petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer

Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer

Hydration accessory that your pet can use at willTurns your outdoor faucet or garden hose into an automatic dog watererNever runs dry or spills – messes stay outsideLixit faucet waterer shuts off automatically to avoid wasting waterSteel nozzle attaches to outdoor faucet without tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.421 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
16 out of 19(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Review 1 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Thought it was great until...

PostedMay 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Aurora CO
I had this attached to the water spigot in my back yard. Dogs loved it used it all the time... but when I needed to remove it, it would not disconnect, and had become fused with the existing plumbing. Cost me a FORTUNE to have this replaced. I would not recommend this to anyone who leaves the device connected for any length of time at all. A single season was too long.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love to lix

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from tustin
Our puppy loves the Lixit faucet! Great idea, simple installation & affordable price! Win win for everyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rogersville, AL
I have two dogs that spend the whole day outside. Even though the back yard is shaded, I was still concerned about making sure they had enough water as the summer approached. Now I do not have to worry. Both learned how to use it with in one week. Now they can get all the water they want as often as they want it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Huntington Beach, CA
I've had one of these hooked up for like twenty-five years! I'm replacing it with another one. My dogs always have fresh water! For new purchasers; Just put a bowl underneath it and let some water drip into it from the Lixit so the dog can see it and nature takes over from there. They lick the bowl until it's gone and then they always look toward the lixit. It's really cool when your dog figures it out. Just be patient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dogs wont drink from it

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
I have 3 dogs and despite removing all water sources 3 days past and they drank nothing 1 would drink from the stream it if i held it down. But when she touches it herself she wont drink from it. The other 2 would have nothing to do with it, would run away from it then later try to drink the puddle on the ground from it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doggy drinks!!!

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
I really like having the water available to Liber at all times, fresh water!! the answer to our problems
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Gresham, OR
This is a great product. It easily installs and doesn't leak at all! It only took my 11 week old Newfoundland about 10 seconds to figure out. Now she can have water whenever she wants without stomping in her water bowl and mopping my floors!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't be beat

PostedApril 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
I got my first Lixit in 1977. Replaced it in 1990.
This one is still in good shape.
My first dog (Australian Shepard) learned in a couple of minutes. Puppies went from mama's milk directly to the Lixit like it was a part of nature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No brainer

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Orange County, CA
This is probably the best $13 I have ever spent! My Great Dane dunks his snout in his water bowls, plus he drinks A LOT of water. This helps with both. I don't have to constantly be changing water bowls due to all the stuff he leaves behind in there. The never ending water supply is always fresh and clean. It took my dog seconds to figure out how to use it. Now he will only dring out of this! If the washer in it gets old, you can always go down to the local hardware store and buy a replacement for pocket change. It is so simple to hook up, although I would recommend using a wrench to tighten it on or it might leak a tad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT!

PostedApril 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
We have had a lixit for as long as I can remember. All of our dogs have loved it and used it on a regular basis. We do shut it off in the winter and it takes them a while to adjust. When it goes back on in the Spring, they are happy dogs once again.
We had a litter of puppies and they learned to use it when they were only about 6 weeks old. I guess they learned by watching their mom! One IMPORTANT SUGGESTION: Please don't put it on a spigot that is in the blazing sun all day! Best to PUT IT ON A SHADY SPOT ON YOUR HOUSE. It would get really hot in the sun.
Everyone who has a dog should have one of these. You will never have to worry about your dog being thirsty when he/she is outside. Get one now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMarch 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
My dog loves this thing, learned how to use it within 24 hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

she no like

PostedAugust 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from pdx OR
Not sensitive enough for my small dog. Despite applying peanut butter as recommended, she always licked the peanut butter too gently to get the water. She loved the peanut butter! We worked with this for more than a month, so I got a hose and float system through another online store that works perfectly–no leaks and plenty of fresh water.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No More Thirsty Dogs!

PostedMay 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Rancho Belago, CA
I purchased my first Lixit about 8 years ago. I have 4 dogs and all of them use it quite easily. When we introduced the Lixit to each one they took to it immediately. I highly recommend this for it's durability and ease of use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
We have had a lixit for years. They last a long time...14+ years on the one we have. Very easy to train, our 4 month old English Setter learned to use it in 3 days and now uses it almost every time he goes outside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 19, 2007
Customer Avatar
This is a great product. My dogs absolutely love it. It is perfect for my Boxer who likes to turn his water bowl over and push it around the yard!!! Both of my dogs took right to it and had no problems figuring out how to work it. It is definitely a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal Ease

PostedDecember 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Oceanside, CA
This is a wonderful product. We have 2 huskies & Frisco, our first took to it immediately where Koda needed a minimal amount of coaxing & demonstration from Frisco before realizing how easy it was to get water. These 2 can go through an entire bucket of water when they are playing, but with the Lixit there are no worries about them running out of water. It is so inexpensive & practical compared to all the time it saves from checking & refilling water bowls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lixit dog waterer

PostedJuly 22, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Chico, CA
I have 2 great danes and a Vizsla. It took them 30 seconds to figure out how to use the Lixit! Now they drink almost all of their water outside because it is fresh and cool. I have used stainless steel waterbowls for years, but this summer it has been so hot I was worried they would run out of water no matter how much I put out. Eureka! Lixit to the rescue. I am so glad to find such a high quality product. Thanks from Mary, Madison, Titan and Pepper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Waterer

PostedJune 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Spartanburg, SC
I have in the past had those canister waterers and in the heat of an SC summer even in the house those jugs would get this layer of green that couldn't be cleaned because you can't get anything inside the jug to scrub it out.
I have had the Lixit product for over 5 years now and my dogs always have fresh cold water no matter what time of the day or night. I never have to worry that they are getting stagnant algae water if it has been extremely hot or there is rain water collected in their bucket. I don't have to worry that debris from trees or bugs are in their drinking water. It is truly one of the best things you can get for your dog and it is a cost savings because you aren't changing water daily to keep it fresh!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lixit Outdoor Faucet Dog Waterer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thor LOVES his Lixit (and so do we)

PostedMay 1, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
We purchased a Lixit for our Boxer several years back. It was only a matter of one demonstration before our he caught on. In following years, we didn't need to show him at all. The Lixit worked great for several years before starting to drip - not enough to puddle - just enough to dampen the sidewalk beneath it. After trying different washers inside it, I discovered it was just natural water deposits and wear which made it begin to leak (Our dog drank from it a lot!) I would not consider this to be caused by poor construction but rather that the material it is made from was chosen for cost rather than corrosion resistance (stainless steel would likely double or triple the cost) I am buying another one this season to be sure that he has all the fresh water he wants.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.