petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System

Wireless Dog Fence! No underground wire required. Easy, portable way to set your pet's boundariesElectric dog fence covers an adjustable circular area up to ½ acre (180 feet in diameter)Upon exiting the area, your pet receives a harmless but effective correctionPetSafe Wireless Fence sets up in minutes without stakes, poles or wiresModel PIF-300
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(215 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 215 reviews
5 stars
155
4 stars
20
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
21
185 out of 215(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
104 Questions | 159 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Review 1 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Best Pet Fence EVER!!!

PostedApril 4, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Muskegon, MI
I recently bought this product, after trying a static training collar with small remote. While it worked well to begin the teaching of boundaries to my Siberian Husky, it still didn't allow me to let her out unless I was right there. Now I have this. With the training she had with her collar, and training her on the boundaries, she turned around when she heard the collar beep, and won't go out of the yard at all unless I'm with her. I'd buy it again in a heartbeat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+104points
172of 240voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST invisible fence available....

PostedJanuary 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
The range is a 90' radius circle adjustable down to almost nothing. If you have a very big yard and want to give your dogs more room, that is the ONLY reason to not get this. Setup can't be easier. Plug it in, done. Adjust the range if necessary. Two very nice features with regard to the collars. First, the level of correction is adjustable, so your dog won't get too strong of a correction if it isn't needed.
Second, and this might be the most important, unlike the buried wire invisible fence whereby the collar only corrects when the dog is near the buried wire, this system adds a correction when your dog gets OUT OF RANGE of the transmitter. So your dog will continue to get the correction until it gets back into range. With the buried models the dog could run through the fence, get a quick correction but keep going and not ever get another correction until it gets close again. Your dog will absolutely NOT run off if the correction is persistent like with this product.
One minor complaint is the proprietary batteries that you have to get from the pet store, and the battery life. I seem to be getting about 3 months out of a battery, and you have to order them or get them from the pet store. It would have been nicer if they used regular coin cell batteries that you can get anywhere. Don't let that dissuade you though, this is an awesome product. Plus, you can take it with you. We take it and put it in our camper and adjust the range down to about 15-20 feet, then bring it home, plug it back in and adjust it back to 90 feet. You can't go wrong with this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+123points
172of 221voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Astoria, OR
We live on over an acre of land and wanted our puppy to have free movement around most of our yard, which has no fences. This product gives us the peace of mind we need to know our puppy is safe and will not roam out of our area. Easy to set up and it comes with all the instruction you'll need to get started. We've never owned a dog before and were able to train the dog to notice the flags. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Lancaster va
This product was so easy to install and use. Just plug it in and check with your collar to find where your area reaches, then mark it with your provided flags. If the area is too large then you can adjust how large your diameter is for your selected area. Train your dog and let them run free!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but not for us

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ohio
This system is really nice and of great quality. It was easy for us to set up. That being said, because it creates more of a dome around your yard, it was difficult for us to find a spot in our house for the transmitter that allowed us to give the dog the amount of outdoor space we wanted. When we got it the distance from the back and front that we wanted, there was too much space on the sides. It allowed him to go into our neighbors yard. This is a great unit if you have a lot of acres. We are in a subdivision with smaller lots.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from alabama
This was everything it said it was. My dog was always running around the neighborhood. She would either break her chain or pull it out of the ground.. we put the collar on her and she only left the area once. Now she doesnt get within 2feet of the perimeter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don'r assume your pet is too small for this great product!

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Prospect CT
I purchased the Pet safe wireless fence after debating over doing so for years, I only wish I did so when I first heard about it! I have a barely 8 pound Yorkie "bolter". She is 7 years old and I have had to chase her more times than I care to think about. Because she is so small I was sure that this product would be too harsh for her...I was so wrong! It took my girl exactly 30 minutes to figure this system out. She couldn't be happier and neither could I. The squirrels are not as happy!! It was so easy to install, I would, and have recommended this product to everyone that will listen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a fan

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from NJ
Not a fan of the wireless fence, the range was awkward to say the least, poor dog hit a few hot spots, that should have been in the realm, could not get it adjusted to my yard. returned item and looking at fences where I control area to stay in.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Loved it, Until....

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte NC
I have a Golden Retriever/Lab who is very clever getting out of our yard. No matter how many times we secured it for him not to escape, he always found a way. Finally I got fed up chasing after him every other day (being a stay at home mom with 3 kids is hard as it is now adding a dog search was just too much). So my husband and I researched for the best pet training system that matched our needs. This product was perfect. We bought it, set it up. Amazingly within a couple of hours our dog was trained and we felt safe letting him out without any concerns. Well its been 6 months of having this product and im ready to call it quits. The collar goes off for no reason. Even when my dog is laying next to my bed 3 ft away! Poor baby is so terrified he jumps on my bed and is shaking in fear. My husband has tried adjusting it multiple times, its still acting up. I wouldn't recommend this product for long term use. For a training short-term use, yes it works. For a long-term, no. You'll only end up with a traumatized dog :(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy and effective

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dallas, TX
After reading dozens of good reviews on several different sites, I decided to give this system a try. We had looked at the Invisible Fence system, but it was very expensive and invasive to install. The only drawback to this system is adjusting the boundaries to a circular region. We have a new rescue puppy who is a Houdini with fences and very chase-motivated. We are using this system as an addition to our stone/iron fence, and just in case he rushes through our garage or front door. I thought I might have to use a higher control value to help him learn, but he is on Level 2 and has learned quickly that he does NOT want to cross the boundary. It was simple to set up and has been very effective and well worth the peace of mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Upstate, NY
We followed the training directions and within 1 week, our 75 lb. boxer/lab mix was aware of her boundaries. She got zapped once in each direction and once when confronted with a distraction. We purchased the 90' range and it is more than adequate. Easy to install. Plug it in and go. Very satisfied!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product was great when it worked

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairbanks, AK
I bought this system, worked great dog understood the beeping meant back up she didn't test it much. Then one day noticed my dog was across the street, well past her boundary zone. I replaced the collar battery, re-synced the system, tried everything in the troubleshooting book. But for some reason lost my front yard boundary all together. We called Pet Safe and they are shipping me a new transmitter so hopefully i just got a bad transmitter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
17of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Setup - Good alternative to wired fence

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, GA
This is a good product as an alternative to burying a wire in your yard. I have a yard with steep hills and trees and Georgia clay is not easy to dig into. Highly recommend the setup be done with 2 people, it was much easier.
Currently training our 5 month old puppy with the boundaries and it is going well.
Only minor complaint is that the collar is quite heavy on the neck for a small or medium dog. so getting a good fit on her is a bit awkward.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless dog fence

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New jersey
We have been using the wireless dog fence on our dog for a year. Its amazing. works great. I will never have a dog outside my fenceless yard ever again with out the wireless fence. i wonder if i can carry it on the plane when I travel with my dog????
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as advertised

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Alaska
I lived in a place where tethering your dog can be just as dangerous as having them run free. I was living out in the woods and was having a problem where my dog was running too far off, reaching the highway; however, I couldn't tether him as we lived in bear country and if we ever encountered one I wanted him to be able to escape (a feature of this product is important for that). I also wanted him to be able to roam free around our yard. This product was perfect for what I needed it for!
The training methods provided in the instruction manual were a great help! Within the first day my dog learned to heed the warning this product provided when getting too close the edge of the range I selected for him. Within a few weeks he had completely stopped trying to get past it. If he accidentally got too close he would just turn around like it was nothing.
Another great feature is it's customization. I could adjust it so when we moved back in town I could make the roaming distance smaller to match my smaller yard. I could select from six different shock settings to find the one that worked for my dog. In the winter when his coat was longer I had it up slightly higher so he could feel it and down again in the spring when his coat thinned.
My favorite feature; however, is that it stops shocking your dog after he has made it past the barrier (which mine had once or twice). I believe this is an extremely important feature as the shock works as a training tool and not a punishing device. It also allows my dog to escape unharmed if need be.
This product is not a replacement for good training nor will it punish your animal for running off. It is a training tool and when used properly, it works perfect!
I only wish the collars were more durable (mine broke after a year) but the cost for replacement is acceptable. It also is difficult if your wireless signal meets with another as the two join and the dog can escape. I just made mine slightly smaller and the problem was solved. I would say if you stay true to your animal and teach them where the boundaries are this is the perfect tool for off leash containment.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this system...

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from US
I had recently been looking into getting this system or one similar but was hesitant because of the price! I have 2 miniature schnauzers, Max & Penny, and Max loves to roam... We live out in the woods but still close to the road so I am afraid they will one day get ran over, get stolen or something else happen to em while they are out in these woods... I purchased this system along with a second collar and was so disappointed in the price of just the 2nd collar alone ($149.) But I had to have it so I got it... It was fairly simple once reading the steps a few times each... Took a while to step off the entire perimeter(set to full 180) but it done a good job... I first put Max on his collar & took him on his leash & he was ready to go roaming... He didn't even notice the beeps, he just kept running, till he got a lil bzzz... (lowest setting done him great, not too much not too less it was just right) I took him 1 round around the house with his leash & he figured out when that beeped to run as fast as he cld in the opposite direction! lol He done so good, I took his leash off to see what he wld do... He walked right with me and if I walked past the perimeter to where he heard his beeps he ran back and sat down! I took off running down our long drive way to see if he wld follow me as he usually does to ck the mail and he wldn't even start down the drive way lol when he saw me coming back to where he was suppose to stop he ran to me and we went inside and got a treat!!! He done fantastic and after about 20 mins he figured the system out! It was well worth the money, wished the extra stuff wasn't so expensive but the other good thing is you can adjust the perimeter settings so when we go camping he will know about the system already and will be able to roam around our area and not run off!!! So I'm happy!! Next is to get Penny use to it! I tried the bzz out on my hand bc if I'm gonna be putting it on my baby's necks, I wanna know what they're gonna be feeling... To me I think the lowest setting will do just fine for smaller dogs as these unless they are just stubborn lol then maybe turn it up a notch! Other than that, great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works for small dogs but not for large

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
I've had this product for a couple months. My 35 pound dog will not even go near the boundary, he doesn't even need the collar, without it on he will still not near it. BUT, I have a 80 pound Catahoula Leopard Dog that is about 9 months old so he is very active and strong willed. I have turned the collar up to the maximum strength and he will run past it like it's nothing. At first he didn't, but he figured out that it stops after 30 secs. I've even put both collars on him and it still doesn't stop him. I don't think this product is useful for large, active dogs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wireless Fence System

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Springtown, Texas
just bought this unit yesterday. it only took about 20 minutes to set up with the flags and collar. took my 2 year old bloodhound that is as strong as an ox and he only experienced one correction and that was it. I put the collar on a level 4 correction we have gone without a leash and unsupervised first thing this morning. you can tell that he is loving the freedom yet he still has an avid respect for his new boundaries. this is a great product and has made a believer out of me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Wireless Electronic fence

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Olympia, WA
One of my dogs chewed slats out of my 6 foot cedar fence on 3 occasions, dug under the chain link portion, JUMPED on the woodpile to get into neighbor's yard.. Tried EVERYTHING, even ideas from Animal control, Sherriff's dept. Also.. used chicken wire on fence, anchored into trench w/cement! ONLY the fence has contained him! Neighbors threatened me, etc.. Well worth the HIGH PRICE, but do have to change batteries FREQUENTLY.. I LOVE my dogs, feel so important to keep them safe!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Wireless Instant Fence Pet Containment System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great so far

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
I've only had this system for a few weeks, but I'm very pleased with it thus far. My dogs are staying in the yard and seem to enjoying being off their leashes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>