petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters

Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters

Under tank heaters designed to heat the ambient air temperature of your terrarium an average of five to 10 degrees (F) warmer than room temperatureSolid state nichrome heating elements with UL/CSA approved power cordsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 star
4
62 out of 75(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Review 1 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent.

PostedApril 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Albany, NY
The most useful and reliable of the undertank heaters that I have bought. It never seems to die, and the reptiles haven't ever been burned while basking. Provides a nice, even area of heat for the guys, and doesn't make their habitat cockeyed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+30points
37of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for tortoises

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from omaha, ne
my tortoise loves his heat pad and it is works great i had no trouble with getting it set up at all i love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a heater!

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
over 24 hours and my tanks temp has not gone up 1 degree. what else is there to say. waist of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Greensburg, PA
Using this on my 3rd terrarium and Zoo Med has never let me down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

low quality stuff

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Keller, TX
I bought this thing 3 days ago. They say it takes minimum 6 hours before heating up properly. Has been 3 days and it does not even increaseany the temperature of the tank
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-12points
3of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from KY
was planning on using this for my hermit crabs, in a 10 gallon glass aquarium. was going to attach it on the bottom but the black plastic cover that houses the compnents can not have weight resting on it, even using the little bubbles that were provided, it didn't lift the aquarium high enough to keep weight off of it. supposedly it can be placed on the side of the aquarium and it still heats well. after placing the heater on the side of my tank, the temperature was not raised by even a degree. my crabs huddle near it like people around a fire on a cold night. no more products from petco for me. too expensive and disappointed in every one of my purchases.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great!

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis
This fits perfectly on one side of my 10 gallon tall bp tank. He loves laying on top of it and it doesn't seem to burn or bother him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product But MUST GET THERMOSTAT

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Jefferson City, MO
I recently bought this product (in the 10 gallon size) to keep my juvenile leopard geckos warm. The heat mat keeps the tank warm, but no matter what animal you buy this for you should definitely invest in a thermostat. This product can get very very hot very very fast. Overall this product is fantastic as long as it is coupled with an adequate thermostat to control it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from berlin, ohio
i bought this so i could house my leopard gecko in my basement and not have to worry about the temp going to low in the tank. works great. love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoo med repti-therm UTH Under Tank heaters

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Provides adequate heat to my gecko! Purchased for around 20 dollars
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thanks Petco!

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Tucson, AZ
The first one of these I bought was faulty. It just never even warmed up when plugged in. I called Petco and, no questions asked, they shipped a replacement. It is now heating my vivarium to perfection. All I have to do to regulate the temperature for my corn snake is adjust the depth of the aspen substrate between the under tand heater and my pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectly

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
I have been using Zoo Med Repti-Therm UT Heaters for a while and never have problems with them. I would definetly recommend this product to anyone who keeps snakes
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very durable

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Norwich, CT
I have a solid vinyl/plastic unit of a different brand, and I wish I knew what brand it was, because I want to replace my Zoo Med UTH with it. The Zoo Med UTH, which I have had for a couple of months operated by a thermostat (so it isn't running non-stop), has rolled up around the edges and the sticky side barely makes contact with the tank anymore. I am very disappointed with this product. I'd try and get a refund, but I have no idea where the receipt is. I won't buy another Zoo Med UTH after this experience.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Under tank heater

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Miami,fl
I bought one for my bearded dragon years ago. It works great and haven't seen the heat out put decreases at all. Highly recommend one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have some happy geckos!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Madison, AL
I have two geckos, and they definitely are happy, healthy, and warm! I enjoy the under the tank attachment ability, and the leopards spend most of their time in enclosures on that side of the tank. Excellent product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for My Russian Tortoise and My Hermit Crabs!

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
I have a 20 gallon that I have used for my tortoise, but I recently got crabs and he got moved to back to my grandmothers. They maintain good temperature throughout the habitat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay, but doesn't work well for side mounting.

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from United States
I have to have this on the side of my African Bullfrog enclosure because he burrows and he could get burned. It barely gives off any heat. So I would not recommend it for side mounting.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST EVER!

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from clinton, ct
My leos require temps around 90 degrees f and this works wonderfully!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

under tank heater works great

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from egg harbor twp, nj
I was having trouble maintaining a healthy tempeture in my gecko tank but the under tank heater works great. It helps keep my tank around 75 degrees at night when it used to dip into the 60's
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zoo Med Repti-Therm UTH Under Tank Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Useful

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Calfornia, CA
Its useful for my russian tortoise. But because he might burn himself, I had to put a pad under the bedding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>