petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt

Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt

Nitrate- and phosphate-freeFast-dissolving aquarium saltSuper mix contains every important major, minor and trace element necessary for the health of your aquarium#1 choice of hobbyists, public aquariums and scientific research facilities for aquarium sea salt and salt water aquarium supplies Made in the USA
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
45 out of 48(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Review 1 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hard to beat

PostedJune 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Saltwaterlv
from Las Vegas
You just can't go wrong with this salt. I have tried several brands and have had the best consistency with instant ocean. If you are new to salt water or have a large dosed system this is the best salt for your money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for reef setups

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJNN
from NW Arkansas
I've tried ONE bucket of Instant Ocean--and NEVER again. I have a 225g mixed reef (SPS, LPS, softies) and I've never seen them as closed up and unhappy as they were when I used this salt. Wouldn't recommend for those with reef systems..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
New2Saltwater
from Central MN
This salt is exactly what I needed to start my saltwater aquarium! Just waiting for it to cycle so I can eventually add fish! =)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product that Disolves Quickly

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
311Sean
from The Colony, TX
I recently installed an RO/DI system to make my own saltwater for my 75 gallon mixed reef tank. As normal, I was scared to death to make my first batch. Two water changes later and fish are still swimming. Although the mix does disolve fast, it's in your best interest to use a power mixer to get all salt to disolve. I first used a powerhead and not all salt disolved. I personally let mine sit overnight and mix as often as possible with mixer and powerhead. Great product, very affordable price!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great surprise

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
thebobcat
from Tucson Az
The salt mix I bought was a great mix at a great cost and it even shipped to my doorstep really quickly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Saltwater Tank

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sinbadd
from Las Vegas, NV
This has been very easy to use for my reef setup and I would highly recommend, it is high quality and worth a little more but in the long run it is some of the best on the market. Works great fish loving it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps them alive

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jimm3
from Branson, MO
We have used this product for many years. It dissolves easily and completely. Our reef and the fish are living testimony to its effectiveness. It definitely replicates sea water enough to keep them alive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Doberman33
from Dallas, Tx
Bought the 200 gallon case. Was a great buy with the sale price. Fast shipping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Psg42
from Pennsylvania
very easy to use, dissolves quickly in water achieved desired salt level in 10 minutes
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SUPER PRODUCT

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
breezy71396
IVE USED THIS PRODUCT IN THE PAST IT LAST FOREVER WORKS GREAT IN MY SALT WATER TANK....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great & Easy to use product.....

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
doug1
from Mansfield, TX
This product is very easy to use and and not as expensive as the other brands.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
deckardn
from Janesville, WI
I have been using Instant Ocean for almost 20 years and have not had any reason to change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent salt

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
lizsean
from corpus christi,tx
We usually buy saltwater already made but we decided to try this salt mix and we loved it. It has simple intructions and salt was not lumpy at all. It doesnt alter ph. We love this product and we will continue to use for our salt water aquariums. I love the big box because its a big quantity for reasonable price. I would definetly recommend this product to anybody who has never used salt mix before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product.....

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
doug01
from mansfield, tx
very easy to use and always measure up to testing levels.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT!

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
55GallonTank
from Baton Rouge, LA
Holy moley! This salt mixes so well. I haven't had any PH problems and my fish seem very happy. I definitely recommend this product! It didn't have any lumps and mixed quite easily. I'm very satisfied and this is the only salt mix I'll buy from now on!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great salt

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
imurhuklebry
from alabama
i was very pleased with the 3 day delivery and the salt was in great shape no lumps seemed to be fresh have 55 gal tank only took half the bag to get right levels very surprising it called for the whole bag
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Ocean Salt

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
icecream802
from E. Escondido. Ca.
As for as I am concerned this is the only Marine Salt to use. Because I have no problems with PH,or any of the other bad or harsh additives that some of the other Marine Salt companys.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beorn
from Arlington, VA
This is my staple aquarium salt. It contains all important trace elements, and is very easy to measure and mix. I have used it for years. I add my own trace elements for my corals, as I'd rather measure dosages of these myself. I don't believe in adding excess stronium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Salt.

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
osolow
from Bluffton SC
I have used for years the 200Gal box is bagged in smaller bags makes it great for keeping for a long time and not getting hard in the bag or bucket...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Instant Ocean Aquarium Salt

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
kapsix
from Cape Coral, FL
I've been using Instant ocean for well over 20 years and never-ever had a problem with it. I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>