petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Gamma Vittles Vault

Gamma Vittles Vault

The first complete storage system for dry pet foodsWith a spin of the lid, Vittles Vault dog food storage bins lock in freshness and flavor and lock out pestsAirtight dog food storage containers made of food-grade high-impact plasticAttractive granite stone colorIncludes measuring cup
Average Customer Rating:
4.861 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
63 out of 65(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Gamma Vittles Vault
Review 1 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vittles Vault Pet Food Container

PostedMay 18, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dog Lover
from Lewisville, TX
The Vittles Vault is by far the best product for keeping my pet's food fresh. It is sturdy and maintains its balance when filling it-which is a great help when you are holding a large, unwieldy bag of pet food. The 50 pound container easily holds most large bags of dog food. It stops bugs from getting into your pet's food and keeps the food fresh longer. The shape of the container is also good (square and space-saving). My dog gets excited when she hears me close the air-tight spinner lid-it means dinner time for her!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Vittle Vault is Great

PostedJanuary 25, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathleen M.
from Orlando Florida USA
The Vittle Vault is the best product I purchased in all of 2005. The dry dog food I buy has some moisture in it and it would dry out when left in the bag. I had been trying lots of things to keep it from drying out. I tried storage bins but they are not air tight. I tried putting press and seal plastic wrap on the storage bins. Nothing worked. I finally found the Vittle Vault and I am thrilled with it. After telling a neighbor, she bought one too because she keeps her dry dog food on her screened porch and the ants would get in it. She says, no more ants. (I keep my dry dog food in the kitchen.) I bought the 30 lb size and it easily holds my 20 lb bag of dog food when it's still a quarter full. I really like pouring the whole bag in at once and throwing the big bag away. This is a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purfect fit!

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
MardiGrasKat
from New Orleans
I got the vittles vault so I could mix the 3 brands of cat food I use at the time I buy the big bags (15lbs each) and keep things tidy in my pantry. It doesn't completely hold all 3 bags, but that's what my "overflow" rolling container is for. :)
It is made of FDA approved HDPE which is BPA free and used in the "human" food industry. It is 14x14x20 and fits nicely in the back of the pantry. FYI: It does have a funky smell when you first get it, THAT'S NORMAL, just rinse it out and let it air dry for a day BEFORE you put food in it. NOT suitable for the dishwasher.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jager67
from Chino Hills, CA
During warms days, we often got an invasion of ants that attacked our dog food. I purchase the Gamma Vittles Vault about a month ago and end of problem! I should of bought one a long time ago.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vittle Vaults are a great investment!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
AmyS88
from Overland Park, KS
This is my 2nd Vittle Vault purchase. I adopted a 2nd dog that is on a different food than the 1st dog. It is air-tight to keep insects & curious dogs from getting an unauthorized snack. It is definitely worth the money!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
BiletChick
from Bishop, CA
This is our second Vittles Vault. We got our first one about 6 years ago and it's still in perfect shape. We gave it to our neighbor after we lost our 13 year old boxer in 2011. When we decided that it was time for another dog, we ended up with two Yellow Lab puppies, our neighbor offered up a few items to help us out (like a crate to transport them home). But he immediately said, "You know that food container that you gave me? I'm not giving that back! I like that thing!!!" So we bought another one and it works just as good as our first one. The large capacity is perfect for mixing 2 - 30lb bags of puppy food! Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very useful

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doormouse
from Key West, FL
A perfect way to secure and store those large bags of dog food. Pour the dry kibble into the container, seal, and put out of sight. Takes up little room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Food Container

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rberganio75
from El Monte CA.
I got this container on sale. It is strong and durable. Worth the money. Recommended it to keep your dog food fresh.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gammavitltes vault--mmade well--keesps mice out

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from new york, ny
holds a full 50lbs, sturdy, easy to unsrew at the top, well made, keeps doggie food and kitty-cat food sterile and vermin free and fresh. we like this very much and with the 20 percent discount worth every penny sold for much more elsewhere. not available in stores though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
SRyRM
from San Jose, CA
Happy to have this container, keep the dog food fresh and save.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my needs

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
DoubleTap
from Florida
Works grreat for my food storage needs. Air tight, easy to open and large opening.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible & Practical Container

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
DobiePinschermom
from West Seattle, WA
This bin was the best purchase. Not only is it large enough to hold the largest dog food bags but it is easy to access with one hand in twisting off the lid and scooping the food into the dish. It makes it easy, practical and keeps the food dry and fresh. I am considering buying a smaller one just for treats.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

pest free

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
jojo661538
from Canoga Park, CA
if you have any kind of pest or if your dog has a habit of ripping open the dog food bag this is a great item to keep them out of the dog food.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
RissysPets
from San Antonio, TX
I bought this when I moved into my apartment after a bug infestation.. And no more bugs!!! I'm so glad and it keeps the food fresh smelling like I just opened the bag! I'm glad I bought this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I wanted

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
tg7733
from Frisco, TX
This container is fantastic. The lid spins on and off very easily but creates a definite airtight seal. Right now we keep it in our garage, and I have no worries about bugs getting into it. The material is very durable which keeps our dog out of it as well. We usually buy a 30lb bag of dog food, so I wasn't sure if this would be too big. But I think it's a good size. The 50lb container size allows for some extra room. And we might actually leave the food in the bag next time and place the bag directly in the container, as I have read this keeps the food slightly fresher. The 50lb container has plenty of room to do this. Highly recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly.

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
SandyBailey
from Whittier, CA
Purchased this to store my dog's food. Read reviews on the size smaller than this and was worried a 33 lb. bag wouldn't fit, so I got the largest size. Food fits, no bugs and keeps it fresh!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gamma Vittles Valt

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
BoxersandUs
from Wenham, Ma
This is my second purchase of this food storage container, I moved my first container to our Florida home, Despite the many bugs in my garage where I keep the container, no bugs and the food stays fresh despite the humidity.
I had to replace the container for our Northern home. Could not be without it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gamma Vittles Vault

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
silversides
from Northern N.J.
By ordering on line, I didn't realize how large the item is. I returned it to my local store for the smaller version.
Beyond that, it is a marvelous item. The wide opening makes it easy to remove the food and the include scoop is the perfect accessory.
This is a rugged well made container.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Storage!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
SemperFiFarm42
from New Britain, CT
These are the best for pet food storage. Keeps food fresh and store out of the wat easy! Just Perfect!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gamma Vittles Vault
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT leak proof, NOT airtight

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Echota
from Missouri
It is a sturdy container but it is absolutely NOT airtight and/or leak proof. There are two notches on the inside of the lid (next to the rubber seal) which allow liquids out and hence air and bugs in. I have no idea why this is designed this way. I have an older container by this same company that does not have these notches on the inside of the lid (just a flush rubber seal) and it was leak/air proof until the rubber seal finally wore out. If you want this container to keep your pets out of the food, then it will work great. If you expect to store food in it for any period of time without it becoming stale, or if you need to keep pests out (i.e.: ants, weebles, etc.), then this container will fail miserably for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>