petco.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters

Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters

Rock heaters with insulated nichrome wire heating element that prevents hot spotsHydrated rock material is twice as strong as ordinary cementWashable surface to prevent bacteria buildup
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Review 1 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Snakes

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
NevadaSnakeMan
from Nevada
Contrary to one persons opinion on not using these for snakes, I have been using these for my snakes for 20+ years and have never had any burning problems with them. As the temperature is only between 90-110 Degrees there is no worry. And my snakes get on them when they please, and off when they don't want the heat. The problem with undertank heaters is they don't allow your pet to choose what they would like. I strongly recommend a rock heater. Also helps your snake with digestion.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE these heated rocks!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jaysen
from RDU, NC
They are great for all types of reptiles that need the extra heat. I've used them on several animals, and depending on the size tank, I may have more than one rock in the tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For Bearded Dragon

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
smg1169
from Oklahoma City, OK
My beardy seems to like it especially at night. I do put my hand on it frequently to make sure it is not getting too hot. I have heard cases of herps being burned by rocks. But no problems so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought 4

PostedApril 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
JitAna
from Baltimore,MD
I have 2 green iguanas and they love their rocks.
I started with one rock and the older iguana started to outgrow it. I then saw the awesome price online for the bigger rock and bought the second one. All in all I know have bought 4 heating rocks; each iguana has 2 since they are starting to get big and they love to sleep and lay on them all the time. Especially when they are basking on their UV lights. The oldest rock fell twice from like 8 feet and its still working. They keep my green babies warm.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

heat rock

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
KillerRex213
from los angeles CA
I was always hearing rumors about how heat rocks burn your animals and so on...I havent had any problems with it my bearded dragons love it when they are sleping at night and it helps digestion. REMEMBER!!!! NOT A PRIMARY HEAT SOURCE. NEED LAMPS TOO!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good heat source

PostedAugust 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
I haven't had issues with this product yet, I have been placing this heater in with my leopard geckos and haven't had issues yet. They seem to enjoy laying on it periodically and I haven't seen hot spots, or areas getting too hot where they burn my reptiles. I'm still skeptical about this product but it appears to be much better quality and working a lot better than other heat rocks I've had or seen before.
Obviously this shouldn't be used a primary heat source!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice

PostedJuly 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
NirvanaFrk
from Peoria.AZ
This Is A Very Nice Heating Rock, I Use It For My Baby Leopard Gecko, She Enjoys It And It Helps Her Digest Her Food Well, Over All I Would Recommend This As A Heating Source
(Not A Primary Heating Source)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rock Heater

PostedMay 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Cedar Rapids
My lepord gecko loves this rock. He lies on it all the time. He even falls asleep on it at night. The rock is a little heavy. It doesn't get too hot or too cold. You can lie your hand on it and won't get burned. It keeps the sand a good temp. Its not too large and not too small. If your lid on your tank or cage fits pretty well you might have to make an opening for the cord to come out of.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedFebruary 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tab92704
from Greensboro, NC
I know everyone has heard not to use these for your reptiles! Well I would never use one for a snake b/c snakes are slower and probably would burn there bellys BUT my beardies LOVE these! They will lay there either on them or right beside them all day long! Wonderful sorce of heat for a beardie... I am ordering another one so my male and female won't fight over the one they have now!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle Rock Rocks!

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Arlana
from San Diego, CA
I want to let everyone know that our four leopard geckos, Gidget, Bandit, Geck and Geico are the happiest on the planet. We owe it mostly to the way my 14 year old daughter kisses and plays with them daily.
Their environment is a big part of their happiness and we owe that to the Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters that they are able to rest on and enjoy day in and day out.
Other heaters take much more electricity and energy and can get TOO hot for our pets. The rocks are perfect and also save us money. Thank you Petco for your great product line!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zoo Med Repticare Rock Heaters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best product you can ask for

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
animal
from leawood,kansas
i bought this for my bearded dragon because he always seemed really cold and he loved it . He just loves to sit on it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.