petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

The training collar that stops annoying, excessive barking the humane way (often incorrectly referred to as a shock collar, this collar uses safe but effective static correction)Simple-to-operate bark control systemSafe for use on smaller dogs and effective enough for larger dogsModel PBC-302
Average Customer Rating:
3.761 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(213 Reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 213 reviews
5 stars
115
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
17
1 star
40
149 out of 213(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This saved his tail!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from NY NY
This works!!!!! I highly recommend it!!!! It has saved me the heartache of getting rid of an otherwise really nice dog (beagle)who barked non-stop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+75points
156of 237voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dad

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Seattle, WA.
Not would I buy this product again, I am buying this product again, that is why I am here.
We have raised everything from Sheps to St. Bernards with Dobies and Great Danes in between and do own a 3/4 Mile Innotek Training Collar System that we paid over $400.00 for about 8-years ago. I don't know if the waterproofing wasn't so water proof or what but it was an incredible waste of cash as it was dead within 6-months. It's in storage in its fancy case collecting dust. On the other hand one of our Danes in particular just wouldn't shut up so we used one of these PetSafe collars from PetCo and boy did this huge Adult Dane push it. But the collar pushes back and despite being constantly antagonized by some 12-14 year young unattended neighbor girls our Dane finally shut up. It was a tough situation as our Danes were being antagonized but we had plenty of other innocent neighbors and although ALERTING is Acceptable Behavior, barking non-stop ... especially when we are gone and unable to correct on our own, is unacceptable. I always felt guilty using the hand control anyways so using this PetSafe product kept it between the dog's will and the collars durability. Our last one got the job done so all these years later with a new house and vocal Rott I'm going with Quality & Price - PetSafe!! The Citrinella Collars didn't work for us, didn't work for our neighbors or their dog whom all the other neighbors called in before we ever bought the house. The Static Stimulant collars make everyone happy except your pet as they do shut any barking dog up that I have ever used them on including a pair of Huge Great Danes once again. They also make a GREAT GIFT for neighbors with chronically barking dogs, the price is less than sleepless nights, disturbing afternoons and Neighbor Wars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+111points
176of 241voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedNovember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Glen Burnie, MD
I got this collar for my Lab a few years ago when my townhouse neighbor was complaining about her barking during the day. This has turned out to be a lifesaver! She has only had to bark once to realize what the collar was for. We've even been able to still use it even if the battery needed replacing because she just knew. I highly recommend this for anyone in the same living situation or a dog that just barks for no reason. I work at a veterinarians office and I feel this is very humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-20points
209of 438voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of $50

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
Whenever my 9 year old Dachshund is left in the house with no people (but he is always left with his 7 year old Dachshund companion), for even 10 minutes, he doesnt cry, he BARKS like hes been left in the house for days and he barks the whole time we are gone without any breaks neighbors have told us. I bought this thinking that this type of collar costing $50 would do the trick and the reviews on Petco.com. However, following the instructions, he STILL barks like he doesn't have a bark collar on! Thank goodness the other Dachshund doesn't bark but now I have to buy another bark collar that actually does something so I can leave the house and not have to worry about my neighbors complaining.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well but don't love the side effects

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
This stopped my dogs barking however when he has it on he is terrified and won't come out of his cage...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very happy with product

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from s. texas
we bought this for our 130lb rottweiler who barks at anything and everything. this collar fits his huge neck and is not uncomfortable for him. his barking is next to none now, just an occasional set of barks. the quiet is so nice, and hearing him bark once in a while is fine with us.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Now my neighbors can leave me alone.

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Kansas City
After receiving passive aggressive notes from my neighbor about my dog's barking I decided to invest in one of these. I think it's important to note that my dog is a large dog and her bark is too. My dog gave this a good testing when I first put it on her. She's a little stubborn, but she learned quickly that things got uncomfortable when she continued barking. I wouldn't say it hurt her, but the static did startle her a bit. I imagine it would give a small dog, with a faster heart rate, a little more than discomfort, but she doesn't seem to bother by it. My main worry is the battery life. We'll see how long the collars magic works.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ineffective

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I found this collar to be ineffective even after trimming the fur right where the unit sat. The description said before static correction it would first emit a tone but it did not and the manual said nothing about it. It also works only with their PetSafe brand batteries.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works OK for a while

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Narberth, PA
Our dog stopped barking at first, but then apparently got used to the correction. She has gone back to barking as though the device doesn't even work. When we thought maybe we needed a new device, we purchased a brand new one, and she barks as though it isn't even on her. I'm guessing this may have worked for a pet who only needs correction a few times then stops.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for dogs that bark on everything

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
My dog barks at anything that moves when he's outside. I can not tell him to stop other than bring him inside the house. I found this product on line and I was impress when I read the reviews. However, I was concern about hurting my dog with this type of device and I was afraid that it will not work. To my surprise! It works like a charm. My dog won't bark when he has this collar on and if he does, it won't be as loud as he used to bark. Love it! Great price too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Unsure

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer Avatar
from new york, ny
So far, I have no idea if this controlled collar is a good thing or bad. I have only had it for a day and I have had a good and bad experience with it. My female loves to bark...at the wind, birds, ppl, a bug. Every thing and I always get a nasty comment about how sad my dog is. So what, she likes to bark. I like her bark, but not when it means I will get kicked out of my apartment. I bought her the controlled shock collar yesterday morning and put it on her. Once she was outside, she barked once, then again and then all i could hear were cries of bloody murder. I had no idea what was going on that I had to quickly bring her inside from the balcony. I took the collar off of her real quick. I soon realized that my other female still had hers on and went to go find her. She was also outside, looking a bit confused but she wasnt crying or in any pain. I waited for her to bark again and the only reaction she had was "im not doing thay again" so the collar works on one dog and not so well on the other. Maybe my dog is just being a sissy, i dont know. I have tried it and the first settings are fine but once it gets high it feels like something bit me. Don't know what I am going to do, keep them both? Return them both or just keep one? Mhmmm. What a day, i feel horrible. I'd rather do this though than get kicked out or have to get rid of them.. They were never like this when they were puppies so maybe now that they are older they want to let me know that they can hear/see everything and that i should hear/see it as well. Lol
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bark Control

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CO
The collar works very well to teach bark control. The only issue I had at first was making sure the batteries were well seated so they didn't fall out. It works well to control the impulse to bark, but my dogs are smart enough to realize when the collars are on or off their neck. I use the now when the tend to bark the most. and use only verbal commands if they start to bark at other times.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Ulster, PA
I would never use this product on any animal. It was horrible. It shocked my dog so badly she peed on the floor. She barked once and it shocked her. All she did was yipe and whimper and it would not stop. I had to grab her and take the collar off. She shook for almost 30 min. afterwards.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great collar

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Austin, Tx
I'm against "shock collars" but decided this seemed a little more humane. I was out of options and my dog wouldn't stop barking outside. After the first use she seemed to learn not to bark. We haven't had the collar very long and still put it on her most of the time she's outside. However, when she doesn't have it on now she still doesn't bark. It's such a relief! Money well spent!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for small dogs

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I bought this collar because my 7.5 lb chihuahua won't stop barking & he is driving me insane. The collar is easy to put on and fit him (even though the device was bulky for a small dog). Anyway, the neighbors dogs came walking down the stairs and my dog started barking, then all of a sudden he let out a loud SQUEAL and darted around like the road runner. He seemed to calm down and he stuck very close to me the rest of the night but he didn't bark again once. So fast forward to day 2, I put it on him again when I got home from work & he hears the neighbors dogs and he starts to bark, this time he doesn't squeal but he runs around like crazy. A few minutes go by and my other dog (a shepherd) went to investigate, you see she was trying to move the bed to help the little one because he was behind the bed CLAWING the walls and spinning in circles. My heart literally broke. I'm returning this device. Sure it works, but at the cost of hurting my dog physically and emotionally is not worth it to me. I will keep looking for a better way to curb his barking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hit and miss

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
With 1 of our dogs it worked great - she barked once, it shocked her and from then on out all I had to do was show her the collar and she was quiet. It didn't change anything else in terms of how she related to us or anything so it was a great success. The second dog however wasn't nearly as smart, he barked, squealed from the pain and then kept barking because it hurt. He was in a borderline panic attack and even when I show him the collar he doesn't get it. So, yeah, if it works GREAT but don't just assume it'll work for your dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Petsafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Poconos, Pa
This collar worked GREAT for my 1 yr old 100 lb Labrador who was literally barking at everything that moved outside......we tried everything short of using a bark collar but finally had to give in when the neighbors all started making comments about how she "likes to bark". The collar started working the very first day we put it on. Two weeks later and we only use the collar early morning or late at night to reinforce no barking. Hopefully in the very near future we won't even need that...This was definitely the answer we needed. Thank you !!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Davison, MI
Not only is this a lifesaver, but also has saved our nerves. We adopted a 3 yr old standard poodle who has anxiety issues and uses barking as his outlet. Drove us crazy. Didn't want to, but saw this and the price was right (if it didn't work). OMG! He barked at the mail-lady a couple of times and then we heard a "yip" and that started the process. He's actually much calmer now. We haven't even tried to wean him off of it just yet since this may take some time, but I highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product to help limit excessive barking!

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I've got a 60 lb dog that loves to bark at anything and everything. He's super sensitive so he'll start barking as soon as he hears a dog's collar jingle from a block away until the dog has walked by and is outside of earshot again. This made it impossible for me to leave my dog outside in the yard or on the porch on nice, warm days.
Once I put the collar on him, he improved tremendously! As the instructions say, you should be around the first few times the collar is in use. My dog was a little scared at first from the sound and/or the shock. But if you couple the sound/shock, which stops the barking for a moment, with positive reinforcement, your dog will know that he'll be better off not barking.
A word of caution/have realistic expectations - this is not a cure-all... my dog still barks. However, the barking is limited to one or two (or max) three barks, instead of non-stop continuous barking that lasts for minutes. I (and my neighbors) can live with that.
One thing I wish the manufacturer would improve would be the collar itself - it's a snap collar and I find it very difficult to adjust. As a result, the device slides up the side of the neck instead of remaining under my dog's throat. I find myself adjusting it regularly. I would prefer if the collar could be switched to something like belt holes.
Overall, I think it's a great product and it has made my dog's barking significantly more easy to handle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from CT
Definitely disturbing how this played out with my 21 lb. dog. I wished I never tried this product. The reason why is due to my dogs reaction to it. He was running back and forth, yelping steadily. It took a minute or so to get him to come to me so I could remove it. After I got it off he wanted to go back inside and he was terrified. He did not want to go back outside. It took a couple of days for him to know he was safe, was not going to be shocked and it was ok for him to be out. It was an awful experience for him and for me too.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>