petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

The training collar that stops annoying, excessive barking the humane way (often incorrectly referred to as a shock collar, this collar uses safe but effective static correction)Simple-to-operate bark control systemSafe for use on smaller dogs and effective enough for larger dogsModel PBC-302
Average Customer Rating:
3.772 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(202 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 202 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 star
38
144 out of 202(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 97 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This saved his tail!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from NY NY
This works!!!!! I highly recommend it!!!! It has saved me the heartache of getting rid of an otherwise really nice dog (beagle)who barked non-stop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+67points
147of 227voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dad

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA.
Not would I buy this product again, I am buying this product again, that is why I am here.
We have raised everything from Sheps to St. Bernards with Dobies and Great Danes in between and do own a 3/4 Mile Innotek Training Collar System that we paid over $400.00 for about 8-years ago. I don't know if the waterproofing wasn't so water proof or what but it was an incredible waste of cash as it was dead within 6-months. It's in storage in its fancy case collecting dust. On the other hand one of our Danes in particular just wouldn't shut up so we used one of these PetSafe collars from PetCo and boy did this huge Adult Dane push it. But the collar pushes back and despite being constantly antagonized by some 12-14 year young unattended neighbor girls our Dane finally shut up. It was a tough situation as our Danes were being antagonized but we had plenty of other innocent neighbors and although ALERTING is Acceptable Behavior, barking non-stop ... especially when we are gone and unable to correct on our own, is unacceptable. I always felt guilty using the hand control anyways so using this PetSafe product kept it between the dog's will and the collars durability. Our last one got the job done so all these years later with a new house and vocal Rott I'm going with Quality & Price - PetSafe!! The Citrinella Collars didn't work for us, didn't work for our neighbors or their dog whom all the other neighbors called in before we ever bought the house. The Static Stimulant collars make everyone happy except your pet as they do shut any barking dog up that I have ever used them on including a pair of Huge Great Danes once again. They also make a GREAT GIFT for neighbors with chronically barking dogs, the price is less than sleepless nights, disturbing afternoons and Neighbor Wars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+107points
166of 225voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedNovember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Glen Burnie, MD
I got this collar for my Lab a few years ago when my townhouse neighbor was complaining about her barking during the day. This has turned out to be a lifesaver! She has only had to bark once to realize what the collar was for. We've even been able to still use it even if the battery needed replacing because she just knew. I highly recommend this for anyone in the same living situation or a dog that just barks for no reason. I work at a veterinarians office and I feel this is very humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-22points
198of 418voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for small dogs

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought this collar because my 7.5 lb chihuahua won't stop barking & he is driving me insane. The collar is easy to put on and fit him (even though the device was bulky for a small dog). Anyway, the neighbors dogs came walking down the stairs and my dog started barking, then all of a sudden he let out a loud SQUEAL and darted around like the road runner. He seemed to calm down and he stuck very close to me the rest of the night but he didn't bark again once. So fast forward to day 2, I put it on him again when I got home from work & he hears the neighbors dogs and he starts to bark, this time he doesn't squeal but he runs around like crazy. A few minutes go by and my other dog (a shepherd) went to investigate, you see she was trying to move the bed to help the little one because he was behind the bed CLAWING the walls and spinning in circles. My heart literally broke. I'm returning this device. Sure it works, but at the cost of hurting my dog physically and emotionally is not worth it to me. I will keep looking for a better way to curb his barking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hit and miss

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
With 1 of our dogs it worked great - she barked once, it shocked her and from then on out all I had to do was show her the collar and she was quiet. It didn't change anything else in terms of how she related to us or anything so it was a great success. The second dog however wasn't nearly as smart, he barked, squealed from the pain and then kept barking because it hurt. He was in a borderline panic attack and even when I show him the collar he doesn't get it. So, yeah, if it works GREAT but don't just assume it'll work for your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Poconos, Pa
This collar worked GREAT for my 1 yr old 100 lb Labrador who was literally barking at everything that moved outside......we tried everything short of using a bark collar but finally had to give in when the neighbors all started making comments about how she "likes to bark". The collar started working the very first day we put it on. Two weeks later and we only use the collar early morning or late at night to reinforce no barking. Hopefully in the very near future we won't even need that...This was definitely the answer we needed. Thank you !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Davison, MI
Not only is this a lifesaver, but also has saved our nerves. We adopted a 3 yr old standard poodle who has anxiety issues and uses barking as his outlet. Drove us crazy. Didn't want to, but saw this and the price was right (if it didn't work). OMG! He barked at the mail-lady a couple of times and then we heard a "yip" and that started the process. He's actually much calmer now. We haven't even tried to wean him off of it just yet since this may take some time, but I highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product to help limit excessive barking!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I've got a 60 lb dog that loves to bark at anything and everything. He's super sensitive so he'll start barking as soon as he hears a dog's collar jingle from a block away until the dog has walked by and is outside of earshot again. This made it impossible for me to leave my dog outside in the yard or on the porch on nice, warm days.
Once I put the collar on him, he improved tremendously! As the instructions say, you should be around the first few times the collar is in use. My dog was a little scared at first from the sound and/or the shock. But if you couple the sound/shock, which stops the barking for a moment, with positive reinforcement, your dog will know that he'll be better off not barking.
A word of caution/have realistic expectations - this is not a cure-all... my dog still barks. However, the barking is limited to one or two (or max) three barks, instead of non-stop continuous barking that lasts for minutes. I (and my neighbors) can live with that.
One thing I wish the manufacturer would improve would be the collar itself - it's a snap collar and I find it very difficult to adjust. As a result, the device slides up the side of the neck instead of remaining under my dog's throat. I find myself adjusting it regularly. I would prefer if the collar could be switched to something like belt holes.
Overall, I think it's a great product and it has made my dog's barking significantly more easy to handle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
Definitely disturbing how this played out with my 21 lb. dog. I wished I never tried this product. The reason why is due to my dogs reaction to it. He was running back and forth, yelping steadily. It took a minute or so to get him to come to me so I could remove it. After I got it off he wanted to go back inside and he was terrified. He did not want to go back outside. It took a couple of days for him to know he was safe, was not going to be shocked and it was ok for him to be out. It was an awful experience for him and for me too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best product saved us all

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Orange County New York
I tried everything for my maltese piercing loud, annoying not to mention freighting to others especially children. This product has 6 volumes, it increases with a louder dog barks and decreases as your dogs barks lower, and eventually your dog gets it...if I stop I won't get a static shock. My dog barked outdoors at everyone. Now I can take her for long walks and not a woof. It took two weeks for my dog training. Worth the money. It should only be used for excessive barking. Not as a punishment it does frighten them, not harm them. It should not get wet as this product could burn their skin so never on a raining day. Not for sleeping long hours. If your dog barks or whines due to anxiety separation see your vet, who can prescribe medication to help with nervousness, crying or whining. Best product for annoying and suborn barking.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This collar works great!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Elgin
A friend recommended this collar so I decided to give it a try. My Mike was 6 when I got him because his owner went into a nursing home. His biggest problem was his barking. His was an excited bark and he couldn't be controlled even using Cesars' method.
His first barking session wearing the collar stopped immediately. Within the first few days his barking has almost completely stopped. I only wear in in the house and car because I have invisible fencing and don't want to confuse him when outside.
Before, when I would return from being gone, he would bark continuously until he settled down. Tonight I came in the door and he was excited but silent and wasn't even wearing the collar!!
I would highly recommend this to anyone for a dog with a barking problem. I didn't expect it to work this well or this fast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatful

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I should of gotten this long time ago. Tucker is a 3 1/2 year old jack russell. This collar has cut down his barking about 80% and I feel it is doing what it was designed to do.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Interesting results

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles, CA
I bought this for my year old rottie (70 lbs.) who barks at anything that moves and I was very apprehensive that it was going to hurt her. The first time it went off she yelped in pain which caused it to shock her again but for the rest of the day she stayed quiet. That was about all it did for her. That night, without wearing it (directions warn not to leave it on more than 12 hours), she barked unwarily and from then on wearing it caused no difference. We then tried it on our three year old pit (50 lbs.) and her reaction was much like that of Independence Day: she got so frightened she tried hiding under the furniture. We now longer use this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Well

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, IN
My dog had taken to barking loudly every time we'd let him out to do his business. This was at 5am and the neighbors surely weren't happy. Bought this collar. Took two barks for him to figure it out. No more barking. Very happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product works great.

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Boulder Wy
I have a 9# Chaweene and is very hard to control the barking until the collar goes on. I take it off at night and in the morning put it back on. I almost seems like it is a security thing for him. Thanx for the product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PetsSafe Bark collar

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from roswell ga
It works!! Just make sure that the collar is tight enough so that the prongs are touching. I put it on in the evening for a few hours and when we go out on a walk.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for my dog

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
My dog a lab mix barks growls and woofs at EVERYTHING even the wind. We got this collar so when we left he wouldn't annoy the nieghbors. This worked for about two days he has now figured out how loud he can be without getting zapped and does it more when the collar is on almost like haha I beat the machine. Very annoyed. So if you have a smart and cocky dog this is not the collar for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Napa ca
The collar works great. My dog doesn't bark as much as she used to
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fountain Valley, CA
My Australian Shepard barked at everything - even pictures of dogs/cats/animals she would see on the TV. Really was very annoying. We put this on her and the barking has subsided 95% .When we put it on her she just know she shouldn't bark. On occasion she gets off that first bark but then stops right away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great, Quickly!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from PA
This collar does exactly what it states, Controls barks. My 6 month old puppy would bark all day at the kids playing in the backyard or next room. He would never stop, until we got this collar. After the 2nd day of wearing it, he has stopped barking at them all together. He has a lot of fur under chin, but this still works well if positioned and sized correctly. Great product for the money:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>