petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens

Zilla Reptile Rock Dens

Solid construction keeps the den in place and provides a secure hideawayMade of non-toxic, pet safe materials and colorsReptiles can bask on top or hide awayEasy to clean surface hinders the growth of bacteria
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Review 1 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad, bad, bad

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Folsom, PA
I was waiting so anxiously to get this hide for my Chinese water dragon since he's still quite a juvenile and needed a good flat surface to bask. I had to wait forever to get this in the first place. And when I basically ripped the packaging apart because I was so excited, I found a huge 11 lb., flat rock waiting in bubble wrap. The description said smooth for easy cleaning: wrong. The bottom has deep scrapes in the top that look as if they were part of the design and not damage related. It also looks completely wrong. The picture shows a nice tall rock that's almost square and has a tall entrance. Instead its about the size of my forearm in length, has a very low thin door, and is a light orange/tan color. It would've been prefect for maybe a leopard gecko but anything bigger isn't going to fit in the puny door. Sadly returning.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Orange Monster

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
The rock den showed up orange, and ugly orange. I used two colors of textured spray paint from the hardware store a light and a dark brown, now it looks great.
I wish I had taken a picture, but if I had everyone would think my lighting was weird because of the ugly orange.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Titusville, Florida
This cave is the best thing I have ever bought!!! My Ball Python, Fang loves it! It is well made and looks like a real rock cave. If you have a snake I would highly reccomend this product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

it is not like the product pictured

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from san jose, ca
The product pictured is exactly like a current smaller rock den I have. So I ordered the bigger one thinking it would be the same as the picture. The rock den I received is painted yellow and therefore does not absorb the heat from the uv light, so my bearded dragon does not like it as much as the old rock.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not to bad

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
the hind away is big my snake loves it but it looks like a 5 year old made it in act class there are cracks in the clay and yes its made out of clay and idk if they are all like this but my is yellow and it had some points that i had to cut off and sand down so my snake didnt get cut but other then that my snake loves it so if she happy im happy i would buy one if u need it but just watch for the point you dont want they to get cut
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

nice sized hideout, but poor quality

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I ordered the jumbo size for my Ball Pythons.
It is difficult to find a hideout that fits a full-grown Ball Python, so I decided to order three of them. The size is great and it is very heavy for the size, so it can't be knocked over. The quality is awful, though. I had to order the den multiple times until I had three together that weren't cracked or chipped. Even now the outside of the plaster-like material is prone to chipping, which makes it difficult to clean.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
from ames, ia
perfect for my ball python, took a instant liking to it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Brattleboro, VT
Our bearded dragon loves to use the top of his new rock den to bask under his heat lamp. The den is as described, and fits nicely at one end of his tank. A single entryway ensures a cozy hideout.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Zilla Reptile Rock Dens

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh,PA
Good price, fast service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home

PostedMay 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
I had the smaller size & had to upgrade because our Gray King Band had outgrown her rock long ago. This one is great, it's the perfect size for her to use as well as still be able to grow in. Looks the same as the previous one & the price was a steal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zilla Reptile Rock Dens

PostedApril 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
My Ball Phyton Loves It I will be buying the bigger one when he gets big enough for it!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Last den you'll need for a Ball Python

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
from SoCal
A full grown ball can easily curl up in this no problem. I use it on the cooler side and it's properties an condusive to keep the reptile cooler in warm to hot weather. Also has a "back door" for air flow and alternate entrance, (which my ball found first). It takes up about 2/3 of the width and 1/3 the length of a 55 gal enclosure. If you have a 20L it will not fit inside that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Wellington, KS
It came bundled with a snake kit that I bought with my ball python, and he's always using this, he uses it to help during sheds, and to hide, it holds heat and moisture from the UTH and eco earth well and has two entrances/exits. It also looks natural and it simple to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
I got this for my leopard gecko, he originally had one of those logs, which was a disappointment. I got this to switch with the log and it is amazing. It looks nice and he can lay on top or hang out inside.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great hide

PostedMay 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Marietta, Georgia
This is hide has a small, tight feeling to it that will make the reptiles in it feel more comfortable than in roomy hides. It looks very realistic too. It is just a little difficult to clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You Must Get It Now!!!

PostedApril 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
"This rock hide out is so realistic that I thought it was plastic. My savannah Monitor loves to sleep in it and bask on the roof of the rock. My monitor loves to run aroung it. Remeber you should get it it will make your enclousure a master piece."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Rock Hide

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Well, I have a lot of the Zilla Reptile Rock Dens. I use them for snakes,lizards, and frogs. I really like to use them for Elephant Trunk Snakes. They are very easy to clean. The weight of the rock makes them very good for Elephant Trunk Snake becasue they live in water. I just wish PETCO would start selling the large and XL dens. I work at Petco and we do not have them in. So, get them!!!!! Thanks.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zilla Reptile Rock Dens
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedDecember 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
this is a great shelter. My leopard Gecko loves it he spends all day in it and uses it shed. at night he loves to climb all over it and it looks really natural
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.