. We took him trick or treating around our neighborhood and I had to pick him up and carry him past the flags (and he was shaking at the thought of the static correction hitting him again). We have had it less than 2 weeks and he goes outside without the collar and won't come within 5 ft of the flags. Even if his toys get thrown outside of the "safe" zone, kids are walking by our house, cats/dogs happen to be passing by, whatever the case, he stays in our yard! Would highly recommend this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
29of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fence

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tanzen
from Wanamingo, MN
I have 3 dogs. A toy poodle, Royal Standard Poodle and a Great Dane and all three use the wireless fence. It gives them the freedom to be outside and me the freedom to not have to worry about them! I love the fact that you are also able to set each collar to its own setting. Making it possible to have a toy poodle and a Great Dane on the same system. My father has a very active Jack Russell who also has the system and I am able to take my collars when I am at his house and then all the dogs are able to be outside without worry! It gives EVERYONE the freedom they need...Pets and owners alike!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BeauDuke2012
from St Louis, MO
This fence is great. We have 2 Shih Tzus who are around 1 1/2 years old. This was soo easy to train them with, literally within 2 days they we completely trained!! Well worth the $$!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
cat71373
from Owensville, MO
Due to our terrain at our home a chain link fence would have been a huge expense. I couldn't even use the underground fence. This product was a life saver. Easy set up and directions. i went by the training program suggested and in less than 2 weeks my two dogs learned the boundries. They no longer have to be tied up to go outside, its wonderful. The only thing you must remember is you have to be willing to do the training. You can not just plug it in, put up flags, n let your dog go. It's an easy 10-15 min a day and well worth it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ransom2011
from Cameron, OK
We have a 70 pound Pit Bull and I was afraid it wouldn't be strong enough to contain him. We started on one which just kind of annoyed him. He wouldn't go out to the road but he would try to push his boundaries. We moved it up to a two then a three. On a three he turns and runs to the porch if he gets to the boundary and now he stays in our yard and doesn't try to chase cars. It has 3 more levels but no need for them. :) In one afternoon he learned where he can and can't go. Our house is about 1200sf and sits on a decent sized corner lot and he has our whole backyard, side yard and part of the front yard he can use and that is on the low setting on a 8. My only regret is I didn't buy it sooner. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive, effective, easy to use containment for their pet. :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product don't work

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
kskid11
from OP
I have tried several of the wireless systems none work as they should the field is primarily in the house not out side. my poor dog is scared to death to go much father than the back porch cuz the field changes all the time as soon as the collar starts to run down a bit the everything gets smaller this seems to be true with all of the wireless not just this one. not worth the money yet maybe in a few years they will work as they should but right now its a bad system
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Negatives

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
BostonTerrorMom
from Lincoln, NE
I love this system; however, other frequencies (garage doors, remote keyless entry, etc) will mess with the containment system, and mine has gone off randomly. My dog is relatively skiddish and this sends him into orbit. He runs to the back door (His Safe Zone) and shakes. That is the one downside to a wireless system. The only other issue is the lack of variety in collar size. it's pretty bulky on a 15lb dog, and I like to train early on. On a good note, I don't have to use it on my 3 year old dog anymore because it helped train him quickly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
tlmME
I had one of these for my Bullmastiff years ago, and unfortunately sold it when she passed. Just bought it again for my 2 mini Australians who love to wander. They were already trained to electronic collars, so it took 1 time around the perimeter for them to figure it out - all of 5 minutes per dog. I love it! Now, they get to spend all their time outside with us, and I don't have to keep an eye on them every second, as one will wait til your busy and sneak off. It paid for itself in the very first day. So happy with this product, I will never sell it again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pet Safe Wireless Fence System

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
350Z
from Windham, ME
I have not used it yet but the set-up is very easy. I've established the boundary I want but haven't started to train our dog to see how well it works. If it works as good as the in ground wired system it'll be good. A lot cheaper than a fence and less obtrusive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
7of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Product EVER

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Love2Sell
from Johns Creek Ga
I purchase the wireless system as I did not want to spend the money on a professionally installed in ground system. I set it up according to the instructions and all seemed fine...until the training of my dogs began. All of a sudden the signal was way off from where I set it originally. I went back and reset it. Began training...the next day it was in a different spot. My dogs were so confused. I also could not get it to allow my dogs access to parts of my yard that I wanted them in and it would still allow them in the street...YIKES! Bottom line don't waste your time or money on this product. Get one that is in ground. On a bright note Petco was so great about refunding my money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jesmic2
from New Hampshire
I installed and setup the perimeter in less than 30 minutes. It was easy to get the perfect size for my area. My doxie was already familiar with the underground fence, so all I had to do was size the collar and put it on my dog. Glad to say he hasn't wandered out of the yard since.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe Wireless fence works great!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DogS2
from MD
We have a 4 year old male black lab reteriver who is so energetic. Our dog listens well in the house, but whenever he sees a change to run out of the house, he goes out. Then, we have a problem. He doesn't listen to us, and doesn't come back to the house when we call him. We have to spend an hour or more to trying to catch him. One good thing is that our dog only stays inside our neighborhood, and do not harm others. However, we get stressed out so much when this happens.
so we finally decided to get this petsafe wireless fence. This product, you can return it and get your money back if it doesn't work.
I think training process is critical to success with this product. You need to follow the procedures, and train your dog for long time. We trainned him more than 2 weeks with the leash and after that we only used collar. The shock in collar really got my dog's attention and he got shock couple of times so after that when he hears beep noise he comes toward the house right away and now he knows the system and he doesn't even go near the white flags.
I was little bit skeptical about this at first, but after I tried this item it really works! This item works GREAT!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly simple product

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
estevers
from Findlay, Ohio
We have had this for 4 yrs and LOVE LOVE LOVE it!! We got another puppy and are getting ready to buy additional collar. While my friends are digging trenches, spending thousands we spent roughly $300 and trained our dog in LITERALLY 5 MINUTES!!!! Now she can roam our 3 acres without worry! I cant say enough about this system!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>