petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent

Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent

For use indoors and outdoorsKeeps cats and kittens away from furniture, carpet, trees, shrubs, and other forbidden areasRepels cats and kittens for 12 to 24 hours when applied daily
Average Customer Rating:
2.095 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
7 out of 21(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Review 1 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It doesn't work on our three cats

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
KNRLB
from The Dalles, OR
Our three cats congregate outside our bedroom at night and one of them very loudly and frequently paws the door, keeping us awake. Training him has been unsuccessful so we are trying other things. The first night we used this it worked for several hours, the second night for about an hour, now it has no effect at all on the cats though we both find the smell intense.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Works the first few times

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
FoxynMe
from Los Angeles, CA
I have a 6 week kitten who i just brought home and wanted to keep it out of the bathroom and certain areas at home. It seemed to work the first few times i sprayed because she stayed away but then she got use to the smell and started to go over it. Not really strong enough to have them stay away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I loved it

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paige91
This stuff really works.. My 1.5 yr old cat was clawing the brand new carpet and ruined it, so i tried this stuff before we got him declawed and it stop him from ruining it even more. but yes it does work..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The smell is horrible but.....

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
NotmyKitties
from MD
The smell will keep you away! It keep the cats away but you have to spray it daily and i mean daily if forget one day they are back at it. O yeah did I mention the smell!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Four Paws Cat repellent

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
pyxiegirlz
from VT
sprayed it all over my diningroom table and both cats still jump up on the table and stretch out and make themselves comfortable....all afternoon! I have used 1/2 the bottle and it doesn't seem to bother them in the least.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does NOT work.... smells NASTY

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
MeesoLovesChococat
from Las Vegas, NV
Not only do you have to stink like this gag inducing spray the whole day once you use it, but it doesn't work! My cat attacked the xmas tree by the second day after I sprayed, so I tried doing it daily.. She was not fazed..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works decently

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
sunnyx0r
from Illinois
I bought this to keep my new kitten from chewing on cords. At first I was afraid to use too much so I just sprayed lightly and it didn't have any effect. Then I decided I might as well go all-out with it, and sprayed liberally. He got within a few feet of the cords and ran the other way.
Pros: It works.
Cons: You have to use a lot of it. You also have to apply about once a day or more (I wish it lasted longer).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Smelly

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hammieandfishy
from CA
The spray really smells, and everytime i lay down on my couch or bed, all i can smell is this spray. It works fairly well, but it is not the best product ever. My dogs feel complelled to mark thier territory on where ever this is sprayed. That's not too good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does Not Work

PostedJune 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
KellyC582
from Birmingham, Al
This cat repellent does NOT work! I bought this product to try and deter my cat from jumping on the dining table. I followed the instructions on the can and even followed up spraying more regularly.. never worked. I even tried spraying it onto absorbent paper towels and placed them on the table thinking that maybe the smell would hold better and wasn't adhering to the wood.. not the issue. The product just stinks up your house and gives you a headache.. not a bother to the cat!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works wonders

PostedMay 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
ladya879
My cats now stay away from scratching the corners of my bed and my couches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work for us

PostedApril 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
MyCatGotAHuman
from New York
About an hour after I sprayed, the sweet little stray cat I'm trying to keep out of the flower beds stared right at me as she haunched over in the familiar position that says "I'm about to fertilize your roses the natural way." On the plus side, it smells pleasant enough. But it doesn't seem to even slow them down.
I'm still looking for the right product: something that will cover a limited area, so the cats can still use the part of the yard they're allowed to play in (not directly in the flower beds), and no harsh chemicals that are bad for people, cats, and earth. I'm thinking about trying a physical barrier that they won't like walking on, like placing river rocks or some other not-too-pleasant ground cover around the edges of the flower beds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Human Repeller

PostedMarch 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
DorayBoots
from Hartford, CT
This product probably works better on humans than on the intended party. It doesn't even last that long. I expect a 24 hour deterrent not 1 minute.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

it will not work

PostedFebruary 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
caspersmom
from Pittsburgh, PA
I tried to use this product to keep my new kitten from going underneath the microwave stand in the kitchen and minutes after I used it, he went right back to trying to go under the stand again. I am sorry i wasted my money on this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad product

PostedDecember 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
wildchild
from illinois
I used this product on my cats around our fish tank. To my suprise 10 mins. later they were trying to paw my fish. It smells bad yes but both my cats had no reaction to it what so ever. All they reacted to was the noise of it being sprayed. What ever you do don't buy this product. It's a waste of money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this stuff doesn't work--and it SMELLS!

PostedDecember 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Babagirls
from Milwaukee, WI
I went to petco last night to buy this (and the bitter apple spray) to get my cat from climbing in our christmas tree and biting the lights that are on it.
The bottle says to spray every 24 hours, but this stuff not only doesnt work, but it STINKS!! It filled my big apartment up with a funky smell and it's making me want to gag. I've had to spray air freshner and burn candles to get the smell out.
My cat still jumps in the tree and is destroying it branch by branch. This stuff does NOT work. Don't bother. I'm going to return this to PetCo and try another repellent they had called "boundry" or something. It's double the price of this product but if it works, then I don't mind.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a worthwhile product...

PostedNovember 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
KJHoover
from Baton Rouge, LA
I used the entire can over the course of the weekend trying to keep my cat out of the Christmas tree. It worked until the smell went away and then he was back in the tree. He seemed to be doing well yesterday, so I left him out when I went to work today and came home to a lot of broken ornaments strung out everywhere.
I'm going to go back to the store and try a different brand to see if they work any better!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent

PostedOctober 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
PaulW
from Bowling Green, Kentucky
I used this product and it only seems to work for about an hour. After that my cat wasn't even affected by it. Matter of fact he even laid down and played on an area I had treated.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THIS SPARY DOES NOT WORK!!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2006
Customer Avatar
LUCKY05
from MARYLAND
I BOUGHT THIS SPAY FOR MY KITTEN LAST WEEK. AT FIRST WHEN I SPAYED THE PRODUCT HE SMELLED THE AREA AND RAN AWAY. LATER THAT DAY I SPAY THE AREA AGAIN NOW HE JUST RAN THROUGH THE MIST HE LOVE THIS SPAY HE CAMES TO THE AREA I JUATED SPAYED LIKE THERE IS NOTHING THERE. I WOULDN'T TELL ANYMORE TO BUY THIS PRODUCT I'M GOING TO RETURN MINES TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not effective

PostedJune 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
rsmith
from WV
This worked only temporarily to keep one cat off my furniture and did not work at all to keep the other cat off.
It says to use daily, but I am quite busy and would like to find something that requires less maintenance.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Four Paws Cat and Kitten Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
This product works great to keep my kitty's away from the places they shouldn't be, for instance my house plants. The warning label on the back of the product is scary, but seems to be safe to my pets. I am ordering 4 more cans today!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>