petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food

Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food

Longer lasting, premium wild bird food specially formulated to attract more birdsEliminates sunflower hull clean-upConcentrated formula contains 40% hull-less sunflower and a combination of other bird-favorite ingredientsIn a variety of sizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Review 1 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mess-free bird seed is great

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
BeaAnne
from Madeira, Ohio
The birds love Kaytee Waste Free Bird Food, and I don't miss the sunflower seed shells at all. I especially like the convenience of having several bags automatically delivered on a regular basis.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No waste is good anytime

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
bjw1
from san francisco,ca
I don't like to waste anything ever, so I don't like having so much cracked corn and gravel left with some of the wild bird food. It costs more but is better in the long run to not be paying for things the birds don't eat.
Like all the Kaytee bird food products, this one attracts them and keeps them coming back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
kwalsky9
from Pittsburgh, PA
We feed the birds year-round from a platform feeder right outside our diningroom window. We did not want sunflower seed shells littering the ground below and the awning over the garage - also worried about rodents being attracted to the waste. So - we thought a waste-free bird food was the solution. . Kaytee's version certainly fills the bill. It contains all the birds' favorite seeds - chickadees, cardinals, mourning doves, bluejays and woodpeckers alike gobble it up with glee. At the end of the day, a little brushing of the platform and clean-up is done!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fuzball
from NY,NY
Attracts a wide assortment of birds. Only problem is they like it too much!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wastefree birdseed

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
blitzon
from falun.ks
birds luv it but the squerlls like it too but im not going to stop em i like watching them both
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very little waste & birds AND squirrels LOVE it

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
IamIsabella
from Northern CA
I wouldn't call it waste FREE, but it's very close. There is a bit of sunflower seed shell waste, because some of the sunflower seeds aren't shelled like they should be, but otherwise, it's VERY waste free. All the birds know to come to my house and LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Also, we use it at my office too, and the squirrels and brids share it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Birdseed

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
TravelLady
from Pa
Pros: Excellent price here especially when on sale; no sprouting; virtually no mess because birds gobble this up and favorites are hull-less; amount of edible vs amount of waste per pound does mean better value.
Cons: Perhaps a little too heavy on the smaller seeds for the birds around here, of which a certain amount is left uneaten (or it’s the tiny hulls?), however this is insignificant compared to standard mixes; scant amount of peanut-halves; any hull-less will get moldy fast in damp conditions so need to monitor a tad more.
Overall a good product at great value that birds love and is ez to deal with, thus I'll continue to buy this brand and at Petco.com who gets it to you rapidly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good product

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shay1195
Good value when on sale. What does spill on the ground is eaten by ground feeders and squirrels. The little that is left does not sprout or cause problems with landscaping. Its amazing that the birds seemed to have stopped fighting at the feeder since we began using this feed -- plenty for all!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The birds love it!

PostedJune 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
alamjoann
from Battlement Mesa
I have to up my order to 2 a month because the birds eat it so fast.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unique attractions

PostedMay 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
CathydeClutter
Kaytee's Waste Free Wild Bird Food attracted two Wild Parrots to my yard. I live in San Francisco so if you've ever seen "The Wild Parrots of Russian Hill" you'll know their story. Needless to say, I was ecstatic. Thanks, Kaytee!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedApril 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
abbydabby
from Pinehurst, NC
Perfect blend of seed...and no mess!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Birds Gone Wild

PostedFebruary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
FredsterInFlorida
from 29 degrees Florida
Glad I bought 4 bags...the birds are going nuts over this food!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

no waste on this one

PostedFebruary 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
flauntykat
from Lancaster, Ca
this birdseed stayed in the bird feeder for a few days, not like regular birdseed that when I filled bird feeder they would go thru it in one day mostly throwing out on ground
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A bargain for all bird feeders

PostedFebruary 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
bsbrn
from Sugarloaf, CA
My husband and I have more than a dozen bird feeders on our mountain property and several bird houses, too. The result has been wonderful. We have more than 20 varieties of birds that come regularly to our feeders and watering stations to provide us with year-round delight. The waste-free seed blend has something for everybody and means we don't have a big mess to clean up by our feeding stations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite birdseed mix

PostedJanuary 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tennessean
This is as wonderful as earlier reviewers promised. Not only does it protect your lawn from waste, it draws so many more birds and types of birds than other mixes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Waste Free Wild Bird Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Eureka waste free

PostedJune 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dags
It's about time that Kaytee came out with a Waste Free Wild Bird Food, saves alot of mess in my yard.
Great product! It really works!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.