petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner

Medicated sulfa block treats water in turtle tanks and amphibious terrariums to help control common diseasesSlowly dissolving block is ideal for use with aquatic turtles, amphibians, and other reptilesLasts up to two months
Average Customer Rating:
3.762 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
16 out of 21(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Review 1 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
2TurtleLvr
from Tuckahoe, NY
In addition to proper filtration and water management, this is a quick and easy way to treat tank water. Just drop one in (I have 30 gal tank) and when it fully disolves, replace it. I don't know about its use in ponds or other environments.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works!

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
OrcaTrainer
from SeaWorld, Orlando
This product kept my turtles' water healthy. My turtles didn't get any health problems from it. This product lasts for a long time, and I recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, but not for eating

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karebare
These work really well to help the water in my turtle tank stay clear. The only thing is that I have to hide it under the rocks, because he tries to eat it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute Protection for Turtles

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
BuddyCrush
from Southern California
I like this product a lot! When I became a turtle owner I started with a baby one and I had to go fetch purified drinking water from like Food4Less because I didn't know you could clean tap water and I just didn't trust it anyway for a while. Then I had a few friends tell me that they used a water conditioner for the tap water and their turtle was healthy so I bought me one of these and gave it a shot. I only had a small little 10 gallon and it worked its magic! The water was treated and my turtle was healthy. When I bought my second turtle and switched them to a 55 gallon tank I didn't think this little guy would be enough so now I use both this and a liquid water conditioner. Together they make a great combo and I don't ever worry about my turtle's water :) I do recommend this to anyone because you definately don't wanna use just tap water and buying the drinking water adds up quick... Plus its a great price too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

keeps my water clearer

PostedMay 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
pettymama
from Crete,Il.
I have very hard water, so this is a must for me. Anything I can do to improve my turtles habitat, I will try. this seems to do the trick. Only drawback is that it dissolves a lot sooner than advertized. But the price makes it worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
DavidTheGreat
from Atlanta, GA
This product is inexpensive. I love the turtle shape too! Once you put it in your tank is starts to fizz and clean. I have just a 5 gallon tank for my baby turtle and it has lasted well over 5 weeks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Melts Away

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Treehugger773
from Chicago,IL
This conditioner is said to last over 20 days, but it only lasted 2 days in my aquarium.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sizzling goodness

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
pandazturtle
from Arizona
I have a baby RES and bought this so it wouldn't get sick. It only lasted a week though. But I'd buy it again. As soon as I dropped it in, it made a cool sizzling noise, like Alka-Seltzer. My turtle didn't eat it, but during that week it was in there, he didn't eat. He was still getting use to his new place.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissolves in a week

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
rickenrg
from boston,ma
says it lasts upto 2 months. Mine didnt last 2 weeks.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't last long

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
rrb2106
It dissolved in less than a week and my turtles keep trying to eat it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WONDERFUL

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kahua
from Island of Hawaii
I have been using the Tetrafauna reptoguard for my red slider for the pass four years and won't do without it. How simple can it be, just open and place inside the tank. It says it last around two months, but mine only last a little over a month. Even with that, it's still one product my Mikey won't be without!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
PWDMom
from Providence, RI
These conditioners come in a cute shape and help to keep the water safe. One of the easiest steps of cleaning the tank is to toss one of these in!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for turtle tanks

PostedFebruary 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
watergirl
We love this for our turtle tank, helps with everything. Our turtle also loves to eat them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Will Continuously Buy

PostedJuly 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
DR0B00MB00MtheFIRSTzM0M
The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't last as long as it says it will. BUT I will still continue to purchase this item because I have a baby red-eared slider... DroBoomBoom the First... And he has not gotten any diseases! He may eat the little block, but it doesn't make him sick or anything close to it! His water always remains clear, even when you can see some dirt in the tank. Works best with a filter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedFebruary 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
turtlemom
from Williamsburg, Virginia
I have three sliders and drop one of these into their tank about every other month or so. My turtles eat it like it's candy, so as far as it lasting for two months in the tank, I haven't seen that as of yet. But I can say that my turtles have never had any health issues, and aside from a very clean tank this is the only preventative treatment that I use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Actually Works

PostedAugust 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
SpeedysOwner
from IN
We love these. It actually does help to keep the tank cleaner. The only problem that we had was that our red-eared slider turtle was attracted to it and began to eat it. Once we realized what was happening we pushed the rocks up on one corner of the tank and set it up high. Part of it was out of the tank, but as it disolved it fell into the water and the turtle totally left it alone. Now, our tank never goes without one of these. They help to kill diseases, what could be better? They are the best thing to have. I highly recommend to everyone who has a turtle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

turtle

PostedAugust 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
guy150
from NY
cool
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

it's gone before you know it

PostedAugust 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
ih8fleas
from pasadena, ca
my 2 res turtles ate this turtle in about 3 days. :( it was completely gone- at least they didnt get sick from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so bueno

PostedJune 9, 2006
Customer Avatar
A to the J
from Orange County, CA
The turtle health conditioner helped except for the fact that my two turtles started to eat it. I noticed little bite marks all around it. It wasnt that they were hungry, something just attracted them to it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TetraFauna ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedDecember 4, 2005
Customer Avatar
Turtle Fanatic
from Brooklyn, NY
The ReptoGuard Turtle Health Conditioner is a great product that will definitely help treat diseases. You can actually see the block start dissolving as soon as you place it in the water. You will actually see a big difference once you use the product. I truly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>