petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent

Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent

Repellent for dogs and cats works up to 24 hours when applied dailyKeeps pets away from furniture, carpets, trees, garbage cans and bags, and other forbidden areasReady to use spray bottle
Average Customer Rating:
2.087 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
16
6 out of 23(26%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Review 1 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POOR PRODUCT

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New york, NY
This item does not work at all! I used it it smells really strong to humans and my dog peed where I sprayed
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
We have had an issue with our cats scratching on certain doors. We spray this product on the doors every couple of days, and so far it has kept the cats from scratching! It does have a weird odor but it seems to go away after a few hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Four Paws Keep off Indoor and Outdoor Repellent

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Aptos Calif
It worked for a short time and then it didn't.
When I first got the product it was defected and the spray nasal broke and they sent me another one. I find that double sided tape and removing the cat from the area and show them where to go seems to help much better.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't work

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Wareham MA
I bought this because my cat is destroying my furniture. It doesn't work. He was scratching and on the couch and chairs instantly. Now I don't mind him on the couch but he has torn a hole right down to the wood and its only two years old. I don't know what to do. This stuff smells really bad too. It takes my breath away. Do not buy!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from La Porte, Tx
Bought the granules form. Used more than half, my dog was drawn to it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

If it sounds too good to be true...

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Cape COd, MA
...it is! Either that or my cat just has such a strong desire to be places I don't want her to be. Oh, and don't bother trying to make a "moat" with it around your bed or something. The cat will just jump right over it!
Smells like green apples...doesn't smell bed ENOUGH, I guess! I'm disappointed in Petco; usually their products are pretty good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not work!

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
This product simply does not work. My cats literally jumped on top of the table immediately after spraying it down with this product...what a joke! Not to mention it smells horrible and probably repels me more than the cats.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Purchase EVER

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
It does not work. They seem to be more attracted to the spray than repelled by it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My cats love it!

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Seems to leave a scent they love to cuddle up with. This will keep humans off because its awful but cats have no problem waiting for you to spray then hopping up for a nap! Call it People Off! Or Cats On!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DOESN'T WORK

PostedJune 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
GOT THIS TO KEEP CATS OFF STOVE EVEN WITH USING 1/2 CAN AT 1 USE CATS WERE STILL ALL OVER STOVE
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sorry stuff

PostedJune 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
We have two dogs. Have sprayed this product in the areas we don't wish them to go and it doesn't seem to phase them at all.
I would never buy this product again. It is useless.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money and time

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Right after i sprayed the area i wanted my dog to stay off of, he went right over to the area and peed. I tried using it a couple more times after that but the smell seems to attract him to use the bathroom on the sprayed area rather than "keep off" DON'T WASTE your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't work

PostedSeptember 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Bronx, NY
I have a 3 yr old shih tzu that I wanted to stay off of the couch because we found out she had fleas and just in case they didn't all die I didn't want her all over my couch lounging because I know fleas jump. She's obedient, if she's on the couch and I tell her to get off she does, but she gets back on after I leave the room, which is the problem. I sprayed the couch the first day and she stayed away from the couch with no problem. The next day I sprayed the couch again and I sprayed it once more at night. I went into my room and closed the door, woke up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and she was on the couch again. Severely made me mad because I spent 9 bucks on something that didn't work. Don't waste ur time or money. There's a product called sofa off I may try, please don't waste ur time on this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works after a few times.

PostedSeptember 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, PA
It keeps Cats off the Furniture after applying it for several days. It has to be reapplied every few days as it wears off. Cats will go back and spray it again. Using it on Garbage and Trash cans keeps dogs and cats away from tearing into the Trash.
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't Work

PostedMay 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Omaha, NE
I have a 7-month-old cat who climbs everything, including curtains hanging from windows four feet from the floor. I used the spray, and at first she seemed to not like it and backed away from the area. That didn't last long. She was still climbing them that same day, and I reapplied the spray to no effect. The spray did, however, make me sick to the point that I had to leave my apartment because the smell was so overwheming.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the only stuff that works

PostedApril 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
This is the only repellant that has worked for us. We have three cats, and for some reason the only area rug in the house that they want to scratch is the wool one. Must be because it's made from "natural" fibers, rather than nylon or acrylic or whatever. I custom made a scratching board covered with a different kind of wool carpeting and that helped a little. But, what has actually helped is spraying this product on the area rug once a week. It's completely stopped them from scratching and ruining the rug. In fact, I know it works because when we run out and don't get to spray it on, they start up again with the scratching. Great product for us!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What A Joke!

PostedFebruary 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, Texas
I have a 14 week Boston Terrorist as he has affectionately become known as and I was having problems with him urinating on his training pad half on and half off the paper and he had gotten to the point he was urinating in other places. I have him gated off during the day in my kitchen and just wanted him to quit urinating all over the floor. I asked the girl at pet-co what I could use to navigate him to the paper only. She said this product was highly recommended and stated the spray everywhere in the kitchen but the area you want him to do his business. I thought it odd to use a anything that repels a dog, but figured she knew what she was talking about. So I did as instructed last night, only to find 20 minutes later he urinated all over the floor. I sprayed some on the rug and all he did was scratch at it. So this morning figuring I may have missed the spot he urinated in, I resprayed EVERYWHERE other than the pad area. When I got home this afternoon he not only urinated on the floor, but he urinated everywhere but where I DIDN'T spray. By far the worst scene I have come home to. Product is a joke and I will be getting my money back for this along with the toy I bought that he he did his business on because of it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
product was great but sprayer was not very functional only sprayed stream of liquid
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really works!

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
This product does work. I had a problem with a neighborhood kitty that came around my house to spray on my screened porch. I first cleaned the area with an enzyme cleaner then used this spray. No more kitty spraying! I even had to use it indoors because my kitties smelled the other kitty's spray and caused them to start urinating next to the screen. It kept them away from those areas and they eventually stopped urinating there. You do have to "lightly" spray (light mist) those areas for a few days until they realize that the spray was there. It does have a strong scent but fades. If you use it in areas where the kitty has urinated/sprayed, be sure to use enzyme cleaners instead of household cleaners otherwise it will mask the Keep Off and not work. Don't spray near pet birds!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Four Paws Keep Off Indoor and Outdoor Dog and Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your time or money

PostedJuly 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Springfield Illinois
Our dogs walked right on and over the entire area like nothing was there.......
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>