petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods

Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods

Full-length oak trim hoods provide excellent lighting and greatly reduce water evaporation Full-length door Rear cut-out sections for easy accessory installationFluorescent tubes with instant-start circuits
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
6
22 out of 32(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Review 1 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOTS OF LIGHT :-)

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
bigmic
from Goose Creek, S.C.
The hood is of good quality material. It was shipped on time. It was easy to install. The only problem I had was getting the plastic punch outs to actually "punch out" for the different items in the back of the tank. Once that was done it was a SNAP ! :-) LOL
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
RomaR
from Orlando FL
Just the color and size that I needed.I bought my fish tank more than 8 years ago and the hood was broken. I replace it and it just looks as the original one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mixed feelings

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
FishForPets
from Sunnyvale, CA
The bulb is only half the width of the hood (centered). I could have bought a cheaper hood if that was what I wanted. I couldn't tell from the product description. And the color of the bulb washes out the colors of the fish. I have another tank with a different freshwater fluorescent lamp that looks much better. The full width opening is good for access but it also tempts my 3 year old to throw things in the tank.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
AnnieD
from San Jose, CA
I have Oak woodwork throughout our house and
wanted to have an Oak aquarium hood to match our Staircase. None of the stores had it, so I ordered it here and it's perfect and it came in 5 days.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks & works great !!

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick64Audrey
from Eagle Rock , MO.
Shipping , inst. , looks , all great , really does a good job . Better than new !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Item

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
FishLoverPA
I am glad to have my new hood fit as snug as I wanted and needed it to do so. It was a great purchase and a good deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great hood

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vegasfish123
from las vegas
Hi I just received my new Aqueon Deluxe fluorescent hood it fits great and looks even better.
This is a great hood and light is very nice. I would buy this hood again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
yes123123
fit perfect, looks nice too. The measurements were exactly right. I had called the local petco store and they didn;t have this one so I ordered it and Glad I did.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Light, But Read The Directions

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brad4321
This was the only light in this price range that was the right dimension for my 55 gallon. They fit perfect and are true to the dimensions listed...measure your aquarium before buying. I bought two, and upon receiving them, it states in big letters it is not for open water and must be covered by glass. This thought never crossed my mind with all of the "helps reduce evaporation" sales pitch, and the swing open "door".
The lights themselves have a nice look, and the pre-cut outs in the back are a nice feature, despite not being an easy snap-off.
The lights themselves are not very bright. Definitely do not use for live plants, but two light up the aquarium well and fairly natural without overdoing it.
I will be using the lights as they seem to be a well made piece, but my cost has significantly gone up since I now have to buy a plexiglass top to keep the lights from shorting out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aquarium hood

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jayb1rd
Nice addition to the Tanks looks and fits good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't be fooled!

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sjkc
If you're going for a fish only tank with plastic decorations, this hood may look good and do the job. But, if you want any kind of live plants, be aware that the maximum wattage you will get out of this hood is around 40W. This is the same for all hoods of this sort. You'll need a more specialized lighting system for growing aquatic plants.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the right size

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
gardenlady45
from dearborn, mi
I tried to find a full hood for my 85 gal aquarium in the usual stores, including petco, but none were the right size. The sales clerk told me to try on line and sure enough the exact size I needed, by that I mean inside measurements.
This is a really sleek looking hood, with cut outs for the filter, in different sizes, and the heater. The cut outs were a bit of a pain to get out, I used heavy duty scissors to make the straight cuts on each side and then brute strength to get the rest out. However, it showed the sturdiness of the plastic.
Looks good, light is just right and covers the whole aquarium. The fact it comes with a light is definitely a plus.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

?????????????????

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
CoachCox
from Waycross Georgia
Order the hood for size indicated in order and it was the same size as hood that I ordered. Hood did not fit but I had promised my son (3 y/o) that the aquarium would be put up so I had to buy a piece of Plexiglas @ $43 to make the hood fit . Notice I did read the review prior to my order and noticed that several people had the same issues with this hood and light. Way too small for 55 gallon aquarium.
Items arrived at my house within a few days! this is not Petco's fault they do not manufactor the hood.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aquarium Hood

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
blessed1969
Product shipped on time and I was unable to locate one in the store but Petco saved the day for my 29 gallon tank. My old hood was cracked when I moved but this one fit perfect.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

a bit disappointed

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
knnle
from nyc
mine is black. the glass is only 29x4. and the lamp is only 24" long, not 30" long like i thought, so it is not as bright as i like.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just What I Wanted

PostedDecember 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
gojo431
Received this item just two days after ordering it. Fit and works great. Real satisfied with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedDecember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
mamagin
from Tobyhanna, PA
I love my new tank cover with light. So far, no problems. Works and looks great. Shipping was very fast. Loved the on-line purchase process from start to finish.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hood for 10 Gallon

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Inlinerch
This hood works as well as the hoods for larger tanks. It is a bit snug and I had to bend and take off the strip in the back so it would fit down inside the rim of the aquarium or the lid would not close properly. The strip is made to remove or leave in place as is the cutout for the filter and heater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Experience

PostedNovember 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lyriclady67
This is the first time I have ordered from Petco online and I can say I definitely will be making a return visit. I placed the order on a Monday and it arrived the Wednesday following...great service!!
The hood perfectly fit our 29-gallon fish tank and definitely improved its' overall look. The perforated openings were easy to punch out with the help of a regular screwdriver and a pair of pliers. Great product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Deluxe Full Fluorescent Oak Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what the Box Claims

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I bought this product in my local store. The outside of the box very clearly states that it is for certain gallon aquariums and that the length is 36". Upon getting it home and trying it out, it was only 35". I looked at the information inside and it said that it fits on the inside lip of a 36" tank. That's fine and dandy, if all tanks throughout history were manufactured by the same company and with the same design. Guess what...they're not. My tank, being a bit older, does not have the inner lip. Perhaps the company might want to put that information on the outside of the box in the future instead of assuming that their product is one size fits all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>