petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums

Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums

Add a wall of dancing bubbles to your aquariumAerate water and increase circulationAttach to standard airline tubing
Average Customer Rating:
3.722 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Review 1 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not bubble throughout the whole bar.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
TRaina
from Denver, CO
Waste of money, I ended up using a single air stone
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works really well

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
J25v
from Washington
I bought the 12" for my 30 gallon, I soaked it for the hour and connected it to the pump and it works great, it's been running since last night without a problem, there were some signs that it wanted to float up but I just pushed some gravel onto each end and that seems to keep it down well enough, the bubbles look nice and uniform. Really glad I bought it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Bubbles

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladyfish
from Roanoke, Va.
This product worked great. The 3inch worked as well as the 6inch. Yes, it works better if you soak them. If you cover them with gravel it willl block some of the air. (common sense) I suggest using a valve, so you can control the amount of air. Love it, so do my fish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
DagLover
from Twin Cities
This bubbler is great in theory, in practice not at all. Mine only put out bubbles less than 1/2" for a 12" long one. And that is after soaking for 24 hours before hooking it up to my bubbler. I talked to a petco fish person and she said these are worthless too. If you want a curtain of bubbles get the plastic ones instead of the airstone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not so good

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
GaHoosier
from Grovetown, GA
This is a 12-inch airstone. Only the first 5-inches releaese any bubbles.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth It

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
digiPet
I got the 12" bubble bar. I soaked it for a couple days before placing it in the tank . Once placed in the tank and connected to air it become apparent that there was a sizable defect in one end of the bubble bar that produces a singular stream of bubbles completely defeating the purpose of a bubble bar. Go with a name brand product because these are a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work properly

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
dazydaizee
I got 2 of these because I wanted an 8" wall of bubbles in both of my tanks. I got about a 1.5" section of bubbles in the middle of each of these airstones. I sort of thought you couldn't go wrong with an airstone since I've never had trouble. Apparently that's not the case. Spend a little more and get an air stone that works. Or spend the same for a fully functional 1.5" air stone if that's all you want.
I did poke some holes in one of them to see if I can salvage it, but personally I'd rather spend a small amount more than spend time poking tons of tiny holes in a stone. Also, I left these running for about a week to see if the bare spots would start up. No luck. And make sure to soak this as the packaging states without the air tube or with the tubing elevated because it WILL create a vacuum and leak water everywhere...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little stones

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
jesit
from Minneapolis, MN
These little stones are easy and convenient and offer much more air and bubbles than the small cylinder style. Definitely worth graduating to these larger stones!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

its ok

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
noobie
from saint paul mn
It stays in the bottom of the tank like it suppose to but the bubbles. It only comes from one side. The side that is farthest from the valve. I don't think I cant poke holes in it due to the fact that's its made of some hard material. Overall I would only rate it a 3. Ohh.. I got the 12 inch one..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

4 inch bar

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
boosie1201
from Lincoln, NE
so i bought this bar today, the 4 inch, and one of my ghost shrimp is in love with it. she's just been going over, standing on top and floating up and down since i've had her in the tank. it's pretty cool to watch. i would definitely recommend this to a friend (or any of the larger sizes. which i'll probably be getting soon).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Staccato
from Long Beach, CA
I got the 12" bar for my 20gal tank.
It's beautiful. Half the bar gives big silvery bubbles and the other half give finer bubbles.
Although a portion of the center doesn't bubble, it does not affect my view on this bar.
I've buried mine under the gravel to keep it from algae and I can only hope the not so bubbly protion clears up. If not, it's fine. I have Petco's 14" sitting Buddha in the tank (coincidentally) covering the bubbless area.
Wonderful product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for 10gallons

PostedMay 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
BlueTongueSkink
from Broomfield, CO
I love using these for my smaller aqauriums like 10gallons and under. They are heavier than the standard little airstone so they lay flat on the tank and creat a great effect. I bought one that covered half the tank's lenght and placed it along the back wall so there is a beautiful wall of bubbles for my fishes.
These last a long time and when paired with a silicon tube they dont clog up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

first time buyer

PostedApril 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
gingerag
i bought this airstone because of the reviews here on the webiste. as far as i've had this i have to say it's been good so far. i got the 6 inch one and set it up on the side of my tank. the fish seem to really like it. they'll go over the bubbles and play.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this

PostedApril 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
wisteria
from Mesquite, TX
We just bought one of these last week and they work great! We had the long round kind with the suction cups. That worked good but this is better. It gives off lots of bubbles that they fish like to swim in and out of. Definitely a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Specky
from Monterey, California
I would recommend this product for anyone who wants a new look in their fish tank. Traditional round airstones are definitely not comparable to this one. I bought a 3 inch Top Fin Round Airstones together with an 18 inch Aquatic Garden Bubble Bar for my 55 gallon fish tank. Each of these products produce so many bubbles, making my aquatic tank look so lively. I would definitely buy it again for my future fish tank.
*The amount of bubbles produced in the bar would reach its full potential after a few days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the job

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
crapaud
This stone actually looks better than I had imagined - air bubbles are distributed evenly and quite a thick "wall".
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Airstone

PostedNovember 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
CloverBetta
I bought the 4" airstone for my 10 gallon tank. It is good, but I think It is too strong for my tank. I'm going to get a smaller airstone next time. It really doesn't release that much bubbles, though, thats a good thing because my tank is a 10 gallon tank and the current is too strong, so it's a good thing. Can I use the pump without an airstone? THANKS
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Airstone Bars for Fresh and Saltwater Aquariums
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedFebruary 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
ChristopherM
from Toms River, NJ
this is the best bubbler i have ever owned and i have had 9 tanks and this one does an amazing job in my new 20 gallon tank everyone should buy this bubbler they will not be disappointed with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.