petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Tank Terraces

Penn Plax Tank Terraces

Exact replicas of natural ridges, ledges, and planting bedsLets you design multi-level settings not previously possibleMade of durable, long-lasting plasticNon-toxic to aquarium inhabitants
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Review 1 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks and works great.

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Hawaii
My fish love this little shelf, it creates a great hiding place. The construction is strudy and even has an optional break away spot in the corner to allow a filter inlet extension to pass through. I have had no problems what so ever with the suction cups. They are completely secure if you secure it correctly I guess. It also has a leg in the middle for support. I have about 1 pound of gravel and 5 plants on it and has not come close to falling once. In fact I had a very hard time taking it off when I wanted to rearrange beneath it. The only down side I find is that the shelf is too shallow to hold a lot of gravel and you can only put small plants as there's not much room at all for roots to grow. And as my goldfish tend to filter through rocks, they usually spit the rocks off the shelf so I slowly lose my much needed gravel for the plants around the edge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Is Alright

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Willow River, MN
Loved the idea bought it .... Its kinda ugly but once you get it set up you can always camo it and really isn't to bad once you get the rocks on top. Really going to have to plant the top though. And the fish really do love it! Specially our mid to top dwellers in our 55 gallon :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tank terrace

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Kansas
It adds dimension to our tank. I put some plants in front of it and my platy loves to sleep down there at night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved the idea, not the design

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from colorado
Like others have said -it looks cool in the aquarium and my male gouramis has claimed the space under it, but it doesn't stay attached. legs instead of suction cups would have been better, it collapses by itself and anytime a fish runs into it. More frustrating than fun since I am constantly in there fixing it. You can't put any decorations on it either because of weight.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for my turtle

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Duluth, MN
with a little hot glue to attach the suction cups to the platform it works great for my snapping turtle, hes pretty small at this point so i'm not sure if it will continue to work the bigger he gets but I do plan on modifying it to continue to work since its way cheaper than any other turtle dock.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good place to hide...

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
I love this idea to add depth & demension as well as a place above & below for fish to hang out but its a bit aggravating to set. When you get one side suctioned the other works loose and they suction rings tend to work loose off the circles while your adjusting it but when its set, it looks great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Penn Planx Tank Terraces

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
I bought this without reading a review, when it was in the mail then I did and that worried the heck out of me. When I received the product I was like oh oh, because it looked like a fisher price toy, and I never even tried to put it in my tank in fear the fish would look at me like "?what?", It looks cheap, and I returned it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Terrace

PostedDecember 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
from SF, california
I think this product is pretty good. (THE SUCTION CUPS ATTACHING TO THE ACTUAL TERRACE ARE TERRIBLE!) So i used a tiny bit of super glue to keep them on or you could use hot glue to attach them and keep them on . Use hot glue to attach artificial pants to the terrac, if you are using them. that makes life a heck of a lot easier in the long run
( If you can glue the base of the terrace to the aquarrium bottom--DO--
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

garbage

PostedMay 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
this thing is junk, it falls apart all the time, and the suction cups keep falling off. After a week and a half of re attaching the suction cups to the glass to try and keep it level i took it out of the tank. now it looks great in my trash can. what a waste of money, and no matter how much i tried to decorate it, it still looked like a cheap plastic ornament. you will be disapointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great

PostedMay 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
the one that i got was actally really easy to set up. It looked really cool. I did have problems with the suction cups though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Sac, CA
The Tank Terraces are extremely hard to set up, also if you barely touch them they fall down. It took 2 very frustrating hours just to set up the terraces, then a few days later I barely touched it and it fell. also it didnt look like the picture.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I don't know

PostedJanuary 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
from Fortwayne,In
I had this product before, and the suction cups wouldn't stay on the glass. Was dissapointed. I used Aquarium sealant around the suction cups, to hold it in place. And that kept it in place and my fish loves it. But Putting the sealant on the cups, you have to wait for 3 days before you can fill the tank up with water.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedJune 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
the picture on the box does not do this product justice in anyways. It is very attractive, but poorly made. The pieces do not slide together easily, the pieces look like a "C" when put together, and the suction cups are poorly manufactured.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 15, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Roseburg, Or
I really like the way the ledge gives my tank a layered look. The fish love it too. They fight over who gets to be under it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its has pros and cons to it

PostedJuly 31, 2006
Customer Avatar
from San Jose, Califorina
i think the picture misrepresents what the shelf really looks like(as far as color, relisistics, stablity and height). Like said, it has a good idea behind it. It allows you to decorate the tank on another level. Which i quite enjoy. In the end after some rocks and three aqua ferns(also on petco.com)in the three hole(where the suction cups go) i really enjoy it along with the fish. I would suggest you use some type of super glue or silocone to keep the 3 suction cups attached because they tend to slip(at least mine did)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like this...

PostedJuly 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
We have had one of these shelves for the last 8 years and have enjoyed seeing the fish swim back and forth around it. The only downer is that the fish LOVE to stay behind it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Think of it as a canvas...

PostedMarch 12, 2006
Customer Avatar
from Florida
Ok, no it is not something that stands well alone. Once you realize this and see what it is and can do, or really what you can do with it you will likely be quite pleased with yourself. If you like your tank(s) to look natural this is a great item for you to use for decorating your tank on a higher level. Do you prefer gaudy or should I say very colourful tanks? I bet you could still make very effective use of this item. Let's just end with saying that the pictures on the box do not do it justice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Penn Plax Tank Terraces
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

very fake looking

PostedDecember 29, 2005
Customer Avatar
from Edina,MN
This product sounds like a great idea, but when you actually take it out of the box you quickly realize your mistake. It looks purple not brown and very fake. You can clearly tell that it is plastic and although the fish may like it you probably will not. If you are looking to create a ledge in your aquarium you are better off using slate glued together with aquarium silicone. It is relatively cheap,comes in different colors, and can be broken into pieces that fit the look you are going for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.