petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems

Marineland Emperor Filter Systems

Unparalleled multi-stage aquarium filter - mechanical, biological, and chemicalIncludes filter cartridge with twice the carbon capacity, and superior wet/dry Bio-Wheel filtrationEmperor fish tank filter system features a revolutionary two-pump design that can stand up to any aquarium or tankUnmatched by other filters in their class
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
5 stars
66
4 stars
19
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
10
86 out of 106(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Review 1 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty darn good

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cichlidsdoe
from Modesto, CA
I've been running tanks for 9 years, and I'm olly 19. The bio wheel is a great patented item that no one else offers where beneficial bacteria can grow and thrive. This filter is amassing because you can control how much media is in there. Also, you can save about 150 per year on filters if you have cichlids haha. Anyway, get it. It's money well spent. Had mine for 7 years, and haven't had a problem yet
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Staetik
from NC
I did alot of research before buying this and heard they can be noisy, but I believed in the design. The filter "works" well. Love the flow, hate the lack of control. Love the amount of media I can put in it. Loved the look of the filter. The first day it had a hum, much like a cheap air pump. Second day got worse. Third day it woke me up (tank is in my bedroom). Sounded like it had a rock in the impeller (my tank has sand substrate). I took it apart, found nothing stuck or out of the ordinary. I used the Vaseline trick on the impeller and it did not help enough (almost got back to the original hum). Called and emailed Marineland. They offered to replace the impeller and housing. But, the person I spoke with confessed to it being a known issue and suggested the replacement parts would give similar results in time. I ended up returning it and getting an Fluval C4.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noisy!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
dorkjackson
from Lake Geneva, WI
I've had a Penguin 300 in the past that was silent. I thought I would upgrade to this one. The impeller was very loud. Marineland sent me a replacement impeller. Still very noisy. They sent me a replacement impeller housing. Still noisy. I'm returning it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

extremely quiet

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
nmsd
from oregon
So far I am very pleased with the Emperor filter. It is extremely quiet and the sound I do hear when close to it is a gentle soothing sound. I am guessing those who are having trouble with the noise may not have enough water in the tank or something is not lined up right. I also found it is best to fill the resevor before starting otherwise it takes a long time for the water to flow and that can be a bit noisy. I have not had it long enough to know how efficient the cleaning is. I actually have two of them. The other is hooked to a magnum filter. Both are quiet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really cleared up my aquarium

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
snort
from Vero Beach, FL
My 40 gallon aquarium has 27 fish in it and seemed to be yellowish all the time. Probably over feeding but now it is clear as a bell and I'm still feeding them the same amount. 2 pinches each A.M. and again in P. M.
Very happy with it. Runs quietly and well made to include easy cleaning, replacing parts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter(s)

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pzt69
from Chicago, IL
I have an Marineland 400 and a 280 on my 55 Gallon tank. The water is crystal clear and the filters themselves are very quiet and easy to clean and maintain. Awesome product!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter, Great customer support

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BlackHeart
from Gig Harbor, WA
I ordered the 280 to start up my 40 gallon tank. When it got here the filter its self was cracked pretty badly to the point you couldn't fill in with water. I called in as soon as we saw it and they were so nice, sent in the damages and they sent me a new one free. It got here a day earlier than expected. It works great is pretty quiet. I've got the filter and an air pump running and I have no problem. Changing filter cartridges is easy and you can put anything in the empty cartridge do on what you need for your water. It works great keeps my water clean and clear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome filter

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maximus33
from Oklahoma City
I have used this product for over 5 years and it has never failed to do it's job.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This filter works but is loud

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
AKBaxter
from Anchorage, AK
I've waited a week to write this review hoping things would get better, but this Marineland Emperor 280 is very loud so much that talking around it is challenging.
Works great on water filtering but the pump and/or impeller sound makes it unusable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Filter

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
SuLu
from Lewisville, TX
Got it on sale to replace the filter on my 36 Gallon tank. So far appears to be working very well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Filter

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Saltwateraddict1999
from Priest River, Idaho
I have a 55 gallon saltwater fish tank and this thing does a great job! There is no comparison between this filter and the other filters that I have had. If there is one thing I would change, it would be the price of the filter cartilages.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great - Quiet Running

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
friscodeb
from Frisco, TX
We bought 2 of the large for our 115 gallon tank. They work so much better and are much quieter than what we had previously. The fish are happy and so are we.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thee odd ball

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cshell44
from Kentucky
After reading all the good reviews on this Bio Wheel power filter. How could you NOT buy it? Well yeah that's what I thought also. after this review is done I will be calling.. Pump is very noisy like something is caught in it. I have only had this pump less than a week for my 55 gal. tank. Easy set up and liked the power of the filtration...but something isn't right. Also can't use the extensions that came with it...should be able to in a 55 gal.tank since this pump is for it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Emperor 400

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
KLMW
from Florida
I would recommend this filter to anybody who is looking for a hang on the back filter
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Loudly

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
SamNchris
from Detroit, MI
They work great but they are much louder than I though they would be, we have 2 on out 110 gallon aquarium.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Marineland Emperor Filter System

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Buladean
from Tri-Cites, TN
I bought this filter system to replace a filter that came with my aquarium that wasn’t adequate enough to keep the nitrite, nitrate and ammonia levels under control. What I like about the filter the most is the three stages, a larger filter cartage, a cartage that you can choose what type of media to add and the Bio-Wheel. I also like that it has water intake at the bottom of the tank and also at mid level.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
seascience
from Portsmouth RI
I use this filter for an aquarium that is approximately 85 gallons and it does at great job, quiet and very efficient.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A mystery

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heekeek
from Maine
The filter was larger than I though which is fine. I am completely perplexed about the filter cartridges. The filter comes with black cases to put the filter media in, but for the life of me, I cannot get the media in the black cases. I even resorted to cutting the cartridges but still cannot make them fit. I called the company for help but were closed for night...
Just makes no sense so I have just put the cartridges directly into the filter with out the black holders.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

An engineering flaw

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Silverchickie
from Ft Worth, TX
Others have said the same thing about this filter but I bought it in spite of their experiences. My fish tank is 55 gallons and this filter surely kept the water crystal clear; however, it is noisy. I called Marineland for further advice and they sent me a new impeller at no charge. The filter has a 3 year warranty. After replacing the impeller there were about 3 days of considerable less noise. Then just yesterday it started that awful grinding sound again. I'm returning it today to Petco. I'm really disappointed in this product since it was superb with water clarity.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Marineland Emperor Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you like the penguin...

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
DMD123
from Tacoma
If you like the penguin, you will like this even more. It just has a bit nicer/heavier construction and is a little better of a filter. Ive used the 400 model and was very happy with it for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>