petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable

Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable

XX-Large for dogs up to 150 lbs.Tested for security & strengthWeather-resistantVinyl-coatedAircraft steel cable
Average Customer Rating:
2.546 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
5 out of 11(45%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Review 1 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

As You Might Expect...

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
RasRebMomma
Product does a wonderful job, but certainly has a limited life span. Just purchased a new one as a replacement to the one I've been using for about nine months. Exposure to the elements cracks the plastic coating on the cable and the spring mechanism on the lock is a bit finicky in the extreme cold.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tie-out cable

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
gozinta
These are the best!! We have a 6 month old Great Dane pup and these tie-outs give him a lot of safe roaming room. We know he's going to be a lot bigger - it's a relief to know he can't break them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good Idea Poor Quality

PostedNovember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
oman
I have used close to 6 cables in two years-The problem is that the plastic covering cracks and then the cable slowly brakes. This product is outsourced and the quality is very very very poor. The reason that I have to keep using this product is that petco has no other options.****Also they will not replace this product their response is too bad*******
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
OneToo
One week after purchase, the plastic coating has cracked, split or come off in many locations. It's never uncoiled itself, either, & the husky gets wrapped up in it every time she goes out. It'll be going back to PetNo, along with the DayGlo tie-out, which is also junk & smells awful (whatever they use to coat the metal is noxious). That's almost $60 in tie-outs in 2 weeks & they're both junk.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for my Puppy

PostedApril 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Scrappy1217
This is a great item that we use for our Akita "Scrappy". The only drawback is that we go thru one of these a year. We have this on a run outside and the springs inside the hooks rust out. Also this is not an item to use on a Big Dog all day long. Otherwise it is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good cable!

PostedMarch 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
charliekarp
I have a 150 pound newfoundland who has used this cable for 5 years without problem. with a little imagination and a wll trained dog, this is a great cable. This is winter, I needed to swap ends and use a little duct tape on the stake end, but after 5 years, this is very minor!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

can't handle the weather

PostedJanuary 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Redd
from Erie, PA
I have had two of these cables to secure my 90lb doberman outdoors as I have no fence. While the cable holds his strength, the moment inclement weather arrives the clasps no longer hold closed on his collar. This unfortunate realization came at night and resulted in a dangerous roam around my neighborhood almost resulting in my guy being hit by a car. Very disappointed, don't count on this product!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
BuddyD
I like the heavier tie-out because it tangles less and lasts longer. The thin ones get bent and wrap around my dog's leg. When they continually bend, the plastic coating splits, exposing the wrapped wire, which eventually begins to wear and can create sharp barbs. I wish the Super tie-out came in a 20' length. I bought (2) 10' ones and joined them. Bulky and not as convenient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't recommend

PostedJanuary 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chella
from Texas
I purchased one 6 months ago and my 65lb dog managed to snap it in half. They say it is rust resistant, but his rusted quite a bit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Can't even hold a 10lb pup

PostedMay 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
jackrusselllady
I have a 6 month old Jack Russell and got her the heavy duty cord because she is strong, especially if she sees somthing she wants to go for. We had got it just a month ago, and today she escaped my yard and headed down the street, because the clasp broke. I do not have a fence so I depended on this for the safety of my dog. SO if it can not hold a 10lb dog how can you expect it to hold a large dog that is going to be much stronger.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco XX-Large Dog Tie-Out Cable
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality problems make this product dangerous

PostedAugust 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
TimW
from Dallas, TX
The product is fine initially, but give it a month under weather conditions and dog use and the cables start to fray at varous points and poke out through the plastic.
STEEL Cable.... With more and more frays being exposed just after a month or 2 use all you have to do is grab the cable wrong and you have a bloddy hand... or worse yet the dog runs by you and the frays cut into your ankles at high speed.... Not to mention your pet has to deal with these frays.
Please be ware of this type of product. I'm currently searching for a more suitable cable, but in the mean time I'm going to go back to simple rope.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.