petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System

The training collar that stops annoying, excessive barking the humane way (often incorrectly referred to as a shock collar, this collar uses safe but effective static correction)Simple-to-operate bark control systemSafe for use on smaller dogs and effective enough for larger dogsModel PBC-302
Average Customer Rating:
3.764 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(220 Reviews) 220
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 220 reviews
5 stars
118
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
17
1 star
41
154 out of 220(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This saved his tail!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from NY NY
This works!!!!! I highly recommend it!!!! It has saved me the heartache of getting rid of an otherwise really nice dog (beagle)who barked non-stop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+82points
169of 256voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dad

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA.
Not would I buy this product again, I am buying this product again, that is why I am here.
We have raised everything from Sheps to St. Bernards with Dobies and Great Danes in between and do own a 3/4 Mile Innotek Training Collar System that we paid over $400.00 for about 8-years ago. I don't know if the waterproofing wasn't so water proof or what but it was an incredible waste of cash as it was dead within 6-months. It's in storage in its fancy case collecting dust. On the other hand one of our Danes in particular just wouldn't shut up so we used one of these PetSafe collars from PetCo and boy did this huge Adult Dane push it. But the collar pushes back and despite being constantly antagonized by some 12-14 year young unattended neighbor girls our Dane finally shut up. It was a tough situation as our Danes were being antagonized but we had plenty of other innocent neighbors and although ALERTING is Acceptable Behavior, barking non-stop ... especially when we are gone and unable to correct on our own, is unacceptable. I always felt guilty using the hand control anyways so using this PetSafe product kept it between the dog's will and the collars durability. Our last one got the job done so all these years later with a new house and vocal Rott I'm going with Quality & Price - PetSafe!! The Citrinella Collars didn't work for us, didn't work for our neighbors or their dog whom all the other neighbors called in before we ever bought the house. The Static Stimulant collars make everyone happy except your pet as they do shut any barking dog up that I have ever used them on including a pair of Huge Great Danes once again. They also make a GREAT GIFT for neighbors with chronically barking dogs, the price is less than sleepless nights, disturbing afternoons and Neighbor Wars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+124points
189of 254voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedNovember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Glen Burnie, MD
I got this collar for my Lab a few years ago when my townhouse neighbor was complaining about her barking during the day. This has turned out to be a lifesaver! She has only had to bark once to realize what the collar was for. We've even been able to still use it even if the battery needed replacing because she just knew. I highly recommend this for anyone in the same living situation or a dog that just barks for no reason. I work at a veterinarians office and I feel this is very humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-13points
236of 485voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank goodness this worked!

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer Avatar
from MN
For 8 years we have listened to the constant barking/baying from my beagle. I have tried everything from positive reinforcement training, to not walking him anymore and shutting the blinds so he can't see out. After wearing this collar two days ( not at night of course) he has already caught on to the main purpose of it. I have hardly had to use it since he 'got it'. He understands better what's expected of him.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bark Collar

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Medford, OR
A God Send! I have 2 dogs, Chihuahua/Pomeranian mix, so you can only imagine the Yappiness in our house and yard. We put on their collars and no yapping crazy barking and only a once in a while quick bark. Totally saved our sanity!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works!

PostedMay 3, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn, NY
The PetSafe basic bark control collar saved us in a dispute with our neighbor. I live in an apartment building and my very determined rat terrier barked constantly when I was away. My neighbors complained, of course. Desperate for a solution, I ordered the bark control collar. Wow, was I surprised -- it worked immediately. There were a few barks in the beginning, but after only a couple days, he's quiet when I'm not here. My dogs are kenneled when I'm not home, so I only use it when he is in the kennel. I highly recommend the collar! I only wish I'd tried it earlier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Ann Arbor, MI
This collar works great! We have a very excitable 9 month old lab puppy that barks a lot. We put the collar on and she caught on the very first day, within a week we didn't even put the battery in and she was great.
Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never ever again

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Port Orchard, WA
I have a 9lb. Shih Tzu, he rarely barks, unless we have company over, then he won't stop. We wanted to try a humane approach, and this said it started as a mild static correction. The first time we tried it and he barked he yelped in surprise but kept on barking and crying. I had trouble trying to get it off of him because he was going nuts and crying and barking over and over. He stopped barking for a bit after that because it he was exhausted from the experience. I hated watching him go through that, and will never use any kind of static correction on him again. They need to take "humane" out of the description that's the last word I would use to describe product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
7of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Didn't work

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer Avatar
from colorado springs, co
This product may work fine with a larger dog, but on my 6 lb. poodle, it did not work. I need a smaller product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

would like to give this a 4.5

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer Avatar
from virginia
I have a 20 pound 4 year old american eskimo dog. We have tried to correct a barking problem he has had for some time without a lot of progress. This item seems to be helping in that category It has taken some attention to put the collar on so that the prongs are up against the skin. When we have put it on without touching the skin it has not worked for our dog. With that said our dog has a lot of thick fur especially around the neck. We have been using it for about a week and have noticed improvement but not 100% yet. We are using the collar consistently and believe it will solve our problem in time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of $50

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Whenever my 9 year old Dachshund is left in the house with no people (but he is always left with his 7 year old Dachshund companion), for even 10 minutes, he doesnt cry, he BARKS like hes been left in the house for days and he barks the whole time we are gone without any breaks neighbors have told us. I bought this thinking that this type of collar costing $50 would do the trick and the reviews on Petco.com. However, following the instructions, he STILL barks like he doesn't have a bark collar on! Thank goodness the other Dachshund doesn't bark but now I have to buy another bark collar that actually does something so I can leave the house and not have to worry about my neighbors complaining.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well but don't love the side effects

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
This stopped my dogs barking however when he has it on he is terrified and won't come out of his cage...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy with product

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from s. texas
we bought this for our 130lb rottweiler who barks at anything and everything. this collar fits his huge neck and is not uncomfortable for him. his barking is next to none now, just an occasional set of barks. the quiet is so nice, and hearing him bark once in a while is fine with us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now my neighbors can leave me alone.

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City
After receiving passive aggressive notes from my neighbor about my dog's barking I decided to invest in one of these. I think it's important to note that my dog is a large dog and her bark is too. My dog gave this a good testing when I first put it on her. She's a little stubborn, but she learned quickly that things got uncomfortable when she continued barking. I wouldn't say it hurt her, but the static did startle her a bit. I imagine it would give a small dog, with a faster heart rate, a little more than discomfort, but she doesn't seem to bother by it. My main worry is the battery life. We'll see how long the collars magic works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ineffective

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I found this collar to be ineffective even after trimming the fur right where the unit sat. The description said before static correction it would first emit a tone but it did not and the manual said nothing about it. It also works only with their PetSafe brand batteries.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works OK for a while

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Narberth, PA
Our dog stopped barking at first, but then apparently got used to the correction. She has gone back to barking as though the device doesn't even work. When we thought maybe we needed a new device, we purchased a brand new one, and she barks as though it isn't even on her. I'm guessing this may have worked for a pet who only needs correction a few times then stops.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for dogs that bark on everything

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
My dog barks at anything that moves when he's outside. I can not tell him to stop other than bring him inside the house. I found this product on line and I was impress when I read the reviews. However, I was concern about hurting my dog with this type of device and I was afraid that it will not work. To my surprise! It works like a charm. My dog won't bark when he has this collar on and if he does, it won't be as loud as he used to bark. Love it! Great price too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unsure

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from new york, ny
So far, I have no idea if this controlled collar is a good thing or bad. I have only had it for a day and I have had a good and bad experience with it. My female loves to bark...at the wind, birds, ppl, a bug. Every thing and I always get a nasty comment about how sad my dog is. So what, she likes to bark. I like her bark, but not when it means I will get kicked out of my apartment. I bought her the controlled shock collar yesterday morning and put it on her. Once she was outside, she barked once, then again and then all i could hear were cries of bloody murder. I had no idea what was going on that I had to quickly bring her inside from the balcony. I took the collar off of her real quick. I soon realized that my other female still had hers on and went to go find her. She was also outside, looking a bit confused but she wasnt crying or in any pain. I waited for her to bark again and the only reaction she had was "im not doing thay again" so the collar works on one dog and not so well on the other. Maybe my dog is just being a sissy, i dont know. I have tried it and the first settings are fine but once it gets high it feels like something bit me. Don't know what I am going to do, keep them both? Return them both or just keep one? Mhmmm. What a day, i feel horrible. I'd rather do this though than get kicked out or have to get rid of them.. They were never like this when they were puppies so maybe now that they are older they want to let me know that they can hear/see everything and that i should hear/see it as well. Lol
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark Control

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CO
The collar works very well to teach bark control. The only issue I had at first was making sure the batteries were well seated so they didn't fall out. It works well to control the impulse to bark, but my dogs are smart enough to realize when the collars are on or off their neck. I use the now when the tend to bark the most. and use only verbal commands if they start to bark at other times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Basic Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ulster, PA
I would never use this product on any animal. It was horrible. It shocked my dog so badly she peed on the floor. She barked once and it shocked her. All she did was yipe and whimper and it would not stop. I had to grab her and take the collar off. She shook for almost 30 min. afterwards.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
6of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>