petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

Wireless Dog Fence! No underground wire required. Easy, portable way to set your pet's boundariesElectric dog fence covers an adjustable circular area up to ½ acre (180 feet in diameter)Upon exiting the area, your pet receives a harmless but effective correctionPetSafe Wireless Fence sets up in minutes without stakes, poles or wiresModel PIF-300
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 210 reviews
5 stars
151
4 stars
19
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
21
180 out of 210(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
103 Questions | 158 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Review 1 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Best Pet Fence EVER!!!

PostedApril 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
Siberian Husky Fan
from Muskegon, MI
I recently bought this product, after trying a static training collar with small remote. While it worked well to begin the teaching of boundaries to my Siberian Husky, it still didn't allow me to let her out unless I was right there. Now I have this. With the training she had with her collar, and training her on the boundaries, she turned around when she heard the collar beep, and won't go out of the yard at all unless I'm with her. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+101points
163of 225voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST invisible fence available....

PostedJanuary 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Buddy's Human
from West Virginia
The range is a 90' radius circle adjustable down to almost nothing. If you have a very big yard and want to give your dogs more room, that is the ONLY reason to not get this. Setup can't be easier. Plug it in, done. Adjust the range if necessary. Two very nice features with regard to the collars. First, the level of correction is adjustable, so your dog won't get too strong of a correction if it isn't needed.
Second, and this might be the most important, unlike the buried wire invisible fence whereby the collar only corrects when the dog is near the buried wire, this system adds a correction when your dog gets OUT OF RANGE of the transmitter. So your dog will continue to get the correction until it gets back into range. With the buried models the dog could run through the fence, get a quick correction but keep going and not ever get another correction until it gets close again. Your dog will absolutely NOT run off if the correction is persistent like with this product.
One minor complaint is the proprietary batteries that you have to get from the pet store, and the battery life. I seem to be getting about 3 months out of a battery, and you have to order them or get them from the pet store. It would have been nicer if they used regular coin cell batteries that you can get anywhere. Don't let that dissuade you though, this is an awesome product. Plus, you can take it with you. We take it and put it in our camper and adjust the range down to about 15-20 feet, then bring it home, plug it back in and adjust it back to 90 feet. You can't go wrong with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+118points
166of 214voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a fan

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Codester
from NJ
Not a fan of the wireless fence, the range was awkward to say the least, poor dog hit a few hot spots, that should have been in the realm, could not get it adjusted to my yard. returned item and looking at fences where I control area to stay in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it, Until....

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lina24
from Charlotte NC
I have a Golden Retriever/Lab who is very clever getting out of our yard. No matter how many times we secured it for him not to escape, he always found a way. Finally I got fed up chasing after him every other day (being a stay at home mom with 3 kids is hard as it is now adding a dog search was just too much). So my husband and I researched for the best pet training system that matched our needs. This product was perfect. We bought it, set it up. Amazingly within a couple of hours our dog was trained and we felt safe letting him out without any concerns. Well its been 6 months of having this product and im ready to call it quits. The collar goes off for no reason. Even when my dog is laying next to my bed 3 ft away! Poor baby is so terrified he jumps on my bed and is shaking in fear. My husband has tried adjusting it multiple times, its still acting up. I wouldn't recommend this product for long term use. For a training short-term use, yes it works. For a long-term, no. You'll only end up with a traumatized dog :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and effective

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
OlliesMm
from Dallas, TX
After reading dozens of good reviews on several different sites, I decided to give this system a try. We had looked at the Invisible Fence system, but it was very expensive and invasive to install. The only drawback to this system is adjusting the boundaries to a circular region. We have a new rescue puppy who is a Houdini with fences and very chase-motivated. We are using this system as an addition to our stone/iron fence, and just in case he rushes through our garage or front door. I thought I might have to use a higher control value to help him learn, but he is on Level 2 and has learned quickly that he does NOT want to cross the boundary. It was simple to set up and has been very effective and well worth the peace of mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Koakeeper
from Upstate, NY
We followed the training directions and within 1 week, our 75 lb. boxer/lab mix was aware of her boundaries. She got zapped once in each direction and once when confronted with a distraction. We purchased the 90' range and it is more than adequate. Easy to install. Plug it in and go. Very satisfied!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product was great when it worked

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
NoFence
from Fairbanks, AK
I bought this system, worked great dog understood the beeping meant back up she didn't test it much. Then one day noticed my dog was across the street, well past her boundary zone. I replaced the collar battery, re-synced the system, tried everything in the troubleshooting book. But for some reason lost my front yard boundary all together. We called Pet Safe and they are shipping me a new transmitter so hopefully i just got a bad transmitter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
16of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Setup - Good alternative to wired fence

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rubyredpuppy
from Atlanta, GA
This is a good product as an alternative to burying a wire in your yard. I have a yard with steep hills and trees and Georgia clay is not easy to dig into. Highly recommend the setup be done with 2 people, it was much easier.
Currently training our 5 month old puppy with the boundaries and it is going well.
Only minor complaint is that the collar is quite heavy on the neck for a small or medium dog. so getting a good fit on her is a bit awkward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless dog fence

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bisou
from New jersey
We have been using the wireless dog fence on our dog for a year. Its amazing. works great. I will never have a dog outside my fenceless yard ever again with out the wireless fence. i wonder if i can carry it on the plane when I travel with my dog????
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nellers
from Alaska
I lived in a place where tethering your dog can be just as dangerous as having them run free. I was living out in the woods and was having a problem where my dog was running too far off, reaching the highway; however, I couldn't tether him as we lived in bear country and if we ever encountered one I wanted him to be able to escape (a feature of this product is important for that). I also wanted him to be able to roam free around our yard. This product was perfect for what I needed it for!
The training methods provided in the instruction manual were a great help! Within the first day my dog learned to heed the warning this product provided when getting too close the edge of the range I selected for him. Within a few weeks he had completely stopped trying to get past it. If he accidentally got too close he would just turn around like it was nothing.
Another great feature is it's customization. I could adjust it so when we moved back in town I could make the roaming distance smaller to match my smaller yard. I could select from six different shock settings to find the one that worked for my dog. In the winter when his coat was longer I had it up slightly higher so he could feel it and down again in the spring when his coat thinned.
My favorite feature; however, is that it stops shocking your dog after he has made it past the barrier (which mine had once or twice). I believe this is an extremely important feature as the shock works as a training tool and not a punishing device. It also allows my dog to escape unharmed if need be.
This product is not a replacement for good training nor will it punish your animal for running off. It is a training tool and when used properly, it works perfect!
I only wish the collars were more durable (mine broke after a year) but the cost for replacement is acceptable. It also is difficult if your wireless signal meets with another as the two join and the dog can escape. I just made mine slightly smaller and the problem was solved. I would say if you stay true to your animal and teach them where the boundaries are this is the perfect tool for off leash containment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this system...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
LuvMySchnauzers
from US
I had recently been looking into getting this system or one similar but was hesitant because of the price! I have 2 miniature schnauzers, Max & Penny, and Max loves to roam... We live out in the woods but still close to the road so I am afraid they will one day get ran over, get stolen or something else happen to em while they are out in these woods... I purchased this system along with a second collar and was so disappointed in the price of just the 2nd collar alone ($149.) But I had to have it so I got it... It was fairly simple once reading the steps a few times each... Took a while to step off the entire perimeter(set to full 180) but it done a good job... I first put Max on his collar & took him on his leash & he was ready to go roaming... He didn't even notice the beeps, he just kept running, till he got a lil bzzz... (lowest setting done him great, not too much not too less it was just right) I took him 1 round around the house with his leash & he figured out when that beeped to run as fast as he cld in the opposite direction! lol He done so good, I took his leash off to see what he wld do... He walked right with me and if I walked past the perimeter to where he heard his beeps he ran back and sat down! I took off running down our long drive way to see if he wld follow me as he usually does to ck the mail and he wldn't even start down the drive way lol when he saw me coming back to where he was suppose to stop he ran to me and we went inside and got a treat!!! He done fantastic and after about 20 mins he figured the system out! It was well worth the money, wished the extra stuff wasn't so expensive but the other good thing is you can adjust the perimeter settings so when we go camping he will know about the system already and will be able to roam around our area and not run off!!! So I'm happy!! Next is to get Penny use to it! I tried the bzz out on my hand bc if I'm gonna be putting it on my baby's necks, I wanna know what they're gonna be feeling... To me I think the lowest setting will do just fine for smaller dogs as these unless they are just stubborn lol then maybe turn it up a notch! Other than that, great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for small dogs but not for large

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaxAndLuke
from Oklahoma
I've had this product for a couple months. My 35 pound dog will not even go near the boundary, he doesn't even need the collar, without it on he will still not near it. BUT, I have a 80 pound Catahoula Leopard Dog that is about 9 months old so he is very active and strong willed. I have turned the collar up to the maximum strength and he will run past it like it's nothing. At first he didn't, but he figured out that it stops after 30 secs. I've even put both collars on him and it still doesn't stop him. I don't think this product is useful for large, active dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Fence System

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
rockinbarmac
from Springtown, Texas
just bought this unit yesterday. it only took about 20 minutes to set up with the flags and collar. took my 2 year old bloodhound that is as strong as an ox and he only experienced one correction and that was it. I put the collar on a level 4 correction we have gone without a leash and unsupervised first thing this morning. you can tell that he is loving the freedom yet he still has an avid respect for his new boundaries. this is a great product and has made a believer out of me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Wireless Electronic fence

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
critterkaren
from Olympia, WA
One of my dogs chewed slats out of my 6 foot cedar fence on 3 occasions, dug under the chain link portion, JUMPED on the woodpile to get into neighbor's yard.. Tried EVERYTHING, even ideas from Animal control, Sherriff's dept. Also.. used chicken wire on fence, anchored into trench w/cement! ONLY the fence has contained him! Neighbors threatened me, etc.. Well worth the HIGH PRICE, but do have to change batteries FREQUENTLY.. I LOVE my dogs, feel so important to keep them safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
SuzieS
I've only had this system for a few weeks, but I'm very pleased with it thus far. My dogs are staying in the yard and seem to enjoying being off their leashes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC PRODUCT!!!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
mirdada13
from Waco, Tx
I live in the country and I have two fur babies. They are 50lb lab/boxer mixes. I ordered this product because they continued to run to the street and run to the property line to chase other animals. No matter what bribes I gave them, how long they were outside, or what was going on, it seemed like they were looking to get hurt. I did some research on other websites and this one and I found that this Petsafe Wireless Fence system had the best overall reviews and results. Once I got it, we went through the training process with my babies and they just didn't seem to get it with the flags and the level 1 & 2. But once we found the level that caught their attention, I haven't had to worry since. Every time their collar begins to beep, they move back inside the safe zone, no matter what is on the other side. It is such a relief to know that my fur babies are safe outside now, and can't get away and get hurt. I would 100% recommend this product to ANY pet owner that is having issues with keeping their pet in their desired area/boundary
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
signumc240
from Houston,Texas
This product worked like a charm on my Siberian Husky. He was notorious around the local vets....running away about once a month...one time his brother left with him and I didn't get him back for about a year and a 1/2....after I was finally reunited with my husky....I decided to try the Petsafe shock collar on his brother...who instigated the running away....I followed the directions and set up the Petsafe system....now my husky doesent even want to get near the street...it worked great and is very effective for dogs that like to run away. I highly recommend this product, I also recommend using it with a UPS back up battery so you don't lose power, and recommend taking it off so they can sleep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Budandteddysmom
from Boston, MA
We just hooked this up on Saturday but it appears to be working well. We had an in ground system from this same manufacturer that we installed ourselves but the line kept breaking and the system just didn't seem to hold up to the New England weather. My only worry with this system was adjusting it to fit our yard. If your house is close to your neighbor's even on one side because it forms a circle then your pet will be able to cross the lawn border. Depending on how close you are to the road it could also reach there so adjust carefully. It does seem to do the job and there has not been any interruptions so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

petsafe wireless fence

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
livinflife
from central oregon
My husband and I decided to get this system and give it a try. We had looked into company that would install and train both dogs on an in-ground wired fence. The cost was upwards of 2000 dollars. We thought for the price difference we would just give this system a try first and save the money for other things.
Well, we followed the instructions to a "T" and both dogs (65lb yellow lab and 6.5 lb poodle) are both trained. It did not take 3 weeks to train. We did it over the long labor day weekend. The yellow lab was already accustomed to the corrective system from a collar we used when out for walks and hikes. The lab learned over a period of 2 days. Out toy poodle is just a yr old now and never had a corrective system before. I know the instructions say for 8lbs and over but we set hers on the lowest (2) setting for correction and she learned very quickly to retreat to the safe zone when the beep comes on. She does not cry if it shocks her. We kept our training times short ( about 10 minutes) and kept it fun just like the instructions said to do. It has only been 4 days but so far so good. I still keep a close eye on both dogs and will not leave them out all day unsupervised anyway. We have the system set for the 180 foot diameter and the console transmitter set on high. I have found that the collar will beep at odd times like when they come in the family room and TV is on or when They get into the moving car in the driveway with the collar on. I suspect it is electrical interference.
We bought the system when it was on sale online and the shipping was fast and on time....I guess we will see how it goes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE DON'T BUY

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
JamieL1020
from Bluemont, VA
I have bought two of these and BOTH have broken after the year warranty. I REFUSED to purchase another one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
13of 36voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>