petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

Wireless Dog Fence! No underground wire required. Easy, portable way to set your pet's boundariesElectric dog fence covers an adjustable circular area up to ½ acre (180 feet in diameter)Upon exiting the area, your pet receives a harmless but effective correctionPortable wireless system sets up in 1-2 hoursFits dogs 8 lbs. and up and neck sizes 6-28 inModel PIF-300
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(230 Reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 230 reviews
5 stars
166
4 stars
23
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
22
199 out of 230(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
122 Questions | 180 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Review 1 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Best Pet Fence EVER!!!

PostedApril 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Muskegon, MI
I recently bought this product, after trying a static training collar with small remote. While it worked well to begin the teaching of boundaries to my Siberian Husky, it still didn't allow me to let her out unless I was right there. Now I have this. With the training she had with her collar, and training her on the boundaries, she turned around when she heard the collar beep, and won't go out of the yard at all unless I'm with her. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+123points
206of 289voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST invisible fence available....

PostedJanuary 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
The range is a 90' radius circle adjustable down to almost nothing. If you have a very big yard and want to give your dogs more room, that is the ONLY reason to not get this. Setup can't be easier. Plug it in, done. Adjust the range if necessary. Two very nice features with regard to the collars. First, the level of correction is adjustable, so your dog won't get too strong of a correction if it isn't needed.
Second, and this might be the most important, unlike the buried wire invisible fence whereby the collar only corrects when the dog is near the buried wire, this system adds a correction when your dog gets OUT OF RANGE of the transmitter. So your dog will continue to get the correction until it gets back into range. With the buried models the dog could run through the fence, get a quick correction but keep going and not ever get another correction until it gets close again. Your dog will absolutely NOT run off if the correction is persistent like with this product.
One minor complaint is the proprietary batteries that you have to get from the pet store, and the battery life. I seem to be getting about 3 months out of a battery, and you have to order them or get them from the pet store. It would have been nicer if they used regular coin cell batteries that you can get anywhere. Don't let that dissuade you though, this is an awesome product. Plus, you can take it with you. We take it and put it in our camper and adjust the range down to about 15-20 feet, then bring it home, plug it back in and adjust it back to 90 feet. You can't go wrong with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+144points
203of 262voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great for us

PostedMay 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Rockland County, NY
Our dog is a dasher. Groundhog, squirrel, rustling leaves, she's off like a shot. our new yard is laid out a little oddly, and would be a headache to fence in. Wanting our girl to have some freedom, we purchased this. This is a strong willed dog, she is half great Pyrenees, so I was not optimistic she'd respond to it.
Well, my hesitation was for naught. We did the training with her as per the instructions, and after four days and only one little shock, she isn't even willing to test the boundary. Our first day off leash, she got tested with a groundhog, went far enough for the beeps, and retreated back. The next day was a turkey, and she was perfect. Since then, neighborhood kids in the yard, dogs walking by on leashes, and I'm at the point where I can trust her completely. It's only been 9 days, and we went out of town for two of them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dog was introduced to Wireless fence when we were visiting rel@t

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Crawford Co, PA
My dog was introduced to Wireless fence when we were visiting relatives for a few weeks. I ordered mine, and just before it came, my dog broke her cable and disappeared for six and a half days. The morning before she returned, we set up the system, not knowing if she'd ever be back. We put it to use right away upon her return, and she remembered about the beep! I'm happy that I can just buckle the collar on her & open the door...no tangled cable! So is she!! Works great for us!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great features

PostedApril 27, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wareham,Ma
I got this containment system because I have a small yard but it didn't work for me because you have to plug the transmitter in and wherever I placed it it was good for one area of yard but not another. Plus I had limited space inside my house for lg transmitter and didn't want on kitchen counter which was central point of house. Had to return for in ground system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The system needed no installation, just plug in and use

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from SC
Our labrodoodle understood the perimeters right away. The signal is weak where the house has brick walls with no windows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from mississippi
easy to set up and works great already have my pup trained to in
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Instant Fence for Dogs

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Hershey, PA
Very simple to setup, mount to a wall, test range, train dog, and use. We are very pleased with this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safety Tool

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
I have trained 5 dogs now using these fences and I would highly recommend this fence to any dog owner.
It's a great sense of security for when we let the dogs outside alone, and it allows the dogs to be independent to explore and play in the yard.
For anyone who thinks its mean to the dog- I have tested the collar on myself to know what it feels like, and I have known too many dogs that wondered into the road and got hit by a car to justify this necessary electric boundary
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winderful product!

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Maine
excellent product. Only took one time to show our dog the boundaries and let them get shicked. They have respected the boundaries since. Highly recommend for dogs who like to run off. Worth every penny.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bryan, Tx
I was seriously pretty skeptical about an invisible fence solely because it just seems too easy and too good to be true. But this thing is AWESOME! I got a new dog from the shelter that was a bit older (9 months) and had a SERIOUS problem with bolting off the first chance he was not on a leash or in a fence. We live on several acres, but still have neighbors within running distance. So I needed something that would let him run around in our yard, but not confine him to a tie out. Within 3-5 times of wearing the collar he got the idea that the front yard was the acceptable "zone". Sure, he got shocked a handful of times, and didn't like it, but he definitely learned his lesson. I did not have any problems with dead spots, or the transmitter not working. Just make sure you put your transmitter in as high of a spot as possible and it should work fine. I put mine on top of an armoire in one of the bedrooms closest to where I wanted him to stay. I also didn't do any of the training the book suggests. I plugged in the transmitter, put the collar on and let him figure out the rest. This fence works PERFECTLY and was totally worth the peace of mind and money spent. I HIGHLY recommend. Five stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wireless pet fence

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Port Charlotte, FL
Have used this fence system for many years. This one is for our Florida home. Very reliable!
Have given it as presents for my daughters pets.
Good quality. Battery lasts. Easy to find replacement batteries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Laurel, MD
We bought this and an extra collar for our two dogs. One collar would go off too early and the other collar would only go off half of the time. The distance seem to keep changing even though we were not decreasing or increasing the distance. We returned because it was not working out for us. I was really hoping this would work out, but unfortunately I was disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works flawlessly

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Anchorage, AK
This was perfect for my 2 labs in my acre lot. Training was quick and easy. Before we bought this, our dogs would escape and it wasn't easy finding them. Our house is a corner house bordered by two roads and we never have to worry about them being outside alone now.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lisbon, Maine
I have a black lab who LOVES to wander around the neighborhood! We placed this and followed the training tips and now we can let her out and she can enjoy herself without getting caught up in her run we used to have. We have this on the lowest setting and as soon as she hears the beeping she will turn right around, she only received a correction once and that was the lowest setting. Great Product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for flat yard.

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, in
This is a good product it just didn't work for my back yard. My back yard has some significant drop offs, and the wireless coverage was just too inconsistant to be affective. Petco was great about the return, no issues. I actually exchanged the wireless for a wired kit from the same company, rented a machine at my local rental store to install the wire in the ground, and did the install myself . It wasn't too difficult.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Product

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from burlington, ct
I've had this for over a year now. My boxer learned the boundaries within a few days. I don't have to put the collar on him anymore and he stays in his area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Astoria, OR
We live on over an acre of land and wanted our puppy to have free movement around most of our yard, which has no fences. This product gives us the peace of mind we need to know our puppy is safe and will not roam out of our area. Easy to set up and it comes with all the instruction you'll need to get started. We've never owned a dog before and were able to train the dog to notice the flags. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster va
This product was so easy to install and use. Just plug it in and check with your collar to find where your area reaches, then mark it with your provided flags. If the area is too large then you can adjust how large your diameter is for your selected area. Train your dog and let them run free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but not for us

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This system is really nice and of great quality. It was easy for us to set up. That being said, because it creates more of a dome around your yard, it was difficult for us to find a spot in our house for the transmitter that allowed us to give the dog the amount of outdoor space we wanted. When we got it the distance from the back and front that we wanted, there was too much space on the sides. It allowed him to go into our neighbors yard. This is a great unit if you have a lot of acres. We are in a subdivision with smaller lots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>