petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid

Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid

Extremely bitter tastingStops pet licking, chewing, picking, cribbing and fur or feather biting Protects anything that pets destructively chew, lick or bite
Average Customer Rating:
2.796 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
20
23 out of 49(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Review 21 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Eh- Just Okay

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from new york, ny
I would say this product partially works; he doesn't like the taste I can tell by his face but I'm pretty sure the taste wears off quickly because he's back at the spots again. Also, the taste doesn't deter him from chewing on his favorite spot, just for not as long. My biggest problem is the spray, it's more like a stream shot which ends up dripping on my fingers or dripping off the desired area onto the floor. I wish it was more of a focused mist so I could get more of the product where I wanted it to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ABSOLUTELY WORTHLESS!

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
My wife just came home with a 16 oz. bottle of this stuff and we sprayed a few items that our 10 week old Beagle puppy has been chewing. Including my slippers.
I noticed she was still chewing a chair in our breakfast room and also my slippers. So I sprayed a LOT onto my slippers so that they were wet with this product and placed them on the floor. The puppy immediately licked off all the product from the slippers.
It is absolutely worthless as an anti-chew product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pay Backs Are the Worst

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Rio Rancho, NM
I bought this stuff because we wanted to keep our kitten, Jasper from chewing on our electronics cables, and while it appears that it works alright for that, the recent *brilliant* idea I had with him has caused him to pay us back 100 fold. What was my brilliant idea? Spraying it on the Soft Paw Claw Caps that he has been trying to chew off. He will lick his paws and taste it, shake his head and stop, then lick the rest of his body before rubbing up against our skin. Then we get it when we eat finger foods. How do you get this stuff OFF!?!?! I have tried all different kinds of soap and nothing works!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedSeptember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Co
I bought this product to help my dog to stop licking his leg. I sprayed his leg with the Fooey and with in minutes he licked the stuff off. Not good for what I needed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

seems to work for everything but dogs

PostedAugust 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Pgh Pa
I read all the reviews and it seems to work for EVERY animal except DOGS! I have bought other bitter repells before and MY puppy LOVES them all... I have about 6 different types, lol. So I am guessing this is the same, I read your reviews and that is sad. I need something that works for pups that will keep her from chewing her harnesses.. they are expensive and she chews thru them in less than 15 minutes!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Opposite Effect

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
My puppy loved this spray and just chewed more on everything I sprayed it on. I don't know about the whole guarantee thing- I will be returning it if possible. Otherwise, I'll try previous reviewer's suggestion of vinegar and tabasco.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
My dog chewed even more after using this! Do not waste your money. I made a homemade mix of tabasco and vinegar for outside use. It worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not That Great

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
I've used other Bitter products before, and this one isn't the best. My puppy still bites the strings on my shoes, and corners of the rug that I have SOAKED with Fooey. I think I'm going to return this to Petco; thankfully they have a satisfaction guaranteed policy for this item. I would try a different kind.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A HUGE Piece of Mind!!

PostedJanuary 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Carthage, New York
I did quite a bit of research before purchasing this prodect. I needed a product safe for plants AND pets of all sizes. My cat was always trying to eat my favorite houseplant no matter WHAT I did.. I even tried getting her the cat greens so she wouldn't want to eat my plant but NOTHING would keep her away. I also have a hairless rat who I let out of his cage and I let him run around my office each day. He is generally very good about chewing but he was drawn to one spot on the edge of the carpet and he kept wanting to chew it. Fooey is safe for plants and carpets and all my animals needed to do was taste it ONCE and they both have a strong aversion to the areas I sprayed with "Fooey." It has a money back guarantee as well, so you have nothing to lose if you try it! It worked for us!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

fooey is yucky

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
have a 10 week old chihauhau that loves this stuff. I read the label and actually sprayed some on my finger and tasted it. Yes it is fooey to humans I tasted it for days.puppy loved it and licked it off my fingers. Also keep mouth closed when spraying, overspray gets in mouth and you taste this stuff fot days
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TERRIBLE

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from CT
This stuff was the worse..it went into the air and had my family choking however the dog loved it and It seemed to make him want to chew on the objects even more......It was like ketchup for my dog...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedAugust 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Indiana
I bought the Fooey bitter spray 2 days ago, and have only heard 1 little chew in that time. It's such a great and peace-bringing product. My hamster used to chew for a straight hour every time I came near his cage. Not only was it annoying but it's bad for their health. Those days are over now that I have this spray. I love it, works like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT work a single cent

PostedAugust 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought 2 bottles of the Fooey Training Aid (online)as I have a puppy that is constantly chewing on my pant let. I bought this product because it had the best rating of all the produces in this category. I sprayed it on the bottom of my capris and on my leg. Didn't figure that would hurt. The puppy licked it off of me as though she was a kid eating M&Ms. A couple of friends split the second bottle and it hasn't worked for them either. Therefore, I spent $25.00 for nothing. Would sure like to have my money back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOES NOT WORK

PostedJune 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from SW FLORIDA
It really doenst work. I read it in a review but was stuborn and decided to buy it anyway.
Waste ao money. My dog did not even realize that i spray it.
She doesnt care. She still eat my socks and go on the trash can!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hit Or Miss

PostedJune 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
I swear I heard my dog laughing at me when she saw me walk in the house with this stuff. She is a five-month-old mixed pup who had a nasty habit of tearing up area rugs. We got rid of the rugs, but then she started on the molding and doors in the house, and I had to do something. I sprayed the areas where she was chewing, and as I did so, she danced around, very excited! Took a sniff and ran like the dickens. Ten minutes later, she was back, licked the icky stuff off of a door, threw up all over the floor, and went right back to chewing. If you have a really persistent pet, it might not work. But she definitely didn't like the taste. I have to give it three paws for nasty taste, but it did not really serve its purpose for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most nasty yet safe experience ever!

PostedApril 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
My favorite product to recommend to any customer with a dog or cat. From personal experience (trust me it tastes horrible) to listening to customers rave about how great this product is, I love simply love Fooey!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJanuary 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
This product works great!
My Himalayan kitten was very entertained by the wires on my pc and was constantly biting on them. I placed the ultra bitter spray on a rag and wiped it on the wires.
I was quite pleased to see that he stopped biting on the wires. It is a nice sized bottle for a very decent price..definitely worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This stuff works!

PostedDecember 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
I have a ferrett that loves to chew on the metal bars of his cage. I was afraid he'd hurt his teeth so whenever he started, I sprayed some right in his mouth. He quit real fast! It's going to take a few more sprays to train him, but this stuff really works.
And of course my curiosity got the better of me and I had to taste it myself...BIG mistake! This really is the worst tasting stuff ever. Don't try it, just take my word. I read other reviews of pets that actually like the stuff, but I'm guessing those are the same pets that eat their own poo...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fooey!

PostedAugust 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Clinton, NJ
I have 2 sphynx that insist that every item in the house is a toy, including my houseplants. This has worked wonders by encouraging them to gravitate towards their kitty friendly toys & treats, by staying away from carpeted areas and other potential kitty hazards like wires.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no more feather picking and chewing

PostedAugust 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
for 15 years my amazon chewed her flight feathers (I thought she had none) then she chewed her chest. NOW SHE'S IN FULL FEATHERS - AMAZING STUFF. I used it on my mollucan who chews flight feathers and top of his wings, he too is now in amazing full feathers. Last I used it on my eclectus female, she only chewed the tops of her wings and a bit of her neck - now most of her neck is perfect, and the tops of her wings looks perfect. AMAZING - I've also given the birds rolled up newspapers to vent their chewing urges.
JUST WONDERFUL TO SEE THEM IN FULL FEATHER - I still use it once a week I will slowly back off but the first bitten feather on the ground and they will get more nasty spray!!
tried every in the world over the years - blood tests; they are on the best diet; fresh vegies & fruits; roudybush, and seeds; very clean cages; lots of free time and interaction - NOTHING WORKED LIKE THIS SPRAY!!
THANK GOODNESS!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>