petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement

Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement

All-natural remedy for dogs that are unruly or hyperHelps make your dog happy and contentSafe, veterinarian recommendedReady-to-use, just add to your pet's drinking water
Average Customer Rating:
3.316 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
11 out of 19(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Review 1 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Dog made no difference

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
This did nothing noticeable for our pup. Won't be buying it again, kind of pricey also for the amount we have to use daily. She drinks 5-7 cups of water per day!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Calms an anxious dog down

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Milwaukee
I would say this product works , and does calm an anxious dog down. Our dog was reacting to household changes in a negative way, and this calmed him right down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My dog is immune

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Apparently my Rottie must be immune to anything that might possibly make her relax. She is a super anxious girl and constantly has to pace and move around. My boyfriend and I thought that maybe we would try this stuff out to help her calm down at night but it hasn't really seemed to do anything to her except make her suspicious of what we're putting in her water. Maybe we aren't putting enough in? Or she is just a beast and deflects any and all things we throw her way...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't bother

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I've been adding this supplement to my two dogs (Yorkie and Pom) for 3 weeks, no noticable difference in the high-strung nature of the Pom, the Yorkie still shows aggressiveness toward other dogs. Won't be reordering.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mid City,Cal
My Yorkiepoo is super hyper and playful. I recently returned to work after being off 6 months. My baby started to exhibiting separation anxiety tendencies w/i 3 weeks. He has never had issues staying home alone 2-3 times a week but daily wasn't ideal. He has lots of toys, smart games and chewies to keep him busy between naps. The daily routine change caused him to urinate haphazardly and jumpy if I tried to leave the room. He would get really quiet and sad whenever I started to get dressed. Upon my mid day return from work he would be so worked up it was scary. A 15 minute noon walk wouldn't calm him.
I bought this product a week ago. When I got home I immediately put it in his water. I couple of hours later I thought something was odd when my dog was like super calm and acting normal again. I totally forgot I had given him this so for a minute I thought he was under the weather. Its been a tremendous help in his training and his anxiety issues have subsided significantly. I didn't give it daily and now I can do mid day visits 2-3 times a week without worry. I am so thankful for this product! Every dog is different.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from north carolina
this product is totally amazing. who would have thought that something so simple could calm my most challenging pet? it really does work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not sure if it's worth it

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Juan Capistrano, CA
I didn't notice much of a difference in my 2 high-strung dogs after using this product. Perhaps I just need for them to grow up a little. Meanwhile, I figured out that at the suggested doses, this product will only last about a week. That seems a bit pricey to me. I won't be purchasing it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Might work if you have a teacup poodle

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from South Carolina
I'm desperate to find something other than Xanax for my 90lb Doberman. She is extremely hyper and acts like a puppy even though she is almost 3 years old. She also has some OCD and anxiety issues. I gave her generous doses of this medicine in her daily water bowls and it had no effect. For a smaller dog, it might to better. Who knows?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No help

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Martinez, GA
I have a 12 month old Lab/Pointer female mix. This is the most hyper dog I have ever had! It is almost impossible to have a quiet evening at home. I also have her sister, who is much calmer. I started giving both of them the Calming Supplement twice every day in a little milk. I have almost finished a bottle. I do not see any difference at all. I wish it would work for my girls!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ch-ch-ch-changes!

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Santa Clara
One of three things is happening with our Shar Pei American Bulldog mix. Either he's maturing or the "Good Dog" product is working or both. Hopefully it's both. But he has become more calm and plays more gently with his plush toys. Consistent exercise is a must but "Good Dog" has given us an advantage in getting him to his calm state of mind.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it does work

PostedSeptember 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
we have 3 big dogs and 5 cats. my mother has just moved in with us with her big dog and 3 cats. we have used this product before and YES it does work. it sooths and calms our pets and once again it has worked it's magic as all our pets are getting along. look it is not a miracle cure but if you remain calm so will your pets. as anything homeopathic it does take time, any where from 3 days to 10 days. hang in there!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far - great!

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Bucksport, ME
We're on our 4th day of using Good-Dog, and so far, it's worked wonders. Our 6 year old German Shepherd is a very reactive dog, and was not taking well to the 4 month old German Shepherd we recently got. We have tried other calming products on the big dog without success, so I bought the Good-Dog with some reservation. I'm so glad I got it - it has made a HUGE difference. The older dog has made an amazing turn around in her behavior - even playtime (which is always a rough sport with GSDs) requires only rare intervention. Someone previously noted that the effects of Good-Dog can wear off with continued use (but stopping and restarting works well), so that may yet happen. In the meantime, I'm grateful for the behavior modification that's occurred, and the 'peaceful pack' we have!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth the money

PostedJune 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from san antonio,tx
I have used it and dog is still destructive
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

good dog calming

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I did try this stuff on my little toy poodles...it did not work.....I have used it.....two bottles so far and there is NO improvement on behavior....in either one of them.....They continue to bark and act aggressive to each other.............and act just the same. I Have seen no improvement from this product!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
I can't say it helps much with my lab/cocker mix and calming her down at all, but I don't think there is anything out there for that.
But my corgi seems to be less edgey. That is a good thing, I resqued her from being put down, all I know is that she came from a mill somewhere and they were done breeding her. So we have some obsticles to over come but this seems to help out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff for anxious dogs!

PostedMay 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
We
adopted a 2 year old male Weimaraner, that is a little more than crazy,
since he was obviously abused and neglected at some point in his life
before he was rescued by Weim Rescue. We had no idea what we were in
for, but tried everything to calm him, and modify his incessant
barking, pacing, and jitteriness. Good dog in his water once a day
seems to be the only thing that works, and since it's all natural,
doesn't make me feel as though he's being medicated such as putting him
on doggie Prozac.. His pacing, barking, and nervousness has all
disappeared with Good Dog!. Now if only I could buy it by the gallon,
since I don't ever want to run out!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We can enjoy our buddy again!

PostedMarch 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
We have a Staffordshire Bull Terrier that has so much anxiety, he frequently whines and paces. When we are getting ready to go somewhere and during car rides he is nearly unbearable; it just puts us all on edge. It has gotten to the point that we could not take him anywhere for a visit because it was clearly too stressful for him-and everyone around him. We couldn't leave him with anyone either because he chews up everything he can get at and often defecates and vomits.
We have tried a number of other OTC anti-anxiety products with little or no relief. We were planning to take him in to get a prescrption from a vet but i decided to give this a try. An amazing thing happened, he turned into a comfortable relaxed dog! It is so good to see him calm, he is also so much more enjoyable! I even brought him to work recently and he actually enjoyed it; when people weren't petting him, he just streached out in a sunbeam and chilled :)
The only drawback we have experienced so far is that frequent use seems to decrease effectiveness. However, when we stop and restart use it seems very effective again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
i just started given this to my pitbull andd it seems to be working on him he is a inside dog and nit as hyper as he was about a week ago
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Good Dog Pet Calming Supplement
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Dog's Good Stuff

PostedJanuary 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Tallahassee
I have a 13 month old Australian Cattle Dog, who should be outside herding cattle, not confined to a 3 bedroom apartment. She'd win any run/chew/howl competetion on the planet; throw in a good dose of puppy and I was getting to the point of adopting her out to a family with a farm! Went to Petco to buy a different calming tonic that my cousn had suggested and saw "Good Dog". I figured I'd pad my options and take both of them. I started with the Good dog, twice a day in her water as directed. By the end of the second week she was a changed pup. Not "drugged up" or staggering around the house. But content to curl up on the couch and watch tv with me; Less barking for no reason; no more running around in circles and tearing up her toys. The directions said you could stop dosing when the behavior modified. By the time the bottle was empty,she was being such a good girl that I thought she had grown up and mellowed out. Four days later I KNEW it was the Good Dog and not the puppy that made the difference when the old frantic personality traits returned. I just ordered 7 bottles!!!!!!! We won't run out again any time soon. I just recommended it to a friend in Virginia and would recommend it to anyone with hyper-dog issues! Thank you Good Dog!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.