petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sticky Paws

Sticky Paws

Stops cats from destroying furniture and helps control inappropriate eliminationSafe for furniture, countertops, stereo speakers, drapes, carpets and moreTransparent strips are made of medical grade adhesive and are odor freeEasy to apply, simply pull off a strip from the brown backing sheet, apply then peel off the white "crack-n-peel" to expose the surface
Average Customer Rating:
3.743 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
27 out of 35(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sticky Paws
Review 1 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky Paws For Furniture

PostedDecember 12, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I recently purchased this product and I've had a lot of success with it. I do wish that the strips were wider. I have to use two strips to cover each chair corner/edge, so wider strips would be wonderful. They do lose their sticky, so you have to keep them replaced, but all in all, it's less expensive than replacing the recliners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+37points
39of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

doesn't work with curious cats that love tape

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from chicago
my cat seems to like to play with tape so the sticky paws has been unsuccessful. he keeps pulling them off the furniture so it hasn't deterred him in not scratching. I had to get the cardboard scratchers to divert him. If you cat loves to play with tape, these are not the best option.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

when used as indicated a great product

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Valley, WA
Care must be taken to place these where the cat actually scratches or pounces. Here they work fine.
They do not work well if indiscriminately placed around ones house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Don't expect miracles

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from NYC
This is a tape that you can put onto a particular place on a particular piece of furniture. It will not prevent your pet from finding the area where there is no tape and scratching that. It also means you have tape all over your furniture.
That said, this works really well to keep my cats from the tops of a couple of chairs that are otherwise very attractive cat perches, and effectively deters them from returning to spots they had been ripping up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Paws off

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Glenview, IL.
Love it, kitty hates it! Keeps her off the kitchen counters and the dressers in the bedroom too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky paws

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
The sticky paws tape is a little hard to put on. I put it on the edges of my couch. It was difficult to peel off the backing of the paper. The strips also wanted to rip when removing them from the packaging. However, it has kept my cats from clawing my furniture. I would buy the product again and recommend to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of Money

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Daytona Beach, FL
Sticks to my fingers but not much else. Tried putting it on a fabric couch but just bunched up when tried to pull the cover strip off.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
It's not the easiest stuff to work with since it's so sticky but it seems to be doing its job. I haven't had any issues with kitty trying to climb on the areas I placed the tape.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Immediately

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I am very impressed with this product. It had an immediate effect on our cat. I put the sticky paws strips on the 3 corners of our couch that our cat likes to scratch and he immediately knew not to touch the couch. He hasn't gone for any new areas of the couch either. Instead he is actually using his scratch post beside the couch. I really didn't know if this product would work but I figured I would try it and I'm glad I did. I highly recommend getting this if your cat scratches furniture. It has worked really well for us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

STICKY!

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, NY
Of course it works, it works for a little while, but then the cat just finds other places to scratch! What're you going to do, tape your entire couch?? "Uhh, honey, my butt's stuck to the couch!"
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works, but doesn't look great

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CA
It works, the cats didn't enjoy touching it, but it it not very clear so your furniture won't look great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats LOVE this stuff

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, Ca
My cats were clawing the heck out of my leather furniture, sure they liked their cat tree and other scratching posts, BUT for some reason they decided my leather furniture was their favorite scratching item.
I bought 4 packs of this and went to town putting it on everything. Well my cats LOVED it so much they actually started CHEWING it, they would not leave it alone, I finally had to remove it before they ate up my furniture.
If it was only 1 cat I probably wouldn't rate it a 1, but all 4 cats??? Complete failure.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product...Crazy Cat!

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Sticky Paws is a wonderful product! It's easy to use and I do believe it works but it DEPENDS ON YOUR CAT!!!! It only worked for a couple weeks until my crazy cat decided it wasn't going to affect him. In other words, if you have a "typical cat" (persistent and curious), this product may not work...obviously, this isn't an issue with the product itself!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from westfield, ny
I got it on sale, and it will work great for putting on the door jambs that our cats like to scratch on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless - lasted 5 minutes on leather chair.

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Denver CO
I know this didn't work on a fabric chair a couple years ago - same problem, it just plain didn't stick - but out of desperation I went ahead tried it on a leather chair. It lasted a whole 5 minutes, then I had to extract the bunched up sticky mess from my Ragdoll cat's long hair. It goes back to Petco tomorrow for a refund - don't waste your money. I guess I will leave my vacuum sitting in front of the corner of the chair that the cat likes to scratch while I try to find another solution. And yes, there are 3 scratching posts in the same vicinity as the chair, and I shake a bottle with coins in it when she goes near the chair - but she's scratching it when I'm not around.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sticky Paws

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Port Richey, FL
Sticky Paws does keep your kitty off counters, tables & other furniture. It is double sided clear tape that your kitty will not like. The only draw back, that I can see, is when you peel it off it may leave a residue on the surface it was on. I found that white vinegar will help to take it off. Just let the vinegar set for 15 mins.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need to follow applying directions

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rockville, MD
At first, I was taken back by the color. It looked nontransparent when it was advertised to be transparent. After a second look at the directions, that was included with the product, I figured out that this product is indeed transparent. Both sides of the sticker is sticky which means certain window curtains could get stuck to it. But it is sticky which is what cats hate. The product was easy to apply to couch sides that are not straight.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sticky Paws saved my furniture

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oneotna, NY
Someone at the gym told me about Sticky Paws several years ago, and she was right. Before this I would rub red pepper into the areas where they were scratching, and that would last for a couple of months- they would stay away until the scent lessened and they were right back destroying my brand new couch. I just replaced some of the original sticky paws for the 3rd time in, I think 6 years, and the cats have not done any additional damage to their original shredded couch or chair. I just wish I had known about it, and that it ACTUALLY works before the cats did any damage!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great when it sticks...

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Cleveland, Ohio
I have a 8 week old Siamese kitten who is just learning to use his claws. He likes my wall, my mesh laundry hamper, his litter mats and his scratching posts. I'm okay with the mats, but obviously I wasn't as keen on my walls or hamper being shredded.
I put this tape on my wall and on my hampers about 1 day after the first scratch.This tape worked instantly! He sniffed it once or twice and hasn't touched the hamper since.
However, this tape stuck very poorly to my hamper. Any movement (including the breeze from my ceiling fan) causes it to peel off. Right now, I have a wad of sticky tape half attached to my hamper. Still, the cat leave it alone, so I'm happy. Just wish it stuck to mesh a bit better! It does stick to the wall like a dream!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

sticky residue

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
When removed, it leaves a sticky residue on counter top.I had to use Goo Gone, Bon Ami and elbow grease.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>