petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars

The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars

Black Halti headcollars give you total control when walking your dogHalti stops pulling because if you guide a dog's head, the body will surely followSoft nylon fits comfortably around dog's face without restricting the mouth
Average Customer Rating:
4.317 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
71 out of 82(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Review 1 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best. Collar. Ever.

PostedDecember 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I purchased this collar on the advice of the trainer in my local Petco, and couldn't be happier. Our two dogs took to the collar right away and within two walks they were following our lead around the block instead of leading us around the block.
We've used choke chains and training collars with prongs before and they still pulled hard against them. While they will both try to shake their way out of this collar when I first put it on, after a couple of minutes they settle down and I'm in control.
Keep their regular collar on the dog and attach the safety strap to it. If your dog does succeed in getting lose from the headcollar, the strap will keep you attached.
The Halti is the first collar I've used that successfully keeps my dogs from pulling, and that's making it easier to train them overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+31points
33of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She was a hopeless cause.

PostedJanuary 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Superior, WI
I worked as a vet tech years ago when this poor abused 1 year old mixed breed was brought in. She was almost dead from being beaten. After a year of tender loving care we started to work on obedience. She is so well behaved except for leash training. She refused to obey, she nearly ripped our arms from the sockets. I was working on a military base at the time and after all my other resources were worn out I tried an MP dog trainer. The ones that train the military canines? He couldn't even break her of the habit. We believe she had been whipped or something to that effect with her collar and/or leash.
When Halti came out on the market I thought why not? It was a godsend! It works! She didn't like it at first but now she loves it. Our walks aren't battles anymore. They are peaceful and enjoyable. She is now 13 years old and spoiled rotten and living the good life.
Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+48points
52of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halti headcollar

PostedNovember 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Barrow, Alaska
I purchased the Halti Headcollar on the advice of Lois, the lead teacher at puppy school in Flint,Michigan. I have a rather young, joyful black lab and did not want to break her spirit. The standard Nylon training color suggested by PETCO was not doing the job. Jade was excited to be around the other puppies and thought puppy school was "play time." I, too, was concerned about harming my Jade in anyway but after seeing Lois and her work together with the Halti, I am now a true believer. Jade knows it's business. When the Halti goes on, it's time to go to work. I now look forward to our walks together without her yanking on my arm and not being literally jerked off my feet (twice). There is nothing worse than a dog without dicipline or manors, and the only person to blame that on is me. Her training is coming along nicely. Thank you Halti for a pet friendly training aid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
32of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, wa
My 14 lb yorkie doesn't like it. She tries and can take it off, so i'm going to return for a smaller size. When she wasn't trying to get it off, it worked well. Just takes time for your dog to get used to it and trained, like anything else related to dogs. Seems like its good quality. Can't fault the product for the behavior of my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it it works

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East Branch, NY
I've used Halti's for years. I love the way they fit you just have to make sure to buy the right size for your pet's head (best option is to take your pet to the store for a fitting) I have a Beagle/Dachshund Mix who would choke herself pulling on her collar and this product helped cure that habit and a American Staffordshire who has a very muscular neck and can't feel a normal collar but is a dream to walk with a Halti. I'm a Halti fan for life and train other dogs and their people with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love It

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Yamhill,OR
I love the Haltie head collar but I have a min pin and the size small is way to big for him so I had to go to gentle leader. I just wished the haltie would come in extra small I like the haltie better then the gentle leader.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Head Collar

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
Easy to put on and easy to adjust. Good construction and softer/wider than others previously used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Decatur, GA
My dog is a puller and her choke collar does not even phase her and she slips out of her harness. She also has a tendency to lunge, bark, and growl at other dogs on her walks. I am pleased to say that not only has this collar solved her pulling problem but it has also corrected the other bad behaviors. I am thinking about getting it for my small dog too. She does try and get it off but has been unsuccessful, but if she does get out of it this collar has a safety feature in that it can attach to a regular collar. That way if she slips out of it she's still not free. This has greatly improved my dog walking experience!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
This is a miracle product! My 8mth old lab is like a toddler and the minute the dog trainer at Petco put this on our lab she turned into a different dog! Well behaved, no jumping, and no pulling. It was and still is absolutely incredible. My 9yr old can now walk her without any problems! Life changing....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs retainer clip

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
Used this type of headcollar for the first time and while it did make it easier to walk the dog, the lack of a retaining clip on the muzzle harness was an issue. Since there was no way to put less slack in the muzzle harness, my dog was able to get one of the straps in his mouth and chew through it. Took it back to Petco store and replaced it for another brand that did have the clip, it works great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for longer snout dogs

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax VA
After trying this Halti Head collar, black, size 3, on my 9month, 82lbs, GSD/Lab mix (still growing) pup at the store - I had to buy it!! Within seconds, I had a well behaved, easy walking dog by my side. I loved it so much, I bought two, another for my full-grown Rottweiler (size 4). After getting home and sizing it perfectly on Mason (Rottweiler) we went on a walk. Before I knew it, he had wiggled himself out. I figured maybe Mason needed a size smaller (3), still no luck. Mason was still able to wiggle his nose out.
Today I returned size 4, but I am still extremely happy with size 3 for my GSD/Lab mix.
From my experience, this Halti collar works GREAT for dogs who have a longer snout. Otherwise, my overall rating would have been 5 five stars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I have a dog who, for lack of better phrasing, isn't quite right in the head. We don't know exactly what's wrong with her, but when we take her on walks with any sort of collar, she pulls and pulls until she collapses her trachea. A few coughs re-inflate it, but we quickly realized that we needed something else. At first we tried a harness, but it didn't stop the pulling. Then we chose a Halti, and although she didn't like it at first, food reinforcement quickly got her accustomed to it. She no longer pulls and we can go on nice walks together.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Halti

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Hot Springs
Not a good product my beagle chewed through it in minutes. Not strong enough.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Canoga Park, CA
this product is a very great investment if you have a dog who pulls on the leash, this will definitely be a great tool to stop that. the only downside is that my dog doesn't like the feeling of something in her face and rubs her face on the ground.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the halti headcollar

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from montross, va
We used one for our lab for 15 years and our new pup loves it too. We learned the loose leash walking method and he does great on the halti. excellent and humane
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We can finally enjoy our walks together!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Spokane, WA
We have an Australian Shep/Lab mix who is 10 months old. He was pulling to the point where walking was unpleasant and hiking/backpacking downhill was downright dangerous and painful. Who knows what might happen when he runs into his first bear or moose!? This doesn't hurt him and we finally feel a sense of control over our walks and it truly has become a family hour we can all enjoy.! Thank you for a great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Quite As Effective as I Hoped

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Liberty, IA
My dog Link is a 2.5 year old mix breed dog. He has a head shape similar to that of a German Shepard. This head halter is really the only way I can keep him from pulling me over when he sees a squirrel or rabbit while we're walking. Link is 80lbs and is a constant puller when we walk. I watched the instructional DVD several times and have had this halter for a few months but he still does not walk with a loose leash. Unfortunately I can't give this product 5 paws because it really doesn't work for my dog. I have tried all of the tips and fitted it properly but he still pulls. I still give it a good rating because I can at least walk him with this because he's not able to pull as hard since I control his head. I read excellent reviews from others on here so don't let this one deter you. I think Link is just too stubborn or I need to search for another product I'm not sure... I would definitely still recommend this product though because it does enable me to walk him and without it there would be no way we could walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to stop problem behaviors

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Bartlett, Texas
I bought a Halti head colar for my GSD service dog because she was sniffing the floor constantly when we were going places and trying to go to everyone to check them out. Since getting the collar I have been able to correct these behaviors quickly. I have only had her a few weeks so she had to adjust to a lot of changes and this has made going out in public so much easier!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halti head harness

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
from montana
I have a one year old rescued St Bernard, who was horrable to walk. Choke chaines were not effective. After a hour using the head harness he was a different dog. Even my seven year old son can walk him. Taking him for walks are now enjoyable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this works!

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from cleveland
i rescued a five year old, overweight, VERY zealous lab. she was too much for me to walk as she pulled so hard. the very first time i used this...although she does periodically try to remove it...she walked beautifully!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>