petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Super Pet Hamster Potty

Super Pet Hamster Potty

Train your hamster to use a litter panTake advantage of their natural instinct to eliminate in one specific areaEasy-to-clean Hamster Potty with special litter fits any cage and reduces cage cleaning by 30%!
Average Customer Rating:
3.744 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
27 out of 39(69%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Review 1 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
housemouse
from Wisconsin
This is an okay item, but I would never buy it full price. My hamsters never touched it. My mice do love to sleep in them though.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for hamster and other small pet owners

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrsjunglegirl
from San Francisco CA
I bought this for my hamster Sparky the other day at Petco, Of course it took him a week to get use to the litter box and now he uses it daily.
I'm glad i change the litter once a week and Sparky is now litter trained. Glad i bought the litter box and for such a great price too
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

winter white loves it

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
gigssama
from Brussels wi
I was iffy about buying this product but my new hamster took to it the first day I put it in his cage. He pees and sometimes poops in there but pees more than anything. the litter clumps when it gets wet thats the only reason i know hes going potty in there. He also loves to throw his seed shells in there too. Davis is quite a smart little guy I think it all depends on the hamster tho because my Chinese dwarf will not use it then again he is very nervous compared to my winter white.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's ok

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kw28
I think it depends on the hamster, but Chibi decided to eat the litter and use the potty as a food storage area lol.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

shockingly it does work

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
JennEve69
from Staten Island, NY
My husband said it wouldnt work but with consistency and following All the tips via the web, my 2 female hamsters were using the potty within week one. It still stinks a bit but its dust free and not messy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't use

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
MotherTheresaNot
from Oakland
There's nothing wrong with the product, my hamster just doesn't use it, or go near it. I wanted to stop him from urinating in his wheel. I even took the wheel out to see if he'd use the potty and he still won't.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome!!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hamsterlover236
I have a male winter white hamster named Finn and this is a great product when i first got my cage and put it in it i was really sad and was going to retern the potty but then i figured out that he was only going potty on one of the shelves and i put the potty there and he started using the potty everyday and i didnt have to clean the cage nearly as much best product ever!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product so far but...

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
hammylover914
from UT
I just got this for my lil sunfire hamster named Chloe this morning. I tested it out by scooping the litter with the scooper and the litter doessnt go through the holes in it that easily. I don't know if she will go to the bathroom in it yet though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a surprise!

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Away2hamsters
from Tampa,Fl
My hammy Macy-May does all her "Stuff" in her potty it makes a huge differnce in clean up!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I have other uses

PostedApril 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
CrazieDasie
from Narnia, Hogwarts
It worked at first, then it didn't. My hamster, Daisy, just like to run around in it. I put the chinchilla bath stuff in there and she LOVED it!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hamster Potty

PostedApril 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommmy
from MN
We have 3 hamsters and did not purchase this at first, but than we saw the hamsters peeing in the same spot of their cages. We bought the potty's and now only 1 hamster uses it. The others just run through it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So-So

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
hammylove13
I used it for my hamster and it didn't work out. Then i gave it to my friend and her hammy loved it. I just now relized that my hammy didnt like the smell of the liter. I would sugest this to everyone, but tell them to becarfull because they could take up much of the cage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MAAAAAD!

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shaheen
from CA
this does not work! I was very disapointed to see that my hamster never used it!!! the worst part is that it is expensive!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
10of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Brittbabe
from Illinois, IL
I was at petco shopping for all of hamster's nessesities and I came across this Hamster Potty. I thought it would be great for Biscotti (my hamster), so I bought it. I put it in her cage to see if she'd do anything. She didn't. I kept it in her cage for about one month. But every time I checked to see if she went to the bathroom in ti, there was STILL nothing. I ended up just throwing this out. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
14of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Refuses to go potty anywhere else

PostedSeptember 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jojo84
from Bangor Maine
Kipper uses his litterboxevery day.He only goes pottyt.If I am holding hiim and he has to go,he waits till I put him back in his house so he can use his litterbox.I trained him by giving him treats whenever he used it.Also if I saw him going potty where he shouldn't,I would pick him up and put him in his litterbox.Kipper learned to use a litterbox within a week.I am proud of my little boy=D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
HamsterlvR2010
from North hollywood,CA
At first it seemed good but my hamster Dori never used it and it takes too much space if you do get a bathroom thingy get the one that's just in a corner cheaper and better
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

didn't work....

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
PinkWink
from Tennessee, TN
My hamster did not use it. she would use the bathroom somewhere else so i moved it there. and she still didn't use it. so i decided to just take it out because she would never use it. i even tried to put her droppings in it. but she still didn't use it, and she'd use it like a tunnel.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not working so far...

PostedMay 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Hamstershaushau
from CA
I read both reviews of working and not working and decide to try it myself-- I make sure to buy an igloo for the hamster's home so he won't be mistaken the potty for a bedroom... so far he likes to take food in there and use it as a storage...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME PURCHASE!!!

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Penelope56
This product is AMAZING! I put the potty in a corner that wasn't full (hut was in one corner, water bottle in another, food dish in another) so my black bear hamster didn't really have any other choice but to go potty in it. She has used it from the first time she peed in her new home, she even poos in there too (which I heard wasn't typical). It doesn't matter if they don't poo in there though, since the urine is what causes an odor. I also use Marshall Bi-Odor Urine and Waste Deodorizer- I just add 2 squirts to her water bottle each time I fill it up. Works like magic- and there are absolutely no bad smells coming from Penelope's tank! LOVE IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Hamster Potty
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute but no luck...

PostedApril 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
hamsterluvver
from MN
I really wanted this litter because it was so cute and such a good idea. Now I have it and Stella, my fancy dwarf hamster, just adores it - as a bed. She brought all her food in there along with piles of bedding and just curled right up! I'm not sure what to do, because right away I put some soiled bedding and droppings in there, and it smelled like it should (bad) but she still thinks it's her house. Oh well, if she continues treating it like a bed, I'll probably transform it into her bed, and then get a different litter. Good luck!!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>