petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses

Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses

Antiseptic shampoo for dogs, cats and horsesHelps relieve the intense itching of bacterial skin infectionCleans and deodorizes
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Review 1 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shampoo keeps dogs smelling good without perfume!

PostedApril 26, 2006
Customer Avatar
Happy2Browse
from Tennessee
This shampoo is the best we've ever used! We were looking for a gentle but good shampoo that wouldn't make our Lab mix itch. We tried this Septiderm and have never used anything else again. We like that it is gentle but effective without an overpowering perfume smell. Instead, it has a light, clean smell. Our dogs like a good scrubbing with it. We notice that our dogs seem to scratch themselves less. The deoderizing lasts a long time, too. After the initial, "just-bathed" smell is gone, if our dogs get a little wet again, the clean smell returns.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Annoying Label, good shampoo

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
kderstle
from New Orleans
I find it interesting that this shampoo is advertised online as antiseptic, yet this property is no mentioned on the labeling. I held this product in my hand at a PetCo store, opting against purchase because my vet sent me out to get an antiseptic product. Then, when I get home and look online, ... I find the same product (apparently) presented as antiseptic. It seems to work, so I'm a little miffed. My dog could have received relief 8 days earlier if the labeling had been a little more consistent.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I didn't think my dogs itch could get worse

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
lsuther62
from myrtle Beach sc
I have four dogs. they are three different breads and have different skin and fur types. but they all have an allergic reaction to something in my yard. I have been serching for a product to alleviate this problem. I was hoping for good results from this product. unfortunately it made them all itch more. It is ashame because I liked the way it rinsed easily and was a more reasonable price than a lot of the other products i have tried. Oh well I guess i will keep looking or stick with the more expensive products
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Works....

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
piadora
from parlin, nj
My kitty has been licking and pulling out her fur,
scratching all the time...Vet trips the same..shots,
pills...read the reviews, purchased the product..
and success!!! Kitty is calm, no licking etc...she
can finally rest(along with me), and I only gave
her one bath..so, as of now..this product is worth
a try...God bless
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleans & Heals

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
FinzMom
This shampoo does a great job of cleaning, smells nice and heals up skin problems very quickly. My dog had an itchy rash that made her skin sticky and this shampoo cleared it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works GREAT on dermatitus!

PostedMarch 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
RevConnie
from Lewistown,Pa
I have a dog with dermititus and this is the BEST shampoo for keeping it under control! My dog had bald spots and ,now,thanks to Septaderm-V Anitseptic Skin Care Bath ,his coat has grown in and he looks GREAT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ITS TRUE!

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
roze
from endicott NY
Before i bought this product, i was spending hundreds of dollars at my vets for shots that may cause diabetics in my cat, and steroids that only helped for a few days, to stop her continuous scratching and itching. There had not been one day she was not pulling her hair out and scratching and miserable due to dermatitis, and allergies. When I'd ask my vet if there was any other answer, the only one they gave to me was MORE money cost for me. I found this product online and read the reviews and I used it only one time and the very next day i noticed she began to lessen the scratching and within two days her hair was beginning to grow back in, and within a week, all of the bald spots were covered with fur again, she is not digging her skin and she can sleep now without waking to dig her skin and pull fur out. This stuff is amazing and i will continue to use it..This product is now saving me hundreds of dollars in Vet cost. Try and see for yourself that it's true. So thank you very much Septiderm V for your saving shampoo! I highly recommend this shampoo to anyone who's pet has a dermatitis problem or skin problem. There is no thanks big enough for your help!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells nice, itching relief

PostedJune 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
PugzMom
I bought this in conjunction with the spray, and I liked the shampoo much better than the spray (mostly due to the strong odor of the spray). Nice shampoo, mild to my dog's skin, and smells nice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
kajadog
from St Thomas USVI
If your pet has any skin conditions this is THE BEST! Our pets live with us in the Virgin Islands and put up with all kinds of humid weather and hot. weather.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York
My dog had a horrible rash on his entire body that he got ironically from one of those medicated dog shampoos, so I did A LOT of research and found this product, thankfully I saw major improvements within the second shower I gave my poor "little" dog!!!!!! I began using the Septiderm-V shampoo last year and I will never go back!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shampoo is great!!

PostedDecember 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dydoe
from Des Moines, IA
I have a 3-year-old shih-poo that has always had problems with skin allergies. Every several months or so he'd develop hot spots and several times they got so bad I had to take him to the vet. I have tried everything; different foods, medications and different shampoos. Then I tried Septiderm-V. I wasn't sure when I first saw it; to me it looked like water, but it lathers up wonderfully. Immediately I could tell it helped his itching. I've been using it for about a month now and he hasn't shown any skin irritations and so far hasn't had any hot spots. I am definitely going to continue using it. It is the only thing that has helped. I definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIFE SAVER!

PostedNovember 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
familyV
This dog was born allergic to almost all foods and environmental items. As a young dog she continued to be covered in sores, hairless patches and rashes. Vets prescribed dozens of remedies but nothing worked. After just one treatment of Septiderm Antiseptic Shampoo, her skin calmed and so we used it until it was normal. She is a Corgi mix and is 15 now! We have been using only Septiderm Antiseptic Shampoo all these years and it has been a true Life Saver!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY, SOMETHING THAT WORKS!

PostedAugust 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
prolady
I have a cat with miliary dermatitis, scratching herself bleeding raw. Went to two vets and no answers. Have bathed her twice with this product and her skin looks sooo much better! I also used the lotion, and there is healthy pink skin after only one week. Now if they only carried earplugs, because she screams like she's being murdered, lol!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Shampoo for itches

PostedJuly 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Cris1
from Sunny California
My dog has very dry skin and this shampoo gives him relief right away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Septiderm-v skin care bath works!!

PostedApril 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
chilover87
I bought this shampoo cause my 2 chihuahuas were always scratching due to really dry skin. I tried every shampoo and spray out there to help their dry skin issues and found that most products made it worst. I went into petco and talked to a worker that had to same problem with her chi and told me to buy this product, that it really works!! So i tried it and my dogs stopped scratching right away. their fur grew back thicker and healthier than ever before! this product is well worth the money!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

:D yea!

PostedFebruary 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
midnight
from New York,NY
My cat had developed a bald spot from the flea baths and it a 1 week my cats hair was growing back by the second week I couldn't see where the bald spot was.Highly recommend :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay

PostedFebruary 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Virginia
I bought this product because Buddy had an irritated spot on his back where he was losing fur. Everyone said that it was the way to go. Although it does clean rather well, it didn't help Buddy. The product also has a rather pungent aroma. Turns out, Buddy just needed a multivitamin.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best shampoo ever

PostedSeptember 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
self explanitory. it is the best shampoo ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Stuff!

PostedSeptember 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
TallyLassy
My mini dachs has a Stafh Infection (which is bacterial). I was giving him antibiotics, but they weren't stopping his itching. After reading reviews on here, I ran down to Petco and picked this up. It did the trick immediately! After this bath, his scratching decreased dramatically. I was using Krazy Dog because it smelled good, but I care less about his smelling and more about his health. Currently, I am bathing him 2x per week, and will continue to bathe him once per week after the infection clears. While it doesn't smell like baby powder (Krazy Dog does), he does smell fresh and his coat is shiny. Most importantly, he's not scratching feverishly. I think this stuff has had more of an impact on his infection than the antibiotics. Save yourself some money and try this stuff first before taking you dog to the vet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Septiderm-V Antiseptic Skin Care Bath Grooming Shampoo for Dogs, Cats & Horses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great help for itching dog.

PostedJune 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
ginn341
I have used this product on my Shitzu dog for over 5 years, it helps him with his itching and the skin problems that little furry dogs tend to get. It helps with his smell and also gets his coat white.
Great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>