petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

The training collar that stops annoying, excessive barking the humane way (often incorrectly referred to as a shock collar, this collar uses safe but effective static correction)Simple-to-operate bark control systemSafe for use on smaller dogs and effective enough for larger dogsModel PBC-302
Average Customer Rating:
3.738 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
13
1 star
33
118 out of 168(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 71 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This saved his tail!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Pet Owner
from NY NY
This works!!!!! I highly recommend it!!!! It has saved me the heartache of getting rid of an otherwise really nice dog (beagle)who barked non-stop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+58points
123of 188voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dad

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mr. MoM
from Seattle, WA.
Not would I buy this product again, I am buying this product again, that is why I am here.
We have raised everything from Sheps to St. Bernards with Dobies and Great Danes in between and do own a 3/4 Mile Innotek Training Collar System that we paid over $400.00 for about 8-years ago. I don't know if the waterproofing wasn't so water proof or what but it was an incredible waste of cash as it was dead within 6-months. It's in storage in its fancy case collecting dust. On the other hand one of our Danes in particular just wouldn't shut up so we used one of these PetSafe collars from PetCo and boy did this huge Adult Dane push it. But the collar pushes back and despite being constantly antagonized by some 12-14 year young unattended neighbor girls our Dane finally shut up. It was a tough situation as our Danes were being antagonized but we had plenty of other innocent neighbors and although ALERTING is Acceptable Behavior, barking non-stop ... especially when we are gone and unable to correct on our own, is unacceptable. I always felt guilty using the hand control anyways so using this PetSafe product kept it between the dog's will and the collars durability. Our last one got the job done so all these years later with a new house and vocal Rott I'm going with Quality & Price - PetSafe!! The Citrinella Collars didn't work for us, didn't work for our neighbors or their dog whom all the other neighbors called in before we ever bought the house. The Static Stimulant collars make everyone happy except your pet as they do shut any barking dog up that I have ever used them on including a pair of Huge Great Danes once again. They also make a GREAT GIFT for neighbors with chronically barking dogs, the price is less than sleepless nights, disturbing afternoons and Neighbor Wars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+81points
127of 173voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedNovember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Pet Lover
from Glen Burnie, MD
I got this collar for my Lab a few years ago when my townhouse neighbor was complaining about her barking during the day. This has turned out to be a lifesaver! She has only had to bark once to realize what the collar was for. We've even been able to still use it even if the battery needed replacing because she just knew. I highly recommend this for anyone in the same living situation or a dog that just barks for no reason. I work at a veterinarians office and I feel this is very humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-15points
155of 325voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barky, bark, bark

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Skippy65
from UA, OH
Great product. My dog use to have straight hair, now is curly; I believe it is because he is a slow learner; he would try to bark at the S-H-O-C-K-S he was receiving (I put it on and barked... HAHA I don't recommend you try that HAHA).
In the end, he has learned to not bark as much... but he so HATES the "P-O-S-T-A-L__E-M-P-L-O-Y-E-E."
K, 'nuf said.
Peace.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

no help

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
rmcc92
I have a beagle basset mix who howls constantly. The collar would only make him get more excited and bark more... then after so many shocks it stops all together. so I think it trained him to bark a bunch to get it to stop. It also doesnt control growling or even small barks. My dog growls whenever you yell at him to stop barking, and the growling is almost more annoying than the barking. My dog is particularly stubborn, and I question his inteligence sometimes.... but, this just didnt help at all. Plus if your dog learns to push the shocker part away from their throat, they wont be bothered.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY!!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
dlg123
from New York
I was hesitant to purchase this from the beginning but read that it was just a static collar and did not hurt the animals. When I put this on my 12lb jack Russell the first bark she was startled and the second bark she literally yelped so loud and fell back off the couch. I immediately removed it and am returning this. Obviously it causes more than just a static feel for the dog. I am against animal cruelty of any kind and this is just that! Do not buy if you love your animal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly!!!!!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
LUCISPOCK
from Hillside,NJ
My Mix LabPitt bull, was a non stop baking dog, after using this collar , he is a new kind of dog, more quite, calm and happy too!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I do think that this product is worth the $

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
momto3dogs
from Decatur, AL
Our main issues were just that we as pet parents had to get comfortable with the instructions provided. Once we were used to adjusting them each night both of the dogs for whom we purchased them for have been fine and there have really been no major issues even during the day when they are not wearing the collars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definately works!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Victoria2V
from Akron,OH
This is one the best! I could not be more happy! I have a 55 pound pitbull who barked at everything. I put it on her and she learned right away, after 3 barks, she should not bark. It did not hurt her, it startled her and that was enough. After two days all we had to do was show it to her if she barked, and we would say collar. Now we say collar and she stops barking..We keep it as a back up. The only thing I wish was that I would have bought the remote collar so we had more control of what kind of bark was not wanted. :) Definately try this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

the shock of it all

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
dollie1
from troy,ny
I purchased a shock collar to control the continuous barking of my Pekinese. I was so excited to try it out as other friends have had a great result using this product.However after following directions to the letter,and speaking to customer service I have a dog who is unresponsive to the shock of it all and continues to bark even while wearing the collar.I guess i'll try ear plugs for me!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works!

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
GourdGal
from San Antonio
I am so glad I bought the bark collar. It didn't take but 2 barks the first time. Rufus doesn't even run outside to bark when the other dogs are barking, now, a week later. I am in a high dog barking neighborhood, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too large

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
RoyalRedYogiBear
from Missouri
This bark control collar was way too large for my 11 pound Shiz Tzu and I'm going to have to return it. I measured my dogs present collar before I made my order and it measured 11 inches and the ad said that this bark control collar would fit down to 6 inches but it doesn't. In my opinion the smallest size this collar would fit would be around 14 inches
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No bark

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Puiying
from Moreno Valley,ca
Seems to be working fine. However I have not heard. It beep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life saver! (his and mine!)

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
TXhoneybadger
from Houston, TX
We picked up a stray a couple weeks ago (and did everything we could to find his owner to no avail). He is absolutely adorable, but when playing with our other two dogs he would constantly bark and it was extremely high pitched and would go on for hours. My husband was ready to return him to the street!! (he wouldnt really ... but it was that bad!)
I was concerned about the collar because obviously I didnt want to hurt him, but the collar works by picking up on the vibration of the bark and sending a 'shock' (it has been likened to those muscle contractors you would use at a physical therapist - or if your cheating on your abs!!) so not so much a painful electric shock more a muscle spasm if that makes sense.
If the dog barks again within 30 seconds of the first bark, the intensity will go up. I believe there are 5 levels. he hasnt gone past the first one. We usually just put it on when we see theyre about to start their playtime running around and wrestling and now after only about a week, he doesnt even bark now when we put it on him as I assume he associates it with not barking which is great. (but he doesnt mind us putting it on.)
Occasionally he'll forget and a bark will creep out, but it doesnt happen much. His reaction is more to jump and look around to see who tapped him!
I would hands down recommend this product, its saved my ears and my temperament!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

return

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
RC3Beck
I need to return and am unable to figure it out how
to. Can you help me . Product to big for my dog
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
sheepadoodle
from oceanside,ny
I brought 2 of these collars for my old English sheepdog and my labradoodle. My neighbor is very grouchy and complains when they bark and they bark a lot whenever someone comes to the door or walks by the house. These collars worked for both dogs immediately. I have tried several other collars with remote controls and shock collars and none of them worked. We love these collars and are very thankful for a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Fast

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Scout33
from Georgia
I put this collar on my heeler on Tuesday and it took one bark for her to figure it out. She freaked out a little at first, but day one with the collar was the only day she has barked so far. She usually barks a lot when people walk in our house but now she does not. This collar is great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The barking has stopped

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cheriw
from Valencia, CA
We bought this product, actually 2, for our two dogs who find it necessary to bark at the squirrels around 5:30 a.m. I am sure our neighbors are happier now. We hesitated for quite awhile but had two vets recommend a shock collar for this problem. Glad we got them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works fine!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
joex
from santa ana, ca
I used it a bunch the first week with my two puppies. Now they don't bark at night, so I leave it off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
stevent3
from WA
DOA Did not work, put in new battery and still did not work. Save your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>