petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel

Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel

Extra durable, versatile and portable Vari Kennel Crates for airline and auto transportation and crate trainingVari Kennel easily converts to pet bed by adding a cozy crate matEasy to assemble and assembles in minutes without any toolsWire doors & vents add strength & durability for large dogsIdeal for larger breed dogsMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
57 out of 60(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Review 1 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Melissa
from inola, ok
This is great! I love to take my dogs with me whenever I can wich is alot especially on the weekends. It allows me to take them with me and not have them roaming all over my truck inside or out. They stay in them through the day and they give them plenty of room but I don't have to worry about them when I'm gone. I have full confidence in this product and don't have to worry if they are going to be harmed by anything from it because it is a good design and I know they will not be able to get out either. I will definatley purchase another when my puppy outgrows the one she is in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kennel

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
RONSDOE
from BAKERSFIELD, CA
I bought this cage for my 120 pound Black Labrador for a plane ride and I absolutely LOVE it. The quality is very good, Front door is sturdy and it's very easy to clean and after the plane ride was over, It's now her dog house for outside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Info on website doesn't match actual product info

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
GrtDaneLover
from Indianapolis, IN
The website says this kennel is made for Great Danes, Greyhounds, Newfoundlands, and St. Bernards among other breeds. However, the product info that came with the kennel says it's for dogs 28" tall, up to 110 lbs., such as Rottweilers, Akitas and Bloodhounds. Very few Great Danes are only 28" tall and 110 lbs. The kennel is good sized, and I'm not unhappy with it, but I'm worried it's going to break when my Great Dane gets to be 130 lbs. or more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great crate

PostedJune 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
dogman37
from marietta ga
this crate makes for a real happy Great Pyrenees "puppy"............super easy assembly and teardown..................strong, attractive crate
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vari Kennel Giant Portable Kennel

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sies
from North Plains, OR
This kennel is well made and as my dog continues to grow he is able to relax within because of the height and length. The door with its locking features is easily operated and can be either left or right outswing. The overall construction is very good and added weight makes for excellent stability for a big dog. Dog and owner are now content.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my escape artist Pitt

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
PittMom
from Tinley Park, IL
This is the perfect 'crate' for my Pitt who has chewed/pulled/bent her way out of everything else. There is nothing for her to grab from the inside, and the four-way locking door is very stable. She loves to nap throughout the day in her new kennel. It has plenty of room for her to move around when the door is locked.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
greatdanegrl
from Arkansas
I recently bought the extra large carrier kennels for my two great danes, and i really love them. I live alone so they were easy to put together and my great dane can not bust out of it. I purchased the black metal crates two years ago but great dane bust out of that one every time and bend the metal bars. And the black metal kennel is 8 different pieces and need two or three people to help put together. I would reccommend this to anyone with large breed dogs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great crate for great dogs!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
CollieMove
from Central Iowa
This giant crate was the perfect size for my extra large male Collie, for my recent relocation overseas. The only thing to mention is that it does not have back ventilation and the airline required vents on all sides. This was easily rectified by drilling circular cutouts with a saw drill. It would be better if the crate came with rear ventilation. All and all an excellent value for the price! Highly recommend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Crate!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
NWgirl
from Edmonds, WA
My Rhodesian started having separation anxiety and managed to mangle his wire crate in a way I had no idea was possible. He also succeeded in hurting himself pretty badly on a couple of occasions.
After reading all the great reviews for this crate, I called my local Petco, put one on hold and picked it up that day. While this crate is monstrous in size, it has really been the answer to making my dog feel safe again. It was easy to put together by myself. The door was tricky to figure out, but is easy once you understand how to open it. It only took one day and my dog is much calmer and does not even try to escape. He has started to sleep in his crate even when I am home. It has become his favorite place.
I highly recommend this crate to anyone with a large breed dog that has anxiety or likes to try and escape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BIG dog HATES kennel

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
shabasset
from Kansas
I adopted my 4 year old Great Dane, and was confused about the answere on wether he was crate trained or not...both Yes and No was circled. We crate our dogs while we are at work, and found out the first day what it ment. He is fine in his crate at night by my bed, but HATES it when he is left alone. He excaped from his wire kennel we bought for him the first day, and in less than a week he had completly distroyed the door. So I ordered this one mainly because I can order replacement doors as needed. In 1 week he hasn't "distroyed" it, but he has slowly started working on the door, so I have ordered a new door to have one ready when I need it! I feel like the kennel is holding up great, I just have a VERY stronged jaw (BIG) dog that really HATES being in his crate. I keep hoping he will give up soon and learn to except being in one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good construction - crummy door

PostedApril 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
RedBaron
from Cincinnati, OH
Nice construction with the exception of a crummy door for the high price. I like the simple latch on the smaller versions of the Vari Kennel. This Giant Vari Kennel has a horrible latch that is difficult to work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Online Order Service

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
IMudd
from Washington, IA
I ordered a Giant portable kennel online on a Monday. I received confirmation it shipped on Tuesday morning. On Wednesday morning in a snowstorm it was delivered to my door by 10 am. We live in a rural area that never gets anything in less than a week. Finding my location is a challenge also as it is one of those addresses that seems to just appear. I was impressed with the service and the pricing as the online order had free shipping and was very competitive with anything in our area.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Giant dog kennel

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tam15
from New York, NY
Awful! I purchased several other kennels as the dog grew. They all had doors that swung open. This kennel requires an engineer. The door does not swing, it is fixed in place. I am still trying to figure out how it works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best price

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deenie1B
from Earleville, Maryland
I checked all websites and Petco had the best price for the product. I really love the size and convenience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

the latch on the door broke in less than three years

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
B2B2
from Clt, NC
This would be a great product if only the springs in the lock on the door didn't break so quickly. I have had two kennel door locks break. The last kennel I purchased lasted less than three years. I don't think replacement doors are available from what I can tell. I could be wrong.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
GreyNC
from Raleigh, NC
This product is very well made, rugged, strong, excellent quality, and Made In The USA. The quality is much higher than the vast majority of metal dog crates that I have seen. Our Greyhound loves the crate and it fits her size perfectly. Highly Recommended Product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great crate!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Zaramom
from Vancouver, WA
The dog crate was easy to put together and is very sturdy. Our large dog doesn't mind being in the crate; and it's a great way to safely transport. The door is very sturdy and creates a safe environment. I would recommend this style to any dog owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessiwaka
from Nevada
Product is everything I expected. I have two 60lb black labradors and the kennel worked very well. I bought it hoping it would be big enough for them and it was. They rode together comfortably for over 300 miles one way (with potty stops of course). The materials are what I expected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT CRATE

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Springville, CA
In my opinion this is the best dog crate on the market. It is built well... Very sturdy. Easy to assemble and disassemble. This crate will last the life time of your dog. I know this because this is my second crate from this company. The first one I bought was preowned and I used it for the life time of my Great Dane (10 years). I then sold that crate. Now 8 years later I have purchased my second Great Dane. He flew here from another state and came in a crate from a diffrent company. That crate was junk. It has already gone in the trash (3 weeks of use)! I started my search for the Veri Kennel because I knew how well built they are. Petco had the best price out there so I immediately ordered the giant crate. And I was amazed at how fast the delivery was... Only a couple of days! Delivered right to my door! I rate this crate as #1!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Traditional Vari Kennel Portable Kennel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

kennel

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cp123
from State College, PA
This kennel is much sturdier than the metal crates! My boxer was literally knocking his crate apart! He has tried to do the same with this kennel but has been unsuccessful! It seems to be better for him being enclosed like this so he is less distracted while in there. He is still a pup ...9 months old.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>