petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley

Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley

Easy-to-install trolley system for dogs under 85 lbs.Everything includedMade of vinyl-coated, galvanized steel aircraft cable--stronger than rope trolleysHeavy duty rust-resistant hardware
Average Customer Rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 out of 9(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Review 1 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trolley dog run

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Auburn, ME
It was easy to put up and the dogs are adjusting well to using it. This is new for them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poorly Made, Incomplete

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
I bought this, started to install it and then realized that the spring loaded bumper was missing a piece making it useless and impossible to mount to the hook. Went back to the store, exchanged it with no problem; the cashier was friendly. I installed the replacement and the second time my 50 lb dog used it, the cheap plastic pulley broke, allowing him to run loose. (This unit is rated for an 85 lb dog) Fortunately he came right back. I had to go the the hardware story to buy a stronger metal pulley. Now it seems to work fine after two days.
If they had better quality control and supplied a strong metal pulley, then my review would be higher.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

unsafe pulley, no clamps for stoppers

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
I like the concept and the design, but the pulley is cheap plastic and broke the second my 50 lb dog trotted to the end of the tie-out, not even at full speed. We had to chase him down as he was so excited about the new freedom - luckily there was no traffic. I replaced the pulley with a metal one from the hardware store.
I also had to buy two more clamps for the so-called "stoppers," otherwise the dog would promptly wrap the leash around the tree that the trolley line was tied to.
Due to these issues, I'm not sure if it wouldn't be cheaper and safer to buy the more sturdy materials at the hardware store and build it from the ground up.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk Trolley/Pulley

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Auburn, CA
My athletic Golden Retriever broke the junky plastic trolley/pulley wheel after a month of use. I replaced with a smaller 100% metal one from hardware store and it now works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not quite "everything included"

PostedApril 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
despite the listing, not everything is included. The "stops" are metal washers... the instructions state to place "a small metal clamp" behind the stop at the desired location. These clamps are not included, necessitating a special trip, and extra $. If everything were truly included, I'd have given this 5 paws.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid product

PostedJune 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
This trolley installed fairly easily once I pre-drilled for the hooks. My Golden hates being on it, but that is him, so I don't get to use it much. I was concerned that the pulley was plastic, not metal. It looks standard and is probably replaceable later.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great liberator

PostedApril 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
This was easy to install and gave the dog 100' of freedom and I don't have to worry about him getting hung up on something.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

run line - works well

PostedJanuary 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Kittanning, PA
This is the only run line that we could find that was over 50' long, we needed 80'. Easy to install. Trolly rolls smooth. Have had for about 2 weeks. We have a 68# lab puppy and she pulls and tugs on it and it looks sturdy.
I would recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Dog Tie-Out Trolley
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not rust resistant...

PostedAugust 31, 2007
Customer Avatar
I purchased the 100', up to 85 lbs, trolley system from my local Petco. I set it up from tree to tree, and it has worked nicely. My husky mix (32 lbs) and black lab mix (50 lbs) can run on it fine (seperately, of course). The only thing that I wasn't satisfied with is that, even though it states that it's rust resistant, it's NOT. After putting it up, within' 2 days, it was already starting to rust. I bought it maybe, a couple of months ago, and it's now so rusted that when I tried opening the clip today, it wouldn't budge. It took two hands and a lot of strength to open the clip. I don't know what I would use as a line to hook the dog to it later on, as I know, soon the clip and the metal part of the trolley wheel will be so rusted that I can't use it anymore. I hope I can find another way to hook a lead to the main trolley line (I've already tried hooking a normal clip directly on the line and to my dog's collar, and it wouldn't slide), otherwise I won't be able to use it at all anymore, in which case, I would NEVER recommend it or buy it again, since it would have to be replaced (by buying a whole new one) every couple of months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.