petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Parakeet Nest Box

Petco Parakeet Nest Box

Sturdy hardwood nesting box for parakeetsFeatures front access hole and perch
Average Customer Rating:
3.357 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Review 1 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WHY DIDN'T I BUY THIS SOONER!!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
BudgieLove
from Florida,FL
Wow! I bought this one day ago and I didn't know that my budgies would mate so soon. on the same day i got it wow ........ made my female budgie ( Ario My white/gray Pure breed English parakeet ) fall in love with the Male ( Aura My Green / yellow / black Austrailian pure breed) and had *ex with him. I really recommend this product because its big and roomy and perfect for budgies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

PostedApril 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
solacemoon
from Illinois
My birds love the nest and much more convenient for them .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy Modification for Outside Mount

PostedJune 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
CallMeAce
The Petco nestbox can be easily modified to mount outside a bird cage. Use a scroll saw or hacksaw and cut the overhanging edge of the lid so it is flush with the front panel of the nest box. Next, hold the box against the wire cage and mark the front panel near the top with a dot at each upper corner between the wire openings. Drill a couple of small pilot holes and install an eye bolt in each one. Place the next box over an openning in your cage, hooking the eye bolts over a crossing wire. Turn the eye bolts 1/4 turn to secure the box to the cage. Now the box is flush against the outside of the cage and you can easily open the lid to access the chicks and clean their nest. Cake!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Poppy1
from Anderson, CA
I think that one of the things people are not aware of is that a lot of the cages that are recommended for parakeets are too small in the first place. This is one thing I have found out from not only searching on the internet but also from parakeet breeders themselves. If you were to go shopping for a cage that would accommodate two parakeets being able to fly around , yes I am talking full wings spand open, then you would have room to place a nest box on the floor in the cage. If you don't spend time during day with your bird , then you are going to need to provide it with necessary room to spread wing with toys in there to play and exersize . If you can do a 25 - 30 inches in high then a 19 across the front and fit two nest boxes inside one in front of the other ( although you won't be using two in there) then you should have plenty of room.. I know you say that is really too big , but think about the bird. Enjoy you pets and give them room!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

didnt like

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
teanicole
this says its for a parakeet cage. well it is bigger than the cage. couldnt use it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
pthss
She is in the box nestling...did not the fill, she took it all out. If I didn't have a big cage it would have never fit inside the cage...I do recommend it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So-so

PostedOctober 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
SierraMist
I bought this for my two budgies. The girl, Alex, goes in there a lot. The hole is too small so I use the top part. There is no way to hang it outside unless you nail it. I don't know what to put in there so there is a little bit of cotton and whatever else me budgie put in there. I only have 1 pair and 1 cage so I put the box in there. It's so-so. I made do with it and my birds are having babies! = D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nest Boxes

PostedJune 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
vinie
the Cockatiel and Parakeet nest boxes are for INSIDE the cages only,so you can't check or pull the chicks to hand feed easily, and don't fit inside most breeder cages anyway....The extra lareg block perch on the tiel box doesn't fit Any cages I have, a stick perch would be much better.Good prices but not very useable without major alterations.Sorry.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Hide E Hole to End all

PostedOctober 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
TheParakeetFlock
from Bellevue,WA
We bought this just to see how it went over in our cage, it was in very good shape, no dust, sawdust, problems, etc. It doesn't come with anything to attach it to the cage but some minor improv fixed that problem. We attached it inside in the very top part of our weird cage by cutting an opening big enough into the top most cage , a couple improvised drill holes into the wood and some wire. At the start they would sit on the perch we have a couple inches away from it, kind of looking it at and then looking at us like we are insane. Our next step was put some millet in the box, a little bit hanging out and a crack stick(lol, sorry those are the honey seed sticks to our birds) just down from where the platform is.
We came home one day and went to the keets' cage with some new treats and only counted 7 keets well after initial freakout we went to open the cage door and the sound of that produced a yellow head from the box. Needless to say that is her nest box now, and no one is allowed near it, they can get as far as the perch down from it but any closer and the world is over.
I personally recommend putting the next box outside of the cage or improvising like us and attaching it medium-high in the cage. These are not ground birds and they feel safer up then they do on the ground. Improvise on attaching it, put some of their favorite treats near it or in it and soon hopefully you'll be having that minor freakout.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best

PostedAugust 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
davetherican
this is good my two parakeets indago and sky love me and have babies
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It's okay

PostedMarch 25, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kit1996
from Ca.
I bought this item this morning and my parakeets(Sunny and Bugzie) still won't go near it.When I bought it it gave me a trillion splinters and it had a lot of dust in it. It's so big that I can just barely open the top of it.It did have a concave shape in the bottom though and it was only 8 bucks.But I just found out that both of my parakeets are girls so I geuss I didn't need this item.
*Baylee*
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Bird2006
from Mississippi
This is the best nesting box for parakeets! I dont know why people give this a bad review! I mean if you plan on breeding keet you should have a cage that is big anoff for tha nesting box to come out! The nesting box should be placed on the bottom of the cage! Not the top. If it is on the top it could fall and anything in it could die.
I love this nesting box!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
budgiemom
from Stockton, California
This box does not come with any method to attach it to the outside of the cage. If you attach it to the inside of the cage, it can be very difficult - to remove the entire box in order to clean the babies' droppings out of it.
Additionally, it should have a concave area in the bottom so the eggs don't roll around.
The one I bought had cosmetic flaws (discoloration in the wood). It was the only on in stock, so I accepted it.
Lastly, if anyone finds one somewhere with a tray in the bottom that one can slide out of the box for cleaning, I would love to hear from them! With this setup, the entire box must be disengaged from the cage and the box turned upside down to dispose of the waste!
Is there such a thing as a 'zero paw' rating?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Parakeet Nest Box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMarch 5, 2006
Customer Avatar
uwasv_waya
from Fayetteville, W.Va.
This is an inside mount and that makes it difficult to check on eggs/chicks. It reduces the amount of room in the cage for the birds to move around and adds unnecessary clutter to the inside of the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.