petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding

Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding

100% natural cypress mulchRecommended terrarium substrate for many species of snakes, lizards, land turtles, tortoises, frogs, toads, salamanders, tarantulas, and other invertebratesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Review 1 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Forest Floor Bedding

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
COakes
from Westfield, NY
This bedding was great for the price. My tortoise liked it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY!!!!

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheLivingLegend
from OC
This stuff is terrible, along with cypress mulch. The fine grinds and cuts get into your reptile's eyes, end up eating small pieces. and does a terrible job holding in moisture. Your tank will be full of water and still below 60% humidity. Get eco earth coconut fiber and put it under either zoo med or zilla premium repti-bark.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this stuff.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blueranger1983
from Visalia Ca
I have used everything from aspen shavings to Coconut husk. And Cyperss Mulch beasts them all by a longshot. It holds humidity well and looks much better than aspen ahavings and it's easier to spot clean than coconut husk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, A++++

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
MissAndrea
from West Michigan
I use forest floor for my ball pythons and haven't found anything better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for holding humidity in tanks

PostedJune 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
KDReptiles
from Idaho
So many people have problems with their ball pythons (or other species that needs some extra humidity) being in tanks because they tend to make the humidity too low. Cypress mulch was awesome for me when I had ball pythons in tanks, it made the humidity in the cage just right. Visually appealing, fair price, and helps with humidity. What's not to love?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This bedding is wonderful!

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brendy
from Nueva York, NY
I purchased this bedding about 2 weeks ago for my tortoise & he loved it! It's all natural so I'm sure the smell reminded him of home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this stuff!

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Machieman
from Connecticut
I am using this for both my ball python and checkered garter and I think they both really like it. It retains humidity very well and it not "pointy and sharp". I love the look of it and will defintinally recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best substrate for a ball python

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
CowgirlK
My ball python loves this substrate. We've tried many different types of chips and this is by far the most attractive substrate I've seen. My snake loves it and its soft for her scales.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lizards love this mulch!

PostedJuly 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
CALizardLady
from Long Beach, CA
We have done our entire side of the house and half of the front flower beds in this mulch. Major investment. Thank goodness it was on sale.
Our garden lizards are quite happy with this mulch. Awaiting little lizards very soon to come forth from beneath our mulch.
It looks and feels so much nicer than the landscaping mulch we've used in other beds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but...

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Arachnophile
I've found a few bits of glass in this stuff that is just NOT safe. It's fine after you pick it out, but sometimes it takes a while to notice it. HUGE safety hazard for any critter kept with this substrate. I used to use it for my tarantula, but switched to aquarium gravel and soil from the woods after I found the glass. Holds moisture great, but you might want to check it for glass before returning your critter to his/her home.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Burrowers

PostedMay 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
darklingmiss
I had a Savu python who absolutely loved this bedding. She would originally be found in South America, and making her feel at home in South Carolina was my top priority. A friend of mine had told me about the trusted Zoo Med brand, and it gave her plenty of surface to burrow beneath and hide. A must for anyone with shy critters!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zoo Med Forest Floor Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFICT!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
5pets
from NY
this item keeps me anoles happy and helthy
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.