petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid

Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid

Extremely bitter tastingStops pet licking, chewing, picking, cribbing and fur or feather biting Protects anything that pets destructively chew, lick or bite
Average Customer Rating:
2.891 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
18
23 out of 46(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Review 1 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

does not work

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
nogood
from wills point,texas
I sprayed on furniture to keep dogs from chewing within 30 minutes they where back chewing
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very bitter--works!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
dogtownie
from Santa Monica, CA
I have two young dogs who can get into chewing trouble if left to their own devices. This product is so yucky tasting that the dogs will look for something else to do rather than chew on what it is applied to. Wish I had sprayed the couch with it before I knew I needed it! Would have saved some chewed pillows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work at all on my puppy.

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
MegumiO
from Los Angeles
A friend of mine told me to get Apple Bitter. I didn't want my puppy to ingest toxins so I sprayed this organic one at the store on my hands and it was certainly bitter for me. Didn't work with my puppy at all. Will try non organic one next time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Honestly works!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ladyboss
from NY
taste it for yourself and you'll realize exactly why cats will never chew on anything that you spray this with every again. I've sprayed on my dark furniture (pressed wood)... no staining, no weird smell. but definitely nasty to taste. best product under $10!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
lilyg404
my dogs loves it.....can get it off my hands or anything else that is remotely near what we spray. So after having it on your hands for days, everything that you go to eat also takes bitter......terrible....it should be taken off the shelves!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work for my Lab

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
CatahoulaGuy
from Roseburg, OR
My lab will obsessively lick his feet at times. I purchased this stuff to spray on his feet to deter him, and he doesn't seem to care at all.
By human taste, it is EXTREMELY bitter, but it must not bother my dog.
I gave two stars because, just like the bottle says, I took the remaining portion back and was given a refund, no questions asked!
I also put that I would recommend it because you can try it and return it if you are not satisfied. It may work on other breeds, but my lab seems like he is attracted to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Zonie54
from Fort Mohave, AZ
I soaked a corner of the pillow my dog was chewing on and she licked this stuff right off. So I thought "it can't be that bitter" and sprayed it on my hand. She licked that off too. So I tasted a tiny bit, and was tasting it for 3 days! I washed and washed and couldn't get the taste off my hands. It was awful! But my dog liked it, so it accomplished nothing.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dogs LOVE It!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
SetterMom23
from Louisville, Ky
You don't want your dog to love something he's not supposed to lick! Both my dog and my mom's will even try to get the bottle to get more. Definitely does not work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product bad taste

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
AJ315
from Tully, NY
My kitties haven't chewed a wire since I bought it! I love this stuff! Only downside is you have to wash and I mean WASH your hands thoroughly before you touch your face or eat because it does linger!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Yuck!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Njmom
from New Jersey
I bought this to deter my puppy from chewing on my furniture and got some on my hands. I have washed several times and still every time I each something with my hands (sandwich, apple) the bitter taste is there!
Btw- it doesn't seem to bother my dog!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Used it on my Macaw

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaraW
from St. Leonard, MD
I have a red front macaw who loves to chew her beautiful feathers. She doesnt pluck, just chews them to rags out of boredom, an d lucky me, she doesnt care for any toy in the world. So I finally found a bird safe chew detterent. Seems to work well. When she chews her feathers, it's just a lick now. She doesnt dare chew it, bit goes to and licks them and tries to search for a feather not touched by Fooey. The only problem is that I have to soak her with the product to get to every single feather. Works though and is odorless. If you spray too much it gets in your lungs and nasal like the flu mist and is just terrible. the only way I can get the taste out of my mouth ad off my hands is using toothpaste. I cant kiss her anymore because the stuff really stays in her feathers for days and comes off on my lips :X The bottle just streams and doesn't mist but for a dollar you can go the store and by a spray bottle, which is what I did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

They aren't lying when they say it tastes bad.

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Topeka, KS
My cats favorite hobby is to eat and destroy all of my houseplants. This spray stopped that. I accidentally got some in my mouth when I was spraying them and couldn't believe how gross it was.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Clsmith005
from Ohio
My puppy doesn't like the taste of it, but it doesn't stop him from chewing. The product seems not to last long at all. I spray the same areas repeatedly and my puppy just licks it all off immediately and commences chewing or comes back later unphased by the repellant. It also comes out in a stream that makes it impossible to apply where you want it, and then it just drips onto the floor.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked great!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
frustratedshoeloser
from Delta, PA
My daughter brought home a stray abondoned dog. The vet says he is about one year old. He is pretty good and happy to have a home but he had a terrible habit of chewing on shoes. No matter where you put your shoes, he would find them and chew. I purchased the bitter spray for all of our shoes. I have not lost a pair yet since purchasing the spray. I am extremely happy with the results - as long as i remember to spray the shoes, i don't lose any :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works but...

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rhea
from Atlanta, GA
This product does work, but you can't just spray it on and expect it to do the work. You still have to watch the dog and not allow them to chew. The taste and saying 'no' discourages my dog perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely Bitter

PostedMay 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
mandawhtny
from New York City
After I spray this on things, my own hands sometimes taste gross. It's definitely bad-tasting, and my puppy won't chew on the thing after it's been sprayed. She might go back to chew on it later, but compared to other products this has been the best at deterring further chewing. It's not transparent like some other products. It's got a yellow tinge to it, so spraying it on white stuff means it will be visible.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to work!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenni387
from Brooklyn
I used it around the house but I can't tell if it works as I do not watch kitty all day. Though one time I just sprayed it and kitty happened to bite on the wire. After he tasted it shook his head and ran away so it seemed to work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Eh- Just Okay

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
BiSHiEE
from new york, ny
I would say this product partially works; he doesn't like the taste I can tell by his face but I'm pretty sure the taste wears off quickly because he's back at the spots again. Also, the taste doesn't deter him from chewing on his favorite spot, just for not as long. My biggest problem is the spray, it's more like a stream shot which ends up dripping on my fingers or dripping off the desired area onto the floor. I wish it was more of a focused mist so I could get more of the product where I wanted it to.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ABSOLUTELY WORTHLESS!

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Grumpa
from California
My wife just came home with a 16 oz. bottle of this stuff and we sprayed a few items that our 10 week old Beagle puppy has been chewing. Including my slippers.
I noticed she was still chewing a chair in our breakfast room and also my slippers. So I sprayed a LOT onto my slippers so that they were wet with this product and placed them on the floor. The puppy immediately licked off all the product from the slippers.
It is absolutely worthless as an anti-chew product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fooey Ultr-Bitter Training Aid
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pay Backs Are the Worst

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Glitchie
from Rio Rancho, NM
I bought this stuff because we wanted to keep our kitten, Jasper from chewing on our electronics cables, and while it appears that it works alright for that, the recent *brilliant* idea I had with him has caused him to pay us back 100 fold. What was my brilliant idea? Spraying it on the Soft Paw Claw Caps that he has been trying to chew off. He will lick his paws and taste it, shake his head and stop, then lick the rest of his body before rubbing up against our skin. Then we get it when we eat finger foods. How do you get this stuff OFF!?!?! I have tried all different kinds of soap and nothing works!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>