petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sticky Paws

Sticky Paws

Stops cats from destroying furniture and helps control inappropriate eliminationSafe for furniture, countertops, stereo speakers, drapes, carpets and moreTransparent strips are made of medical grade adhesive and are odor freeEasy to apply, simply pull off a strip from the brown backing sheet, apply then peel off the white "crack-n-peel" to expose the surface
Average Customer Rating:
3.704 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
21 out of 27(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sticky Paws
Review 1 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky Paws For Furniture

PostedDecember 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
ouachitagurrl
from Louisiana
I recently purchased this product and I've had a lot of success with it. I do wish that the strips were wider. I have to use two strips to cover each chair corner/edge, so wider strips would be wonderful. They do lose their sticky, so you have to keep them replaced, but all in all, it's less expensive than replacing the recliners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

STICKY!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Spazzz
from Buffalo, NY
Of course it works, it works for a little while, but then the cat just finds other places to scratch! What're you going to do, tape your entire couch?? "Uhh, honey, my butt's stuck to the couch!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works, but doesn't look great

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
CatLadyLia
from CA
It works, the cats didn't enjoy touching it, but it it not very clear so your furniture won't look great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats LOVE this stuff

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Trekincat
from Sacramento, Ca
My cats were clawing the heck out of my leather furniture, sure they liked their cat tree and other scratching posts, BUT for some reason they decided my leather furniture was their favorite scratching item.
I bought 4 packs of this and went to town putting it on everything. Well my cats LOVED it so much they actually started CHEWING it, they would not leave it alone, I finally had to remove it before they ate up my furniture.
If it was only 1 cat I probably wouldn't rate it a 1, but all 4 cats??? Complete failure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product...Crazy Cat!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
GotMojo
from Florida
Sticky Paws is a wonderful product! It's easy to use and I do believe it works but it DEPENDS ON YOUR CAT!!!! It only worked for a couple weeks until my crazy cat decided it wasn't going to affect him. In other words, if you have a "typical cat" (persistent and curious), this product may not work...obviously, this isn't an issue with the product itself!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
EbonyIvory
from westfield, ny
I got it on sale, and it will work great for putting on the door jambs that our cats like to scratch on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless - lasted 5 minutes on leather chair.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
walker328
from Denver CO
I know this didn't work on a fabric chair a couple years ago - same problem, it just plain didn't stick - but out of desperation I went ahead tried it on a leather chair. It lasted a whole 5 minutes, then I had to extract the bunched up sticky mess from my Ragdoll cat's long hair. It goes back to Petco tomorrow for a refund - don't waste your money. I guess I will leave my vacuum sitting in front of the corner of the chair that the cat likes to scratch while I try to find another solution. And yes, there are 3 scratching posts in the same vicinity as the chair, and I shake a bottle with coins in it when she goes near the chair - but she's scratching it when I'm not around.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky Paws

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
cvaldez
from New Port Richey, FL
Sticky Paws does keep your kitty off counters, tables & other furniture. It is double sided clear tape that your kitty will not like. The only draw back, that I can see, is when you peel it off it may leave a residue on the surface it was on. I found that white vinegar will help to take it off. Just let the vinegar set for 15 mins.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need to follow applying directions

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
AmuWoof
from Rockville, MD
At first, I was taken back by the color. It looked nontransparent when it was advertised to be transparent. After a second look at the directions, that was included with the product, I figured out that this product is indeed transparent. Both sides of the sticker is sticky which means certain window curtains could get stuck to it. But it is sticky which is what cats hate. The product was easy to apply to couch sides that are not straight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sticky Paws saved my furniture

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
DiDigital
from Oneotna, NY
Someone at the gym told me about Sticky Paws several years ago, and she was right. Before this I would rub red pepper into the areas where they were scratching, and that would last for a couple of months- they would stay away until the scent lessened and they were right back destroying my brand new couch. I just replaced some of the original sticky paws for the 3rd time in, I think 6 years, and the cats have not done any additional damage to their original shredded couch or chair. I just wish I had known about it, and that it ACTUALLY works before the cats did any damage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great when it sticks...

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Crim
from Cleveland, Ohio
I have a 8 week old Siamese kitten who is just learning to use his claws. He likes my wall, my mesh laundry hamper, his litter mats and his scratching posts. I'm okay with the mats, but obviously I wasn't as keen on my walls or hamper being shredded.
I put this tape on my wall and on my hampers about 1 day after the first scratch.This tape worked instantly! He sniffed it once or twice and hasn't touched the hamper since.
However, this tape stuck very poorly to my hamper. Any movement (including the breeze from my ceiling fan) causes it to peel off. Right now, I have a wad of sticky tape half attached to my hamper. Still, the cat leave it alone, so I'm happy. Just wish it stuck to mesh a bit better! It does stick to the wall like a dream!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sticky residue

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
mephum
When removed, it leaves a sticky residue on counter top.I had to use Goo Gone, Bon Ami and elbow grease.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
impska
from Kansas
Sticky tape works perfectly for teaching our young cat not to scratch furniture, jump on certain things, etc. The only problem I have with it is my other cat - who likes to eat tape. She's fascinated with Sticky Paws and likes to pull it off it's intended location and chew on it.
So if you have a tape eater at home, this probably isn't the product for you, but if your cat has no such tendencies, then Sticky Paws is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedFebruary 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
ElizaM
Applied sticky paws tape to all edges of furniture where my cats were sharpening their claws. They do not like getting their paws stuck on the tape and have avoided these places since. It can not be applied to an area where a person might put their legs as it will adhere to their clothing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best things i've ever gotten

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
SuperNova
My cat used to wake us up all night with her plucking of the corner of a wall that we had. VERY IRRIATATING,
Got sticky paws, applied it, and she attempted to scratch the corner, but didn't like the feel of the sticky and stoped scratching...
ONLY DOWN SIDE IS... She likes to lick the sticky...isn't as irriatating, but weird...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky Paws Works

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
LV
from Daytona Beach, FL
My two cats, both less than a year old, have been pretty good about using a scratching post, but sometimes, they will go up to a fabric covered chair or couch and claw. I've placed Sticky Paws on the furniture they seem to forget not to scratch and after a couple of "sticky" moments, they are leaving those items alone. Good product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good and Bad

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
PixieLove
Good: When applied to hard surfaces it acts as a great deterrant. My cat will paw at it and then walk away.
Bad: When applied to soft surfaces (drapes, carpeting, etc.), my cat will simply sit there and play with it until it comes off. Not very effective.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sticky Paws

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gimble
This has worked just perfectly. They have stopped sharpening their claws on the edges of the furniture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome product

PostedDecember 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Spirits
I started using this product on my door frames. And to my delight....its working. All I do is follow my cat as she finds one by one every location she would want to scratch on and I eliminate each site she finds by using the sticky pads. Compared to the damage my cat would otherwise cause this product is very inexpensive and is worth every penny. Eventually every location my cat wants to scratch will be eliminated and she will be forced to finally use her scratching post.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love these things!

PostedJune 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jayme
from Shoreview, MN
I recently bought these as a "last ditch" effort to get my cat to stop scratching my couch and bottom step. I didn't think it would do much good but it was inexpensive and I thought I'd give it a try. My cat doesn't even TOUCH my couch where i put these down and you can barely even see them! I won't stop buying these and have told everyone I know about them. I would definitely recommend these one anyone - they are worth trying!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>