petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems

Marineland Emperor Filter Systems

Unparalleled multi-stage aquarium filter - mechanical, biological, and chemicalIncludes filter cartridge with twice the carbon capacity, and superior wet/dry Bio-Wheel filtrationEmperor fish tank filter system features a revolutionary two-pump design that can stand up to any aquarium or tankUnmatched by other filters in their class
Average Customer Rating:
4.107 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
5 stars
67
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
12
89 out of 112(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Review 1 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Under performer

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrObvious
from Alamo City, TX
Have been using this filter for 9 months. While the design and appearance looks substantial, the Emperor 400 performance is poor. The Bio-Wheel seems to be a gimmick due to water quality doesn't improve when having them installed. While the pump does move a lot of water it does so noisily. Even though the filter does move a lot of water the filters do a poor job regardless of configuration. I've tried using the filters pads with adding carbon/zeolite to the filter media container but filtration suffers. If I use four filter pads then water quality suffers. The quality of construction is poor as only the cheapest, flimsiest plastic is used resulting in an ill-fitting filter assembly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Emperor 400 too loud

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
MattFishGuy
from Springfeild, IL
I bought the Emperor 400 because of the spray bars and the bio wheels. I set it up on my 45 gallon freshwater cichlid tank. I immediately noticed that the impeller was making a rattling noise and I messed with it a bit and tried to get it quiet but could not. I went to the nearby Petco store and got another pump and switched out the impeller part and then it was definitely better but overall this pump is just too loud so I returned it and got the Penguin 350 and have been much happier with that so far.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY, VERY, VERY, LOUD!!!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
RiverGuy2010
I ordered this filter online, despite having a few misgivings about some of the reviews stating that this is a loud filter. I LOVED the idea of the bio wheel on this filter, combined with the extra media you can put it in it.
Well, I put the thing together (PROPERLY, mind you:) and plugged it in, and the noise level was just insane. I can see now why someone in another review said it reminded them of being in the factory. It sounded like a grinder or something. It was THAT loud. Ridiculous. As I'm writing this, it is now sitting outside waiting for UPS pickup. :)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Emperor filter system

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Meleana
from Hawaii
This is my third Emperor Filter System. Does a good job, easy to clean & quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Filter

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
pmedic828
from Louisiana
Received the filter and seemed to have everything in the box that you would need to start off. I has an extension pickup tube that I didn't use as I have a 55 gal aquarium. The filter ran quiet for a couple of days, then started to whine. I removed the impeller and replaced it back making sure that it was seated. Again, after a few days, it started making a very slight noise. This noise is in no way loud, but is is slight. Called manufacturer to get advise. Manufacturer stated that sometimes the impeller causes this noise and agreed without hesitation, to mail me a replacement pickup tube and impeller - no charge. I am awaiting this shipment but the manufacturer was extremely helpful and was willing to help me solve this "problem". The circulation is GREAT and moves a lot of water. The bio wheels can be sped up or slowed way down by adjusting 2 knurled knobs in back of the bio wheel. My filter did not have a variable filter rate, but is quiet and efficient for it's size and price. I would recommend this filter to anyone who wishes to have a large volume of water filtered and would definitely purchase this filter again!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than my old canister filter

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wynsom
from Memphis
Works very well on my 55 gallon. The water is crystal clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty darn good

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cichlidsdoe
from Modesto, CA
I've been running tanks for 9 years, and I'm olly 19. The bio wheel is a great patented item that no one else offers where beneficial bacteria can grow and thrive. This filter is amassing because you can control how much media is in there. Also, you can save about 150 per year on filters if you have cichlids haha. Anyway, get it. It's money well spent. Had mine for 7 years, and haven't had a problem yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Staetik
from NC
I did alot of research before buying this and heard they can be noisy, but I believed in the design. The filter "works" well. Love the flow, hate the lack of control. Love the amount of media I can put in it. Loved the look of the filter. The first day it had a hum, much like a cheap air pump. Second day got worse. Third day it woke me up (tank is in my bedroom). Sounded like it had a rock in the impeller (my tank has sand substrate). I took it apart, found nothing stuck or out of the ordinary. I used the Vaseline trick on the impeller and it did not help enough (almost got back to the original hum). Called and emailed Marineland. They offered to replace the impeller and housing. But, the person I spoke with confessed to it being a known issue and suggested the replacement parts would give similar results in time. I ended up returning it and getting an Fluval C4.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dorkjackson
from Lake Geneva, WI
I've had a Penguin 300 in the past that was silent. I thought I would upgrade to this one. The impeller was very loud. Marineland sent me a replacement impeller. Still very noisy. They sent me a replacement impeller housing. Still noisy. I'm returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extremely quiet

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmsd
from oregon
So far I am very pleased with the Emperor filter. It is extremely quiet and the sound I do hear when close to it is a gentle soothing sound. I am guessing those who are having trouble with the noise may not have enough water in the tank or something is not lined up right. I also found it is best to fill the resevor before starting otherwise it takes a long time for the water to flow and that can be a bit noisy. I have not had it long enough to know how efficient the cleaning is. I actually have two of them. The other is hooked to a magnum filter. Both are quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really cleared up my aquarium

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
snort
from Vero Beach, FL
My 40 gallon aquarium has 27 fish in it and seemed to be yellowish all the time. Probably over feeding but now it is clear as a bell and I'm still feeding them the same amount. 2 pinches each A.M. and again in P. M.
Very happy with it. Runs quietly and well made to include easy cleaning, replacing parts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter(s)

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pzt69
from Chicago, IL
I have an Marineland 400 and a 280 on my 55 Gallon tank. The water is crystal clear and the filters themselves are very quiet and easy to clean and maintain. Awesome product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter, Great customer support

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlackHeart
from Gig Harbor, WA
I ordered the 280 to start up my 40 gallon tank. When it got here the filter its self was cracked pretty badly to the point you couldn't fill in with water. I called in as soon as we saw it and they were so nice, sent in the damages and they sent me a new one free. It got here a day earlier than expected. It works great is pretty quiet. I've got the filter and an air pump running and I have no problem. Changing filter cartridges is easy and you can put anything in the empty cartridge do on what you need for your water. It works great keeps my water clean and clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome filter

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maximus33
from Oklahoma City
I have used this product for over 5 years and it has never failed to do it's job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This filter works but is loud

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
AKBaxter
from Anchorage, AK
I've waited a week to write this review hoping things would get better, but this Marineland Emperor 280 is very loud so much that talking around it is challenging.
Works great on water filtering but the pump and/or impeller sound makes it unusable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Filter

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
SuLu
from Lewisville, TX
Got it on sale to replace the filter on my 36 Gallon tank. So far appears to be working very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Saltwateraddict1999
from Priest River, Idaho
I have a 55 gallon saltwater fish tank and this thing does a great job! There is no comparison between this filter and the other filters that I have had. If there is one thing I would change, it would be the price of the filter cartilages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great - Quiet Running

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
friscodeb
from Frisco, TX
We bought 2 of the large for our 115 gallon tank. They work so much better and are much quieter than what we had previously. The fish are happy and so are we.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thee odd ball

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cshell44
from Kentucky
After reading all the good reviews on this Bio Wheel power filter. How could you NOT buy it? Well yeah that's what I thought also. after this review is done I will be calling.. Pump is very noisy like something is caught in it. I have only had this pump less than a week for my 55 gal. tank. Easy set up and liked the power of the filtration...but something isn't right. Also can't use the extensions that came with it...should be able to in a 55 gal.tank since this pump is for it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Emperor 400

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
KLMW
from Florida
I would recommend this filter to anybody who is looking for a hang on the back filter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>