petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for North States Pet Yard XT

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

North States Pet Yard XT

Foldable dog pens feature an expandable panel system that allows you to effortlessly change the size and shape of the play areaThe durable, versatile, and convenient foldable dog pen system includes a carrying strap
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 81 reviews
5 stars
51
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
5
70 out of 81(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for North States Pet Yard XT
Review 1 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gates--best price, quality and purpose

PostedFebruary 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I purchased these pet gates when my dog had knee surgery. The surgeon said she had to be confined in a space about 6 feet by 6 feet for 4 weeks so that she didn't run through the house or run to the front door and re-injure her leg. These gates were perfect. They come apart easily and fold up easily for transport too. Plus, they are plastic and not medal, so they look better in the house and don't look like a cage. My dog could see through them well too so that she didn't feel completely isolated.
Great purchase, best price and perfect for what I needed.
--Katy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little fence and useful for lots of things

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from CA
This is my second buy of this model. Bought this one to keep two puppies away from my husband who had a medical device attached to his body that we did not want the puppies disturbing. Fenced my husband in so the puppies stayed out and yet he could socialize with them over the fence. Wonderful product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Pet Yard...

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cranston, RI
We purchased this for our new Chihuahua Puppy at 4 months old, because he was stressing out in a conventional crate. This allowed him to stay safe and also was a great way to house train him. When we first started using it; we used all six panels, then eventually we made it smaller and now he is completely house trained and we only use 4 panels which is like using a traditional crate, he is able to have his bed in there, and still have some room to move without being so confined. The only thing that was difficult when using it to train him, was he would sometimes have an accident and wee wee on the side of the play yard, but it is easy to take apart and wash it with soap and water and snap it back together. It is very durable and sits well on any surface, floors, carpets. If anyone is looking for a great way to keep your puppy or adult dog safe this play yard is a great investment. We can't wait to use it outside this summer to keep him safe but outdoors with us!!! Go get yourself one you won't be dissapointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yorkie Play/Safe area

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ocean View DE
Brought home a new puppy and this gives him the perfect amount of "safe' space. Very satisfied with the product and would highly recommend for smaller dogs and puppies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ITS PERFECT!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from bedford, ma
I have been using this style "pet yard" for my dogs for years and years....It can double as a baby play yard...my two dogs sleep in this together. I can't believe SO many people have a problem with there being no gate! I just lift it up at one end (its in a rectangular shape) and my dogs go in...or out... REALLY easy!!!!!!!!! Can't see the problem!
I buy two pet cushions, but I wish SOMEBODY would make a 30 by 60 pet bed with a zip off cover...to fit the inside dimensions of this pen...I think they would make a fortune! ALL of my friends use this type of "crate" for their dogs...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
I needed to restrain my 7 year old mix breed after knee surgery. He had always roamed the house freely and slept where he wanted. This worked Perfectly. We ended up using four sections to make a square and the other 2 sections as barriers. The one with the tie on it was used on the bottom stair - the tie attached to the rail. Local store gave us the web price, too! WE needed it quickly! This was an answer to prayer for us.!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice but poor quality

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from chicago, il
This fence worked, but after daily use for two months, one of the panels broke. Now I can not close the pet yard.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sturdy enough, but not easy to use

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Connecticut
We bought this after attending our first puppy training class. They say to keep their world "small". It is very sturdy and works great when you can lift the puppy in and out. However, the "gate" is VERY dificult to open and VERY difficult to close. Any panel can be used as the gate, but we found them ALL very difficult to maneuver. Since we each had our hands and fingers pinched several times wrestling with the "gate", we ended up lifting the entire pen at one end to allow her to walk in and out when we wanted to take her outside several times a day.
Once she hit about 3 months old, she was jumping over the edges, rendering it useless. If I had it to do over again, I would have purchased a pen with a designated (easy to open) gate... and TALLER.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Puppy Jumped Over It on First Use

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
Loved the idea of an indoor yard. Thought it would be better than a crate. Purchased on-line and recieved in three days. Yard was great. Easy set-up. Sturdy. Very nice. Fixed it up with a piddle pad area, bed, and toys. Put new four month old puppy in it (Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, almost 8 lbs.). Left for work. My teenage son awoke to the pup outside his bedroom door. He thought I had left her free-roaming. He put her in the play yard ("penthouse" as my 10 year old daughter called it) and watched as she jumped, landed on the top, fell back, backed up a bit, jumped again, landed on the top and scooted right over. I returned it to the local Petco that night with absolutely no in-store problems. If your dog is not a jumper, this is a lovely penthouse/play yard. If she is, figure something else out. Kudos to Petco for their return policy; pleasure to do business with them!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for small dogs

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rialto, CA
I bought this to use when camping. This pet yard is good, as is, for small dogs. My dog is a medium size dog (40-50 lbs), so I needed to also purchase the extra 2-side pet yard extension kit. I now have rescued a second dog, small, so I purchase a second 2-side extension kit to insure they both had room. Very easy to set up and clean.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wouldn't buy it again.

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from East Quogue, New York
-Slides around the floor, I have household objects keeping it in place.
-The walls grab onto all the dog hair and any other mess the puppies might make and it all gets caked in - requires a lot of maintenance to keep it clean.
- Doesn't do much in the way of keeping the dogs in place, my five month old pug can climb right out of it, or push it right across the room.
- Hard to assemble, puts me into a sweat every time.
-Wouldn't buy it again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

flexible convenience!

PostedMay 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Asbury, NJ
The playyard is lightweight and practically no assembly. I love that you can adjust it's shape. We have our's partly under a kitchen island overhang and shaped it so we could walk between it and furniture comfortably and our new pup can see around both sides of the island. His crate and bowls are in it and there's still plenty of room for an 11 pound pup. I had gated the whole kitchen off but he liked chewing on the kitchen table and chair legs, so this yard is perfect for when I can't be there every moment to keep an eye on him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Could work a little better

PostedApril 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
I recently purchased this pet yard on line. It came really quickly and shipping was free. The best thing was that if I didn't like it I could return it to a local Petco. I liked that it was sturdy and you could keep it from moving around but I didn't like the way it opened and closed. It was kind of a pain. I returned it, which was an easy process, and ended up ordering one with a little door. I hope I will like that one better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I bought this pen for my Toy Poodle because I work all day and didnt want to confine him to his crate. This is amazing!!! He has room to run around, nap and still see the family while in the pen. Its very easy to set up and has really helped us with keeping an eye on our 1 1/2 pound pup while at home!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Jersey Shore
This is the best.,,'I have a little Yorkie and
this product is so much help to put her in
her while I am in a different part of the house.
Its large enough for her to play with her toys..
IT will be great this summer for when we are on
the deck ... she will be put in this pet yard.
My puppy is a runner and this will keep her from
taking off...
LOVE this product...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, good purchase

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
The pen is very durable, looks nice, and folds up easy. I thought it was a bit overpriced, as it is just a hard plastic pen, but overall, it was a good purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought this pet yard for my new pug puppy to confine her to the kitchen during the day while she is being crate trained (I did not want to keep her in the crate 24/7 because I work). It is easy to set up and is extremely sturdy and it can be configured in a hexagon shape or rectangle (which fits my kitchen better). I also love the fact that it is made in the USA.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Studio City, CA
I use this to divide a room so my puppies can only access part of it. It works well, they can't chew through it or jump over it. It's versatile and I would recommend it. I have two very active maltese puppies and they like the extra play area this gives them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
Purchased for 10 week old yorkiepoo for outdoors at night so he would be contained and I could see him (he is all black). Using for potty training outdoors...nighttime. Love it. Portable and light weight. Sturdy...pup does not tip it even while fence sits in uneven grass. Purchased in store for $104 even though cheaper online. In store does not honor their online prices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for North States Pet Yard XT
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Tn
This is the third pet yard I have purchased. With 3 of them I can make is the area as large or small as I need. As a breeder of small dogs, these are great to keep the puppies safe, inside of the house and outside. They snap together easily, can be arranged in the shape and size you need. They are easily to clean with a hose and have no sharp edges. The Puppies can not damage them and they are easy to take apart and store flat when not using. Light in weight, but not at all flimsy. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>