petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Petco Cockatiel Nest Box

Sturdy hardwood nesting box for cockatielsFeatures front access hole, perching ledge, and hinged top
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Review 1 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Squirrel Rehaber's

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Squirrel rehaber's, this is a great nest box for your animals that can go from older baby through outdoor release. The box is easy to clean and large enough for adult squirrels. Great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for squirrels

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
We rehabilitate wildlife and use these boxes for squirrels. They are great and stand up to the squirrel's chewing for a few seasons. It costs us $8 in wood to build our own box so this is a great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

PostedJuly 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
there was nothing wrong with the product except it is way to big for my cockatiels, so I guess I will just keep them until I find someone that wants them, thank you very much
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedApril 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
The nest box is perfect. We needed it quick and we got it quick. Our birds started laying eggs after 9 years so we were caught completely off guard. The birds love the box and seem very comfortable. We now have 3 new eggs and are anxiously awaiting the hatching of new cockatiels. The male really loves the porch as he sits daily getting his instructions from the female. Thank you for your prompt service.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I use it for a Budgie toy chest!

PostedApril 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from TX
OK. I've bred cockatiels in these and they are just perfect for that purpose. Cockatiels are not concerned about the finer details of their nest boxes - only if it's the right size with the right size hole. This certainly will have your cockatiels multiplying in no time if you place it in a large cage or attach it to the outside of a smaller cage. (And if you have a pair of opposite gender cockatiels...)
BUT...what if you have a single little parakeet? This is the beginning of the world's best toy chest, folks. I have many birds but only one little parakeet who is very tame and loves to spread out on the bed and play like there's no tomorrow. Only problem - my husband isn't crazy about piles of Budgie toys all over the bedroom. SO...I bought this box and I have to admit that I sanded it and painted the outside with lots of bright colors. I attached some screw eyes on the sides to attach "shredder" toys and even put a little play gym on the top. My budgie LOVES to get inside of this box during play time - in and out and in and out and in and out...you get the idea. When we're through playing, I put all the assorted balls and bells and "foot toys" inside the box and it's very tidy. Sometimes Liza (my Budgie) even like to unload the box herself - I just put the box on the bed and she goes in and picks a toy and pitches it out the door - over and over until it's the way she wants it. I can't imagine a cheaper or more perfect toy box for my Budgie!
I thought of putting a handle on it, sort of like a purse, but I figured that would get chewed through in a hurry so I left it off. If you travel with a small bird, a handle would be helpful...just screw a latigo leather strap to either side and away you go.
I know this is not the intended purpose for this Item, but I wanted to share the use I've found it perfectly suited for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked like a charm!

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Poughkeepsie, New York
This product really works. My birds took to it right away and started laying eggs a week later! The nestbox is big and roomy and needs to be placed outside the cage with the birds having access to the opening from inside the cage. I removed one whole side of the bottom of my cage and placed it on 2 phone books and taped the bottom of the nest to the bottom of the cage. Much cheaper than spending hundreds on a breeding cage. afterward I can put the cage back to normal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What would I have done without it?...

PostedJanuary 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, Ga
I was the happy owner of 2 cockatiels this summer, but that number has mulitplied and now I own 11 cockatiels!!! My girl bird, Gayle laid eggs twice this summer. I noticed the "mating ritual" going on in the spring, and so I decided a nestig box would be best. I was concerned that the box might not feel "homey" enough for my birdies, but apparently they thought otherwise. I eneded up buying another box, and it has been the home to the many babies born this summer. What would I have done without the box? No idea, I don't even want to know, I am just glad I have one....I mean...two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nesting Box

PostedAugust 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Canyon Country, CA
This box works great if you want a bunch of baby cockatiels in your house. I bought this box to let my two cockatiels, Pearl and Boomer mate and i had to take the box out because they continued mating and i never that was not good for my Pearl.If i bring this box out of its hiding place Boomer starts singing to his Pearl. I and my cockatiels especially Boomer really enjoyed this and they now have two kids a male Taylor and female Jamie. The only Bad thing is clean up since they leave such a mess inside you have to soak it and it begins to smell and the wood is starting to come apart and I now nedd another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was the best!

PostedJune 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fresno, Ca
I loved it because my birds loved it so much that the man cockatiel cuddled me for the first time when the women cockatiel layed 9 eggs!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Cockatiel Nest Box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great

PostedMay 30, 2006
Customer Avatar
from new york, ny
its great
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.