petco.com Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At petco.com

Customer Reviews for North States Pet Gate 5

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at petco.com.

North States Pet Gate 5

North States Pet Gate 5 fits openings from 22" to 62" and is an extra-tall 31" highGate is easy to clean and has rounded edgesEasy one hand operationSwings out of way when not in useAll hardware and brackets included for easy mounting
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for North States Pet Gate 5
Review 1 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bulky

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Mt. Vernon, NY
This gate was very bulky, even when it was fully extended. It did not slide to adjust easily. Everything that came with this gate, barring screws, were plastic and therefore not of great quality. Not worth the price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT HAPPY

PostedApril 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Newport Beach
Bought this to go out side and when i got it i was like okay how will i make this work? so after i put it up my puppy climbs right over it. He is a male Flat coat retriever so he is pretty big. I might do well inside but there is a lot of screw to damage the wall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

JeanneB

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
This is the only gate my collie can't get through! I own two of them!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oh so easy

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Wow - I am loving this. I did buy some wall anchors though to make sure by bad 4 dogs cant push this gate down. It was really easy to set up and I am NOT Ms Fix it. Seems like it will be a relief to me - my dogs are home alone all day and chew stuff up so now I dont have to lock in the backyard during this cold weather season.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gate

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Great gate. This gate keeps my two chocolate labs and one fiesty dachsund under control when my husband and I are on an outing. The gate is sturdy and tall enough that my labs don't even attempt to jump over it. It is an added bonus that the gate can be attached to the wall and swivel back up against the wall out of the way. It is a handy gate. Easy to install too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedNovember 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
I ordered this gate to keep my cockapoo and my mini dashund out of my living room. I have a 52" opening and couldn't find anything to fit it. I ordered this gate and have been very happy with it. It is very nicely made and is tall enough to keep these two dogs out. I would highly recommend this to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good gate

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Mckees Rocks, Pa
The gate is very secure and our yorkipoo can not jump this gate. It sits 31 inches tall and sturdy. I'm glad I purchase this gate. I would recommend to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate...

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
from York, PA
I purchased this gate because I have a large opening into my living room. This one fit the bill. It extends easily, with sliding sections. The wall mounts are fairly easy, you only need one Phillips head screw driver. My one negative comment THE INSTRUCTIONS ARE BAD. Attach the wall mounts to the gate and then mark the wall or doorway accordingly. The gate folds back against the wall and can be flipped to fold either way, nice feature.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS!

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Little Rock, AR
We were looking for something to gate off our kitchen with, but were having no luck since our opening from the bar to the wall was more than 30". I found this product online, but needed it that day. I luckily called around to a few PetCo's in our area and found 1 in stock. It was more expensive in the store by like $30, but needed it regardless. So glad we purchased this! My fiesty minature schnauzer and this gate work well together. I was not wanting to crate her, so now she has the whole kitchen and hallway to run and play in while we are gone.
We've had this product for 9+months:
Pro's are it's taller than any other gate I've found; can install either on the left or right; gate slides together as the length of one panel and easily rotates 90degrees to stand flat agains the wall, out of the way; heavy duty so it withstands those puppy teeth!
The only con I can think of are the fact that we had to drill screws into our wall. We missed the studs and had to redrill, so now we have unsightly (tiny) holes in the wall. I didn't know we had to drill when we purchased it.
Overall, EXCELLENT BUY and we couldn't live without this product!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just keep in mind.

PostedJanuary 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Was a little difficult to install, because I have a small puppy who can fit under the gate, so I had to go over my baseboard, which causes the gate to latch, on the difficult side.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Victor, NY
From the image shown on the internet, we had thought the pet gate was white in color however when it arrived it was a light gray. Not a big deal but there was no mention of the color in the description. The gate is working well, but would have matched our white trim better had if it been white.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very durable awesome gate!

PostedJuly 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
.
I strongly recommend this gate! We have a doorway that is 72" wide. We bought an extra gate and added it to the first one to make it fit. It is very durable. Well worth the money! This gate has been able to contain our two rotties, that weigh over 100lbs each. They tend to jump up on the gate and have broken the gate hardware. The manufacturer replaced the hardware at no charge. They stand behind their product and we do too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Gate!!!

PostedJune 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
This gate is wonderful for those extra wide door openings!!! My first gate I had to return since my doorway was too wide for it. This one worked perfectly with room to spare!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedMarch 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Virginia Beach, VA
We bought this for our chihuahua puppy to have her own little special area in out apartment. It is Great! It is easy to slide back and forth and lock and unlock. I would defintely recommend this gate to anyone with a wide opening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just what I needed

PostedMarch 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
I bought two of these gates to keep a new puppy in my kitchen while I'm at work. I have two large irregular shaped doorways, and these gates worked perfectly. They have saved my carpet! Plus the installation was very simple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

North States gate

PostedAugust 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Purchase several gates from Petco for my new home. I wanted to buy a product that was pet speific and would last I did not want a wooden/cheap gate. I am very happy with all of the gates that I purchased from Petco.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Gate

PostedApril 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
I installed this gate in my 60 inch opening. The installation took less than 20 minutes to install and works great. I already had a smaller type gate blocking the steps, that my two dogs are afraid of, so I don't think I'll have to worry about them trying to get out. The Pet Gate 5, is very sturdy when spanning the 60 inch opening. The locking mechanism works like a charm. One of the best features is that you can take the entire gate down, minus the wall hardware and store it when not in use. Trim the baseboard to ensure, the best flush fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bomber construction

PostedSeptember 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Fort Collins, CO
We've had one of these gates for some 5 years. Our schipperkes have 'obeyed' this thing most of that time (our springloaded Teddy scaled the thing in his terrible twos but as a 'stately' and very so slightly overweight 7 years old... just waits for us to open the thing.
The gate currently guards our front porch and gets a LOT of use. It shows no sign of failing.
PS: our pets don't really "like" the gate, I'm sure they'd give it a "1" and running free a "5" but they can't type...
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

gate

PostedSeptember 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Springfield, Tennessee
The height of this gate was why I bought it for our rabbit because shes a very good jumper. However since its made out of plastic, I wouldn't order this gate for a medium-large sized dog, if I'd ordered this for MY dogs I know it wouldn't of survived a day. It is exceptionally shorter width than I was planning so I will have to find something else to block the rest of the area. Other than those issues, it does make a great gate for a little rabbit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for North States Pet Gate 5
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

dissatisfied customer

PostedAugust 13, 2006
Customer Avatar
from wheeling, wv
Installation was more difficult due to hardware running the entire height of the gate. Existing baseboard must be removed and retro-fitted to allow for proper installation. After tearing up my walls to install I found the gate extremely difficult to open and close. The gate also has too much give in the middle where the dogs tend to jump. I wish it were possible to find gates which reflected the quality of the homes they were to be installed in. Would not recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>