petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

The training collar that stops annoying, excessive barking the humane way (often incorrectly referred to as a shock collar, this collar uses safe but effective static correction)Simple-to-operate bark control systemSafe for use on smaller dogs and effective enough for larger dogsModel PBC-302
Average Customer Rating:
3.777 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(197 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 197 reviews
5 stars
108
4 stars
27
3 stars
9
2 stars
16
1 star
37
140 out of 197(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This saved his tail!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from NY NY
This works!!!!! I highly recommend it!!!! It has saved me the heartache of getting rid of an otherwise really nice dog (beagle)who barked non-stop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+69points
145of 221voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dad

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA.
Not would I buy this product again, I am buying this product again, that is why I am here.
We have raised everything from Sheps to St. Bernards with Dobies and Great Danes in between and do own a 3/4 Mile Innotek Training Collar System that we paid over $400.00 for about 8-years ago. I don't know if the waterproofing wasn't so water proof or what but it was an incredible waste of cash as it was dead within 6-months. It's in storage in its fancy case collecting dust. On the other hand one of our Danes in particular just wouldn't shut up so we used one of these PetSafe collars from PetCo and boy did this huge Adult Dane push it. But the collar pushes back and despite being constantly antagonized by some 12-14 year young unattended neighbor girls our Dane finally shut up. It was a tough situation as our Danes were being antagonized but we had plenty of other innocent neighbors and although ALERTING is Acceptable Behavior, barking non-stop ... especially when we are gone and unable to correct on our own, is unacceptable. I always felt guilty using the hand control anyways so using this PetSafe product kept it between the dog's will and the collars durability. Our last one got the job done so all these years later with a new house and vocal Rott I'm going with Quality & Price - PetSafe!! The Citrinella Collars didn't work for us, didn't work for our neighbors or their dog whom all the other neighbors called in before we ever bought the house. The Static Stimulant collars make everyone happy except your pet as they do shut any barking dog up that I have ever used them on including a pair of Huge Great Danes once again. They also make a GREAT GIFT for neighbors with chronically barking dogs, the price is less than sleepless nights, disturbing afternoons and Neighbor Wars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+101points
159of 217voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedNovember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Glen Burnie, MD
I got this collar for my Lab a few years ago when my townhouse neighbor was complaining about her barking during the day. This has turned out to be a lifesaver! She has only had to bark once to realize what the collar was for. We've even been able to still use it even if the battery needed replacing because she just knew. I highly recommend this for anyone in the same living situation or a dog that just barks for no reason. I work at a veterinarians office and I feel this is very humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-22points
190of 402voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
Definitely disturbing how this played out with my 21 lb. dog. I wished I never tried this product. The reason why is due to my dogs reaction to it. He was running back and forth, yelping steadily. It took a minute or so to get him to come to me so I could remove it. After I got it off he wanted to go back inside and he was terrified. He did not want to go back outside. It took a couple of days for him to know he was safe, was not going to be shocked and it was ok for him to be out. It was an awful experience for him and for me too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product saved us all

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange County New York
I tried everything for my maltese piercing loud, annoying not to mention freighting to others especially children. This product has 6 volumes, it increases with a louder dog barks and decreases as your dogs barks lower, and eventually your dog gets it...if I stop I won't get a static shock. My dog barked outdoors at everyone. Now I can take her for long walks and not a woof. It took two weeks for my dog training. Worth the money. It should only be used for excessive barking. Not as a punishment it does frighten them, not harm them. It should not get wet as this product could burn their skin so never on a raining day. Not for sleeping long hours. If your dog barks or whines due to anxiety separation see your vet, who can prescribe medication to help with nervousness, crying or whining. Best product for annoying and suborn barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar works great!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Elgin
A friend recommended this collar so I decided to give it a try. My Mike was 6 when I got him because his owner went into a nursing home. His biggest problem was his barking. His was an excited bark and he couldn't be controlled even using Cesars' method.
His first barking session wearing the collar stopped immediately. Within the first few days his barking has almost completely stopped. I only wear in in the house and car because I have invisible fencing and don't want to confuse him when outside.
Before, when I would return from being gone, he would bark continuously until he settled down. Tonight I came in the door and he was excited but silent and wasn't even wearing the collar!!
I would highly recommend this to anyone for a dog with a barking problem. I didn't expect it to work this well or this fast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatful

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I should of gotten this long time ago. Tucker is a 3 1/2 year old jack russell. This collar has cut down his barking about 80% and I feel it is doing what it was designed to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Interesting results

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought this for my year old rottie (70 lbs.) who barks at anything that moves and I was very apprehensive that it was going to hurt her. The first time it went off she yelped in pain which caused it to shock her again but for the rest of the day she stayed quiet. That was about all it did for her. That night, without wearing it (directions warn not to leave it on more than 12 hours), she barked unwarily and from then on wearing it caused no difference. We then tried it on our three year old pit (50 lbs.) and her reaction was much like that of Independence Day: she got so frightened she tried hiding under the furniture. We now longer use this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
My dog had taken to barking loudly every time we'd let him out to do his business. This was at 5am and the neighbors surely weren't happy. Bought this collar. Took two barks for him to figure it out. No more barking. Very happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boulder Wy
I have a 9# Chaweene and is very hard to control the barking until the collar goes on. I take it off at night and in the morning put it back on. I almost seems like it is a security thing for him. Thanx for the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PetsSafe Bark collar

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from roswell ga
It works!! Just make sure that the collar is tight enough so that the prongs are touching. I put it on in the evening for a few hours and when we go out on a walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for my dog

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
My dog a lab mix barks growls and woofs at EVERYTHING even the wind. We got this collar so when we left he wouldn't annoy the nieghbors. This worked for about two days he has now figured out how loud he can be without getting zapped and does it more when the collar is on almost like haha I beat the machine. Very annoyed. So if you have a smart and cocky dog this is not the collar for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Napa ca
The collar works great. My dog doesn't bark as much as she used to
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fountain Valley, CA
My Australian Shepard barked at everything - even pictures of dogs/cats/animals she would see on the TV. Really was very annoying. We put this on her and the barking has subsided 95% .When we put it on her she just know she shouldn't bark. On occasion she gets off that first bark but then stops right away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great, Quickly!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
This collar does exactly what it states, Controls barks. My 6 month old puppy would bark all day at the kids playing in the backyard or next room. He would never stop, until we got this collar. After the 2nd day of wearing it, he has stopped barking at them all together. He has a lot of fur under chin, but this still works well if positioned and sized correctly. Great product for the money:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for small dogs

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Washington
Package says not to use on dogs under 8 pounds. My dog is 10 pounds. It was too heavy and so wouldn't make contact. I've tried ones for small dogs without any luck as well.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, Pa
This was the best money I have ever spent. I have 2 goldens and they never stop barking. I put these on them and real fast you could see results. Now, they may bark once when they see another dog--but then they stop... love this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's working!

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
I was getting very aggravated with my 70 lb. lab mix's incessant barking, whether inside or outside. I've been using this collar for two weeks and life is so much more pleasant, both for me and my dog. She doesn't have to listen to me correcting her for barking anymore. I put it on her when she goes out and usually take it off her when she's inside. She might bark once, but then stops. If I know someone is coming to the house I put it on her so she won't bark when the doorbell rings. I make sure the collar is up high close to her ears and snug. The first time it corrected her she turned around trying to figure out what happened. Only once did she yelp. Now I just need to reread the directions to find out when she will permanently learn to stop barking, as she still barks if I forget to put it on her when she goes outside.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Holland, mi
Product works good. Does the job it says it will. I didn't give it a five because our beagle still wines too much. But the barking has stopped.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great on my 110 lb. dog

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
from ocean city, md.
was basically trained in 1 day with a couple of mess ups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>