petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer

Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer

Removes proteins and organic compounds, helping to prevent toxic tank syndromeIncreases oxygenPre-assembled with no complicated plumbing requiredLow maintenance and easily adjusted
Average Customer Rating:
2.7 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
5 out of 10(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Review 1 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good little skimmer

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
While it is not perfect, this little simmer does a good job in my 20-gallon nano-reef. You need a large air-pump (or two smaller ones) to run it and the airstones need to be changed often but this skimmer pulls some really yucky stuff out of the tank. The two problems are that it takes up space in the tank and that water level changes can affect it (top-off your tank regularly like you should and that becomes a non-issue). Overall, a good little entry-level skimmer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Do your homework

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from ABQ, NM
I've used this same skimmer, off & on for 12 years & it finally broke. Obviously it can't compete with skimmers valued at $100.00+ but if you are careful, & clean the calcium off each week, it will do the job just fine. Yes, it sticks out the top of your aquarium, so if you use a top, you will need to trip off a section. You also can't deviate from using the wooden air stones.... nothing else will work right, prob why some ppl said it wasn't working at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor construction

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from texas
Might work well if you can keep it together long enough. Such low quality joint fit that the unit falls apart. The only obvious fix is to glue it, however that will make cleaning a pain. I wouldn't recommend this it is not worth the price unless they make joints tighter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little skimmer

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
I bought this for my 30 gallon saltwater setup. (Ignoring what the bad reviews were saying.) I am very pleased with this product. It was cheap, easy to mount, and with a little tinkering with the air valves it works! I have had this unit running for a few days now, and the collection cup is about half full of dark, nasty, skimmate. I would recommend someone try this before paying hundreds of dollars like most units.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not the worst thing but not a great buy

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
from morris, il
it dose its job but thats about it. any one with a little know how could build it for about $20 from the hardware store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Read directions, hook it up, no problem

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
It works great! just follow the instructions.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PATHETIC

PostedJuly 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Newbury park, CA
This product was awful and a poor excuse for a skimmer. It produced wet foam ( or no foam at all), was very brittle, and was hard to clean. I had this when i first set up my marine aquarium and it did an amazingly BAD job. If you are thinking of getting this because it is cheap, instead save your money and get a venturi system. I have had animals all my life and have over 35 right now so I am quite capable of knowing the exact needs of what they need.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
6of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Texas
Better than the SeaClone, this skimmer has everything in the tank-that means no weak connections to come undone and wet the carpet. Works well, is easy to adjust and is not intrusive. The low cost does not hurt either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
from New Mexico
The problem with it is that it won't fit in your aquarium unless you take the hood off. It is a cheap product that is not worth it. Save your money and buy the Seaclone or Berlin.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lee's Counter Current Protein Skimmer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
I'm afraid it's too good to be true. The unit seems like it would work well but it's so BIG it didn't even fit between the tank and canopy. I tried it all different ways and couldn't get it to fit. Also, it's really just a bunch of plastic tubes with an airstone. Not worth it in my opinion.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.