petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System

The training collar that stops annoying, excessive barking the humane way (often incorrectly referred to as a shock collar, this collar uses safe but effective static correction)Simple-to-operate bark control systemSafe for use on smaller dogs and effective enough for larger dogsModel PBC-302
Average Customer Rating:
3.757 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(181 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 181 reviews
5 stars
98
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 star
35
128 out of 181(71%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer Reviews for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Review 1 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This saved his tail!!!!

PostedApril 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
Pet Owner
from NY NY
This works!!!!! I highly recommend it!!!! It has saved me the heartache of getting rid of an otherwise really nice dog (beagle)who barked non-stop
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+68points
136of 204voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dad

PostedFebruary 7, 2006
Customer Avatar
Mr. MoM
from Seattle, WA.
Not would I buy this product again, I am buying this product again, that is why I am here.
We have raised everything from Sheps to St. Bernards with Dobies and Great Danes in between and do own a 3/4 Mile Innotek Training Collar System that we paid over $400.00 for about 8-years ago. I don't know if the waterproofing wasn't so water proof or what but it was an incredible waste of cash as it was dead within 6-months. It's in storage in its fancy case collecting dust. On the other hand one of our Danes in particular just wouldn't shut up so we used one of these PetSafe collars from PetCo and boy did this huge Adult Dane push it. But the collar pushes back and despite being constantly antagonized by some 12-14 year young unattended neighbor girls our Dane finally shut up. It was a tough situation as our Danes were being antagonized but we had plenty of other innocent neighbors and although ALERTING is Acceptable Behavior, barking non-stop ... especially when we are gone and unable to correct on our own, is unacceptable. I always felt guilty using the hand control anyways so using this PetSafe product kept it between the dog's will and the collars durability. Our last one got the job done so all these years later with a new house and vocal Rott I'm going with Quality & Price - PetSafe!! The Citrinella Collars didn't work for us, didn't work for our neighbors or their dog whom all the other neighbors called in before we ever bought the house. The Static Stimulant collars make everyone happy except your pet as they do shut any barking dog up that I have ever used them on including a pair of Huge Great Danes once again. They also make a GREAT GIFT for neighbors with chronically barking dogs, the price is less than sleepless nights, disturbing afternoons and Neighbor Wars.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+93points
143of 193voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lifesaver

PostedNovember 25, 2005
Customer Avatar
Pet Lover
from Glen Burnie, MD
I got this collar for my Lab a few years ago when my townhouse neighbor was complaining about her barking during the day. This has turned out to be a lifesaver! She has only had to bark once to realize what the collar was for. We've even been able to still use it even if the battery needed replacing because she just knew. I highly recommend this for anyone in the same living situation or a dog that just barks for no reason. I work at a veterinarians office and I feel this is very humane.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-19points
177of 373voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great on my 110 lb. dog

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
steve9465
from ocean city, md.
was basically trained in 1 day with a couple of mess ups.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I just SHOW it to my dog and he stops barking!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
gotechnow
from Dallas
My dog likes to spin in circles while frantically barking at the ground for 45 seconds whenever we let him outside. The neighbors don't like it too much, especially at night, so I got this collar after checking reviews. The first time I put it on the dog started his routine and immediately reared up on his hind legs like a bucking bronco yelping in fear or surprise. He got the message pretty fast and slinked out quietly, and stayed cowering in the yard until I got him. The next time I let him out using the collar he cowered away and didn't want to go outside, so I had to carry him out! Every now and then if I leave it on and he is outside for a long time he will forget about it and let out one bark which is immediately followed by a high pitched yelp. Now I generally just SHOW him the collar, and he behaves.
It works like a charm!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't work, poor quality control

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rakyhal23
from Moreno Valley, ca
I ordered 3 of these collars, all of which came either with dead batteries or defective- they don't beep prior to correcting the dog, & only work about 20% of the time. Will be returning all 3.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
NikoLANA
from Los Angeles, CA
After a week of using this product it does't work anymore.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PetSafe Bark Control collar

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Itiswhatitis
The "no bark" collar worked almost immediately on our dog. I wish I had tried it sooner to avoid all the unnecessary barking we had with him.
I would recommend the collar to anyone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked wonders with my puggle

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
MottinPuggle
from PA
I have a pug/beagle mix who constantly barks if he is tied up, but destructive when he is loose during times that we can't pay as much attention to him. Anyone who has one probably understands how piercing that high pitched, loud bark can be. The first time we had this collar on him, he learned not to bark. His barking has decreased even without having it on. My only complaint, and it might be that I just need to learn more about using it, is that his bark does not always trigger it to work when we first put it on him. We usually have to slide it across a piece of cardboard before applying it to get it to work. If it weren't for it occasionally not working, I would give it 5 paws. We love the overall effect it has had, and I'm sure our neighbors do too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Wonders!

PostedJune 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
dogmom1975
from Maple Grove, MN
I was skeptical and unsure of what to expect from this collar. Our big 93 lb. husky mix was barking his head off any time we put him out by his dog house. After one try with the collar, there was a huge improvement. He will sporadically bark once and then stop now, but there is NO more continuous barking at all. My only complaint is that the collar part itself is not very substantial. I would like it to be wider for a big dog like ours, but it still works like a charm and now we want to get one for our other yappy small dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best training tool I've ever seen

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Auburngirl
from Mandeville, LA
Having recently moved into a small condo out of a large house, I knew that my dogs' barking would probably be an issue for my neighbors at some point. I purchased 2 of these collars for my 2 small (and vocal) dogs a couple weeks ago and I hardly hear a peep out of them now! The training tool began working on day one. I'm sticking with the training by putting the collars on my 2 pups for a little while everyday, but even when they don't have the collars on there is little to no barking. I highly recommend this training tool.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedJune 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
BBeh
from Dallas, TX
Worked efficiently and without seeming to pain my dog.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It worked the 1st time she barked

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Luvmy3kids
from New York
The 1st times she barked it zapped her, she realized what it was for, and that was that. I couldn't believe it. The only thing about this collar is the battery, I wish it would take regular batteries, so you know how much strength you have left, and that way you can easily put in new batteries.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

bark collar blues

PostedMay 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
BeagleBob
from Greensboro, NC
The PetSafe Bark Control collar we bought is only moderately effective. Our little Beagle still barks thru the shock quite often. It has reduced her barking somewhat, but it is not a complete solution by any means.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has been effective with our dogs

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mema2Dom
from Kansas City, MO
Our dogs and neighbor's dogs have been out of control barking at one another forcing us to limit the dogs' time together in the yard. These collars have changed everything. Our dogs are now ignoring the neighbor's dogs spending more time playing with each other instead of barking incessantly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product works!!!!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Farmerswife77
from Woolwich Twp.,N.J.
Didn't take more than a few days of wearing the collar and the barking problem stopped. I am the owner of a 1 1/2 year old Lab. They can be a little hard headed, but the way the collar works makes it easy for the dog to get it!!! Would highly recommend this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barky, bark, bark

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Skippy65
from UA, OH
Great product. My dog use to have straight hair, now is curly; I believe it is because he is a slow learner; he would try to bark at the S-H-O-C-K-S he was receiving (I put it on and barked... HAHA I don't recommend you try that HAHA).
In the end, he has learned to not bark as much... but he so HATES the "P-O-S-T-A-L__E-M-P-L-O-Y-E-E."
K, 'nuf said.
Peace.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

no help

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
rmcc92
I have a beagle basset mix who howls constantly. The collar would only make him get more excited and bark more... then after so many shocks it stops all together. so I think it trained him to bark a bunch to get it to stop. It also doesnt control growling or even small barks. My dog growls whenever you yell at him to stop barking, and the growling is almost more annoying than the barking. My dog is particularly stubborn, and I question his inteligence sometimes.... but, this just didnt help at all. Plus if your dog learns to push the shocker part away from their throat, they wont be bothered.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY!!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
dlg123
from New York
I was hesitant to purchase this from the beginning but read that it was just a static collar and did not hurt the animals. When I put this on my 12lb jack Russell the first bark she was startled and the second bark she literally yelped so loud and fell back off the couch. I immediately removed it and am returning this. Obviously it causes more than just a static feel for the dog. I am against animal cruelty of any kind and this is just that! Do not buy if you love your animal.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
5of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Bark Control Pet Training System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfectly!!!!!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
LUCISPOCK
from Hillside,NJ
My Mix LabPitt bull, was a non stop baking dog, after using this collar , he is a new kind of dog, more quite, calm and happy too!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>