petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges

Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges

Real wood, bark and all, smoothly hollowed on the inside, to create hiding places and refuges for reptiles and small animalsTotally pet safeIn a variety of sizesMade in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
53 out of 57(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Review 1 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Leo loves it!!!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
fancyherps
from St. Louis MO
I bought one of these for my male leopard gecko because his other log was too small. As soon and I put it on the cool side, my gecko came to check it out. The best part is when my gecko was in deep shed and he couldn't get some off of his side. So he came over to this hide and rubbed all over the side of the log and the bark helped remove some of the shed!
This log is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mac's Critter Refuge

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Craniguy
from Florida
Great natural wood "Hideout" for your tortoise or small animal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hideout for Cresties!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
cresties91
I bought one of these for my roommate's Crested Gecko and a week later got one for my Crestie, too! They really love it and I love that it looks so natural in the terrarium. It's easy to keep an eye on them while they're hiding since it is open on both sides. It's also super easy to pick up if you need to get them out. The Cresties love to hide both inside of it and often will sleep on top of it as well. A great find at a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My beaerdie loves this hut

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beardie12
from Los Angeles, CA
I purchased this hut online and got an additional 20% off. It was my first time to take care of a bearded dragon so basically I just followed the list of things needed when I got all the accessories for the terrarium. My beardie likes this hut a lot especially during night time. He likes to sleep on it. You should get this item. Your beardie will really like it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Box Turtle Loves It!

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaurenF
from Mundelein, IL
This is large enough for our 3-toed box turtle (full grown) after we scooped out the dirt about 1/2 inch under the middle of it in his enclosure. I suppose you could put it on something to make it 1/2 inch taller (mound of woodchips? Rock?) instead of scooping out dirt as well. But, now that he fits comfortably, he uses it daily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for reptiles!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
RotNDog
This product is not just for reptiles! I give these log hideaways to my hedgehog and they are awesome. Not only is it a hiding spot, but it also can be used as a ramp that helps to file down my hedgie's nails each time he uses it, plus the natural grooves are the PERFECT places to hide mealworms for enrichment purposes, as my hedgehog has to dig and chew a little to reach them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

More problems than it solves

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vivika
from IL
While my baby corn snake loves hiding under this, it's definitely caused more headaches for me than it has solved.
To start with, as another user pointed out, this thing flakes off bits of wood *constantly.* Makes for a mess every time I need to move it at all. Also, it's made of wood - very absorbent, if you know what I'm getting at. My snake has taken the habit of pooping on or near it, and it's nigh on impossible to clean off.
So even though the snake likes using it as a hide, I think I'm going to go with something less porous.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ball python loves it

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
acidbluerose
from niles, mi
my baby ball python loves this and it helps when he sheds.....i got this as a temp and just kept it i will b getting him the cave hide soon tho
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but....

PostedMay 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fishwuver11111
from Conifer, CO
Good, buetiful hide but it ALWAYS sheds! Rub it with your hand and most of the stuff comes off, but still flakes once and then.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hiding Place

PostedApril 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
FrogFanatic
from Gimmelshtump, Druzelstien
My Frog, Frogger, loves to hide in this all day and come out at night. I would reccomend to any reptile and/or amphibian owner!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Log For Lizards

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
lookUP
from Portsmouth, NH
My two Leopard Geckos love this log! In their cage there is a rock hideout and this log and this log seems to get a lot more attention. Nice and sturdy, the bark sheds here and there but the pieces give the cage some more realistic features. Does the job well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

:\

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Fleabuskitty
I got this for my 3 month old Bearded Dragon, Tobi. She likes to climb on it and hide in it sometimes, but the bark flakes off and gets all over the cage. It doesn't effect anything or bother her, but it detracts from the looks of the cage and, because I'm somewhat a perfectionist, I get frustrated by it. Other than that, though, it's pretty good, so I'm giving it three stars.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my beardie loves it

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
shortysmom
from Roseville, MI
My bearded dragon loves it. He likes to climb on it or hid his face under it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Peopletookallmynicknames
from Hacienda Heights, CA
I bought this for my corn and he didn't go in right away but now he spends his resting time in there. I can tell he likes it because it feels protected.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best purchase ever

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
debob
I have a bearded dragon and it crawls on it most of the day.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

multipurpose

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
shralper
from Torrance, CA
great hide for my snakes, which use these to shed as well as sleep
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Snakes

PostedJanuary 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Acevedo
from Portland, Oregon
I have a Ball Python and she loves to hide inside of this half the day(: I would say to get it, but get more things too, like a half coconut. But yeah, great for Ball pythons and Cornsnakes especially(:
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
BPluver09
I have a one year old ball python and a fat tail gecko and they absolutely love this! It has a rough suface for easy climbing and shedding. It gives you a great natural look, plus you can easily view your animals if it is against the side of a glass cage. A wonderful, inexpensive way to give your animals security as well as making the cage look great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural feel, look, and herps love it!

PostedNovember 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
MistressWidow
from Wellington, KS
I have two of these, one for my tarantula and one for my Leopard Geckos. The geckos use it to bask upon and to hide in (and when pushed against the glass you can observe them even while hiding) and my tarantula climbs all over it all the time, and has used it to help her molt. It looks natural, it feels natural, and my herps use it quite a bit. And when it becomes soiled or dirty you can just bake it and it's good as new.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mac's Creatures & Critters Pet Refuges
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cant get my beardie off of it!

PostedNovember 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pence23
as soon as i put this in my bearded dragons cage, he darted straight for it. it looks very nice and gives your reptile a rougher surface to help shed and climb on. one of the best products i have ever bought
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>