petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy

A soft, furry puff on an elastic stringPull the string and control the play, or attach to a doorknobGreat for interactive play
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 out of 32(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Review 1 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
You get what you pay for with this toy. I got it, took it off the cardboard, stretched the cord, which is only about 8 inches long and it snapped right off of the furry bit! What if I had actually tried to play with my cat with this toy?? The little furball is pretty small so it can be dangerous. It would cost more to return this so I am going to keep it and try to modify it myself by sewing on some strong string. If I can't fix it it will just go in the trash. Based on what other reviewers have said I wonder if maybe they changed manufacturers or something else happened b/c this doesn't seem like the same product others received.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

fluffy toy

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from MN
My cat played at the beginning, but lost the interest very soon.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun toy

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Archy went crazy with this toy. Unfortunately the elastic string became detached in the first 24 hours. He still plays with the furry part, but he definitely liked it better with the elastic. Price was low enough I purchased more than one so I have some tucked away for later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST money spent!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
from KY
My 3 yr old "baby" LOVES these. He grabs them hissing and growling and lays his claim on it. I really like the elastic cord so I can play with him. He carries them around and hides it from the other cat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great action toy

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Florida Keys
My 12 year old cats both love this toy. They will jump way up in the air to catch it and then run off with it when released. One of the cats will promptly bring it back to me to chase after it again. The only negative about the toy is that the elastic string can pull out if stretched too tightly. I have had to sew it back in. That said, this is a terrific action and exercise toy for cats of all ages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best money ever spent

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
from San Mateo, CA
My kitten will not stop playing with it. It is his favorite toy and when he is tempted to play with something he shouldn't, I dang the ball and his attention goes right back to the toy. I might buy a second toy just in case.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun Furry Friend

PostedMay 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
My cat loves these. He goes through one every two weeks. He chews them up, chases and pounces on them with great delight. When they are a matted up wad of fur, I pull out a new one for him to destroy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would be perfect if more durable!

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
I have a very energetic cat who constantly demands attention, and one of these tied to his cat tower is the ONLY toy he will play with for hours on end on his own.
The only problem is, he plays fairly rough and these things never last more than a day before he destroys them. I can't entirely fault the manufacturer for that because I don't really know what -would- last with the way my cat attacks these things. I just wish there were a way to make it more durable! Because if so this would be the perfect toy for him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love these little balls

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
These fur balls are great. very versatile in that you can hang them anywhere and my cats seem to love to lick and play with them.
One of the best spots is halfway under one of the cat furniture tower tiers. I often awaken to one of my cats playing with the hanging ball as he's waiting for the rest of us to get out of bed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not very durable, but my cats love them

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NY, NY
Our two adult cats (~1.5 years) really like this toy, including my picky male cat. It only takes a little bit of dangling to get them interested, and then they'll play with it solo. They'll chew the furry ball first, then the string, then the ring.
They're not very durable. Within a few days, one of them had chewed off the ring and had chewed almost all the fur off the ball. But hey, they love them that much.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Will buy another!

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nice toy! The string needs to be a little longer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Engaging toy

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
My cat loved the furry design and started playing with it right away. Unfortutely, he ripped the string the same day I bought it. I would recommend it for kittens only not for big strong cats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

“Fur”-get It!

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
The elastic string wasn’t long enough that I could throw it a far distance, but my cat has a good time dragging it across the backyard and chasing the ball of fluff when I yank it away from him. The downside is that I’ll see shreds of the “fur” on the ground, so I don’t know how long it’ll actually last, but for the price, one shouldn’t expect too much. However, I do have concerns that some of the material may be accidentally ingested by my cat, which doesn’t help in any feline’s hairball department. To be safe, I think I’ll stick with plush toys in the future.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real winner

PostedOctober 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
My cat loves her fur ball. She loves pulling on the long elastic string (these are always a winner with her), but she also loves the fur ball and I will often find her holding it in her paws and licking it. She has kept her interest in the fur ball a lot longer than many of her other toys as well - even the ones filled with catnip.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fun but not durable

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Casa Grande, AZ
I bought this toy years ago because I liked how soft it was, and I thought the "bouncy" aspect would be fun for my cat. Well, she loves to chew through things (especially when she was a kitten), and after playing with it a few times they toy was reduced to just a fur ball, no string attached! That said, she still loved it for a long time. My mom's dog got a hold of it once and chewed it up, but I was able to salvage enough of the fur that it was still usable. I think my cat likes the furriness, it satisfied a bit of her hunting instinct (at least, that's my idea!) Although it's now at the bottom of the toy box, forgotten, I think if I dug it out and reminded her, she would still play with it. That said, it's just a shadow of it's former self - and it didn't take long for it to fall apart!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
My kitten LOVES these things. I have to break the string off but once he gets one, he plays for hours by himself running all around. I have a few on hand, since he loves to put them in places that take days for me to find. I hope they never stop making this toy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cat toys

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Erie, Pa. USA
Zippi, just loves it. She goes wild when I rub it over her catnip and Cratch poll. sometimes we play for at least an hour, unless she gets mad because I'm winning for once ( Which is not to often).
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Door knob toy

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Denver, Colorado
Great sport for kitties.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Little Scuzz Ball is a hit!

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
I didn't think much of it when I first purchased it, but my cat loves it and carries around the house in her mouth. Put it on a stick as well because the string is really short and it makes it more interactive!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Fur Ball Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Product

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Derby, KS
The string broke in less than two minutes. My cat, Revan, did scamper off with her furry prize, but a ball of fur was not worth the money I paid.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>