petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lixit Bird Bottles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

Lixit Bird Bottles

Bottles for canaries, parakeets, cockatiels, finches, and similar birdsStainless steel ball point tubes with no drip, vacuum-lock sealEasy-to-fill, easy-to-clean plastic wide mouth bottles with quick release holder
Average Customer Rating:
3.579 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
13 out of 19(68%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lixit Bird Bottles
Review 1 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great idea

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
mybabs
from pittsburgh
I purchased this bottle, I was not sure if he would like it, well, he shocked me, My Conure loves it, there is always fresh water in it, and he does not put food into his drinking water
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great water bottle

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
tweety47
from the New Jersey Shore
I've used this brand of water bottle for all types of cages (both vertical & horizontal bars). I have canaries, parakeets, grass parakeets, parrotlets & small conures.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaky design

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica6883
from Mesa, AZ
Like some other reviewers, this product leaked and made a soggy mess out of my bird's cage. And I followed the instructions, tightened it well, let some of the water trickle before installing it, yet it slowly leaked from both the spout piece and the mouth/screw cap, which may have been due to a faulty stopper rim that is "supposed" to create a tight seal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Item description needs to tell you more

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mangokiwi
from Brattleboro, VT
This water bottle doesn't fit on all cages. I have four cages and it doesn't fit on any of them. The bars on the cage need to go up and down not side to side for this water bottle to fit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lixit bird bottles

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
starlight777
from Midlothian, Va
Purchased one in the store and it works fabulous. Ordered two on line and they are both defective. They leak.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent water bottle

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
ZeebraFinchhes
from MN
I love this water bottle. I currently have 3 hanging on my cages. My finches learned to use them right away since the red ball gets their attention. I have never had any of mine leak and never had any slime inside of the bottle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lexit Bird Bottle

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
latteconnie
from Columbia Falls, MT
The bottle is smaller than I anticipated. Seems secure as far as holding water. Directions on package aren't very clear as how to install onto bird cage. So far haven't seen my cockatiel drink from bottle which I installed close to a week ago. Can anyone let me know how long it takes? I removed open water dish for a couple days at a time and then only put very small amt. in bottom. I've also pushed on ball w/ my finger when my bird was close to the spout. Bottle is easy to change water to fresh since it installs outside the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

advantages and disadvantages

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
MrsChiks
from Nebraska
I own four bottles for over a year now. I have four cages (18X18X24) and they fit just fine. In the beginning, all four bottles leaked in some way or another. Two bottles continuously dripped water from the spout and the other two leaked water from the cap seal. So I took the tops off and screwed them back on REAL tight. This stopped two bottles from dripping but I still had to exchange the other two bottles at the local store because of continuous leaking from the cap seal. After exchanging, I still had a leaking problem from the cap seal on one bottle. Solution: I put some Teflon tape around the neck and it no longer leaks. Also, our tap water caused hard water deposits on the tip of the spouts and a grimy buildup on the inside of the bottles. I now only use filtered water and change it weekly. Occasionally food gets stuck in the spout so I try to check them everyday. Despite all these adjustments, I still prefer the bird bottles over the water bowls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
SammiesSlave
I have 3 of these and they all work great. Make sure the cap is on tight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Water Bottle Purchase

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
MsPatti
Great water bottle for birds. Does not leak, lasts a long time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leakage is a problem

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keysy
Bought one of these several years ago. To keep it from leaking I had to screw the top on so hard I thought it might break. Even then it leaked a little. Also found that the mount did not fit our cage, which is a common type of cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works great

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
angelgirl97868
i wasnt sure if my cockateil would use this but he went for it as soon as i put it in his cage the only reason I didnt give 5 stars is its not completely compatible with the cage and had to do some rigging to get it to work
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality is suspect

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jimb
The water bottle is a good idea. Unfortunately the finches never had a chance to try it out. I could not get the cap seal to stop leaking air into the bottle which causes all the water to run out. Just when I thought I had it right and put it in place in the cage, I'd come back later to find all the water had exited the bottle onto the cage floor. For the price one would think the quality would be just a bit better, but like so many things manufactured for American consumption these days, it just isn't there. You should be able to fill the bottle, screw on the cap and hang the bottle in the cage. With this product I couldn't do that. I returned the bottle to the store where no one had any explanation to the problem or even a comment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best

PostedOctober 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
naert1
from usa
i am a breeder of exhibition english budgies and have tried every product and method of delivering clean water including automatic drinking systems. nothing works as well or is less work in the end than these. i use them on all breeding and flight cages. only once have i had one leak and that was because the seam was cracked. i repaired it easily with an adhesive. i only hope they continue to produce these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

water bottle

PostedJuly 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gremreper
I had one for years this one finally gave up started leaking bad but good product my birds love it they enjoy it i have one and a big bowel in my cage they like the bottle better thanks for good product
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lixit Bird Bottles

PostedMay 13, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marsey
from Philadelphia, PA
The bottle never stopped leaking. My birds do not like it. They have not touched it since I put it in the cage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
GrannyFinch
from Charlotte, NC
My little finches were so excited to get these bottles. Once they figured out how to get the water out they take turns getting water and sometimes they look like they are sitting there talking to each other about it. The babies actually figured out how to use it first and they get so excited they actually jump up and down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG, this is the best water bottle ever!!

PostedMay 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
Theresa
Bought this for my birds (cockatiels & parakeets) ranging in ages from 1 to 3, they have no problem drinking out of this at all (took them a few hours to figure it out). I will never give them water in anything else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lixit Bird Bottles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Our birds love 'em

PostedFebruary 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
kippete
from Washington State
Fortunately for us our birds breeder raised our babies using the Lixit bottles and they've worked wonderfully. Easy to clean and keep sterilized.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.