petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals

Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals

Ventilated enclosures constructed of durable, easy to clean plasticComfortable temporary homes for a variety of small animalsSelf-locking lids with hinged view/feeding windowsBPA free
Average Customer Rating:
4.434 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
48 out of 53(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Review 1 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful !!!!!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Perryville,Mo
My hamster will love it. its not as big as it looks but still works. you will have to use a bowl instead of a water bottle for their water because it has no place for a bottle. Very cheap compared to the other carriers. great for travel but not long term. I gave it 4 stars because of the water bottle deal but otherwise I love it !!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Choose it wisely!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
I bought one for a temporary holding space for my hedgehog, and it was much too small. (meduim size, I think...) Always carefully consider space including any little toys and things before buying. Very good otherwise, no issues. Perfect for cleaning time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small size good for short stay

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Nebraska
This worked very well for bringing my mouse home from PETCO, and for short stays while cleaning his main house.
The small size is much too small for longer times, even for an animail as small as a mouse, and doesn't have a water bottle, but for short stays it works well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Carrier

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA
I have 3 mice and used this carrier to take them home for the store and for them to play in during cage cleaning. The opening from the top is handy for putting them in and there is enough space for them to have some toys to keep them busy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Tank For Multiple Purposes!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, Texas
I've housed many pets in tanks like this of all sizes for many different purposes!
I highly recommend one of these for hermit crabs! My crabs use to love it! It was great for them!
I have also used them as aquariums for beta and other fish. They work nicely as long as you have a small filter and/or air pump that won't take up too much room.
Also! They are good temporary homes/carriers for small animals! I usually buy one when I adopt a new ham ham so I can get him/her home safely. When I bought my first hamster she chewed through the cardboard box the pet store put her in and I was so scared I was going to loose her in the car. I also use them to house my ham hams in when it comes time to clean their cage. The only thing about using them for small animals such as hamsters, gerbils, mice, ect., is that they have teeth, and will very quickly chew through the top of the tank! So don't leave them in one too long unless there is no way they can reach the top. For that reason, I wouldn't recommend one as actual housing for a small animal, but they work great for temporary holding areas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good TEMPORARY tank .

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
I bought two of these to TEMPORARILY house my new female bettas. I am quarantining them to ensure they are free of illness and disease before putting them together in my 10 gallon heated tank as a sorority.
NOTE that keeping a fish in this, it will need about a 75% water change every other day. Ammonia builds up fast in small containers, especially with the mini and small size.
I RECCOMEND this as a temporary housing.
I do not RECCOMEND this as a permanent home for a fish.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
from TopSecret
Although I got a size that was maybe a little too small, my hamster doesn't object too much. I place her in it (with old bedding) when I clean her cage, and she usually just goes to sleep.
You have to make sure that you don't leave your hamster in this for too long because it doesn't have a water bottle.
I would definitely recommend this if you don't have somewhere to put your hamster when you clean its cage, however, I would not recommend this for traveling.
♫ SpyHammie ♫
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for travel or isolating a sick gerbil!

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
This is a nice little cage for transporting our gerbils. I also used it to isolate one of our gerbils when she was sick. The lid snaps on securely, and the little door isn't too difficult to open. The only problem I've encountered is trying to find the right size water bottle to put in it (it hadn't occurred to me that our regular/large one wouldn't fit), but that was my fault for not thinking ahead!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWSOME SNAIL TANK

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
from new york
MY SNAIL FREDO LOVES THIS HE HAS ROOM TO PLAY EAT AND REST AND I CAN TAKE HIM WITHE ME WHERE EVER I GO ITS SO FUN AND FREDO LOVES IT GOT THE LARGE ONE AT PETCO FOR 3 DOLLARS AND USED FORREST BEDDING OR COCONUT FIBER AND DISHES FOR FOOD AND A SHEEL TO HIDE IN GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Iowa
I bought the large one of these and even though the lid tab is partially broken now it still works great. This isn't really meant as a long term home for a rodent but works great for a hermit crab. I used this as a transporter for my hamster and now as a home for my crab because it keeps the warmth and moisture better then the crab home I originally bought. The lid stays on very well and has a secure fasten. If you buy this, make sure you test these features out in the store with some weight in the cage to make sure you have a secure lid.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

My hamster can easily escape from this.

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from USA
I recently placed my hamster in this with the lid shut tight and placed the container on my desk while I was cleaning out her terrarium. When I came back in the room a minute later, she was standing next to the container on my desk. She had managed to pop open the clear plastic part and slip out. This might be alright for other animals but I just wouldn't use it with a hamster or other rodent unsupervised.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Its Purpose Very Well

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Washington DC
I bought this cage for my pet mice, and I felt like it was a great buy. Unlike many other techy keepers, this one was very simple and easy to clean. I think that it would be ideal for a childs first pet. The product also holds up well and doesnt get chewed up. This is the perfect choice if you are in need of a nice easy cage for your pet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

contrary to other opinions

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
i have only used this item a few times but have NOT had the lid come off as others have said and i did carry it by the handle.
In fact, i have had a hard time opening it which is the only reason i gave it 4 stars instead of 5. i am glad i did not go by the reviews and purchased it anyway. i needed something for this purpose and really saw nothing else.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
It is a over well a great product! But, there is one flaw that I have noticed, The lid pops off it you are carrying it by the handles. Not all of the time, but most of the time it does, so when holding it, HOLD IT BY THE SIDES! You don't want any of your pets scurrying loose around your house!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome deal

PostedMay 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Great deal for the price, I bought the large cricket keeper a few years ago to house crickets for my beardies. Happen to find this product ONLINE FOR HALF THE PRICE AND LARGER. Great for when I buy large qty of food for my beardies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
I bought a large Kritter Keeper for a temporary home for my fiddler crab. It is great for the price and I think it will last a long time. The only thing I don't like about it is the lid doesn't stay on very well because the latches on my lid were bent a little, but overall it it is a good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

what it says on the tin

PostedFebruary 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
these are great for keeping small animals in temporarily, emphasis on the temporary part. my hamster was small enough when i first got him that he fit between the metal bar of his proper cage, so i kept him in one of these for a month or so. eventually he was able to chew through the vented section at the top of the cage, but by then he was large enough to go back in the metal cage. this is not a forever home, and if you have a truly determined pet they might escape in only a week, but this is great for moving or travelling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from TN
This carrier is very convinyent, many animals can be put in there, like baby snapping turtles, frogs, mice, and snakes!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Temporary cage.

PostedSeptember 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I put my dwarf hamsters in this when I am cleaning their cages. I really like the quality overall. I ordered it online and had it shipped via ups, it arrived safe and sound due to great packaging which prevented any damage. In a fix you could use this as a home or hospice for a sick hamster, gerbil, other small rodent or reptile
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petco Pet Keeper for Small Animals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Betta Tank

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
This tank is great! There are many different sizes so it makes it great for any size of fish. The lids come in alot of different colors. I got the green lid and I love it. You can't beat the price. There is a little lid on the top of the lid (i know that's cinfusing) that you can open to feed your fish so you don't have to open the big lid everyday to feed them. I would highly reccomend these.
Large-about 3.5 or 4 gallons
Medium-about 2.5 gallons
Small-1.5 or 2 gallons
I am not sure the exact amounts for these but I know this is close to the real sizes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>