petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer

PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer

Collarless Remote Trainer designEmits two different ultrasonic sounds, a positive tone for rewarding and a negative tone for correctingRemote unit requires no receiver30 foot rangeModel PUPT-100-19
Average Customer Rating:
2.956 / 5
3
 / 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
20
24 out of 45(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Review 1 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

remote trainer

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
appaloosa
from Toledo Ohio
definitely does what it says. A couple tries and she stops immediately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor construction

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sidbo
from Los Angeles, CA
The 9V battery was next to impossible to fit into the device, and it was the same brand battery as the maker of the device.
I literally had to pry some of the silicone glue out of the device to try to get the battery in and close the screws properly. What a pain this thing was.
Once the battery was in, (after 30 minutes of frustration), the device worked OK. The two tones that it makes work fine, and the dogs to respond to it all right. I just wouldn't buy this again, knowing what a pain it was to get it to work in the first place, and knowing most of my friends and relatives, they wouldn't go through the hassle that I went through to get a simple battery to fit within the comnpartment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

only worked for couple of days

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
love2sew
from Cincinnati
It worked fine the first few times but now the dog ignores it. Will keep trying to get it to work better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work for cats at all

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bosc
from New York, NY
i use on my cat nothen happens he keeps bitting me
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy device!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bachsmom
from Milan, Il.
Since purchasing this device I have been able to control and correct my dog from nuisance barking and jumping while he is out in the yard. I was not sure if this would work but I have had great success. I'm sold on this product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work for my dog

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dave4449
from Burbank, CA
I had high hopes for this product for my rescued spaniel mix because the Scat Mat I bought to keep him off my couch when I'm away from home has worked so well. Unfortunately, I found out that my dog is one of those who doesn't respond at all to an ultrasonic sound. As far as I know the product was operating properly, but after a few days I gave up and returned it for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great when used correct .

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
jackbequick
from Arkansas
I have had one for years.If you use it with a command or praise it works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not sure about this yet

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Riley02
from Rochester, NY
I bought this for my Lhasa/Shih Tzu mix about 2 weeks ago. He only barks at people, dogs and people with their dogs when they walk past the house. He is not a constant/nusiance barker. He doesn't bark at cars, trucks, etc. Though he can hear the "negative" tone, (he does stop barking when I push the button) I have to be right there when he barks, which isn't always possible. So, when he is outside, unless I am watching him the entire time AND a person/dog happens to walk past AND I have the control in my hand AND I can get the door open right away, he gets several barks in before I can get there. Even pairing it with the "quiet" command the training may not be having any effect. Maybe when the weather gets warmer, and I can have the door/windows open, when I can actually get to him quicker, this will be a more effective tool. The 30 foot range seems to be correct. I may write another review in a few months when I have had some more time to test it out. As of today, since he does hear the tone, and it does interrupt his barking, I can recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best $50 I've spent

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
aussiemomnc
from greensboro, nc
My girls stopped the first time I did it. I very rarely have to use it when I say quiet. I have used it for other training things like no jump, come, etc. It was $50 here but it was the best $50 I have ever spent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
ashleynicole
I had absolutely no hope for this product. I only bought it because I was told I could return it if it didn't work. My dog barks, growls and goes crazy if anybody walks by my house, comes to the door, or if he hears another dog or sees an animal outside. I used this product consistently for 3 days, and my dog does not bark anymore. I am amazed at how well this works. I absolutely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
PlayfulDog
So, I don't review many products, but I had to review this one. It is worthless. Tried it because my dog barks at squirrels and rabbits and wanted to see if I could control him w/ this. I held it across the yard, didn't work, he didn't even notice it. I walked closer, nothing, then I had it about 4ft away from him and he just cocked his head in confusion. Came up and sniffed it, and then licked it. I have a border-collie-boxer mix, but I would imagine I would have gotten better results then a $50 look of confusion.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
18of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted Time and Money

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phoenix92592
10 lb Mini poodle. No response at all. Going back to store for a refund. Save your money and get something that works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Judicious use

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lorilee
from Eugene, OR
This product works as described -- so well, in fact, that one must be cautious about its use. I say that because, when the "N" button is pushed, my dog acts as if the world as she knows it has come to an end and comes cowering to me and is very unsettled for at least an hour. Maybe it's just because for the first time in her life something is controlling her behaviour. She's about two years old and is a rescue and fence fights. I don't believe it should be used for the "little stuff" that basic training should resolve IF your dog considers you the leader of the pack -- which in my case I'm still trying to assert.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
17of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money....

PostedMay 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
SchnauzerBuddysMom
It annoys my mini schnauzer if I use it when he's barking at his companion while she chases a ball, (herding her) ... but doesn't annoy him enough to slow her down.
It has ZERO impact when he's really wound up -- like if there is a knock on the door.
Don't waste your money!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless

PostedApril 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
oh4ticks
Dog just looked at me...didn't care if I pushed the button or not. Totally worthless and am returning the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SMALLER DOGS MAYBE

PostedMarch 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
LADYBUG42
A FRIEND HAS THIS PRODUCT AND RECOMMENDED IT TO ME. SHE HAS A MINIATURE (SMALL DOG) AND LIKES IT.
MY DOG IS A SILKY TERRIER (MEDIUM SIZED, LESS THEN 20 POUNDS) AND IT DOES NOT WORK FOR HIM.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SO FAR GOOD RESPONSE FOR THE PRICE

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
LAKS
from WISCONSIN
USING THIS FOR A 11 MONTH OLD PUPPY FOR BARKING AND DIGGING. SHE RESPONDS WELL.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
happymex
This item got my dogs attention for two days. Now it has no affect on him and he continues to bark. I would not recommend it to any body. Just a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have!

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
sasshot
This product is wonderful. Once my puppy learned the positive tone I started using the negative tone within a day he knew that when I pushed that button he was doing something wrong. I didn't even have to say No anymore. When he does something good, even if he is across the house, and I push the positive button he comes running to me for praise which is usually a good belly rub or a treat. He still likes to push the limits and try somethings for for the most part when he was doing bad behavior and I pushed the negative button he hasn't done those behaviors again. You must get this!!! Note to wifes...don't let your husband get this cause they like to push the negative button just for fun!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Ultrasonic Remote Trainer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worthless

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
JamesR
from Pasadena, MD
Negative tone did not work at all. Positive tone did get the dogs attention at times. Will be returning this product, worthless on our golden retriever.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>