petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars

The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars

Black Halti headcollars give you total control when walking your dogHalti stops pulling because if you guide a dog's head, the body will surely followSoft nylon fits comfortably around dog's face without restricting the mouth
Average Customer Rating:
4.337 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(92 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
80 out of 92(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Review 1 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best. Collar. Ever.

PostedDecember 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Houston, TX
I purchased this collar on the advice of the trainer in my local Petco, and couldn't be happier. Our two dogs took to the collar right away and within two walks they were following our lead around the block instead of leading us around the block.
We've used choke chains and training collars with prongs before and they still pulled hard against them. While they will both try to shake their way out of this collar when I first put it on, after a couple of minutes they settle down and I'm in control.
Keep their regular collar on the dog and attach the safety strap to it. If your dog does succeed in getting lose from the headcollar, the strap will keep you attached.
The Halti is the first collar I've used that successfully keeps my dogs from pulling, and that's making it easier to train them overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+40points
42of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

She was a hopeless cause.

PostedJanuary 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Superior, WI
I worked as a vet tech years ago when this poor abused 1 year old mixed breed was brought in. She was almost dead from being beaten. After a year of tender loving care we started to work on obedience. She is so well behaved except for leash training. She refused to obey, she nearly ripped our arms from the sockets. I was working on a military base at the time and after all my other resources were worn out I tried an MP dog trainer. The ones that train the military canines? He couldn't even break her of the habit. We believe she had been whipped or something to that effect with her collar and/or leash.
When Halti came out on the market I thought why not? It was a godsend! It works! She didn't like it at first but now she loves it. Our walks aren't battles anymore. They are peaceful and enjoyable. She is now 13 years old and spoiled rotten and living the good life.
Thank you!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+72points
76of 80voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halti headcollar

PostedNovember 13, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Barrow, Alaska
I purchased the Halti Headcollar on the advice of Lois, the lead teacher at puppy school in Flint,Michigan. I have a rather young, joyful black lab and did not want to break her spirit. The standard Nylon training color suggested by PETCO was not doing the job. Jade was excited to be around the other puppies and thought puppy school was "play time." I, too, was concerned about harming my Jade in anyway but after seeing Lois and her work together with the Halti, I am now a true believer. Jade knows it's business. When the Halti goes on, it's time to go to work. I now look forward to our walks together without her yanking on my arm and not being literally jerked off my feet (twice). There is nothing worse than a dog without dicipline or manors, and the only person to blame that on is me. Her training is coming along nicely. Thank you Halti for a pet friendly training aid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
42of 79voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Halti Headcollar

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Des Plaines, IL
I ordered the Halti because of past experience with one. The product has a great reputation for dealing with a dog that pulls on the leash. The instructions, however, leave a great deal to desire. They read like an abbreviated translation from some other language into limited English. Not good explanation of what to do with the "safety strap. Even the illustration doesn't answer the question. Still, it is the best head collar on the market!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easier said than done

PostedMay 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
This product takes time to introduce to a dog, please look online as to how to make this an easier adjustment. the instructions on the company's page are lacking. My 90lb pitbull walks well on this, but she took a lot of work and will still struggle. It will take me a long time to get her to walk in grass without wanting to rub her face or paw this off. You want to invest in some training treats and constantly get their attention to turn them around and treat them. sharp 'uh uh uh' and gently pull the leash up so they cannot drag their faces or paw at themselves. Recommending a quiet atmosphere where you have time to put it on and off their faces, eventually snap it, and short multiple walks to get them interested. they will learn to associate this as what they need to wear to walk eventually and the fighting will slow.
The other thing, is i specifically wanted this item for the safety feature that will clip to collar. Nothing worse than a loose dog that just had something on its face it didn't want and its now running loose cause it doesn't want to wear that again
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent headcollar

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Wisconsin
No more tugging and pulling and this means a really nice experience walking my dog. It is gentle on her and she does not mind it at all. she has always been a'puller' and is quite strong. I would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halti works like magic

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Winchester, CA
I am amazed at how well this collar works. My 3-year-old, 70-lb. golden retriever mix is a very sweet, highly energetic girl. For the last 18 months, our walks have not been very much fun for either of us. No technique I have tried has convinced her to stop pulling, and I have tripped over her and fallen down a number of times. I can't say that she likes the Halti much - she tries to rub it off - but she has NEVER pulled against it. Walking her is so easy now; I can keep her on a loose leash and she stays right beside me. For us, the Halti has worked like magic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
Works great, my dog does not pull anymore when we go on walks and this makes it much more enjoyable for the both of us
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Halti is the best

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ca
We like using this product for our dogs. It guides the dog gently and doesn't leave any nasty sores on the dog's snout as other brands have done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer Avatar
My 9 month old shepard (70 pounds) was able to free himself within the first 5 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great dog control

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from altoona,pa
I had trouble with my dog not watching me as we were walking and working it was suggested that I buy a halti to help control my dogs head to look at me. Boy what a different after one day with it on, much enjoyable walks and work outs he is now watching me without pulling on the halti. I wish I knew about useing one of these before. I highly recommend this if you have a dog that pulls while on walks or while training him
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for strong dogs

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Portland, OR
I got mine for my 75lb American Bulldog. She is all muscle and pulls incredibly hard if she gets excited. She used to make my shoulders ache. I got this for her and it completely kills the pulling.
I only trust this head collar because it is contoured, adjustable, and well padded on the snout. The padding was incredibly important to me for her safety (bulldogs are brachycephalic and I didn't want to obstruct her airway further). The price was also great and I've machine washed it without problem.
The only downside to this collar is that my girl HATES it, even after a year of using it. She used to run from me when she saw it, but after giving her tons of treats each time I put it on, she tolerates it. She still rubs her face on legs and sometimes crotches (Sorry man at Petco that got headbutted in the genitals by her...) to try and get it off.
Also, I will say that this collar has caused some issues in the way that perceive my girl. She is in the pit bull family and people tend to think it's a muzzle and are frightened by her. This collar does NOT prevent the dog from being able to bite/drink/eat.
All in all, I wholeheartedly recommend this to any dog owner.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great training aid

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Blackfoot, Idaho
This is the second halti head collar I've had; My first one I used for training my border collie / blue heeler mix.
Now I am useing one on my newest pup a mastiff or bully breed. Keeps the head : his mind focused on me and the task at hand. Thank you for such a tool that is easy on my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, wa
My 14 lb yorkie doesn't like it. She tries and can take it off, so i'm going to return for a smaller size. When she wasn't trying to get it off, it worked well. Just takes time for your dog to get used to it and trained, like anything else related to dogs. Seems like its good quality. Can't fault the product for the behavior of my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy it it works

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from East Branch, NY
I've used Halti's for years. I love the way they fit you just have to make sure to buy the right size for your pet's head (best option is to take your pet to the store for a fitting) I have a Beagle/Dachshund Mix who would choke herself pulling on her collar and this product helped cure that habit and a American Staffordshire who has a very muscular neck and can't feel a normal collar but is a dream to walk with a Halti. I'm a Halti fan for life and train other dogs and their people with them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love It

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Yamhill,OR
I love the Haltie head collar but I have a min pin and the size small is way to big for him so I had to go to gentle leader. I just wished the haltie would come in extra small I like the haltie better then the gentle leader.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Head Collar

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fairfax, VA
Easy to put on and easy to adjust. Good construction and softer/wider than others previously used.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Decatur, GA
My dog is a puller and her choke collar does not even phase her and she slips out of her harness. She also has a tendency to lunge, bark, and growl at other dogs on her walks. I am pleased to say that not only has this collar solved her pulling problem but it has also corrected the other bad behaviors. I am thinking about getting it for my small dog too. She does try and get it off but has been unsuccessful, but if she does get out of it this collar has a safety feature in that it can attach to a regular collar. That way if she slips out of it she's still not free. This has greatly improved my dog walking experience!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
This is a miracle product! My 8mth old lab is like a toddler and the minute the dog trainer at Petco put this on our lab she turned into a different dog! Well behaved, no jumping, and no pulling. It was and still is absolutely incredible. My 9yr old can now walk her without any problems! Life changing....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Company of Animals Halti Headcollars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs retainer clip

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
Used this type of headcollar for the first time and while it did make it easier to walk the dog, the lack of a retaining clip on the muzzle harness was an issue. Since there was no way to put less slack in the muzzle harness, my dog was able to get one of the straps in his mouth and chew through it. Took it back to Petco store and replaced it for another brand that did have the clip, it works great.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>